Tyre-related UN regulations and standards explained

tyre-un-regulations 705

Yesterday, after revealing the 23 new UN regulations under the World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations (WP29) to be gazetted by 2015, Road Transport Department (JPJ) automotive engineering assistant director Arif Fahmi Abdul Wahab outlined the UN regulations and standards to do with vehicle tyres.

As minute and trivial as the component(s) may seem, no fewer than five UN regulations and five standards relating to tyres are already in force, covering passenger and commercial vehicles, motorcycles and retreaded tyres. The standards comprise MS (Malaysian Standards) and FMVSS (Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, from the NHTSA in the US).

Set to be enforced from January 1, 2015 are R64 Temporary Spare Tyres and R117 Tyre Rolling Sound Emission, while R88 Motorcycle Retroreflective Tyres is set to be gazetted in July 2017 for enforcement in January 2020.

With regards to the standards and regulations currently in place, importers of new tyres are required to present a UN, MS or FMVSS certificate for approval. Tyres must have a minimum tread depth of 1.6 mm, and snow and regrooved tyres (carving additional tread depth) are not permitted.

Retreaded tyres are permitted, and it’s JPJ and Puspakom‘s job to ensure these tyres meet specifications. There are of course many more parameters that tyres must satisfy – the lab at the Rubber Research Institute of Malaysia has tested over 770 tyres between 2002 and 2012, and is capable of evaluating dimensions, structure endurance, high-speed capability, bead unseating force, rolling resistance and dynamic circumference, amongst others.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Thread depth of 1.6mm!!!!! This is obviously an attempt to make us buy tyres frequently to ensure tyre making cronies are getting richer. What is happening to this country???

Later increase price of rubber so that rakyat cannot afford rubber wheel. Do we have to use cart wheel made of wood for our car???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:26 pm

1.6mm, not 1.6cm!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Orang suruh simpan bodoh tu, tak reti gak.

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:01 pm

You do know what happens to a tyre with too little thread? Especially when you combine them with the typical Malaysian rain? Car spins out of control, you crash. Isn’t that a bit more expensive than a new tyre every once in a while?

• That’s why you need ESP and you proud of Iriz/Preve/Suprima S!!

With Proton’s ESP, tyre botak also no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
        • Hanabishi on Dec 05, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Are you sure about it Beng? then i leave all the tayar botak in tire shop for you…

• Hanabishi on Dec 05, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Bro… depth of 1.6mm is slightly thicker than your 10 cent and slimmer than 20 cent… when your tire supported the weight of your car, the tire lost almost 90% of the traction. standard new tire thread depth is 7.9mm or 10/32″
      and legally worn out for euro road safety rules is 1.85mm outer and 1.6mm inner…
      as malaysian standard, its still not as strict as euro but its the law that we follow from euro…
      Are you driving your car with the tire worn out until can see the wire inside? Its not about cronies… even dont have this law, i will change my tires if the tire is worn out and unsafe to drive. If you wanna die, just hang yourself in your room, dont mess around on the road.

• Penunggang Agama on Aug 02, 2022 at 10:48 am

Bodoh, tolong simpan sikit

• Mamasan on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:40 pm

The JPJ should focus more on safety related issues eg. tyres instead of unimportant topics like cermin gelap and number plate spacing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • JPJ operasi on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Bagus sekali … saya boleh buat banyak lagi operasi…. operasi songlap rakyat

Durian runtuh !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • taboogen on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:02 pm

this one totally agree.. its not a pleasant thing when driving or riding a bike and suddenly a lorry tyre blow out infront of you.

• Sparcov on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Make sure all the lorry complied
    Make sure all the lorry drive only on slow lane
    Make sure all motorcycle off from the highway. They even drive faster than a ferrari on the fastlane

this is due to recently alot of accident involve lorry and motorcycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • drchan on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:45 pm

remove AP system and reduce car tax/ duty, so that the rakyat can afford BETTER and SAFER cars every 3-5 years!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Aerodynamic bro on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:44 pm

That’s what I wanted hear man!!! Low tax means we can but Safer and Powerful car than just buy shit spec UMW Toyota and Protongz!!!

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Lower tax = shorter loan periods and higher interest rates = price is the same every month. But yeah, keep dreaming.

• Anti-Establishment on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Even the cheapest Proton (Iriz) is now ASEAN NCAP 5-star holder. You buy or not?

• Aerodynamic bro on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Hmm…..what about super slick tires or rally/off road tires……

• Blaze (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Retreaded tyres should be ban.. JPJ should focus on this matters first. This tayar celup causes chaos and lots of dangerous debris on the road.. A great hazard on the highway as all vehicles travelling at a higher speed…

• darkermarker on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:53 pm

there are most important and pressing things for jpj……….and they prefer to meddle with tayar matters….

Look at overloading lorries, black smoke, other commercial vehicle problems etc…

Aduh……..what next?? Windshield wiper?? Light bulb??

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:10 pm

You think people driving around with botak tyres in Malaysia (where there’s always lots of water on the road) is not a big problem? I have seen plenty of tyres that were completely worn down… even so much you can see the white treads inside! Blowouts are imminent, or the car spinning out of control when it’s rainy.

• Next…maybe they will check your vehicle… haha

Retreaded tyre is safe if their construction & use complying whether un reg or ms…

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Wait a minute. Do these rules apply to newly sold tyres, or to old ones too? 1.6mm is a sensible minimum thread depth, after that tyres should be discarded (not safe to use anymore… especially not in Malaysia!). But if new tyres are limited to at least 1.6mm that’s pretty idiotic, cause all are.

Retreading not allowed? For lorry tyres in Germany that’s a common practice, even recommended by the manufacturer from what I heard. Not that I am happy with the practice, but if the tyre was designed for that in the first place (and you don’t do it too often) I suppose that’s acceptable?

• Sparcov on Dec 05, 2014 at 8:28 am

retreading tyres are common in EU and US, and usually they applied for commercial trucks.

But have you encounter tyres debris on the road? those came of from the retreading tyres, with that in mind, we can see the retreading tyres are not safe.

I have encounter when I follow the trailer infront of me, suddenly the tyres debris just fly off to my bonnet and caused a dent.

So, I don’t think it is good to retreading tyres.

• Hanabishi on Dec 05, 2014 at 11:18 pm

there are rules of retreading the tires in EU (i dunno about US law) the retreading rules are up to -2/32″ or once they reached the legal tread worn out, they will retreading up to 4mm only once and then it will be discarded… some new rules applied and its no longer legal for retreading tires for certain tire…

• Sparcov on Dec 05, 2014 at 8:22 am

Those rules applied in EU and Japan whereby anything below the certain of depth are not road Worthing.

This is why you see plenty of imported 2nd tyres from Europe and Japan with some say up to 70% thread.

Personally, I think it is a good move, next is Malaysia ready to adapt the rules ? aren’t there are more important rules to implement and complied first?

If the tyres is so important, what about the road conditions and the safety sign? Are they equally important? I have see many barriers are not repaired after accident or in a bad states. Will they also contributed to the road accident?

The government should not only focus on the maintenance of the highway where the maintenance of the road are collected upon the collection of the toll. Federal road and state road equally important to maintain.

So, before the government come and implement something to the road user and burden them, should you go and tell your agency to do their job to ensure the road are in good conditions and complied with national safety standards? You can’t just push the blame to the road user, don’t forget the road user pay ROAD TAX, so we home the same effort from the government to maintain the road too.

In other country, once we pay the road tax, meaning we no need to pay the toll, as we pay to use the road, in Malaysia is all about business.