Ford Kuga Special Edition – Titanium+ arrives, RM169k

Ford Kuga SE

Sime Darby Auto Connexion has introduced the Ford Kuga Special Edition, which was previewed last year at KLIMS13 as a Titanium+ model. The version is essentially the Australian-spec Titanium variant that was on call at the second-gen C520’s regional media drive in Adelaide last year.

As highlighted by the KLIMS13 show vehicle, the Kuga SE – available only in a single shade, which is Ginger Ale, the hero colour for the SUV – rides on 19-inch five-spoke wheels and 235/45 tyres and adds on power-adjustable leather seats, a panoramic sunroof and multi-coloured LED ambient lighting as part of the upgraded kit.

Also on, elements from the Technology Pack, which bags it active park assist and automated parking system – the SE also features adaptive cruise control with adjustable speed limiting device and a collision mitigation system which brakes the car for you in an attempt to prevent an accident.

No other changes otherwise – the Malaysian Kuga continues on with the familiar 1.6 litre EcoBoost turbocharged direct-injection engine, which offers 180 PS at 5,700 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,600 rpm to 5,000 rpm, paired with a SelectShift 6F35 six-speed automatic transmission.

The Kuga SE is priced at RM168,888, on-the-road with insurance (nearly RM9k more than the Malaysian-spec Kuga Titanium 1.6), and will be available only for a limited period.

Ford Kuga Titanium+ at KLIMS13

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ben yap on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:06 pm

expensive la…. no need to buy ar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:28 pm

No money to buy? Get a Proton!

Then you can imagine you are driving a Kuga in your Proton. A lot of Proton fanboys are doing that, that’s why they can bear with the bad fuel consumption and build quality.

Self-hypnotizing with noisy exhaust pipe: “Yes, I am driving a Ferrari Enzo, that’s why fuel consumption so bad. Ferrari is an Italian car, not German/Japanese car, thus it break down often, but that’s ok. I have a Ferrari. It’s ok! It’s ok!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • IrizX on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:47 am

Proton fanboi will tell you their Preve/SupRimau can smoke your car.

All they know is smoking..no wonder all dying from the cancerous Proton. LOL.

• Albert on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:10 pm

The distributors of FORD and TOYOTA have the same dad:PNB.
    You still cannot understand why their cars are priced horrendously and exceptionally skyhigh?
    2014 is ending soon and high dividends payout is a must from PNB to amanah contributors.
    In Boleh land,there will never be a day when Ford and Toyota will be priced affordably for the poor hire purchase slaves.Perhaps,regime change may undo all these hardships suffered by the car buyers who often go for 7-10 years hire purchase bondage.
    Everlasting perlindungan has created hire purchase ,I call, it slavery and bondage.You try to default 3 instalments,you will be blacklisted and prevented from even buyer Courts mammoths furniture on instalment plan in the future.
    In the UK,people own the cars.In Boleh Land,the Banks own the cars.The rakyat are the hp slaves,due to high taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 74
    • mastermind on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Wow I seeing u no future n will die soon…no money better shut up….
      U think at Singapore car is cheap…? let PNB or Sime Darby or Tan Chong or
      Tain Siang do they job…IF u want buying any car better work smart…don’t just left stupid comment… Life is life better u find the better way to improve u life than just complaint n complaint….
      TAX bla bla…
      NO MONEY …shut up… upgrade u knowledge …at least MA or PHD upgrade u self first after that come here and give input positives input…lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 60
      • Albert on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Please see paul Tan to brush up your Chaotic English.Why compare with landscarce Singapore?We are not complaining.Perhaps you are very satisfied with high car taxes..you look so spineless and pitiful.
        I have money,but not throw them at animals.We are prudent citizens unlike u,I believe throw cash at animals.
        You should be upgrading your knowledge cos you seem very contented with hire purchase bondage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 32
      • Oh my english…

Most likely from Singapore la.

• JB_KIA on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:11 am

Muhyidin’s recent claim is undoubtedly true…

• Frankly speaking, after i obtained PhD in Sciences, my salary only RM5XXX…after deducting EPF, SOCSO, bla bla bla…RM4XXX to spend in KL…how to survive?

• truely malaysian on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Many forget that a big chunk of the car loan AKA HP is to pay for import duty imposed by government. We get a loan to pay very high tax, wake up people…

• weeee on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:21 pm

The tech pack alone is enough to justify the additional 10k asking price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Hohoho adaptive cruise control ftw

• Its v nice to drive SUV but not worth to buy be RM 169k figure. Way toooooooooo expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • JB_KIA on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:35 pm

bleh kasi rebate 40k?

• Sammy on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Sime Darby, I think you might as well price your car to RM188,888 and it still doesn’t matter. It wont affect your sales much, so to speak. Not many will buy anyhow…
    One thing you got it right is to make it “limited”.

• Albert on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Bradder sammy,there will still be buyers for Ford cars eventho the pricing is out of this world.
      Some people buy cos of impulse,stupidity,wanting to show off,lured by promotional year end discounts,given lengthy hire purchase n lower interest rates,desire to enrich PNB( to pay amanah dividends back to themselves eventually),racial loyalty and many other unthinkable reasons.
      You can call them bodoh,khayal,syiok sendiri,nyanyok,kiasu, sor chai etc.The fact is : they will still buy cos cars are a BIG ADDICTION like narcotics.Anyway,we wish them a happy new year 2015 for buying Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
  • shawal on Dec 10, 2014 at 6:42 pm

So….with adaptive cruise control and that pre collison brake mitigation thingy combined…
    It basically cn drive itself in traffic jams right?

• subby on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:06 pm

You all never heard of Subaru’s euesight technology before ?

So pitiful…

• gary gary on Dec 10, 2014 at 7:30 pm

special edition but don’t even have a larger touch screen and ford sync. bullocks!

• jwrx (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 8:30 pm

To the people who are saying its expensive and wont sell. I hope you realise that the Kuga is Ford Malaysias best selling SUV in the last 10 years. Thousands have been sold since it launched.

Name me another Conti CBU SUV with the same features for under RM250k

7 airbags
    active park assist
    active brake assist

It does not have the brand prestige of Audi/BMW…but as a feature filled SUV, nothing can beat it at this price, only the RV obsessed will look down on this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Yes, the RV is bad! But quality still good, I still give a thumb up for this Kuga.

Both good RV and build quality, you still have to look for sushi cars.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:13 am

on paper, the ecoboost engine sounds good, and performs well too. but its let down by a rather poor gearbox and unconvincing engine sound, it sounds weak as though it is struggling. i wished ford malaysia brought in the 2.0 ecoboost australia gets.

• applegreen on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:11 am

19-inch rim for this SUV only suitable for city and highway drive. Please dont try off road yah!

• johnDoe on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:51 am

I check US website,
    Ford KUGA (M’sia) = Ford Escape (US)
    But why the price of Ford KUGA not equal to previous Ford Escape in malaysia ?

Kuga suppose to be a successor of Ford Escape Malaysia .. Greedy FORD

• zrazruq on Dec 06, 2015 at 1:04 pm

All of you there..Apo khabor. All Is Well..good. An advance happy 2016 new year brothers, uncles and grandpa too. Recently was i australia and visit FORD showroom. WAAA..!!! Memang best..yes. I meant Ford Kuga Trend AWD (all Wheel Drive). Tremendous features and I dont think it is in Malaysia yet. Pls check out and see..confirm belum ada lagi. With all in harganya should be around $40k (AUD). KAlau kali 3 pun around RM120k..but why haprak pun malaysian punya market jual dengan harga terlalu lumayan sehingga terlajak RM650k. Actually rakyat jelata kita ini kesian tau (thts the truth). Before this I was in London and I also compared the price of the their car…which good and everyone can effort it. How come negara kita ada this type of problems. Any Explanation..? Pls Share. I not try to put myself in the right position here or commenting on all the brothers, uncles and grandpa here (we all are ONE). Pls share and correct me if I am wrong. Thanks to everyone.