Audi R8 – low demand killed V8 and manual options

Audi R8 V10

The second-generation Audi R8 caused quite a stir among driving enthusiasts when it was revealed without a base V8 engine or a manual transmission option. Instead, the supercar is offered only with a 5.2 litre V10 motor with either 540 hp or 610 hp (V10 plus), paired exclusively to a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch gearbox.

So why the sudden change? Because customers hardly bought or even expressed interest in the V8 and manual versions of the original R8, that’s why. Heinz Hollerweger, head of Audi’s quattro GmbH told Automobilemag the dire truth at the 2015 Geneva motor show. “The take up rate was almost nil,” he said.

Apparently, the V10 variant of the first-gen R8 outsold the V8 model by such a large margin – exceeding Audi’s own initial expectations – to a point where they now “have no interest in a V8.” As for the dual-clutch-only decision, Hollerweger told reporters to “look at lap times,” where steering paddles would clearly be superior to a three-pedal setup.

It all makes sense, once you really think about it. But, that still doesn’t mean that we have to agree with this direction. What do you think of this matter?

Audi R8 5.2 FSI V10 and V10 plus

Audi R8 e-tron

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Girlish design…doesnt look fast. Sounds like audi sedan with tuned exhaust. It is like another normal audi coupe and sedan. Supercar wannabe. Should have scrapped the entire model. Drivers who know scrap about what supercars are all about will buy R8.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Wonder how many ppl here proclaims to be “expert” without ever driving a super car once, much less actually owning one.
      And of coz, 3.2sec to 100km/hr is slow. Nowadays, we live in a world no <3sec no talk.

• trollmaster3000 on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:00 pm

yeah, well.. and this coming from someone who drives an iriz that looks even more girlish.. good choice for ya me thinks, NOT..

• W204 C63 AMG on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:17 pm

You do realize this audi has more in common to the huracan than any other audi eh. It made perfect sense if you are bashing the huracan though.

• Gavin Y on Mar 13, 2015 at 1:24 pm

no money no talk, those that talk loudest cannot afford, that;s why v8 dead

• Kalau tak untung apahal mau jual?truth hurts.accept it and move on

• DonkeyKong on Mar 13, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Auto makers are business entities. They’ll have to make business decisions that make sense to the livelihood of the company. This decision is understandable. Car makers do not exist to address every whim and fancy of every driver that’s interested in their cars.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 2:33 pm

whatever…a bmw i8 or honda nsx is so much more cooler these days…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Sorchai (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 2:39 pm

If I can afford R8, I also look at the top of the line lor

If I cannot afford, 4 cylinder 1,300 cc also no money to pay lor

That is what I think.

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 13, 2015 at 3:05 pm

The ditching of manual transmission is something comprehensible, since the trend in the supercar is moving towards automated transmission, as effortless gear changing experience is becoming more popular these days. What is quite strange though is the very poor reception for the V8-engined Audi R8. Because this is not the case for the Porsche 911 range (The RWD Porsche 911 Carrera is still regarded as a high seller as well as the 4WD Porsche 911 Turbo). Maybe if the Audi R8 V8 is offered in RWD guise, the result could be different.

• Josh Ling on Mar 13, 2015 at 3:57 pm

V8 vs V10, expected. who doesn’t want to listen to the sound of V10 engine, and get the performance out of that V10 engine?

the auto gear….well, since even porsche ditched manual gear box for its 911 GT3, it’s not that much of a surprise to me already.

• hahaha2222 on Mar 14, 2015 at 4:09 pm

how many of you here love manual transmission hit like, dislike if don’t.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Mar 16, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Oh no, dat grille, reminds me to Hyundai. Yes btw, it has so many common parts from Huracan, like the door trim, etc. Even the V10 Plus is actually using the Huracan engine.

• winwin on Dec 23, 2015 at 7:41 pm

This may be the last NA version of R8. Now alot of supercars already moved to forced induction.