Honda HR-V compact SUV launched in Thailand – 1.8L CVT only, three trim levels, from RM90k

Honda-HR-V-Thailand-0002

The Honda HR-V has been launched in Thailand. The B-segment SUV is positioned as a “premium sport crossover” in the Land of Smiles and is only available in 1.8 litre form, paired to a CVT automatic gearbox. In keeping with the premium positioning, there’s no 1.5L or manual version in Thailand.

The 1.8 litre engine is question makes 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 172 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm, similar to the one in the Civic 1.8. The SOHC i-VTEC unit is paired to Honda’s G Design Shift CVT automatic gearbox. The engine is E85 biofuel compatible for the Thai market.

The HR-V sits on the platform that underpins the B-segment City and Jazz duo, but its wheelbase is the longest in the family at 2,610 mm, 10 mm longer than the sedan and 80 mm longer than the hatch. Being an SUV, it’s the tallest too – all versions ride on 17-inch alloys with 215/55 tyres.

Honda-HR-V-Thailand-0001

Three grades are on offer in Thailand – S, E and EL. Standard on the entry-level S grade are Ultra Seats, Smart Key (keyless entry) with push start, electric parking brake, ECON mode button, LED tail lamps, five-inch touch screen head unit, Bluetooth, touch-sensitive auto air-con, ABS, EBD, Hill Start Assist, Isofix, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) and dual front airbags.

The E adds on LED headlamps with daytime running lamps (DRLs), paddle shifters, cruise control, seven-inch touch screen head unit with Advance Touch, SIRI and smartphone integration, two USB ports (one in S), and HDMI port and six speakers (four in S).

The top of the range EL spec gets luxuries such as a panoramic roof, “tube style” LED rear lamps, piano black interior trim plus side and curtain airbags to make it six in total.

Also available is an optional Modulo pack, which includes visual add-ons such as an all-round bodykit, a different grille treatment and larger 18-inch, dual-tone wheels. Also thrown in are stylised wing mirror caps, grab handle covers, front fender garnish, boot sill protector and window visors.

The HR-V starts from 890,000 baht (RM90,922) for the S, rising to 975,000 baht (RM99,609) for the E. The range topping EL goes for 1.045 million baht (RM106,761). Colour options include Alabaster Silver, Crystal Black Pearl, White Orchid Pearl, Ruse Black Metallic and Morpho Blue Pearl.

Now that the HR-V has been launched in Indonesia and Thailand, Malaysia should be next in the list. This will be a hot one when it lands, for sure.

Honda HR-V at IIMS 2014

Honda HR-V Mugen

Honda HR-V Modulo

Honda Vezel JDM-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gastro on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:47 pm

This I perceive to be a runaway success. The Peugeot 2008 and Ecosport will get licked!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
    • slk3879 on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:53 am

Not so fast. Depends on the price, if Honda decided to charge a premium price over this one then forget about it.

Don’t forget there are the likes of ASX (less than RM120k), and CX-5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:07 pm

if the hrv comes with 6 airbags in malaysia thats where my money is

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:38 am

What is MOST important is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 67
      • ihateSDAC on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:05 am

err.. to answer your question bluntly, yes?

doesn’t matter though, i feel that majority malaysians didn’t vote for BN (they didn’t vote for pakatan, they voted against BN, the sentiment is different) but it’ll be a cold day in hell when theres free and fair elections in this country.

car price is one of the smallest issues in the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • car fan on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:23 pm

so then… do you vote for BN?

• najib on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:52 pm

this price will never gonna make it in malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • Honda targets the “premium” segment to justify the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • kimi_ on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Thailand only get 1.8 liter variant, so it is more expensive! Indonesia 1.5 only cost rm65k.

I think 1.5 will start from rm88k for the basic spec when launched in Malaysia while 1.8 cost rm 105k and above

• Wan cheaper price on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:41 pm

aledi RM90k in Thai, i dun think they can sell cheap in Msia. definately more expensive than ford ecoboost. mayb same as x-trail n ASX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • kimi_ on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:35 pm

No need use 1.8 liter,1.5 should be good enough for hrv..

Mind you, avanza is using 1.3 and 1.5, Toyota rush also 1.5 only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:55 pm

In US u can buy Honda CR-Z for bout $20k (~RM65k) or Honda CRV for bout $23k (~RM75k) full spec CBU summore..terima kasih bapa otomatif thai TDM..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 18
      • Levin on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:51 am

Thats right, but in Thailand, not all cars are cheap. Their cheap cars are usually CKD models. For example, check out the price for a fully CBU CRZ in Thai (and also Indo).

• Korean Fan on Nov 18, 2014 at 1:24 pm

So go to stay in US. Why mumble about the price of car in US when we are living in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
        • Anteee beee nnnn on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Hey Korean Fan, I believe kzm and the rest of us here just wishes that Malaysia is good place to live in, just like the U.S. with reasonable car prices. And we want to make it so! Not like some cronies who just steal money here and then spend lavishly overseas. Your crony mentality has no place in this country. Get lost and good riddance.

• Kzm is just taking example in US for comparison. “stay in other country if you don’t like Malaysia” mentality is a pure BN mindset. This is why things never change. We go backward each year despite the government shows fancy statistic on how well we are.

• It’s going to cost at least 105k here for the basic spec.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Indo oni RM65k…

• Green on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:34 pm

yea, 1.5FWD definitely no power.
      if it’s RWD, 1.5 is as powerful as 1.8 already.

RWD give more power to push a car.
      Pushing a car is easier than pulling a car.

1.5FWD Vezel receiving bad feedback could be the reason why they have been only introducing 1.8Vezel HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
      • iqbal1987 on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:12 am

where did you find this logic? you “seemed” like an educated people. please derive the torque vector front wheel driven and real wheel driven vehicle. and you will find the truth..

• Fuyiopo on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:03 am

Do you even science bro?

• Hopefully the pricing same as Thailand, with all the features as stated above.

• darkermarker on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:15 pm

once Honda Malaysia touches the car, the price tag will magically be 100K++

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Hondakap on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:24 pm

It’s only a FWD, not the more desirable AWD model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • dharma on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Unless u want to use for off-road, only then AWD lis a wise choice. Most of the buyers are urban driver so FWD is sufficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • AWD is not meant for off-roading. It gives us better traction and control. Power to shift to wheel which need more grip.

So pls. get yr facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • nneeoooot on Nov 18, 2014 at 2:03 pm

yup, gotta agree with Ted, while AWD can also be used for some offroading, on road it means it’s safer dadada and all that Ted just said.

• lembu jinni on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:37 pm

People don’t waste your monies on this pseudo-suv, better invest on Jazz.
    It’s heavy & tall means high rolling resistance!
    High running cost when replacing 17″ or 18″ tires!
    Never economical!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Oh no the Thai price is not what we thought would be. I have the feeling it will be priced on the same level as the pug 2008…

• slk3879 on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:55 am

Just hope Honda learn from Peugeot mistake, for pricing the 2008 too high!

• areos on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:44 pm

its only two door compact suv…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
  • Honda malaysia cut throat on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:49 pm

I agree once honda malaysia get this model they will remove all the features available and jack up the price. Maximum profit minimum feature, honda MY style. Honda freed was advertise as a PREMIUM mini MPV. I still remember hearing someone in showroom asking the sale manager what so premium, no leather seat, 2 airbags only, until they saw sales is bad they added leather seat and a head up alpine monitor. Now not selling at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • the aircond positions seems not really passenger friendly (rear) as the air vents only focuses in the front for both driver and front passenger only

• The most awaited model from Honda.

• I expect range around RM120-130K. If position too close to 130k. Better get the CKD CX5 which comes with much advance engine technology. Skyactiv…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Yeah the price of the top spec 1.8l model will be too close to the CX-5 and the upcoming X-TRAIL heck its inching closer to its big bro the CR-V.

Honda Malaysia should just bring in the 1.5l model with decent spec to match the EcoSport and 2008. Bringing in the 1.8l model will position it too close to other SUVs which are bigger.

• Vezel fan on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Based on Honda City Thailand and Malaysia pricing, my guess is HR-V 1.8 price will be within 115k-130k. Hence, buyer will think twice to get it as X-trail priced at below 150k will be a its competitor as X-trail is bigger segment SUV.
    Anyway, hope Honda Malaysia will provide good specs such as reverse camera and price it below its Civic.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Very nice. Do I spot an electronic parking brake ala Audi? Imagine that in a b segment Honda. Not even the Civic nor Accord get that. Honda Thailand is really going all out to sell this one.

• inderaloka on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Jangan mimpi dapat harga tu di Bolehland hahaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • berann on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Saw few HR-V in Japan during my holiday last week. Very nice and sporty. I can say it looks as good or better than CX-5. Although is B segment but looks big & actually same size with Mitsubishi ASX(4294/1772/1605mm). 1.8 engine is just nice to pull this car of about 1260kg if compared to 2.0 CRV of more than 1.5tons. Even if price at 115k in Malaysia. I think is reasonable since is same engine with civic and better equipped. Honda pls price below 115k!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • BloodyHellHonda on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:58 pm

bloody expensive

• I pity the front passenger, the dashboard equipped with a row of blower that will chill the passenger to death…good to keep your in-law quiet during long distance trip…hehehe

• jwrx (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:27 pm

my guess is RM115k – RM118k when it reaches here. Honda Malaysia bread and butter is City and Jazz, both are CKD here, they wont want the HRV to steal sales from those 2.

• loudpost on Nov 18, 2014 at 2:51 am

I believe honda malaysia will ckd HRV both 1.5 & 1.8 and the price should be RM105K-110K for 1.8.

• Lauyiachia on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:27 pm

If Honda bring this in like they fid to Freed, it will be another freaking failure.

• Jimmy on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Top up a bit and you get a better CX-5 with 6 airbags, ESP and TPM, and it is cantiq. Or at least get a CRV.
    Come on, 20K divided by 60 months equals twelve ringgit per day (average loan period for majority people).
    Go and test drive both, I think Skyactif should drive better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • mango on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:30 pm

hows the size? more like CX-5 or smaller?

• kimi_ on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:47 pm

In Thailand only 1.8 liter available….

I think 1.5 will start from rm88k for the basic spec when launched in Malaysia while 1.8 cost rm 105k

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:47 pm

pray hard for a good price

• winwin on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Come on Honda, go modify your 1.6L i-Dtec diesel for this HR-V to suit our diesel here. At least you can give Ford Kuga a challenge. With 160PS and 350NM of torque , the pulling power will be so addictive.

• Car-Fans on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:08 pm

This can only works if : 1.5cc (City/Jazz) with selling price of below 90K (Basic Model) ! Else … Just like Ford Ecosport / Pgt 2008 … Keep in Store Room – Wait till year end offer with 10-15K discount !

• Honda guy on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:18 am

Our spec is similar to thailand, just one model 1.8 cvt with option of mugen or modulo. The price is similar to civic around 112000

• Mika Volkova (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Your source? Your friend work in Honda Malaysia? I hope what u said is true.

• waterman on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:50 am

you guys… don’t expect too much, if honda brings in a better spec, that is bonus… pathetic malaysian… damn!

• Considering that we are always screwed compared to our neighbors, I believe they are going to put this model to fill the gap between city and civic. We are talking about RM88k-RM110k price range.

• I guess it have to be priced between range topping city and civic 1.8 but could b slightly higher than civic since it has much more specs and sunroof. Estimate around 100 to 115k.

Will replace my 2010 city if they offer 1.8 with similar specs like in thai.

Electronic parking brake? That’s cool man and the sunroof. Nice for star gazing

• Na. Jeep, Harga minyak bila turun on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:03 am

Friend of mine as SA at Honda, they say Jan 2015 will attending this HRV training course and Feb 15 will be launching, Price is RM118k +/- depend spec. I think if the size of the car is acceptable or larger than City rooms, it shld be a hot cake model in the series. I hold my city booking as due to spotted HRV launching soon. But for sure 6 airbag will not equip this HRV. hope the ride is comfort than City and lesser floating and bumpy ride

• Ken Young on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:49 am

No point getting it if Honda Malaysia, as usual, skimps on the safety features like omitting the Electronic Stability Control, which is already mandatory by law in Europe.

• AVH (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Do indulge me one model in the Honda range, above the RM100k price tag, that has no VSC.

• Sparcov on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:16 am

We dont need 1.8, give us 1.5 enough already.

Please cost it between 75k-95k. It will sell like hot cake.

• ThePolygon on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:39 am

Hmm.. I guess mini SUVs are the way to go nowadays. Yes CRV will still sell but unless you really need to size, people will just go for this instead for daily commute. Very tempting…

• Car-Fans on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Ecosport / ASX you can start your ‘car war price’ now before more buyer going for this HR-V! Show us your Super Special Deal! Younger Bro of SantaFe – join in faster … give us your Super Price !

• kerol on Nov 18, 2014 at 2:28 pm

If I have the money, I would buy this rather than CRZ. but now CRZ increase price already.

• If it’s 90K here then it’ll compete for my money I’m putting aside for the City. If.

• Sharu on Nov 23, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Saw the HRV few days back in Honda Hatyai showroom. Not bad for a CUV. Slightly smaller than the Tuscon. If Honda Msia could price it between 98k to 115k powered with a 1.8litre engine should be a value buy in bolehland. So Honda Msia bila may launch…….. http://youtu.be/arpNY4biJGo ( vezel vs Tuscon in Japan)

• LOLOL on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:14 pm

It slightly similar to Range Rover..

• darren on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:33 pm

How about HRV driveline? Isn’t All wheel drive as same as CR-V does ?

• Will MacCormac on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:42 am

Looks like Honda have priced this quite high in Thailand. hmm Anyone know how much the Modulo version is, out of interest? I guess the Dealers will start offering better discounts when the CX-3 and facelift CX-5 hit the market

• andersen on Jan 06, 2015 at 3:48 pm

sorry im not a automobile fan here, maybe i do not know how the new technology in car works nowadays, but can anyone tell me how to open the rear doors from outside? because i looked very closely for like half an hour and i still couldnt find the door handle, can anyone answer my question thanks

• u say open sesame and the back door opens magically.

p:s look higher and u can see the door handle embedded at the rear pillar and window.

• I need honda Vezzel z series car s grade 2015 babk colour with blue tooth.