RON 95 price could be reduced, says Ahmad Maslan

Malaysian_Fuel_Prices_Subsidies_November_2014

As global crude oil prices continue to fall – now down to less than USD80 (RM268) per barrel, a four-year low – Malaysians may see a drop in our RON 95 fuel price, says Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan. In case you missed it, RON 95 price has just recently been hiked by 20 sen to RM2.30 per litre.

“I will make a recommendation to the Fiscal Policy Committee to reduce the price of RON 95 petrol if the price of global crude oil continues to drop (to between US$75 (RM251) and US$70 (RM234) per barrel),” Ahmad Maslan told the New Straits Times yesterday.

Better yet, he also backtracked on the recently proposed fuel sales tax (that he himself revealed earlier this month), saying that, “I will also propose that no sales tax be imposed on the purchase of RON 95 when its price is reduced in the future.”

“We would like to see whether the prices of goods will also go down if the government decided to reduce the RON 95 petrol price,” Ahmad added. Tell us what you think of this in the comments section below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• nonsense…giving all sort of excuses for not wanting to lower the fuel price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 5
    • azrai on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:18 pm

So the planned on April 3-tier income based mechanism proposal from a company using MyKAD will become redundant. No project ma..Also no more subsidy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Najib on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • KangKungKing on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Barang Naik!

• Nimadfa on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:54 pm

This BS is a Black Hole stomach!

• The Truth About Ron 95 on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:26 am

The government has to stop its lies and bullshit. Everybody in the oil industry globally confirms one thing. Malaysia has the “sweetest” crude oil in the world. What this means is this, we produce the highest quality oil in the world. The best of the best. But the rakyat don’t see this. This is exported for other people in the world to use. Then Malaysia reimports low grade and low quality oil at a very cheap price for the rakyat to use. Dirty oil.

The question is this. Isn’t the beautiful sweet high grade quality oil Malaysia produces belong to the rakyat of Malaysia? Why sell it of at a higher price to other countries? The oil belongs to the rakyat of Malaysia. It should be given to the people of Malaysia first. Why import dirty and filthy oil and give the rakyat of Malaysia? Why are Malaysians treated like dogs and be given the bones when other people are given the nice flesh to eat?

Another issue is subsidy. There is no such thing of subsidy. The Government of Malaysia has been lying to Malaysians the past 20 years about subsidy. You see, what you produce, you cannot subsidise. If the government does not sell our high grade oil overseas and give it to Malaysians to use, what is there to subsidise?

This story has been going around a long time to fool the people of Malaysia, especially, the kampung people that petrol need to be subsidised. We don’t need to subsidise any petrol or fuel because Malaysia produces ample oil not only for its rakyat but also for export. So, if you produce your own oil, what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your garden to eat, you cannot go around telling people that your vegetables are subsidised. You are growing it. You are producing it. You don’t have to buy it at all from an external source. The same with oil. We produce it. We should be using it first. This is how the Sultan of Brunei thinks. That is why he gives his rakyat very cheap fuel. Then the balance, he exports it at global prices. For him, rakyat comes first. he gives the rakyat clean and cheap oil because he cares.

Our government, terbalik. Rakyat comes last. And our oil resources are far more than Brunei. Few years ago, in the global media, Petronas struck the largest oil reserve and land in the world. Global media confirmed it was the largest oil reserve in the entire world. Then the next day, our government covered it up as mere speculation. So, in actual fact, Malaysia’s petrol company Petronas has unlimited reserves of oil for the next 50 yrs. Can we Malaysians please have the priority to get this fuel first for the rakyat cheaply?

We are abundant in oil and other resources.

Infact, Malayia is one of the richest countries in the world if not for a few people stealing the money that rightfully belong to 30 million people.

Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the world. We have everything. We have oil, gas, palm oil, besi, timah, kuprum, cobalt, getah, coconut, gold, silver and so many more others that cannot be listed.

Look at Singapore. It has ZERO. It has nothing. And yet it is the top 5 countries of the world and their GDP per capita is the 2nd highest in the world. Infact, their GDP per capita is 5x more than Malaysia. What this literally means is that, Singaporeans earn 5x more than the average Malaysian and their purchasing power is far far far more than Malaysia.

But how is this so? Singapore has ZERO. Malaysia is so rich. Our wealth is even richer than some European countries because Malaysia is the No 1 resource rich country in the world.

Why our ringgit is so low globally and our GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world is simple. The UMNO ruling members are stealing. They are stealing so much that nothing is good enough for the thieves. These pencuri not just take few million, they each want in the hundreds of millions. This is the problem. Corruption but corruption tamak.

You see, most countries also got corrupted politicians. But they know when to stop. Malaysia, our politicians are not only corrupted but don’t know when to stop. Few million tak cukup! They want billions!

That is the main problem. Now, country is near bankruptcy. It is like the Philippines. In the 70s Philippines was the Pearl of the Orient. Everybody wanted to migrate there because it was so prosperous. Then for 20 years, Marcos (like UMNO) raped it. Now, see where Philippines is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
      • niah seng on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:29 pm

This gahmen really like to wank my tail sia….

• Wan cheaper price on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:46 pm

D current RM2.43 Ron95 is d price when fuel per barrel is USD95. but now it drop to USD77. So d actual price shd b RM0.43. But where r all d current subsidies gone to? U know i know la (u tolong i, i sapu u)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • JB_KIA on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:14 pm

wonder why there’s a thumb down giver. This guy likes fuel price up kot…

• KangKungKing on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Tukar G!
      Apelan G mau!
      Patung,wayang-wayang.
      Buat bodo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • dodgeviper88 on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:37 am

Damage has been done, most food items (at least in PJ) has been increased already. Rojak that used to be RM5 is now RM6, a 20% increment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
  • applegreen on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:37 am

If price reduce below rm2.00 then it is logical to see prices of goods go down.

• I would like, I would like….
    If…..If…..
    continue to talk until cows come home please.
    Also, previously was told world prices doesn’t affect the rise coz it’s subsidy cut. Now which is which?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • Black Dog on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Fed up with all the political bullshit:

WILL, MAYBE, IF, STUDYING, PROPOSE, THINKING..
      and FLIP-FLOPPING!

All talking craps, either undecided or to gain political mileage!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • Deputy Minister can do nothing, even the ministry secretary had more power than this called “Deputy”, keep suck our hard earn money and keep create more excuses to your rakyat “Rakyat Didahulukan” i know what is the meaning now, priority to suck rakyat money first and just spend it easily and create more administrative problems and corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • Retep on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:44 am

What’s the catch?

• im really starting to get annoyed with this guy..
    who voted for him haa? grrr

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
  • Crude oil up petrol price up. (G can’t tahan sub)
    Crude oil down petrol price up.(reduced G earning)
    Crude oil down some more petrol price down pulak??
    I’m confused..

• Low Budget on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Cannot believe them lah. They will redduce it a bit and then add 6% gst. The price go up again after gst tax added, fark lah.

• YeapyEvo on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:47 am

How about RON97? Crude oil has drop more than 25% since half year ago but our RON97 is only reduce from 2.9 to 2.75 ( 5.7%)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Mozilla Chrome on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:53 am

When want to raise, simply raise, when want to reduce, need to make recommendation to the Fiscal Policy Committee. BS gov.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 1
  • perodua on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:55 am

So sad. The government should top up RM0.58 petrol sales tax

• wiralution on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:56 am

Bila oil market price naik, cepat2 kurangkan subsidi minyak…
    Bila oil market price turun, buat2 bodo aja.
    With the current trending of budget deficit for 17 consecutive years, I don’t expect G would reduce price for RON95 although market price below $75 per barrel. Coz their annual operational cost is very very expensive bugima…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • john error on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

i hate maslan…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:28 pm

I dont hate him, becoz he makes everybody laugh, just like Noh Omar…:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Abu Sayur on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Stupid government, first say no gst but got sales tax, now back track on statement saying no sales tax. You think its a game issit? KNN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Silent Reader on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Could? More like should.

• Stupid Maslan. Why I dare to this is because he raise the price of petrol and as consequences, all the goods manufacturers and service providers in the country has no choice except to follow suit. And now, even the price of crude oil or petrol goes down, the price of goods and services will remains at current level thus double the profit. Who in the world with the right mind would want to miss such opportunity. So the victim is the people due to stupid policy…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • Najib go down on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:15 pm

What the government never tell us is that the global crude oil price plummeted so low that it’s lower than what we’re currently paying for. In fact, the gov no longer have to subsidize our fuel, instead we the rakyat are the ones subsidizing the gov. Malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • macai on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Could the minister be more specified? What do you mean the “range” of RM75-RM70? The retail old price would drop if below RM75??? or RM70?? Please learn how to talk properly.

• Have to reduce Diesel price also ya, then only we see goods prices drop. (Assuming retailers are sincere in their pricing).

• cendol (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:22 pm

It only takes 2 hours to increase petrol price.
    But it take months to reduce petrol price.
    RON97 is floated according to market price, but why the price has not come down yet?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:24 pm

BN really runs out capable ministers and I wonder if there’s any credibility from this kaosai (DEPUTY FINANCE??!) minister..
    Not long ago he gave a negative statement that sales tax could be incurred to petrol price if it drops to certain level; now he’s trying to say something abit positive …
    Thats what BN ministers “good” at: testing the waters with their every changing twisted roller coaster statements. End of the day nothing good is really done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Naik senang, turn susah lo……

• Naik senang, turun susah lo……

• Joshua on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Make sure you keep to your words, don’t keep fooling us!

• Dennis on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:46 pm

well its about time!!

• spongewai on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:57 pm

don’t said could be
    just do it

• eims perfume on Nov 17, 2014 at 12:59 pm

oh god please bless us all

• ron95 on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:02 pm

bila mau naik harga, cepat giler dia orang naik,

TAPI

bila mau turun harga, ini alasan sana alasan, memang babi lar, teruk dan bodoh semua makan duit

• jimmy on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:05 pm

what about ron 97?????

• Sparcov on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:05 pm

I suggest to government of Malaysia.

Why not you remove the fuel subsidy ? We dont appreciate.

While, Reduce the tax, car selling price

Please stop give any more excuse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Wake up on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:19 pm

No need to suggest. If they wan to do that, they would have it done long time ago..
      U still cannot see what they wan now is to remove subsidy and remain the car tax?

• Matrix on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm

what’s wrong with ppl.
    Gov just raised 20 cent only.

Usually i pump RM100 to my inspira. after raised 20 cent. Just RM100.20 only. The cashier just take RM100 and discount 20 cent to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 68
    • pierre on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:37 pm

That’s why all that support BN bodoh. Easy mathematics also wrong. If petrol increase 10%, you pump RM100 should go up to RM 110. How can you just calculate extra 20 cents? Stupid to the max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Why dislike?

You guys don’t sense the sarcasm do you?

• petrol user on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:14 pm

minister not suffer, rakyat suffer every time petrol price up..

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Good job Maslan and the government.

I think all you commenters should be ashamed of yourself for doubting the governments true intention of ensuring the country has a healthy cashflow during these difficult times.

Are you not aware that Malaysia income is dependent on O&G industry? If the oil price is low, the gov cant sustain feeding you people who are always complaining about this and that, what have you done for the country? Now that the government is contemplating to help the rakyat, you accuse them of unkind words

Shameful behavior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 60
    • a loyal citizen on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:16 pm

On the need to reduce the petrol price should the crude oil drop, if it was not highlighted and being pressured continuously from opposition, do you think the government will even give a damn. What have we done for the country? Well, we give our constructive criticism which will not cost the government a single sen.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:31 pm

dont call youself a loyal citizen if you dont support and back the government… syukur to whatever you have for this is the government’s blessing to you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • Pening on Nov 18, 2014 at 2:14 am

tadaaa…… maslan arse has started talking

• ihateSDAC on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:20 am

syukur for whatever you have?
          obviously you have alot after taking what is not rightfully yours.

“dont call yourself a loyal citizen if you dont support and back the government?”

what in the bloody hell is wrong with you. we are proud malaysians, and this love for our homeland is what makes us irate that the government cronies dont give a damn whether prices go up cos they’ve got their contracts and tenders already sorted out.

you are the same filth that plagues the country.

• talk east, talk west….talk cock again..

• GOV take longer time to sharing information to each department PM->DPM->…..-> Petrol station -> setting the machine …etc , take 6 months time to reduce …upon all completed , user please wait lah ….

• half way to reduce, global price naik dy, and suddenly their information sharing became very efficient.

• GTR 2.0 on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:35 pm

“Datuk Ahmad Maslan is a Malaysian politician. He is the Member of the Parliament of Malaysia for the Pontian constituency in the state of Johor, representing the United Malays National Organisation.” – Wikipedia

Siapa sini orang Pontian, sila angkat tangan…

• what ever on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Now majority of our ministers are from Johor and East Malaysia. Why? It is because, most of the seats BN won are from these three states.

• GTR 2.0 on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:35 pm

*Pontianak

• If they don’t reduce the price.. I think it is a good time to us to show them our consumer power… 1st step, stop buying a car for a year (2015) and let see car manufacturer & Govt respond to it when they zero sale in next year….

• zamer on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:56 pm

not going to happen.
      its like stop buying petrol for a year..

if it happen, maybe 2-3 days..after that, nahh forget it

• Why you think like stop buying petrol a year… Current car on the road still need petrol lerrr and not fill up with “Air Kencing” wooorr.. Don’t think like “MACAI”.. Better be & think as “CLEVER CONSUMER”

• xtau lah.. penat dah on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:51 pm

clever consumer?? ask yourselves.. will you willing to take public transport if your car rosak?

• xtau lah.. penat dah on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:54 pm

ask masla invent new technology that car can go fast with ayam.. then ayam price will lower.. then nobody will complain ayam price very expensive..

• smokey on Nov 17, 2014 at 1:40 pm

when want to raise, they are fast and raise big %
    when want to drop, its like taking forever and only drop small %

• Son of the GUN on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Besides of the lower Brent price. Are we also talk on the lower Japanese car price since Yen has been dropping more than 13% ?? Why none Japanese car maker reduce their price apart from recent HONDA…????

• Stability on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Oil prices go up and down. Current price is reasonable so keep it there. When oil price goes up again in a couple of months then subsidized rate remains at 2.30 and non-subsidized follows market rates when higher than 2.30. Stable pricing so no execuse to raise other prices again like we saw 4 years ago. Oil prices went up, petol prices up, all other prices up. Then oil prices down, petrol prices down, other prices not down. Then oil prices went up again, all other prices up again (double dipping we call that).

• Gosh... on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Really demonstrated your utmost incompetence as a so called, policy-maker.

• Adam Abdullah on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:25 pm

I notice when petrol price goes up prices of goods & services goes up too.If petrol prices goes down again.Prices of goods & services does’nt go down and when price of petrol is adjusted to market rate prices of goods & services again goes up.So I th7ink let the price of petrol be maintain for the being.We have to look at toll charges.How long we have to continuing paying.

• Not so convinced on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Well if they decided to reduce the price of RON95 & Diesel, i am sure they themselves will “syok sendiri” busy praising own self. e.g. – BN very concern about rakyat and decided to reduce the price.. Janji dicapati, sorry ditepati..

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Ahmad Maslan is that kinda guy whom most people will usually label as “all talk, no action” or “talk cock, no action” person. So, when he comes out with a statement like this, I could not even bothered at all.

• Darren on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:08 pm

In past future our goverment never decrease Ron 95 but increase .

• nobrand on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:39 pm

This minister is suitable candidate for tv program “Maharaja Lawak”

• mustafa on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:50 pm

now that the rakyat already know what car his brother drive…he is afraid..afraid more of his secrets will be revealed to the rakyat….

• Now would be a great time to totally remove fuel subsidy and at the same time, announce reduction of car tax. Let those fuel smugglers go cry to Anwar.

• Oil&Ringgit on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:16 pm

As oil producing nation, Petronas must has team analyse future of oil price and are getting worried now over the US producing oil outpace OPEC output. Clearly OPEC losing it stand as oil cartel..

My guest Petronas revenue will fall like crazy in billions revenue reduce for Govt. So end result no price drop of RON 95. News of weak ringgit was reported lately by Bank negara (outflow of funds back to US) and more outflow to come should US recovers quickly. Why left of our US foreign reserve

May be GST 6% for petrol my come back before April 2015. That my opinion… subsidy excuse will rise again to justify oil price increase.

• Unhappy regular malaysian on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I know most of us r unhappy by now.but we can’t do shit

Global price up they suka suka up without considering the chain reaction.now price down mau kaji this and that. N the “could” statement really boil me up

U see price of goods n foods already up. Wanna go down is almost impossible.unless oil price below RM2 :(

• Painter on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Not to become a party pooper in this Ahmad Maslan (but this guy seriously needs public relations course) bashing party, but maybe we want to look at USD/MYR exchange rate too? MYR has steadily declined against US and is at 7 months low. We all know oil is pegged against USD.

Could that contribute too government’s delay in reducing RON95 price? Not to defend anyone here, but just trying to have a sensible discourse.

• Ask him to don’t make any statement…everyday different stories!! He lost his credibility…all the way to drain!. Ask Ah Jib to speak and with CONFIRMATION. No such thing of IF lah, Think lah, Propose lah. Always talk without action. If my guess is right, G won’t reduce the price to the actual market rate. They will just down a little just to please Rakyat only! Maybe drop 5 cents….let Rakyat syok a bit la.

• what happen to RON 97 ???? Thought it was to follow market price ?

• darkermarker on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:21 pm

hahahahha, such a joker this maslan……must be a 4.00 CGPA student last time….

• the boss on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:22 pm

No need to drop the fuel price. The impact to our current expenditure will be minimal. Focus on not having to hike the fuel price again in the future 4-5 years as this will impact our outlook the most. Come out with a plan to slowly reduce the fuel subsidy (eg. every 5 years 10 cent hike) and not do it drastically like now.

• FocusST on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:28 pm

I suggest not to lower the fuel price, as other goods price already increase after last fuel price increase. If the fuel price is lower for now, the goods price you think will decrease ? and what happen if international crude oil price increase at later time ?? very sure our fuel price will increase it back and goods price will increase again. It is good the fuel price decrease now, but you enjoy now and later going to pay back even more. I would rather prefer our fuel price should keep it stable for next 5 years that is even better.

• old dog on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:29 pm

In bolehland, you dont need to be education in the field to to be the minister of your area…

retarded jokers

• gonsungar on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:02 pm

kalau betulah harga minyak”turun”,adakah para peniaga akan menurunkan harga barang jualannya?

• Now the harga sebenar “termasuk cukai”. I guess they want to cover the fact that harga sebenar is lower than harga kawalan. Effectively we are subsidising the government for their fuel revenue.

• Anonymous on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:32 pm

JUST take out the subsidy and let it float according to market price already…! This is the most opportune time for the subsidy to be done with and a rise would be less than 20 sen… and you get actual price of other related goods instead false economics.

• panjang on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Could reduce
    Would reduce
    Actually reduce
    All different things…….

• ghost rider on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:09 am

thank you DS Najib for this announcement. we know you are the best among the best. thumbs up! just ignore the haters.

• Kruel on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Diam-diam harga naik,
    so many hoo-haa, but not yet down a single sen pun

• Garfield (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:23 am

I’m sorry but it was never a wise move to raise the RON95 price in the first place. What every business owner did was taking advantage and increase price disproportionately.

With RON97 price decrease, I suspect RON95 will follow suit, in a govt effort to appease most quarters and silence the protests a bit (from whatever drama the members of govt has got into).

BUT, business owners almost never follow suit by dropping their own price. Their price stay and they gleefully wait for the govt to later increase price to this current level and increase price, AGAIN!!!! Damage done and rakyat being doubly hit. The rich gets RICHER and the poor gets POORER. Last PM was half past six….. this PM, what do u call him then?