New Hyundai Sonata LF launched in Malaysia – three 2.0L variants, CBU from RM139k to RM154k

Hyundai_Sonata_LF_Malaysia_Launch_ 001

The new Hyundai Sonata has just been officially launched in Malaysia. The seventh-generation LF made its world debut in South Korea in March this year, so Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has wasted little time in bringing the D-segment sedan in to challenge the Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Nissan Teana, Kia Optima K5, VW Passat and Peugeot 508.

The Sonata LF has a bigger footprint than the outgoing YF – at 4,855 mm long and 1,865 mm wide, the new model is 35 mm longer and 30 mm wider than the car it replaces. The wheelbase, at 2,805 mm, is 10 mm longer. The 510-litre (VDA) boot can take four golf bags and four Boston bags.

Hyundai points out that the increased use of high-tensile steel (51%, as opposed to 21% previously) and new underpinnings translates to the new Sonata having 41% greater torsional strength and 35% greater bending strength than the outgoing model.

Hyundai_Sonata_LF_Malaysia_ 003

The “Fluidic Sculpture 2.0” body (with flat underbody) performs well aerodynamically with a Cd value of 0.27. The LF’s appears sharper and more sober than the adventurous YF, which replaced an inoffensive but dull NF and shocked the segment in the process.

Under the hood is a 2.0 litre Nu engine with 154 PS and 194 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The MPI unit (as opposed to GDI in the i40) with Dual CVVT is mated to a six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox, designed in-house.

The steering is electric and suspension is made up of MacPherson struts up front and a multi-links at the back, which is par for the course. Hyundai says that the Sonata has been tested at the Nurburgring, and mentions “enhanced driving dynamics” as well as lower levels of noise, vibration and harshness (NVH). A Drive Mode button changes steering, transmission and throttle response in three modes (Eco, Normal, Sport), similar to that in the latest Optima K5 facelift.

Hyundai_Sonata_LF_Malaysia_ 028

Three variants will be available in Malaysia – Elegance B, Elegance and Executive. The base model gets dual-airbags, ABS, Hillstart Control, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), daytime running lights (DRLs), 17-inch alloys (with 215/55 tyres) leather seats and a 12-way powered driver’s seat.

Also standard on the Elegance B are dual-zone air-con, Smart Key (keyless entry) and push start, steering audio controls, cruise control, auto headlamps and the new Smart Trunk System, which opens the boot automatically when one stands near the rear end with the key fob for three seconds.

Moving up to the Elegance adds on side and curtain airbags to make it six in total, a Super Vision Cluster instrument panel with 4.2-inch colour screen (compared to a 3.5-inch OLED monochrome cluster on the Elegance B), touch-screen audio visual navigation system, Bluetooth, front parking sensors, reverse camera and a locally-fitted Safe Drive (video) Recorder. By the way, the AVN system is Android 4.4.2 (KitKat) based, and it can run Waze when tethered to your smartphone, on the move, we are told.

Android touch-screen audio visual navigation system is standard for the Elegance and Executive

The top Executive spec Sonata gets all the above, plus 18-inch wheels in a sportier design (235/45 tyres), bi-xenon HID headlamps (halogen projectors for the rest), active cornering lamps, panoramic roof, eight-way powered front passenger seat and auto wipers. Cabin trim wise, the Exec gets carbon-look trim while the Elegance gets wood trim.

The CBU from South Korea Sonata comes in six colours, and you can check out the available colours for each variant for yourself on CarBase.my. It is priced at RM 139,268 for the Elegance B, RM145,768 for the Elegance and RM153,768 for the Executive, all OTR without insurance.

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors also announced an interesting warranty programme for the new Sonata LF. On top of the standard five-year or 300,000 km warranty, there will be an eight-year warranty for the powertrain (engine and gearbox). The eight-year warranty is applicable only for first hand owners.

michelin-200

www.michelin.com.my

Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Executive

Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Elegance

Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Elegance B

Hyundai Sonata official pictures

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Annoynimouse on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:51 am

I never liked Korean cars, but they are becoming more and more harder to ignore nowadays.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 8
    • Sammy on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Nothing wrong with Korean cars. Just the distribution and service network here sucks big time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 5
      • KimCheap on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:17 pm

At these prices, Honda Accord is my investment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 124
        • Pororo on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:05 pm

If you want to do an investment, buy property lah.. Not car… Kereta Lama2 harga turun maaa…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 12
          • Once Bitten Twice Shy from slanted H on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:25 am

Not much diff from current version.

Doubt this will sell well as the current version also so few on the road

Sorry la you H is slanted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
        • ProtonGSC on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:10 pm

For a CBU D-segment at RM139k.

Indeed a really start for Hyundai m’sia, finally HSDM make a good pricing compare to previous price launch.

Please other dealers follow this price example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Dr Mamak on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:31 pm

At 150K, i’d buy a proper H badge rather than a melted H.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 34
        • That’s because of your perception on Korean Cars. Your narrow egocentric mind doesn’t allow you to look beyond the Japs.

Try looking at it with an open mind and you might like a thing or two about the Koreans.

The conservatives will always follow the ancestors !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 26
        • Sam Loois on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:14 pm

only dumb people invest in car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
        • Sam Loo Ori on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 118
          • kenny on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:08 am

Better RV? Dude, At RM139k for Altis 2.0V, u already paid the higher price! That is not higher RV, but it was the $$ u paid since day 1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
          • Altis is Elantra level la bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • old dog on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:18 pm

yes, please buy more altis and they need your support…

when you Altis done warranty, this sonata still have years left…

• Patrick on Dec 14, 2014 at 1:12 pm

You try to compare a D-SEGMENT car with a C-CEGMENT car?

• just for RV you buy a car ? we all dont buy a car every year. please buy a good car. no matter what brand it is.good RV not suppose to be a good car

• Blue Film on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:19 pm

I totally dislike blue interior cabin lights… ugly to see and painful to view

White or amber interior always

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 39
    • OMG…Expensive and ugly …puihhh. The current sonata look better loh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 96
  • Ken.G on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:54 am

Very Korean Design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • r2-d2 on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:56 am

interior is sucks!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • 100% agree!! Looks so cheap! the touch screen player, so looked aftermarket one.. why they don’t want to follow like in korea one?

http://paultan.org/2014/04/17/2015-hyundai-sonata-makes-show-debut-new-york/2015-hyundai-sonata-us-05/

and, the interior, if they have this color of the leather seats, i might consider to buy one.

http://paultan.org/2014/03/24/2015-hyundai-sonata-launched-korea/2014-sonata-0003/

Again, HSDM make this look so cheap!! This car should be in price range of civic only.

Personally, I like interior of high spec accord much more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • No more Value on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Well, maybe hyundai got the same thought as Toyota….

“Malaysian don’t deserved it”

• money on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:57 am

this car lunching, K5 sales rising

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
  • Where is Najib's Promise? on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:03 pm

where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

this car in the US is only USD$20,000. Cheap for people in the US. But in Malaysia, RM150k is not cheap at all.

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. They blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin recently quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 203 Thumb down 217
    • salambangi on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Ladies and gentlemen. This post is from a congenital DAP macai who will not stop poking at this issue. Im truly truly tired of this. Pl move on la…Get on with your life.Enjoy your life and work hard like many other successful people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 70
      • Malaysia Boleh on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:21 am

Regardless political background, when a Prime Minister promise something and it doesn’t materialize, or he twist his words after election, that is not right.

Numbers and fact were given in the statement. But were shot down, just because it is against current government’s point of interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • A DAP cybertroopers who spins everything into politics of hatred. Yawnn.. Can we have a politic-free auto news here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 45
    • Free of politic please on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Please make it free of politic. Wait until GE 2018. Manifesto mean the party politic must obey their word before the next GE. Still got another 4years left. And for you information, Malaysia is one the highest owner of car per 1000 people for middle income country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • wayangkulit on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Since you have the capabilities to write such a long logical complain that cars in xyz country is cheaper and better you might as well make use of your capabilities to either;

-write a letter to apply for citizenship in xyz country since its cheaper and better there

or

-stand for election and make a change to this country

or

-start a migrating company and help your poor fellow Malaysian to mass exodus out of this country and make millions of dollars doing so

Really bored and tired of each car news must be tied to some one’s tunneled vision negative political views

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
    • joanna on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:43 am

Yeah we need this constant reminder of how idiot we are to be fooled the govt. They said the price will reduce 30% but until now, nothing has changed. Lol.
      But macai will still vote for them. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
      • Jimmy on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:27 pm

It is okay to remind people rakyats every 3 months about BN automotive promise, in a nicer way nicer words, of course.
        And it also serves as a reminder to BN to fulfil their promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Politic again on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:56 pm

I see the same junk political post of Najib promise from this junk guy for almost every paul tan forum for all cars.

If you feel proud of others, pls go stay at other country. Don’t talk cook and sing song every times. Don’t bring politic here to make people hate each other’s.

Lastly I want to tell you Mr Politic, you are a real joker and lousy assholx who will know only bullshix in politic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • najib is lying all along.

• Nice car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • qwerty on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Any potential buyer should either choose the Elegance B variant or go straight to the top aka Executive variant. The Elegance variant is oddly positioned as it doesn’t really show an advantage over the Elegance B model despite costing 5k more.

Btw, the Smart Trunk System is not usable in our market. Imagine yourself closing the trunk after putting something inside and you turn around to talk to someone, and suddenly the trunk opens. XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • holofanboi on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:16 pm

ze ghost be lurking in ze trunk D:

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:15 pm

I would say the extra airbags alone are worth the money. 5K is only an additional 5% of the purchase price. You can probably get the difference discounted anyway.

if anything the mid trim Elegance is the one to get. The extra premium for the Executive isn’t worth the extras it comes with. Loosing the active HIDs is unfortunate but given how some of these new Koreans ride, I would opt for the higher profile (and much cheaper) 17 inch than the 18s.

153 used to be what one used to be able to haggle from Hyundai for a 2.4 YF.

• Curious on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Please tell me which “markets” exist where people also talk through their asses.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Really? I am of the opinion that the Elegance B should be skipped in favor of the Elegance variant since for 5.5k more you get what can be called a Tech and Safety pack.

Regarding your view of the Smart Trunk System, I disagree. If you can’t adapt to something as simple as remembering to not place yourself so close to the trunk after opening, then you probably are unable get into the financial position that would afford you one of these cars. Also, Hyundai could design a simple countermeasure for this sort of situation. With proper programming, the system could be made to not open the trunk if the key doesn’t leave detection range after closing the boot lid and would only open again automatically once the key leaves and re-enters detection range.

• VWfan on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Better looking than “all new proton perdana”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
  • VWfan on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:19 pm

better looking than so called “all new Proton Perdana”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • should be ckd-ed to make more presence from a cheaper price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:12 pm

i think if they CKD Sonata it can be even more cheaper as CBU price is comparable with CKD Camry/Accord variant..

• Abang on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Ah Beng, when the new Proton Perdana gonna sell for public? No need mahal price lah, RM99K okay.

• laughingatu on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:23 pm

joker of a car, cheap car for cheapos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • dr.terror on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:24 pm

eight year warranty for engine and gearbox? VW malaysia should do this. anyway not bad kimchi i guess, the price and spec are quite fair…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • 4G63T DSM on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Until you find out Hyundai USA has been offering 10 year bumper to bumper for donkey years already.

• Hemi 426 on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Agreed,it’s a striking looking ride,back in the States i have a YF Sonata Limited as my daily driver,but mine is the GDI Turbo model with 274ps bone stock,with a 6 speed auto and shiftronic.It comes fully loaded in terms of specs and features,it’s the only automatic transmission car i own,the rest are 5 and 6 speed sticks.I purchased the Sonata for under USD 29k with taxes fully loaded.

As for Sime Darby’s asking price here,i think it’s fair considering the specs and features given as standard.This will be a huge success in North Americe because the YF Sonata was exceedingly popular in North America,i reckon this latest LF should be a success too here.

All in all,it’s a very decent ride if you ask me.Kudos to Hyundai.The Koreans have come a long way.

Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • you do realize your car actually makes only about 250 BHP ? as proven by the 2015 model which downgraded the claimed output which was exaggerated from the start.

• As a sonata owner, sorry. I dont dare to try another hyundai anymore.
    my 3 years old sonata, engine oil leaking, broken exhaust pipi and muffle, many plastic sound, gearbox issue, lost of power, and many many more. How come my son’s myvi which 4 year old still bettet than mine…sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 73
    • Battu on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:05 pm

yeah we all believe your cool story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • therealmaserati on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Agree with you bro. Korean cars don’t stand the test of time. Normally people who buy Korean cars are first time car buyers who know nuts about cars.

After they dump their Korean cars, they will never ever buy Korean again.

Hopeless engine, rubbish refinement, terrible handling, and aweful resale value. Yes, I care about RV because I am rich and I decide not to dump more money away when I can dump less money away by getting a Honda or Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 43
    • apaapajelah on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:48 pm

U tak pandai jaga kereta macam anak u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Looser on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Err…bcos you didn’t send for service while your son did? Lame story

• AvanteOwner on Dec 10, 2014 at 2:06 pm

I own the 2008 Avante and still driving it, never had any issues with engine nor transmission, just common wear and tear as it is 7 years old now and still going good. Keyword here is maintenance!

• rickrude on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Your son drive his car going to college.. you drive your car going to disco, genting highland for gambling, thats why your car problem! Tuhan marah!..

• kzm (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:29 pm

How can Hyundai able to price their CBU Sonata beating or comparable to CKD Camry/Accord price n come with a lot of features? unlike CKD Camry/Accord, CBU Sonata has to pay import tax of 30%..by logic CBU Sonata should be at least 20-30% higher than comparable CKD Camry/Accord variant..i dont think boleh has direct FTA with S.Korea at the moment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Answer : Honda and Toyota makes FAT profit margins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Under ASEAN-Korea FTA (AKFTA), import duty for CBU car is 0%.

HS Code -> 8703.23 – – Of a cylinder capacity exceeding 1,500 cc but not exceeding 3,000 cc
      Origin Conferring Criteria => A regional value content of not less than 45 percent of the FOB value of
      the good.

Source:
      http://www.miti.gov.my/cms/content.jsp?id=com.tms.cms.section.Section_product%20specific%20rules%20(PSR)%20AKFTA

• kzm (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Agh..AKFTA…ur rite…but motor vehicle fall under Sensitive Track item n under HSL or Highly Sensitive List group B where tariffs to be reduced by 20% by 1 January 2016..so not 0%..that if I interpret it correctly

• gonggok on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Because we have been long fed the lie by car distributors that “the price is high’ because of tax. Look at the hybrids when it was tax free, the prices in Malaysia was nowhere near u.s. prices!!!

• holofanboi on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:18 pm

I (usually) despise your comments but you do raise a bloody good point there. Looks like the tax itself isn’t the main reason why car prices here are totally ridiculous.

H & T have certainly been enjoying the margins eh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • sonata on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:37 pm

The rear closely resembles the Optima K5. This product has lost its sharp exterior design.Sad

• shaunD on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:46 pm

CBU from Korea? should be good right? is it on par with Japan CBU? you know, when people talk about japanese being so rajin, very disciplined etc, and it translates into the quality of their cars. is it the same with Korea CBU? #curious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:48 pm

I can’t help but notice their price is on par with Honda and Nissan…

Anyhow the center console design and the surrounding switches looks cheap to me especially when they’re selling a car which costs RM150k+

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:04 pm

While the price was lower than expected (initial rumours was 160k for the highest model), but the main issue for me is the lack of a more powerful engine.

The 2.0 GDI used in the Hyundai i40 itself is pretty gutless, under load. And it becomes more apparent once you step out of say a VW Passat or Peugeot 508 cause of the better low down torque and more refined engine. The 2.4 would be a better choice, even on the boring ol’ Camry and the fancy Kia Optima K5, the same issue is present.

Too bad Hyundai is banking a lot on the Genesis, pricing the Genesis will be critical for sure. And please, buck up the aftersales.

• If korean cars r not petrol thirsty i wouldn’t mind to buy 1.. Cannot tahan with d petrol.. Unless they fix tat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • BeemerFreak on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Post 2010 Korean cars are never thirsty for fuel. In fact they are better than some Japanese like Nissan and Subaru, it is just that Korean drive train has a very irritating nature of not wanting to rev and being very lazy, that sucks

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Don’t understand why people say Korean car suck fuel bad…their engine also co-developed with Japs mitsubishi (and GM)..so that japs brand engine also suck aaa ?

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:33 pm

sorry not GM, chrysler meh

• Obviously you never own or drive Korean car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:39 am

Yes, I don’t own any…but my children do (though I pays the installment) so I got to drive them around too and I eligible to say their car is on par Japs and even way better equipped..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Legend (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:58 pm

it rules the D-segment market from K5 for now
    and for sure Camry 2.0G or G X is not it’s rival
    totally can’t compare
    If given a choice i will still choose Teana 2.0 over this one anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • Does anyone try Peugeot 508 before? It smoke all kimchi and sushi!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • KUS (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Maybe not all D segment seeker like to smoke others. Some may have other priorities when choosing a car.

• Dashboard look so outdated la…

• gaviny on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:14 pm

extremely disppointing engine choices, EXTREMELY, if you’re going to want to compete with the big boys like the japs, you have got to stop treating the customers like idiots and giving older and older engines.

almost all D segments have a choice of the latest and greatest engine in the top spec but not here.

• firdaus on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:20 pm

after 2 years…the price will be half of brand new price

better get a jap because not much difference in terms of pricing brand new.after 2 years, the japs retain 80% value!

Correct me if im wrong…
    BTW, the dashboard is fugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
    • firdaus on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:28 pm

why so many thumbs down???
      oh, i know, you guys must be the ones owning a korean
      make and it feels so fed up looking at you resale value right??

hahahah…i told u so!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • Rylston on Dec 11, 2014 at 9:08 am

Gosh…Still talking about rv…WANT RV BUY HOUSE LA ADUI… =.=

• I hope the Smart Trunk System can be disabled. Sometimes you hang around chatting near the back of your car and it will be tiring to keep closing the trunk.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Koreans are fast catching up……….

…….. to have the worst design of all car makers, and I include Perodua and Proton in that list

In my unbiased view, the looks are so generic, the engine is ancient, drievability is horrendous and resale value, the less said about it the better

Well done Hyundai for designing a car that would be average on the 80s world….

Wake up and look around other car makers churning out state of the art cars which will put all your best cars to shame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • No more Value on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:48 pm

I saw the design of Toyota Mirai, it looks greater than lamborghini~~~

Just trolling.

• annoymous on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:35 pm

the steering doesnt look appeal to me. yuck

• happiesdog on Dec 09, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Quick move from Sime Darby for the first time.. imagine we are still getting the pre-facelift Elantra and I think we are the last country in the world to launch the facelift Elantra..

Overall a very competitive price + spec, a good looking car as well. But where is the electric handbrake?

• lutils on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:00 pm

proton suprima got better looking interior than sonata….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • berann on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Ugly and old fashion dashboard especially the silver plastic panel…yucks! 3.5inch screen for your flagship car?? Base model otr with insurance is 4k more expensive than accord?? Good luck…accord interior is much more premium n better brand too!

• matrimau on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:12 pm

When we drive or sit in a korean car dont think of a japanese car , just have a comfort travelling in a korean car.if we have continental european car think of that car not jap or whatsoever brand car. Then only you had a good feeeling driving the car.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 2:17 pm

dual airbags….seriously?

• Downgrade the HP so better FC…but sad there is no GDI engine

• shawal on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:02 pm

well…
    the top spec model is only RM10k cheaper than the accord 2.4 if we look at the OTR prices with insurance…
    there are few benefits and trade offs between the two…

thus …a new driven episode shud be made between the two..

but overall…
    attractive car with attractive pricing…

I’m sure the sonata is better than ever…

• Therealmaserati on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Such a boring looking car. And the fact that its no where as refined as a Honda or Toyota makes it a silly move to buy one.

Korean cars are never nice to drive. They just bring u from A to B. Korean cars steering always always feel “loose” , has a rubbery feeling to it. And its always numb.

Takes corner like a boat. The current Elantra proves my point. So floaty at 160kmh. And the engine is noisy and rough when pushed hard.

At least Honda engines sound good when pushed hard. Yea I know not everybody pushes their car hard. But what I am trying to say is that Korean cars are NO where near the Japs in terms of refinement.

I drove the previous Sonata and Elantra and i can pfficially say they are probably the worst cars I have ever driven in a long time .

They r cars built without soul for souless ppl. I cant understand why people can say that Korean cars are on par with Japs.

Go drive a cerato and get into a Civic after that. I am very sure u will throw ur Cerato away after driving a Civic.

Yes , I hate Korean cars because up till today, not a single Korean car has impressed me.

Its either Japs, Germans or Italians for me. Korean car pls take far far away and dump them back in Korea pls whr they belong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 53
    • No more Value on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Even American and European accepted korean car and korean car has good sales in the market. Also, Hyundai is one of the top 10 car manufacturer in the world. They are not par with Japanese car?

Move forward la, Malaysian.
      Accept samsung as high end product while looking down at korean car and also look down to other korean product is such an idiot thing.

• Active n passive safety features r awesome.but if v focus on transmission n engine its still so so.the model reflects hi pressure turbo charge engine at least but v c what v get cvvt engine.v thirsty engine so can’t show interest to have 1. Instead take teana vw Passat.

• roxas on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:37 pm

the interior quality is higher thn u see on the pic

• Tanker on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:40 pm

The interior is such a huge let down. Expected more from Hyundai given the bar set by the current model.

• apaapajelah on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Kereta kedua kegemaranku selepas Citroen DS5.. hmmm bilalah boleh mampu beli..

• amirzaheen on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:58 pm

thats not androidAuto….dissapointed

• Ken Young on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:01 pm

A new and unregistered 2014 Sonata Elegance (base model) is selling for as low as RM110K due to end-of-year sales. This is much lower than the 2015 Sonata Elegance B base model that is priced at RM139K.

I suggest if you are looking to buy the 2015 Sonata, you should wait until the end of 2015.

• kelso on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Oooo… multi link rear… very nice….

• I feel like not much different after all in terms of specs compare to previous gen launched 4 yrs ago. Should at least given such latest gadgets such as lane watch, HUD, and better sounds system (like k5’s infinity) as to show the value of new gen since outlook has not really night&day improvement. Seems dealer cut alot of specs but selling still at high price. Safety feature (6 airbags+VSC) combo should be the same across all range. Nissan can do so on Teana I dun see any reason not for Sim Darby Hyundai. Unless they wanna follow UMW.

• gary gary on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:57 pm

And then we look at Mazda 3’s price… and where’s the CKD?

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:25 pm

This Sonata interior and exterior look nice. But it seems less attractive than its sibling K5. K5 got electronic parking brake but new Sonata still using foot parking brake.

I know many people will take Sonata to compare with Accord, Camry, Teana and mazda 6. No doubt Korean car seems boring while driving but it does not mean it was lousier than all Japanese car. Anyone of you driving Teana or Camry, if yes you will find the teana and camry floating like a boat in highway and body rolling was bad while taking corner in highway at high speed. And many of you may overpraised Accord. The handling of Honda isn’t as good as Mazda. My friend driving new Civic and upgraded from Waja 1.6, everything he happy with except handling. He complain Civic isn’t as stable as its old Waja (still keep for 2nd car) during high speed. Please do test drive these models and feel it yourself to make your own judgement.

I am working at Korean MNC now and I know their culture. Korean is always keep improving their products and always has shorter lifecycle of each models. They spent hundred of million dollar on its R&D every year and quality is also major concern before product being launched. Korean mentality is different and they always want to achieve greater result, and sometimes really regardless the profit margin. My company growing fast but profit margin was so bad, that is how I know it.

For those who doubt on Korean car, please ask those who own Korean car start from year 2009 what are the quality issues their encountered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Therealmaserati on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Probably one of the ugliest interiors I have seen. And that steering wheel is horrible looking. Even a Honda City interior looks more upmarket than this piece of crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • koolio on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Is it just me or there’s someone who thinks the shape of the air-cond vent is hideous as well?

• ben yap on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:55 pm

too expensive for a korean car.

• Opah Semah on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Something wrong with the steering design….

• darkermarker on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Thumbs up here, thumbs up there. Overly used.
    Thumbs up always remind me of KFC advertisement…

I kinda feel hungry now….

• Ah Kai on Dec 09, 2014 at 10:23 pm

For those who are sitting at the back..Be careful. Scary looking face is there…

http://s1.paultan.org/image/2014/12/Hyundai_Sonata_Malaysia_0051.jpg

• terrence ho on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:03 pm

With all the new car introduced in D-segment this year,lucky I chose 2.4l Kizashi high spec with close to $40k discount.
    kalau x mampu beli kereta simpan duit beli rumah la kawan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Josh Ling on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Thank goodness, the hideous and super glaring “6-Speed Automatic” and “Hyundai” wordings disappeared!

Hope the one appears in the official photo with the “6-Speed Automatic” wordings is not the one we will be getting. Sime Darby, 6-Speed Auto is no news nowadays, so can you please remove those words?

• Aiyaa on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:32 am

In US, they get the 2.0T and 2.4 variants with nice and highly furnished interior.

Here, we only get the underpowered 2.0L 153hp Nu Engine(great for C-Seg,but not D-Seg), plus the 2.4 variant and the bluish twin-tail pipe display(like the previous gen) are gone..

Nonetheless, the pricing is average and not overpriced.

• LokKee on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:06 am

Personally, I felt VW Passat and Honda Accord were more nicer. I like the exterior design of Passat because the headlamp and tail lamp are very nice and look more high class. Even the new Honda Accord also very nice especially the interior design of it. BTW.. It’s just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Annie Ting on Dec 10, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Disappointed dashboard, I prefer the previous generation.

• Current YF Sonata owner. My air cond compressor is faulty and the car is just 3.5 years old. Hyundai quoted RM2700 to replace and at OWN cost as not covered by extended warranty. To Sonata YF owners, if you feel warm when moving at slow speed or at traffic light and then feel cold while moving fast it is the indication your aircond compressor is faulty. Get it replaced by 3 years or else you have to pay just like me.

Check with any YF Sonata owner about the car before getting one.

Engine sound was quiet for first 2 months then had a harsh noise, answer given by service center is all yf Sonata are like that and they have complaint to Hyundai Korea. Have to live with it.

Warranty claim was ok till first 3 years but under extended warranty they find 1001 reasons not to pay.

Rattling sound in cabin still not rectified after 3years and the service center said I just have to live with it.

The only reason i still have the car is the ride comfort is good.

Will not get another Sonata and it’s not worth to take the risk again. Current buyers are like test rats, they will improve on the next model but at your cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Dayalan on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:56 pm

mah,

Did you get a second opinion regarding the air cond? It may not be the compressor, and could be something as simple as the Air Cond cooling fan or compressor clutch damage. My Suzuki had similar problem with the air cond, Suzuki Service Centre wanted to replace the compressor but managed to get it checked and repair outside. The air cond cooling fan was damaged.

Never trust the service centres for these cars, and once you get a second opinion; you may pursue your case with consumer tribunal for the warranty claim.

• Dayalan,

Yes i did get opinion from two other air cond service centers and was confirmed the compressor was faulty. After replacement the air cond is working good.

Also when had a chat with other YF Sonata owners, many had a similar problem but few were lucky/unlucky it happen by 3years and was covered by warranty.

I checked the extended warranty booklet and was clearly stated compressor is one the the item not covered.

I’ve actually made a complaint about this when the car was 2 years old but the service center just changed the filter and said everything is ok.

• ikhwan on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:31 am

at this price, its better to go with honda or toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • old dog on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:23 pm

the interior is a messed…hope they will change it..

• mackl on Dec 14, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Just drop by at Hyundai showroom this afternoon to view the new Sonata. In real, it looks more stylish than in photos. I like the sound when the door is closed and the high refinement in the cabin especially its dashboard. Thou its dashboard looks conservative in photos, it looks nice and practical with high refinement in real. A thumb up for Hyundai!

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:20 am

I agreed, especially the refinement part. I driving Forte and the car full of gadgets and worth of money. However the refinement is not up to Japanese car standard. Especially the furnishing between the door and dashboard, the gap is big and visible. Besides that the window button area got “yek yek” sound when press on it. One more thing is worst ever for me (due to my body size), the driver seat was not in centre. The space for left foot is just right but right foot space is simply “too big” (I am 183cm height). It is not comfortable for my right leg without support from door.

I seated in my friend’s K3 and the refinement is very much improve over Forte. Despite the driver seat was not as big as Forte but it is much comfortable. And the refinement of dashboard, overall lining furnishing is good.

I believe the new Sonata refinement is better than its previous model. Now remaining a question is how’s the driving experience.

• Sparcov on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:15 am

Honda
    Toyota
    Hyundai

I believe, all above is a good reputable brand and reliable car. But ask most of the Malaysians, they prefer Toyota and Honda over Hyundai.

Only some hardcore car buyer will choose something different.

Even, if you ask myself, Yes, Hyundai Sonata has a good design and pricing, why should I choose a korean car whereby I can get a Japanese Accord or Teana at the same price? Why should I risk myself to get a Hyundai?

So be practical, this is the mentality of the car buyer, also due to the huge investment of RM 140K, it is fair to think twice.

In US, it is different with less than USD 30K, you have plenty of choices. USD 30K living in US is like paying RM 30K living in Malaysia. If only car priced at RM 30K in Malaysia, I don’t mind to try my luck on a Hyundai.

Until then, be practical, I will still stick to Japanese car.

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:17 am

I select the car which I wanted the most rather than “conservative” of the 2nd hand value only. Share with you my experience as an owner of Korean car Forte. I had been driving it for 3 and half year. Within this period I had encountered driver door rattling sound and also from B pillar too. When press the area around power window switch area on all 4 doors can clearly hear “yik yik” sound. Other than that nothing happened to my car (touch wood). Yes, fuel consumption is not impressive like Japanese car. My car full tank around RM90 can last me around 400-450km (about City 70% Highway 30%). If highway cruise 120km/h can achieve 550-600km.

Spare part wise nowadays more and more spare part shop selling Korean car spare part especially in KL area. We can always get the spare part at SC but more expensive.

Like many said buying Korean car is gambling. I admit it when the time I made the decision. My family never own any Korean car and all object my decision. I told them if Forte not serving me well then no more Korean car in my life. That’s the reason I give it a try rather than “hear” from others.

• The asymmetric and boxy dashboard is ugly!

• Amirul Faiz on Dec 21, 2014 at 8:34 am

Korean car exterior ok but inside is full of cheap bulky plastics. Dont feel nice inside the car

• Matthew on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:29 am

Hm.. then you should Go for continental cars like VW,Peugeot.. VW Passat and Peugeot 408 both have very nice and sharp interior and exterior design.

• LokKee on Dec 22, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Perhaps, you can go for VW and Peugeot as both cars use high quality of materials instead of plastics.