Toyota Rush, Daihatsu Terios facelift now in Indonesia

Daihatsu Rush facelift Indonesia

After countless leaks, the facelifts for both the Toyota Rush and the Daihatsu Terios twins have been unveiled in Indonesia. The five/seven-seat SUVs have been given a rather thorough exterior makeover as well as a few added features.

At the front, there are new projector headlights with LED positioning lights and a wider grille with a chrome lower bar, while the lower bumper receives a full-width air intake and a blacked-out centre piece. Both cars have higher-end variants with bodykits – TRD Sportivo on the Rush and Adventure on the Terios – but the latter gets a more aggressive design with its own set of LEDs.

Moving back, the Terios gets new fender vents which the Rush doesn’t get, plus new side mouldings. New clear LED combination tail lights, outboard spare wheel cover and rear bumper bring up the rear, while new 16-inch wheels complete the look.

Inside, both cars get a new steering wheel from the current Avanza, a redesigned instrument cluster, new seat upholstery, reshaped second-row headrests and double-DIN touchscreen DVD head units on higher trim levels. On the Terios, the trim pieces are now finished in gloss black; the Rush sticks with the current silver finish.

image-5

No changes to the mechanicals, so the 1.5 litre VVT-i petrol four-pot stays on as before, making 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm at 4,400 rpm. Transmission choices have also been retained, so buyers in the archipelago can select either a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic.

Prices for the Daihatsu Terios start at Rp 186.9 juta (RM53,100) for the manual X variant, rising up to Rp 243.2 juta (RM69,100) for the automatic R Adventure. The Toyota Rush is costlier, starting at Rp 228.7 juta (RM65,000) for the G manual and topping off at Rp 252.3 juta (RM71,600) for the TRD Sportivo auto.

Toyota Rush

Daihatsu Terios

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 10 years model, still launching…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
    • OMG….holy shit…

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:18 am

You won’t go wrong with sushi car, especially Toyota.

• Same Lorrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:08 am

Malaysia will be rebadge under Perodua as Perodua kembara advanced

• OMG my time machine work, im back to 2000!!! and toyota rush is launching with AWESOME Spec! and look at the design!! so futuristic!! OMG i need to tell everyone

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Wow, it’s got 1.5L VVT-i, so fuel efficient and powerful!!! It’s got LED also wey, better than BMW!! Wohoooo

Now there’s 9 years loan to buy this awesome car?! Sweeeeet!!

Brb, wanna sell kidney, house, wife and mom to buy this and show off I got Toyota. Better than those Proton tin milo with power window rosak, yeaaaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • Nathan Ferdinand on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:50 am

No VSC or traction control either?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:17 pm

VSC? Traction control? What’s that?

U mean like those in BMW? Aiya, they always mafan la, rosak and expensive to repair, that’s why no RV.

Toyota make bestest most reliable car, that’s why RV so good.

Summore this car got 2 airbags wor, very safe! Proton got give u meh?

/sarcasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • to interior, especially the air cond panel, is legendary ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • roxas on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:55 am

will never understand toyota design, same body but immediately u can see the daihatsu has better bumper design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • think b4 buy..dont rush

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • think on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:21 am

a useless facelift indeed. look at that drivetran como. A 7 seater with a normally aspirated 1.5l engine with the 4-speed auto of toyota’s pride. Hopefully honda will sustain and overtake toyota in sales. Toyota is too arrogant of their dominance in the market, which they refuse to upgrade their vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • MazdaTheAwakening on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:21 am

Horrendous piece of ____…’fill in the blank’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:33 am

Rush-bish, PLEASE DONT COME to Malaysia.. Wasting time n resources.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • beware on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:33 am

Here comes Honda hr-v’s challenger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo1 on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:36 am

You buy it, you will regret. You want better B-segment SUV, get HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • From what i can see most of the cars that sold in indonesia especially toyota/daihatsu is more to accessories than the safety and tech.so when they bring to malaysia we will get the same shet.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:25 pm

I believe the four speed auto was found by archeologist near the pyrimids in Egypt in 2500 bc… !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • we still living in the 90s where the interior looks like those in the Proton Wira era?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Diesel Power!!! on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:56 pm

With the old tech & old design, this car suppose to sell below rm60k like kembara!!!

• Honda hrv or rush?

• Giovannie on Mar 21, 2015 at 4:44 pm

there is a good reason why cannot buy Honda HRV in Malaysia..

currently = CKD Thaimade.

sooner or later CKD Malaysia version will be launched.
      taking the fact sharing and platform with Honda Jazz and city which is CKD DRB -Hicom version, HR-V will be CKD in any time soon.

while CKD honda hr-v is launched.
      the sales price will drop.

then the current HR-V will see lower second hand value/ lower RV.

• Vulgarity on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Yawn…!

• sepul on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Strange that I find the discontinued Perodua Nautica is the best looking inside out among all Daihatsu Terios/Toyota Rush versions.

This looked tacky.

• sabahan on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:18 pm

landfill it please

• Automatic Connection on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:26 pm

There is still a spare tire mounted on the tailgate? Come on lah… The next ecosport facelift will not be getting a tailgate mounted spare tire. Toyota and Daihatsu should learn from Ford.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:31 pm

What sucks then still sucks today. No point giving it a makeover.

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 3:04 pm

After CNY, I kau kau also wanna sell my 2 rotten cabbages.

Have to park 500m away (and deliberately arriving late) so that no family members see me drive a kimchi. But somehow, someone saw and the news got spread to others. So, toward the end of reunion dinner, I got funny looks from relatives.

Then the old man mentioned my cousin got promoted and now drives bought an Accord for his wife. He gets a Lexus as company car.

I am so paiseh that excused myself to leave early by giving excuse that I have stomach upset.

So, curi curi leave and never felt so embarressed in my life.

Looking for Sam now to get rid of my cancer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • uglycamryy on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:05 pm

That’s better than children threw fireworks an spitted on your old camry. They believe it’s a junk, not a car, haha!

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 22, 2015 at 1:16 am

Now after waking up from my dream. I need to get to parkson to work before they fire me. I don’t know why I keep on getting the same dream. Back to reality now, I Need money to pay for my son’s saga you know.

• powershot (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 3:31 pm

don’t bring it here. just don’t

• karipap basah on Mar 21, 2015 at 3:54 pm

what are the hand signal shown in the picture??
    Are they showing the put-off sign to the car??

BTW, Toyota is NOW the world’s first to recycling a many times re-cycled of an overly recycled product….

• How come still the same model, change lamp, bumper only. OMG, the most lazy Toyota model….

• Once reach our shore UMW will priced it at RM100K…..lol

• outdoor maniac on Mar 21, 2015 at 4:24 pm

I can appreciate this car. Support Toyota and perodua to bring in this model into malaysia.
    The comments or complaints that most of you gave are more towards urban use and comparing to other premium SUVs, yes the plastic used inside is ugly and low class, not worth the money, the design inside is old school and ugly and nothing much to show off. but try to think of it another way, Why Toyota and daihatsu still produce this car? If you are a true 4×4 user, you will appreciate this car, all the disadvantage of this car will turn into advantages when you drive this car off road.
    To me, 4×4 car when go into the woods most often is that we will wind down our window to view our tyre direction or the trail that we are going through or we will cross a muddy river, so the interior will easily get dirty, a plastic interior is more practical than leather interior, you will never thought of using the leather interior 4×4 for off road so this plastic material used is more suitable. Other than that, the conventional 4 speed auto or 5 speed manual is definitely more useful than the 7-speed CVT gearbox when you are going through a tough terrain.

So now hopefully most of you can truly appreciate the car makers point of view, this car might not suits you. You can go for the Honda HRV or Mazda CX-3 if you are looking for something more urban and stylish. But it definitely is one of the top choice for a true 4×4 enthusiast.

Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Nathan Ferdinand on Mar 22, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Good quality interior doesn’t always mean luxury btw. Take a look at the new Nissan X-Trail which all of the interior materials are waterproof and it’s made of very good quality soft-touch plastics, leather, metal, wood, etc. X-Trail also use CVT with FWD or 4WD config, and both drivetrains are capable in off-road condition, so you can compare the capability of FWD X-Trail and RWD Rush. In my opinion, both has similar capability, and I’ve tested both cars, honestly I choose for X-Trail 2.0 even it’s FWD, and with CVT, rather than RWD Rush with those dino-spec 4 spd.

• crush on Mar 22, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Oit salesman, u think ppl stupid aa?

• Nathan Ferdinand on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:21 am

Who is the salesman? Me or the outdoor maniac?

If you point to me, trust me I’m not a Nissan salesman, and I’ve even use UMW cars since Toyota Unser era.

Also I don’t think he’s an UMW salesman, since sam loo fired and move to Parkson as underwear promoter, I haven’t see any UMW salesman commenting here to support and offering their products.

• Lee Gwan Heng on Mar 21, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Most spectacular interior design. HRV will bungkus if come to Malaysia. I cannot wait to buy it. Please bring it here ASAP

• Why isn’t this piece of sh*t not dead yet?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 21, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Value for money for a 7seater…thanks Toyota…much2 better than the stupid overpriced honda creed and the silly looking hrv…only mazda x3 can match this superb small suv…cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 8:29 pm

We live in the face lift land, all we get is face lift after face lift. So user friendly, recycle after recycle. So sad.

Seven seater, really, or is it hobbit land car?

• domainicus on Mar 21, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Remember this is based on Toyota Avanza chassis just different body to make it a Rush. That will tell you everything.

• salgoodguy on Mar 21, 2015 at 10:55 pm

spoke as a previous owner, same engine and same gear box? seriuosly? yes i do realize this is facelifted version..
    for me as a normal guy and a familyman.. this car very2 poor in highway..high rpm vs cruising speed..

• Really on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:13 pm

I fail to see why someone would pay extra money to get this Rush over the Avanza. Same hardwares, same safety techs, same seven-seater but much higher prices. Even if you value RV above else, the Avanza is still a better buy because the RV of the Rush will be same as Avanza come time to sell it.

• Lawrence on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Think b4 buy…don’t rush! I am a Toyota Rush owner…and so regretting for “rushing”. 1500cc is too small for a car like this.

• kelvin on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:38 am

The facelift seems to make the car look so messy and complicated

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 22, 2015 at 1:26 am

Is this an ad by museum negara?

• bootupjoe on Mar 24, 2015 at 5:00 pm

New Model = L.P.P.L