RON 95 up 25 sen to RM1.95, RON 97 up 25 sen to RM2.25, diesel up 25 sen to RM1.95, per litre

RON_95_vs_RON_97_Fuel_Test_Malaysia_ 017

The Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) has announced that come tomorrow (March 1, 2015), RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM1.95 a litre (+25 sen), RON 97 petrol at RM2.25 a litre (+25 sen) and diesel at RM1.95 a litre (+25 sen).

As in February, RON 95 and diesel are similarly priced. The price jumps follow the sharp uptrend in global crude oil prices, with Brent currently in the US$60 (RM217) per barrel ballpark, from a US$50 (RM181) low in January. This is the first monthly gain for Brent since June 2014, and the greatest monthly percentage rise since May 2009.

Subsidies for RON 95 petrol and diesel were discontinued exactly three months ago, and according to KPDNKK, their prices are, like RON 97 petrol, derived based on a managed float system, and will be reviewed monthly.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• wow. totally unexpected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 34
    • ProtonGSC on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Now fuel price are up, so goods price wi go up??

Government and ministers never come up and say anything… Blame who??

BN supporter where your blind support??

Govt keep shitting and lies to Rakyat and keep blaming on Rakyat that the only thing they KNOW !!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 249 Thumb down 51
      • Of course blame those greedy blood sucking businesses whom came out with endless excuses not to reduce prices when petrol is low but immediately jacked them up tonite.
        Im not a BN supportter but from your blame shifting, I suspect your one of those business vampires trying to justify a price increase for your goods!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 85
        • I think it’s time to buy bmw. Fuel up also no feeling.

They all every day complaint 25cents. Useless group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 43
          • kairul abdul on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Orang miskin keep complaining… don’t give a damn care.

We just happily live our life, you luckily Jibby didn’t kick you out of Malaysia.

Keep your mouth shut and work, BN don’t like smart people.
            WE onlying like follower like @John “so called not BN supporter”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 55
          • What a Lying Government! on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:18 am

If Global Brent is USD60.00/barrel = RM216 (x3.6)
            RM216/159 = RM1.35/ltr (per barrel has 159 litres)

Before refining charge and petrol dealer profit is RM1.35/ltr

Our Government keeps on lying to us. Now it looks like the poor will be subsidising the Government for their lavish lifestyles.

There is no way petrol can even be more than RM1.35 as Brent Crude has fallen to its lowest. So, we Malaysians are paying more than 60 sen extra per litre if pump prices are RM1.95. Why?

If they are truly doing a proper float system, the actual price is RM1.35 per litre if per barrel is US$60.

Then there is 2 other elements. 1) Refining cost and 2) Petrol Dealer Profit

The maximum for refining cost is 10 sen per litre. That is the Maximum ceiling for refining based on global refining charges.

Petrol dealer profit also is usually 10 sen per litre.

This is typical Malaysia. Government throw saki baki scraps from the dinner table, the rakyat, like dogs are forced to pick the leftovers and eat. The recent reductions is a big joke and a big rip off to the rakyat because recent months Government increased so much…pandai pandai.

This increase of 25 sen sen per litre is a slap to all Malaysians especially when we produce our own oil.

Critics will argue about sales tax but every single oil producing country sells their oil without sales tax to the rakyat, except for the UK.

Malaysia is the ONLY oil producing country in the world charging sales tax on petrol to its rakyat.

Even at the new price of RM1.95, we will be overpaying the Government over 60 sen per litre.

Like the last reduction, government made RM Billions in just one month because the prices were so much higher than global prices. Where got real float?

Every single oil producing country gives their rakyat cheap oil. Only one oil producing country, Malaysia, gives the rakyat above global market price for oil.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 6
          • London Owned by Malaysians on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:31 am

Government got no money now. All sapu left right and center. Now on the verge of going bankrupt.

When I was buying a property in London recently, I had to go to the Land Registry to sort out some matter.

The guy at the counter told me, half of London is owned by Arabs and Hong Kong people (China included) and the other half is owned by Malaysians.

He was surprised and told me, it is mainly government servants from Malaysia who buy multi-imillion pound West End London properties. He said some don’t just buy one or 2 but a few each.

I asked him whether it could be EPF as EPF has invested in London, he said he knew about EPF investing in London but these were individuals buying into London West End property.

I wonder how a government servant in Malaysia can buy a 1.5 million pound apartment in London (average price). And that also, some buy a few!

I really want to join Government now. Leave my job as a Doctor and join Putrajaya. If Government servants like this, I really don’t know about politicians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
          • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung! on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:43 am

Wahai orang-orang kampung. Sedarlah. Musuh anda bukan kaum lain tetapi kerajaan anda sendiri. Buka mata anda sendiri dan tengok siapa sebenarnya merompak anda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 13
          • Tapis on Mar 02, 2015 at 3:07 am

Tapis crude is a Malaysian crude oil used as a pricing benchmark in Singapore. Tapis is very light with an API gravity of 43°-45° and very sweet with only about 0.04% sulfur.While it is not traded on a market like Brent Crude or West Texas Intermediate (WTI), it is often used as an oil marker for Asia and Australia. The price of Tapis in Singapore is often considerably higher than the price of benchmark crude oils such as Brent or WTI (those commonly referenced in market commentaries). This is because it’s greater aromaticity (i.e. higher ° API) allows for greater production of higher-value products (such as gasoline) from Tapis than Brent or WTI.

Analysis, US Energy Information Administration

http://www.eia.gov/countries/cab.cfm?fips=my

ExxonMobil, Platts

http://www.platts.com/latest-news/oil/singapore/malaysian-tapis-oil-field-eor-project-set-to-27172899

Australian Institute of Petroleum.

http://www.aip.com.au/pricing/crude.htm

• Ah Beng (Member) on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:30 am

When petrol price reduced no one commenting in Paultan, when increase these chauvinist kiasu start defaming..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
        • ProtonGSC on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Just from your so called “not BN supporter” I can tell u I am just a normal salary man.

I was always unclear “Govt that blame Rakyat increase price” BUT when Govt implanted new taxes and increase goods is that so called normal??

As a ministers buddies or cronies buddies I am sure you’re butthurt?? When we speak the truth??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 10
          • Please, don’t blame me. Blame my wife…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 309 Thumb down 16
          • RM5 per Litre Soon! on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:22 am

Malaysians better be careful. If Global price from US$50 to US%60 can jump 25 sen, just imagine what happens when global oil prices jump to US$150 like before?

Malaysians will be paying RM5 to RM6 per litre of petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
          • PDAM PDAM Where are you? on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:35 am

Last month PDAM cry like a baby. Ask Government to pay compensation to them because minyak jatuh.

Now, minyak naik, where is PDAM? PDAM now should give government and rakyat compensation this time.

PDAM is so greedy. Each person has a few petrol stations. One guy even has 20 petrol stations. Each station making few hundred thousands minimum.

Just imagine, you have 20 stations and each station making over few hundred thousand clean profit per month?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
          • Sultan of Brunei is Caring! on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:40 am

Sultan of Brunei give his rakyat so cheap petrol. Somemore, their currency is 2.7X our currency.

Malaysia also should give its rakyat cheap petrol. Since we are a very big oil producer, we should be giving our rakyat RM1 per litre of petrol and the rest, export it at global market prices.

We Malaysians suffer. Petrol so pricey and currency so low because of corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • Mr Beng on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:16 am

No need to educate them. Those ppl r already brainwashed with racial issues. They wont mind all these petrol or prices going up. That is why, those supporters are usually bodoh and miskin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 20
        • Where is Euro 5 Petrol? on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:28 am

Now already become Global float prices, Government still give us low grade Euro 2 fuel that is causing so much environmental damage and health problems to Malaysians.

Since now Government give us a float system, give us clean fuel please. All our neighbours got clean fuel except us.

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean diesel is on its way. Now 2020 comes, they will say 2025 or 2030.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.
          All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment. Now increase diesel price, why wait till 2020 for cleaner Euro 5 diesel?

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
      • ordinaryRakyat on Mar 01, 2015 at 3:11 pm

They keep on blaming on a certain race of the Rakyat for making prices higher…… like that Sabri fellow and the likes of his cronies… Thank you for making the Rakyat’s lives an endless possibilities towards achieving a high income economy?! Now I definitely know whom my choice are come GE 14! Thank you for helping me making that choice for me!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Gargantia on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Drop fuel always 20sen and less…

Up fuel always 25sen and more…

Government where the logic??
      Ministers will just keep silent as usual…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 10
      • Kangkung on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:31 pm

ty BN. kena tipu again hahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 10
        • Gargantia on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Rakyat kena tipu, ministers keep quiet.

Government kena tipu, blame Rakyat or goods/products to expensive. Hahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
        • Petrol More than Singapore! on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:36 am

We Malaysians are unlucky. Don’t know why. We live in such a rich country. So abundant in oil, tin, getah, palm, copper, gold, iron, coconut etc etc. you name it, we have it. Even oil and gas, we are one of the LARGEST producers of oil and gas in the world.

Singapore has NOTHING. ZERO. ZERO Resources. ZERO Land. ZERO Everything!

And yet, the GDP Per Capita of Singapore is 5X that of Malaysians. What this literally means is that, Singaporean earns 5x more than what we earn. So, if you are earning RM5000, the Singaporean in the same position is earning RM25,000.

To make matters worse, Singapore dollar to the Ringgit is 2.7 times. The Singaporean can travel all over the world and enjoy whilst we Malaysians can only enjoy in poor nations like Indonesia and Thailand.

How is this so? Both countries started at the same time. We have ALL the natural resources but Singapore has ZERO?

Corruption is the answer.

Government has been lying to us all this while. They say Singapore, petrol is RM5 per litre. But they fail to tell you, the average person there is earning 5X more than the Malaysians.

So, which do you think is more expensive. A Malaysian earning RM5000 per month but pays RM2.43 per litre or a Singaporean earning RM25,000 but paying RM5 per litre.

The Government of Malaysia love to lie to the people of Malaysia that our petrol is so much cheaper than all over the world. For example, in UK its over 1.25 pound a litre. Our Government will convert and tell you its RM5.50 per litre!
          But the average UK citizen is earning 3000 pounds.

The funny thing is this. Malaysia produces oil. Singapore does not produce oil. And yet, their petrol is so much cheaper for the Singaporean than petrol to us Malaysians!

The same with cars. the BMW 528i is RM420,000. In Singapore, it is SGD250,000. Which do you think is really cheaper?

Soon government Utusan will tell you and list oil prices all over the world. They will convert and tell you the price in each country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
          • Leonardo on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:59 am

Yes, and our “Rich” Singaporean neighbours are crossing the causeway daily to pump in cheaper Malaysian petrol into their expensive Porches, BMWs, Lambos, etc.

• Alson P on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:54 pm

When an oil company starts to develop an oil field, it does so on the basis of market forecasts and cost projections. Investors and lenders make their own predictions about global oil requirements before investing money in these enterprises.

• Where is Euro 5 Petrol?? on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:26 am

Now already become Global float prices, Government still give us low grade Euro 2 fuel that is causing so much environmental damage and health problems to Malaysians.

Since now Government give us a float system, give us clean fuel please. All our neighbours got clean fuel except us.

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean diesel is on its way. Now 2020 comes, they will say 2025 or 2030.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.
        All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment. Now increase diesel price, why wait till 2020 for cleaner Euro 5 diesel?

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • kimi's fan on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:12 pm

where is petrol calculation which promise to share with public ?

how to get RM1.95 ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
      • Simple calculation: 0.25 sen for 10usd raise. 100usd per barrel makes RM3 per liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • help the Petronas who Lost 7billion in quater to get back some money? Using rakyat Wang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Haha, it’s too obvious! Petronas reported overall lost and our panicked gomen increased pump price right the day after. They seemed to be too used to makan senang/makan Besar.

• you shouldnt. 1mdb’s bonds have already been delayed and it needs to be paid out. And if it did, something else needs to fill back that empty coffer.

• Reduan Zen on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Dafuqqqqq, naik kejap, nak turun macam2 hal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
    • High Car Prices. High Petrol Prices on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:46 am

We produce our own oil. Government should give us cheap oil. Why screw us with BOTH high car prices and high petrol prices?

These are US car prices with US duty and import tax paid, which are just like Malaysian car prices with duty and tax also paid, but here, you will see, they are much lower and less exorbitant than in Malaysia.

Bear in mind all cars are CBU (complete built up) Japan, CBU South Korea or CBU Germany.

The following cars we get here are CKD (complete knocked down) cars with more than 50% Malaysian content and “supposedly” are cheaper due to their being CKD and supporting Malaysian manufacturers.

I cannot understand, we support our own Malaysian manufacturers and beli barang buatan (buy local) Malaysia too, and yet the prices can be higher than barang buatan (made in) Japan or German, which is usually higher in quality.

And yet, to make matters worse, US people’s GDP per capita is higher than Malaysia’s and the average American earns five times more than the average Malaysian.

Below are car prices based on exchange rate of USD 3.0 as it was 2 years ago when I wrote my article. These Malaysian car prices were also 2 years ago, so, it is fair to use the exchange rate of 3.0. Malaysian car prices infact have risen the past two years.

Mainstream car prices VS Malaysian Prices

Honda Accord 2.4 US$21,480 (RM64k)vs RM180k

Honda CRV 2.5 US$22,495(RM67k) vs RM180k

Honda Civic US$15,955 (RM47k)vs RM115k

Toyota Altis US$16,130(RM48k)vs RM139k

Toyota Camry 2.5 US$22,055(RM66k)vs RM180k

Kia Sorento US$23,150 (RM69k)vs RM160k

Hyundai Tucson US$19,245(RM57k) vs RM140k

Hyundai Sonata US$20,895 (RM62k) vs RM150k

Hyundai Elantra 1.8 US$16k (RM50k) vs RM118k

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i US$36,500 (RM109k) vs RM300k

BMW 528i US$46,900 (RM149k) vs RM420k

BMW 535i US$52,500 (RM157k) vs RM600k

BMW X5 US$47,500 (RM142k) vs RM580k

Mercedes E350 US$51,000 (RM153k)vs RM400,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XJ US$73,700 (RM221,000) vs RM900k

Porsche Cayenne US$48,850 (RM146k)vs RM580k

Every Malaysian must realise they are being cheated on car prices and have been cheated for the past 30 years.

Most Malaysians pay close to 50% of their salary for their monthly payments for their cars.

Not only do the banks get an easy ride (cause everybody is “forced” to take loans), we have to live in debt for over seven years, depriving our family of better food and clothes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • Man Universal on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:43 pm

It has always been a last minute announcement by the Government. Lucky enough the majority of the public now have access to the internet, media etc to keep them updated but for those who don’t…So the question now, will retailers start to increase prices of goods again because of the price jump? Will TNB revert to the earlier electricity tariff?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
  • Damn government!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 13
    • Abu Sayur on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:37 pm

With fuel price fluctuating , how to run a business…suddenly cost increase and can sway like this. Cibaifkerstupid. Shud warn people before hand. Next minute they increase price to rm5? cb living in suspense in malaysia everyday macam movie ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
      • abu kobis on Mar 01, 2015 at 8:36 am

Other countries fuel prices changes EVERYDAY! Still can do business…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • theirs changed everyday, with small pace of increasing / decreasing, people don’t feel the shock.

remember when SUDDENLY our ex-PM increased minyak to rm2.70 overnight, all business got into total havoc.

• anonymous on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Ya, If dunno run the business in this condition then don’t. Other people can…

• Good Goverment! I love BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
      • Low Budget on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:13 am

I dream Najib and Ismail Sabri play golf with me, but I have pay their green and buggy fees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Peter on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:44 pm

• petron station on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:54 pm

like baru best..i ordered two lorry to fill my station petrol and diesel..and stop selling due to fuse broke up..no electric supply..and tomorrow start selling at new price..i earn it..wakakaka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
  • It’s kind of expected really… Gomen reviews the petrol price at the end of every month (floating system) and given the crude oil price is USD57 as of today (versus USD41 last month)… Increase is expected but 25 cents is quite a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • Alson P on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:00 am

If an oil field becomes unprofitable, a closed well would leave behind unpaid bills and bankrupted business owners. The contractual obligations of the extracting company mean that calls for compensation could drive the business into bankruptcy. Thus, established oil wells continue in production, but exploration and development (E&P) of new wells is postponed.

• When oil price is USD57 per bbl, we pay RM1.95 … get ready to suffer when oil go back to USD57 x 2 … expect to pay RM1.95 x 2 … time to suffer … opppsss …most already are suffering … time to suffer more …

• Low Budget on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:20 am

Get ready to suffer? We are already suffering now. Mee goreng up 50 sen and chicken rice up 30 sen just 1 week ago, the chicken rice rice seller said up for the coming gst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • petrol consumer on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Surprisingly ! I thought was RM1.75.

• How exactly does the formula works?

I don’t see oil prices going up to justify such an increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • Pondan on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Subsidies cancelled, High car prices remain, GST 1 Apr, ringgit deprecating and…..

Gov say, no problem. In the end, it’s rakyat problem while gov enjoying their lavish life style.

It’s a really sad story for us, a typical Rakyat.

If nothing is done, makan tahi dah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 5
    • error on Mar 01, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Malaysia Boleh but only for those in power and with the right connections!! Endless possibilities for them and no possible solutions for the Rakyat!!

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:11 pm

bg naik lglh murah sgt tu

• QChan on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Just filled up my car at my local Pump, Cheras at 5.00pm today.

Noticed a petrol tanker already parked there – unloading presumably. Come to think of it, yesterday at the same Pump, my car was stopped to allow a similar tanker reverse out.

Clearly, they must have had early “inside information.”! I guess they’re not complaining this time around. :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • If you guys remember correctly, those dealers was complaining that they were forced to buy the fuel at low rate before the price hike. And the rakyat bought the fuel at low rate. Then, when the oil tank drained, they have to buy again the fuel at higher rate after the price hike. Wonder why those dealers are not making fuss about this

• Bkn 20sen ke..shitt lah

• Happy time on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Happy time over!! Brace for more rise in cost of living!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Jibby said this is what your get when you try to fool around with my wife hairdo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
    • i'mnotstupid on Mar 01, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Oh no, that not’s right…. It’s all lies, lies I tell you….. Actually, it’s to cover for the pending GST I’ve to pay her hair stylist…. ha ha ha

• BNaik on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Why Gov use the Brent Crude(BC) & not WTI Crude? Since Dec2014 until now, Gov promise give formula how to count it but look like but tak tau…
    Market price for BC today = $62.58
    WTI today = $49.76

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Tapis crude oil on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:16 am

Tapis crude is a Malaysian crude oil used as a pricing benchmark in Singapore. Tapis is very light with an API gravity of 43°-45° and very sweet with only about 0.04% sulfur.While it is not traded on a market like Brent Crude or West Texas Intermediate (WTI), it is often used as an oil marker for Asia and Australia. The price of Tapis in Singapore is often considerably higher than the price of benchmark crude oils such as Brent or WTI (those commonly referenced in market commentaries). This is because it’s greater aromaticity (i.e. higher ° API) allows for greater production of higher-value products (such as gasoline) from Tapis than Brent or WTI.

Malaysia – Analysis, US Energy Information Administration

Malaysian Tapis oil field EOR project set to start up end 2013: ExxonMobil, Platts

http://www.platts.com/latest-news/oil/singapore/malaysian-tapis-oil-field-eor-project-set-to-27172899

Australian Crude Oil Requirements, Australian Institute of Petroleum.

• ilovenajib on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:10 pm

I cant wait the day Najib become Tun Najib Tun Razak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:25 am

I can’t wait for the day ah jib play golf with me in the grass land of Mongolia with kak ros as caddy

• Carrer (Member) on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Month 1: Minyak naik -> Harga barang naik
    Month 2: Minyak turun -> Harga barang steady
    Month 3: Minyak naik -> Harga barang naik
    Month 4: Minyak turun -> Harga barang steady
    Month 5: Minyak naik -> Harga barang naik

You can imagine now how Malaysia’s inflation rate are going to be affected.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 5
    • Thanks to vampiric businesmen like ProtonGSC! Grr!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
      • ProtonGSC on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:59 pm

@John

Stop you nonsense and keep make rubbish comments about businessman.

If you so proud of your comment go ask the ministers and Government department WHO’S the biggest share holder in business line in Bolehland?!!!

Dare??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:15 pm

1. When prices went down, the petrol sellers were complaining of closing shop. Now how?

2. Very efficient in increasing prices, but decreasing takes forever.

*facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:34 pm

if petrol price keep going up, all of us will have to rob the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • zatro on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:41 pm

at this rate…

if crude oil reach USD100/barrel, selling price at petrol station will be RM2.62/L

• Megane on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Yeap, Najib threw a dice and no 1 came up. Rosmah flipped the second dice using her newly dyed hair and no 3 came up. Muhyiddin laughed so hard and fell on the floor on those 2 dices and flipped the numbers to 25. ” OK guys the new price will be 25 sen dearer “

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
  • Penipu on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:31 pm

The price of oil should be around $1.50 per litre. There’s a sales tax being levied by our Vampire government on every litre of petrol we pump. They tax our cars sky high and continue to suck the blood from the poor rakyat to feed their corruption and cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:29 am

We should be happy Proton car price go down already. We must be grateful to umno gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • jacksonljs on Mar 01, 2015 at 2:58 pm

In reality, Proton cars price going down also no use unless it’s FOC (then we can get some money from scrap value and parts) especially with all it’s ‘jerky’ and might broke down anytime for it’s so-called ‘modern’ CVT transmission. For Proton cars, only manual version can be considered (if really no choice but to buy Proton, buy the used one since it’s RV is quite low)

Moral of the story: If we can’t make it, just say so (or at most learn from the experienced mentors/teachers) rather than acting smart.

• Alson P on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:35 pm

We already store personal stock of 400 liters of petrol since yesterday. Can save a few weeks..

• So are those petrol station owners and their commiunity gonna be making any comments now? A few months ago they were making a lot of fuss about them losing money because they buy their petrol stock expensive as when suddenly the price goes down they have to sell it cheap so how about now?

• growst on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:01 am

Naiknyer tak sampai sehari .. Tak payah nak perbincangan dengan mentri.. Bila time turun amik masa nak berbincang lah.. Kaji kesan pada ekonomi negaralah.. Ape lah.. Itulah inilah.. Phui…!.. Yg sebetulnya nak isi poket dan tempolok sendiri jer.. I’m started to disrespect all this politician…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • funny, its obvious that what we get as consumers are not brent but heavier oil which is the us crude as benchmark

• biggbro on Mar 01, 2015 at 11:25 am

Ya larr…they benchmark against a superior standard but what we get at the pump is actually very very inferior. I guess that’s just how it is done here, consumers always at losing end.

• Andrekua on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:14 am

It is quite obvious Malaysia use another indicator for fuel price computation, which is PDAM. What is Brent? WTI?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 01, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Since when did the petrol dealers association come out with crude prices?

• BMW E36 Coupe on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:23 am

A Tesla P85D would be nice.

• Tapis crude oil on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:33 am

Malaysia – Analysis, US Energy Information Administration

Malaysian Tapis oil field EOR project set to start up end 2013: ExxonMobil, Platts

Australian Crude Oil Requirements, Australian Institute of Petroleum.

• Is there any independent body in Malaysia auditing how fuel prices are calculated?

• independent??????

• George Abdul on Mar 01, 2015 at 8:47 am

If you dare to calculate DrM will call his ISA or cronies buddies looking for you…

Buddy just live your normal life will do… and don’t make issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Paula Abdul on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:28 am

Every time want to mention Dr. M..enuff la..he was yesterdays news la..ISA pon already abolished..u live in a cave ka?

Lim Guan Eng £ Kit Siang pon crony too..go check who has been awarded the contract for the sea tunnel in Penang..so called transparency..poodah..dah la DAP tu like a family party ja..thats the highest crony of all..demn..

All in all politician sama ja..no point of finger pointing here n there..be reasonable..at least Dr M did quite some good things..n last time Malaysia GDP n economy was good during his tenure..remember who brought Malaysia out of 98 crisis?

Current gov n opposition are too buzy main politik..sama ja both of em..yg rugi rakyat..demn politician..demn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
        • Recheck on Mar 01, 2015 at 5:50 pm

It’s mr kuok hock nien that save malaysia during 98 crisis.

• George Abdul on Mar 01, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Abolish anot DrM still have other so called “ISA” as his toy…

Go read more economic who’s the real owner in Bolehland “Gas and petroleum industry”.

Yet another “Katak bawah tempurung” that come out support to kiss your beloved DrM ass??

98 world economic drop, but when world economic increase… Do Bolehland economic increase??

Malaysia are still 10 years behind Thailand and Indonesia. .. Singapore? worst 50 years behind.

• Datuk Abdul on Mar 01, 2015 at 8:47 pm

Ur statement are purely baseless..talking bout economy but dint even knw the actual factor tht determine Malaysia’s economy..can u tell me who is actually controlling the ringgit value..?kalau just get your info thru online simpan je laa..nak compare dgn Thailand n Indonesia..r u kidding me?seriously?

who really control Malaysia’s economy?housing n goods price?govt?pfftt..

Sembang deras ja mamat George ni..toya la..

PR ka BN ka, all the same..pandai buat janji n sembang kosong like this so clever n mr always right George..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Of course there is…
      BIGGEST & LONGEST ruling party in the world & M’sia=BN

• karipap basah on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:13 am

if fuel price goes down, will wait until end of the month before implement.

If fuel price goes up, will implement at 12am TONITE.

Blood BN government…..

• hadi75 on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:13 am

When oil prices goes down…it takes months before fuel prices goes down…why? Becos we need to study this and that….but when when oil prices goes up….tadaaa…fuel prices goes up…no study this and that….

• madsabun on Mar 01, 2015 at 10:19 am

This all because of umno.bn suppoter stupid , they never have a good brain. You know this all greedy bn cronies making money like hell from the rakyat income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • y so surprise? we know this is coming already…

the star paper even state the reason was also due to exchange rate pulak…since when petrol price influence by our exchange rate? when our rate was like rm3.1/usd no petrol price drop…(facepalm)

• C.P.MOHAN on Mar 01, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Without giving the methodology how pump prices are determined, to me, is the real issue not the end result that is when oil prices go up or down. On another note, to reduce/curtail fluctuations we must invest in better fuel or alternative technology e.g. hybrid and electric vehicles. I don’t see this happening any time soon.

• mastermind on Mar 01, 2015 at 7:19 pm

ooops no surprise…
    as example:
    mineral water ….1 barrel=159litres …hahah
    no filter no shipping…but the price more than
    of one litres petrol/diesel….
    500ml =rm1.20
    mineral water process the actual cost just rm0.002 per litre
    bloodyhell spritzer…
    SPRITZER//CACTUS/OWNed BY ???????? hahaha
    IS it DAP STAKEHOLDERS???….LAM SOOONNNNNN…
    how much profit???? >>>>1000%%%%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Mineral water, u have a choice. U can use normal water and boiled it. U can use well, u can get from rain.
      U can choose to buy or not to buy.

But gas/petrol price controlled. u have no choice. u need to drive, bus need to move, crane need to operate.

This makes ur statement absurd.

• Albert on Mar 01, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Where are the shit cry baby PDAM members?
    Now I believe these shambolic businessmen are busy choosing pretty chicks from the mamasans,to celebrate their huge keuntungan.
    What a shambolic ball less petrol dealers,all cos of the curse of excessive perlindungan

• Panterus on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Maybe it’s just our fate as Malaysians, to suck up whatever our government does to us.

Thanks to our fellow countrymen who bought into racism propaganda and pledged their loyalty and support for BN.

Oh, and if somehow more people actually voted against them, no problem, just break the districts apart and you win by most districts, not by most votes. EASY.

Once the government, forever the government. Rakyat? What rakyat? Suck it up! :(

• euro5forever on Mar 01, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Dear Gov and smart@ss mini$ter,
    Please share the calculation mechanism.

Nothing going to change.
    When go up is very fast but when go down takes time. Amazing.
    Love u Malaysia.

• Sammy on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:32 am

We are still waiting for the formula and data used for the computation of the petrol price.
    Gov still not showing…

• Ismail Haji on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:56 am

You are all ignorant on how the fuel prices work

Why blame BN? They give us BR1M, PRIMA and so many incentives that no other country could give.. look at SG, the citizens get nothing thats why they leave SG to Australia!

Why are these stupid rakyats blaming BN for everything? You cannot shit also blame BN?

Come on, be real. BN has been in power for so many years and they have given every citizens so many benefits other country citizens could dream off! Low fuel prices, low house prices, fairly transparent governance, please lahh be thankful, jgn jadi rakyat jahanam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 54
    • Fastwork on Mar 02, 2015 at 11:36 am

What do you mean by fairly transparent governance? You just woke up from a 7 years coma or you were busy vacationing in Antarctica for the past 7 years and came back recently with a partly frozen brain?

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2015 at 12:17 pm

*beli kereta = duti eksais minimum 75%. cukai jualan 10%

*harga kereta mahal. 40x ganda dari gaji. = pinjam bank,
      kena interest. bank bayar cukai pada kerajaan

*nak guna highway, bayar tol. tanak bayar, guna jalan biasa. jem. sykt konsesi bayar cukai pada kerajaan

* beli petrol. kena cukai lagi… 1 liter 58 sen.

* servis kereta. servis kena cukai perkhidmatan 6%. spare part kena cukai juga.

poodahh BN. semua cukai.

• Kebodohan yang Terlampau on Mar 02, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Ppl like you are the reason why our country’s progress is basically only progress in wealth of the BN politicians.

• Diesel Power!!! on Mar 02, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Dear Ismail Haji (The smartest one),

Have u ever go to Australia and UK in these recent years?

If yes, it is impossible for you to do not notice how many msians have migrated there…And do you read newspaper? Even our local news have highlighted the serious brain-drain we have…

Maybe you are just a blind supporter that just living in the cage, arent u?