Government hopes luxury cars, vehicles with big-capacity engines will use RON 97 petrol – Chua

bentley-mulsanne-driven

Following Wednesday’s 20 sen price drop of RON 97 petrol to RM2.55 a litre, deputy finance minister II Datuk Chua Tee Yong has said that the government hopes luxury cars and vehicles with big-displacement engines would use the premium fuel, Bernama reports.

“Based on the data, the usage of RON 97 has been low but when it dropped by 20 sen, it will help the economy as fewer people will use RON 95. Less RON 95 usage means the government does not need to fork out more subsidies,” he said.

Echoing deputy finance minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan’s sentiments earlier this week, Chua also said that the government may consider adjusting the price of RON 95 petrol once global crude oil prices drop to US$70-75 (RM236-RM252) a barrel.

gst-petrol-diesel

“If the prices continue to drop then definitely the Finance Ministry will look into the possibility of whether to adjust the price for RON 95 again. If it drops below the certain price then there is no more subsidy to be paid,” the national news agency quoted him as saying. Brent crude oil dropped towards US$78 (RM262) a barrel on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Maslan said today that the government cannot cut the price of petrol according to the requests of individuals or political parties. He added that the price can only be reduced if the global market price drops below the subsidised petrol price.

“Reducing the price of petrol is based on data and facts. If the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) decides to reduce production, prices will increase,” he said. “If the price of petrol drops to below the subsidised price in the global market, I myself will suggest to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak to reduce the price of petrol.”

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• LatukBandar on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:30 pm

OPEC will not reduce output. Russia is the biggest energy producing nation, followed by USA and then third is Saudi.

With the crisis in Ukraine, the best way to punish Russia is to reduce oil prices. This will greatly hurt Russia’s economy as they depend on oil. USA will benefit because cheaper oil means more money for the consumers. as for Saudi, they are USA’s proxy.

I doubt oil price will go up anytime soon until Putin is removed from power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • Paling Bodoh Statement on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:59 pm

What a stupid comment from a Minister. He should not come out with statements that make no sense. What about Singaporeans filling up Ron 97? Malaysians lose even more. This fellow should just stick to making blue films like daddy.

I am ashamed that such Ministers govern my country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 191 Thumb down 8
      • Porn 97 and Porn 95 on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:21 pm

He has no clue what he is talking about. This is not like porno films bro, this is people’s lives you are talking about. Everything got spiral effect if minyak go up.

I think you are confused between Porn and Ron. Sounds the same. It is Ron 97 and not Porn 97.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 5
      • Paling. You apparently don’t know RON97 isn’t being subsidized. Therefore, unlike RON95, Singaporean can pump as much as they like. So there you have it, you are even more stupid than the politician.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 65
        • UMNO Berterima Kaseh on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Don’t know when Malaysians are going to wake up. Gomen reduce price of Ron 97 to help the rich while 98% of Malaysians suffer using high priced Ron 95

98% of Malaysians subsidise the 2% rich cronies of UMNO who all drive Bentley, Ferrari and Porsche and McLaren.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
        • UMNO Berterima Kaseh on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:37 pm

That fellow is a small boy. Try to challenge Tony Pua on facts and figures of Finance and kalah big time.

Small boy don’t know how to piss straight also want to talk about Talam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
          • Tony Pua said everything go up in price with GST. And 6% GST more than 10% Sales Tax. But so many people believe he is a mathematics genius. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
      • Wife Cheater on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm

How to trust a politician who has genes of deviant ways?

The worst ever thing you can do is go behind your wives back and cheat on her in a hotel room.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • UMNO Berterima Kaseh on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:46 pm

If my dad kena tangkap bluefilm, I will keep a low profile and hide like DP Vijandran. This apek is so thick skin.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:34 pm

This kaosai goverment (ministers): when they want to increase prices, very efficient, no need notice, no need to seek advice from his daddy, straight away increase.
        When they talk abt decreasing prices, they would use ” we will look into, maybe, hopefully, hmm, seek advice from PM…bla bla bla”

If this is not TALK C_O_C_K, then what is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
        • UMNO Berterima Kaseh on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:47 pm

he does not know much. Only know how to act in 5X films

• WTF?!! RON97 is soo cheap now, just 25 cent more than the crap RON95, i will start pumping RON97.

I wonder with just the different of 25 cent, what is the government subsidizing for 95? Since the subsidies has already been budgeted, where is all the excess fund? Rakyat is not stupid…

• ProtonGSC on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:05 pm

“Government hopes luxury cars, vehicles with big-capacity engines will use RON 97 petrol”

Rakyat hope Government will abolish excise duty taxes on CBU cars.

Rakyat hope Government reduce petrol price now.

Rakyat hope and hope BUT in the end never change LOUSY statement by Gov officers again !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
      • Porn 97 and Porn 95 on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:23 pm

I hope Government reduce Porn 97 and Porn 95. Prices of groceries are so high now since the last increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Yes, Raykat hope both car tax and fuel subsidy be abolished. I see no reason to make fuel smugglers happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • UMNO Berterima Kaseh on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Hello Deputy Minister, Justin Slayer is looking for you. Bangbros also

• The big Question is Since When Luxury car Using Ron 95..if Ron 100 available..they will buy it..demmm

• USA is the culprit by admitting previous Warsaw Pact countries into NATO despite promising not to do so after the break up of USSR. Ukraine is the straw that broke the camel’s back and MH17 is plain unlucky.

If USA wouldn’t allow missile in Cuba, do you think Russia will allow a NATO friendly Ukraine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • weeee on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:32 pm

aren’t they doing it already?

• Jimmy on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:47 pm

We use our brains before we talk.

• UMNO Berterima Kaseh on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Do you mean doing Porn films? Yes, most of them do. One or two stupid ones get caught though and still want to be active in politics.

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:35 pm

FO! (Fark off)

• Wicked Government on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:13 pm

There is no such thing of subsidy. The Government of Malaysia has been lying to Malaysians the past 20 years about subsidy. You see, what you produce, you cannot subsidise. If the government does not sell our high grade oil overseas and give it to Malaysians to use, what is there to subsidise?

This story has been going around a long time to fool the people of Malaysia, especially, the kampung people that petrol need to be subsidised. We don’t need to subsidise any petrol or fuel because Malaysia produces ample oil not only for its rakyat but also for export. So, if you produce your own oil, what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your garden to eat, you cannot go around telling people that your vegetables are subsidised. You are growing it. You are producing it. You don’t have to buy it at all from an external source. The same with oil. We produce it. We should be using it first. This is how the Sultan of Brunei thinks. That is why he gives his rakyat very cheap fuel. Then the balance, he exports it at global prices. For him, rakyat comes first. He gives the rakyat clean and cheap oil because he cares.

Infact every single oil producing country sells their oil cheap to its own citizens. Except one country. You guessed it. Malaysia!

Our government, terbalik. Rakyat comes last. And our oil resources are far more than Brunei. Few years ago, in the global media, Petronas struck the largest oil reserve and land in the world. Global media confirmed it was the largest oil reserve in the entire world. Then the next day, our government covered it up as mere speculation. So, in actual fact, Malaysia’s petrol company Petronas has unlimited reserves of oil for the next 50 yrs. Can we Malaysians please have the priority to get this fuel first for the rakyat cheaply and without GST?

The government has to stop its lies and bullshit. Everybody in the oil industry globally confirms one thing. Malaysia has the “sweetest” crude oil in the world. What this means is this, we produce the highest quality oil in the world. The best of the best. But the rakyat don’t see this. This is exported for other people in the world to use. Then Malaysia reimports low grade and low quality oil at a very cheap price for the rakyat to use. Dirty oil. Dirty Oil which pollutes the Environment in Malaysia.

The question is this. Isn’t the beautiful sweet high grade quality oil Malaysia produces belong to the rakyat of Malaysia? Why sell it of at a higher price to other countries? The oil belongs to the rakyat of Malaysia. It should be given to the people of Malaysia first. Why import dirty and filthy oil and give the rakyat of Malaysia? Why are Malaysians treated like dogs and be given the bones when other people are given the nice flesh to eat?

Why charge so much on what rightfully belongs to the 30 millions Malaysians?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 5
      • Wicked. Care to tell us, how can cheap petrol help the environment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
        • Euro 5 Petrol please! on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Clean petrol can help the environment bangau. Why are we spending billions building the Tun Razak Exchange when we cannot even have Euro 5 petrol and diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • tng pornstar on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:21 pm

tng, are you also a porn star?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • DAP said fuel subsidy cut is good. Why you disagree with DAP?

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/dap-rep-lauds-br1m-and-fuel-subsidy-cut-but-wants-solutions

• spongewai on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:35 pm

even if Nissan Teana in premium or luxury variants also used RON97??!

kidding me…

• Hahaha… really?
    Hope govt is right..
    hope we have a better ministers too..

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:40 pm

They’re just gonna take their time to lower the price so in the meantime – profit time for the rest…

• Minister nowadays…..
    Is it that rocket science to really do something for the rakyat?
    My taxes goes into your pocket, stop patronizing and start actually do something meaningful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Bukit Beruntung on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:51 pm

at my place…bukit beruntung and its surrounding…Only Petron Sell RON 97…PETRONAS do not sell RON 97…only RON95

• gaviny on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:57 pm

LOL, a check on local motoring forums actually the less rich are the ones using ron 97, those gila kereta ones, wira lah, old old cars all still pump 97

these modern car, RON89 also enough already

• LLembu on Nov 20, 2014 at 3:59 pm

1.Abolish fuel subsidy.
    2.Reduce car tax, Tighten car loan
    Eg: 50% down payment, max 5yrs loan.
    3.Establish good public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Chris (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

How about tax the petrol instead of subsidize it? And then tax dirty engine more. And then put all the extra income from tax into overhauling public transport in the country.

Free bus passes for all. Clean air for all. Less road rage for all. (Subsidized fuel ration card for rural folks where public transport doesn’t reach).

*grabs popcorn*

• Kangkung Ayam RM 1 in Malaysia on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Talk east, talk west!!!
    Tokok.

Spend your time study more, get more educated and service tax payer. Nobody will think you are dumb if you keep quiet!

• Matchy on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Once upon a time… most of us use RON97… even the poor… can’t believe that we need to downgrade to RON95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Since if we reduce 95 consumption, you guys don’t have to subsidise so much, so we don’t have to pay so much tax right? :DDDDDD

No.

• najib on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:12 pm

jangan mimpi lar ko orang minyak akan turun, pasti ada alasan minyak akan naik harga semula

• EnergyAnalyst on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:13 pm

To Mr. Chua Tee Yong, son of Chua Soi Lek.

You hope, government hope that rakyat will do this to help the government

But can I ask, what rakyat can hope the government will do to help rakyat.

This kind of foolish Hoping is futile both ways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • truely malaysian on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:20 pm

“Based on the data, the usage of RON 97 has been low but when it dropped by 20 sen, it will help the economy as fewer people will use RON 95. Less RON 95 usage means the government does not need to fork out more subsidies,” he said.

Pandai betul budak ini…aish aishh

• What a joke. Please do not insult Malaysian, YB Deputy Minister.

• Hope_97 on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Olang kaya mau simpan itu duit lagi lo. Gomen itu mesti kasi tulun lagi harga RON 97 sampai RM0.05 satu liter. Olang kaya lagi mau sabsidi, free lagi bagus.

Harga RON 95 itu mau kasi naik sampai RM3.50, biar lakyat itu kasi mampui. Bolo punye olang. Hari-hari mau culi duit lakyat.

• erwinkarim on Nov 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

in USA, premium petrol is RON 91 and premium plus is 93.

hence the luxury cars are designed to run on RON 91 at minimum. so having RON 95 is a bonus.

there’s no incentive to use ron97 unless you want to have more power for your ferrari or porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Buddy on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:57 pm

@erwinkarim america uses 91 and 93 OCTANE, not RON. RON and OCTANE are two different measurements.
      91 octane = 95 RON
      93 octane = 97 RON

Wikipedia has a kindergarden level of explanation of this.
      Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Buddy on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Edit*
        RON= Research Octane Number
        IN USA, the OCTANE is for MON(Motor Octane Number)
        Americans never like standard measurements :)

• panpa on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Hello, driving luxury car is a sin? U have made us pay more to obtain a luxury brand. Now…. u wanna force us to use it desired fuel? well, I can pump which ever fuel grade I like. I pumped 97 last night. But if months later increase again as usual, I will pump bak 95. So what’s ur call?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:16 pm

this is bull to an unbelievable level

• Lol.

He might as well say “Gov hopes high incomers spend X-times more than average wage earner to boost economy and increase country’s income”

• You got nothing to say. on Nov 20, 2014 at 5:30 pm

So you takok!

• cendol (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Just do away with subsidy. Let the real market price prevail
    The more you suppress something, the worse it will become.

• nobrand on Nov 20, 2014 at 6:38 pm

This Maharaja lawak minister made statement again

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Kimchi owners can perhaps extend the trouble free period of their cabbages by using R97 fuel

For sushi engines, R95 will suffice, coz the ultimate design can take the crappy Malaysian fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • alsonotknownas on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Malaysia, the only country where ministers govern by wishing and hoping, instead of planning and taking actions.

• Another sampah in the Wall on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Saya ada banyak kotak tisu…boleh kasi sama dia.

• Lane Tamer on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Public hope ministers, cronies pay their own petrol, not using tax payers’ money…

• niterunner99 on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:20 pm

i think rich ppl will only use best fuel possible for their supercars.
    even Singaporeans pump Shell’s Racing for their Civics & Toyotas…

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:26 am

what does luxury cars and big capacity engines got to do with anything?? the HUGE majority of cars today costing RM120,000 and above have engines 2 litres or less in capacity.

• Henry on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:19 am

One thing they have not learn is to keep quiet at the appropriate time which is now.

• Krishna on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:32 am

What is funny is that ppl got money to buy Bentley, but no money for RON97! better stuff in an NGV tank!

• bullshit on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:07 pm

ron95 rm2.30. 0.28 subsidy, ori price = rm2.58.

ron97 rm 2.55. 0 subsidy, ori price = rm2.55.

make sense to you?

• TehCSiang on Nov 22, 2014 at 8:01 pm

ALL along… there isn’t subsidy on any petrol sold in Malaysia.. This Umno Malay government had been bluffing the rakyat big time…
    When one buy a new car, the extra tax is so high that it already cover ..ALL THE SUBSIDIES… during the 20 years life-time of the car..

• I like to eat Kangkong on Jan 01, 2017 at 7:23 pm

One thing that is overlooked, is that our fuel, though seems cheaper, is actually DIRTIER.

Compared that to Singa, and Thai.