GALLERY: Nissan Almera facelift – a closer look at the Nismo Performance Package and V trim model

AlmeraFL_Nismo_Ext_04

Earlier in the week, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) introduced the Nissan Almera facelift in the country via a press release and studio shots – here then is the car in the metal, in both stock and dressed-up guise.

To recap, the car – which made its debut in Thailand last year – goes on sale in Malaysia in four variant forms, the baseline E manual (RM64,960 OTR without insurance) and E automatic (RM67,882), midrange V (RM74,700), and top-of-the-line VL (RM77,622).

All variants are equipped with a 102 PS and 139 Nm HR15DE 1.5 litre DOHC CVTC unit carried over unchanged from the pre-facelift, paired with either a five-speed manual or four-speed auto transmission.

Externally, the facelift gets restyled, larger headlamps, a new front bumper and a revised front grille, now with three bars as opposed to the original Almera‘s four, as well as new chrome trim around the fog lamps. New wheels complete the external rework – the Almera now features Y-spoke design 15-inch alloy wheels (with 185/65 tyres) as standard across the entire model range.

Inside, the Almera now has a new, more premium-looking steering wheel, a redesigned centre stack trimmed in piano black. There’s also a new CD/MP3 player fitted as standard from the E grade version on, but if you’re looking to tech up the presentation, a couple of different options are available.

The first is a RM6,000 Navi DVD Package, which features a 6.5-inch DVD head unit with navigation, reverse camera, iPod connectivity, USB and Bluetooth. The second is a RM7,000 Navi with Internet Package, an Android-based 6.5-inch multimedia navigation system with Internet connectivity (tethering from smartphone via WiFi) and Virtual Acoustic Positioning System (VAPS).

The pricing isn’t just for the electronics – both packages add leather seats/door cards as well as Solar Gard Armorcoat tinting. Other options abound too – there’s a RM750 Elegance Package, which throws in stainless steel kicking plates with LED illumination, door visors, trunk tray and sport pedals for the automatic (for the manual, it’s RM600, minus the sports pedals).

There’s also a new Almera Nismo Performance Package, which is the white car you see in the photos. The route brings about an Aero Package, made up of a front and rear bumper spoiler, side skirts and trunk lid spoiler as well as 16-inch alloys wrapped with 205/50 Continental MaxContact MC5 tyres.

It also adds on a sports exhaust muffler and a performance suspension system, which features uprated springs and shock absorbers. Complete, the entire Nismo package goes for RM14,000, but buyers can opt to go for Aero Package and its five-piece bodykit and wheels/tyres for just RM9,000, or RM4,500 if it’s just the bodykit alone.

The other car in the photos is a stock standard V variant, which is identical externally to the range-topping VL. The model comes with dual airbags, Fine Vision instruments and fog lamps, among other things. The Almera facelift will be starring in a Nissan roadshow in 1 Utama till this Sunday, so head there if you want get touchy-feely.

Nissan Almera Nismo Performance Package

Nissan Almera V model

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Where is the dude who faps to almera? He should be estatic!!! Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • huehuehuehue on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:23 am

He’s in toilet fapping as soon as he sees this article.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:27 am

Almera stylish or not? It is subjective. You may think your gf/wife the hottest lady in the world, but your friend may think differently.

But with sushi cars, you get build quality, comfort, fuel consumption and most importantly… good RV. You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

There are ALWAYS solid reasons behind good sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • jolly idiot2 on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:15 pm

I saw Sam at toyota counter do nothing. Sales has been so bad for sales guy like you. I hope you can survive or else please be a proton sales man. You make more money.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Toyota sales still strong, I am getting more than half year bonus.

And I have one principle: I earn money from customer through good service and good product; not from government aka my fellow Malaysians hard-earned tax money.

I am not beggar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • jolly idiot2 on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Sales man is still a sales man. I hope with 6 mths bonus. You can afford to buy an iriz now.

• samelorstpd on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:15 am

You badmouth other cars you call hard earn money?
            Compare between assembler and start from scrath work you ady know which is much easier

Ptuih. Shame on you

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:25 pm

@jolly idiot2: With my bonus, I can give up free Iriz. By the way, I don’t introduce problem to others, better other car than Iriz.

@samelorstpd: So do you own a milk cow at home just because you wanna drink milk? Even Apple also design only, not building their phones. Be smart man! Get out of the Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok Proton lifestyle!

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Mentioned again. I prefer British car or German car

• Ahh, so pretty compare to Vios. Fap… Fap… Fap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:52 am

What crap is this by apek company Tan Chong? We want lower prices, not all this rubbish body kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • Nismo at least got suspension change , better thn TRD just show no go

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:10 am

I will never buy anything from this apek company. Go to Chow Kitt and see their HQ. They are so kolot. If HQ also they cannot refurbish, imagine the stinking quality of the car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • jolly idiot2 on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Your small apartment at pudu looks even more kolot. Even your toy maseratti at the tv cabinet is outdated.

• Almera looks nicer too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • JB_KIA on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:04 am

phugly…

• ThePowerofDreams on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:14 am

nice touch up.. better

• cendol (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:21 am

A really good car for budget conscious people but wanted Japanese quality.
    Vios is another option other than City.
    These 3 are the staple on Malaysia roads.
    If possible, avoid Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Almari on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:26 am

The uglier become ugliest…

• guys nissan almera are based on the nissan gtr if you look closely.. so i don,t think it’s ugly.. just your guys are problem with your taste, if you have fat girlfriend, tnat not mean skinny girl are ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Matchy on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:30 am

Still ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • nighttrain on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:36 am

What big headlamps you have, this day and age..

• ugly!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Guys, can anyone shed a light on this? Why is the lowest spec of Almera can be sold with just ONE AIRBAG?? Isn’t there already a regulation that cars sold here must at least have 2 of them? Correct me if I’m wrong.

• kreta rosak on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:52 am

hmm..interesting..

• Where is the performance upgrade?

• Sam Loooorrrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Same ugly sh1t~

• Ugly just got uglier..

• Headlights looks nice enough. Interior upgrades are ok but adds to price substantially and would lower buyer enthusiasm. The basic auto City would still trump this offering in terms of price, looks and practicality. Sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Meh… Almera Lagi Worst

• Danny on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:41 pm

The almari is still at furniture shop nationwide…… :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • ricHard on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Prefer preve/suprima than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • #StopTrying #StillUgly

• “Almera is the best looking car! Ever!!”
    Said no one.
    The only thing people would buy it probably because of the price and low maintenance fee, not the looks and the bodykit.

• sam loose on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:52 pm

model2 canggih mcm Note, Qashqai dll xbwk masuk. Model cacat ni ari2 dorang promote…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Nissan has shown it is possible to design a ugly car, well done

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:16 pm

This is 2015. Nissan… Just bring the Note here.

• Note… jgn haraplah gomen approve. Jika approve.. jadi besi buruklah iriz dlm bonded proton tak terjual. Masuk almera cukup. Preve and suprima sales drop kow2. Preve brrnasib baik sebab polis and gomen ada guna. Sebab harga note dan almera tak banyak beza di global. Jadi jika masuk sini akan sama harga almera. Sebab tan chong bijak.. jual harga approve. Lepas tu bagi rebet kow2.. new facelift almera pun dh ada rebet 4k. Nk turunkan harga gomen tak bagi.. jadi bagi rebetlah. Bijak2

• Cupboard on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:54 pm

worst looking car by nissan
    thought the headlight looks good until i look at the side profile of the car. what kind of sh!t is this. TC should faster bring in the 2015 murano eye candy instead

• car-fans on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Aduih … Pi mai pi mai … Such update nia? Ngam uncle taste rather then Gen Y! Good Luck ya TC! Apa punya design ni? Nissan Car in Msia why become like this design?!?

• According to this post

http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

All new vehicles sold after that must be fitted with TWO airbags. Why is this car allowed to be sold with just ONE of them (for the lowest spec). Anyone please explain???

The readers? Editorial team? Please?

Thanks

• car-fans on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Aduih! This great infor can give by Nissan Msia? Such touch can sell better? Yes! Maybe then previous but still Gen Y won’t touch on such design – That for Sure!

• brother on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Nissan Malaysia… a. k.a tan chong…
    Please bring in Nissan Pulsarrrr!!

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Only one thing worthy in this car, Nismo suspension where you can find it in half cut workshop.

• Nua Jon on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:15 pm

wowww!! cuteugliessss!!

• zamzama on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:29 am

3 words to describe which is “bat shit ugly”

• Dear Editorial team,

May I know why is this one airbag car still allowed to be sold? They above the law ka?

Thanks

• According to this post

http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

Hi may I know why is one air bag still allowed to be sold? TC above the law?? I need an answer, someone please answer!! Thank you

• Always japanese on May 04, 2015 at 11:25 pm

You guys out there ridiculous…we make supercars like 370z and The astonishing GTR..ask your stinking proton fight wit 370z…even wit nissan other car cant lawan…the almera nismo is for those young drivers who want a taste a bit of spice from the GTR NISMO go see GTR NISMO…we are affording this cars for youngsters and teenagers a sporty looking car at affordable price..

• Car User on May 18, 2015 at 3:30 am

To Haters, say whatever you want at the end of it Market Sale is Solid evidence on what Malaysian wants.

Even with this Homo shit design, Proton memang tak ada harapan lah nak jual. Barang murah JEPUN vs Barang “Mahal” Malaysia = sendiri lah pikir, loan kene keluar poket sendiri. If any of you feel jia lat with Nissan product, easy only take your cash and go for something else (P/S: not all malaysian are rich k?)

• mecha on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:43 pm

I think there is no invention that is almost perfect without lack of quality and satisfaction.Not all the Msia citizen is rich as the billionaire to buy a ferrari and so on.

• Shankar on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Just my two cents. For a price difference of RM10k, I’m pretty peeved that there is no upgrade on the ICE. The audio player for the highest spec of the car is the same as the lowest spec. I would have expected an upgrade to a DVD/GPS unit at least…