GST: Perodua car prices reduced by 0.1% to 1.6% depending on model, spare parts prices maintained

2015_Perodua_Myvi_Facelift_Premium_X_vs_Advance_ 01

More GST related news, this time from Perodua. Starting today, prices of Perodua cars will see a reduction of 0.1% to 1.6% depending on model, following the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax. For spare parts, Perodua will absorb the impact of GST and maintain prices.

“We have always been supportive of the government’s intention and the customers’ expectation in terms of providing affordable and value for money vehicles. We had repositioned the price of some of our models and added value ranging from 3% to 12% since 2013. In addition all our models have a five-year warranty for the peace of mind to our customers,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

The P2 boss pointed out that the first fruit of its cost saving initiative was the S-Series variants, which chalked up sales of around 153,000 units from March 2013 to January 2015. The Rawang-based carmaker has initiated investment and transformation programmes since 2011 to be globally competitive in terms of quality, cost and delivery of goods/services.

Perodua_Axia_Standard_vs_Advance_ 001

While P2 supports the introduction of GST in principle, its dealers aren’t happy. Yesterday, Perodua Dealers Association president Wan Kamal Wan Ismail pleaded for the government to allow dealers to reclaim the 10% sales tax on invoices issued prior to the implementation of GST. With pre-GST stocks being “double taxed”, each independent dealer will stand to lose an average of RM230,000, he said.

Starbiz, in a report today touching on the subject, quoted an unnamed customs officer who made light of the issue. “The stock is unlikely to be that big. Furthermore, these are big ticket items and most car companies don’t keep them for too long. The impact won’t be adverse. If there are unsold stock, it will usually be sold within a few weeks,” he said.

Aminar touched lightly on the matter. “While the impact of the GST may result in reduction to some areas of our business, unfortunately there are other areas of our business that will result in an increase in cost.

aminar-rashid-salleh

“Taking all these into consideration including the appreciation of the US dollar to the ringgit, we are happy and pleased to announced that we are able to pass along the savings to our valued customers on the price of the vehicles, while absorbing the cost incurred on our spare parts,” he said.

More on the issue of “double tax” and an in-depth look at GST and the automotive industry in our GST feature story, where we speak to actors from both sides of the stage – customs and the carmakers.

Perodua has not released GST-inclusive prices of its cars at the time of writing. Watch this space for updates.

UPDATE: Perodua has released a price list for its entire line-up. View it here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• P2 shame to announce bcoz all the models increase RM500-RM700. Don’t worry, P2 boss will absorb RM1000, so everybody will happy the car price reduce RM300-RM500

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:22 pm

What to do…? To quote loosely on Jeremy Clarkson, Perodua is not a product of a person’s passion to build cars, it’s a big corporation’s passion to make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:15 pm

All car makers in Malaysia make cars in mass production for profits, even the BMW and Mercedes.

Too bad when Proton can’t make a good car and experience bad sales, they call themselves “Passion making cars”. We simply knew it is Proton 5S principles:

1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Selalu RM8k Discount

Want to get a car made in passion? Get a Koenigsegg then.

• Yes. A toyota is devoid of emotions so much so that after you drive in it, a shuffling zombie would have more character than you

• Wan Kamal Wan Ismail on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:20 pm

I am typical lazy bum always expecting Government to help. I still want tongkat. Malas dan malas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • No matter what, P2 is the best national car because they produce long lasting performance. no kidding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
      • Same Lorr on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:30 am

True, as long the car have Toyota DNA, its long lasting & good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • RV=regret value

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Don’t talkok if you have no idea of RV.

I had seen enough sour faces in my showroom when they wanna trade in their kimchi and Proton.

So many times I heard the wife scolding the husband “I told you to buy a Toyota, you didn’t listen. See how much we have to fork out now!!!”

• annoy_namous on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Traders / Car dealer is actually the people that making money during SST. They didn’t declare the price they get and set their price among them. Thus they are making money but declared not making the profit and wanna skip paying tax. Now GOVT implement GST so the seller declared their price and pay the tax. The most people that get the impact will be the middle man who buy cheap but wanna sell high but now afraid coz they need to pay tax. This group is the people who kompang around the country that GST is a burden but actually they are the one who cekik our darah last time, wanna profit rocket high but don’t wanna pay tax. Now all pening kepala coz need to declare the price and pay the tax. This kind of people is the ones who always set if I have profit rm1 last time, after tax also wanna profit rm1. They pass the burden to us. Now is our choice to select and know who’s the real culprit. Happy Hunting Guys. Select the best.

• Aminar Botak Head on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Come on Aminar Botak Head, what little discount is this? It is so small and have no significance.

Instead of giving us this stupid discount, please ask your boss, Najib to honour his promise to give 30% reduction in car prices.

This you are so scared to do. Why are you so scared Aminar? Najib promised the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices but failed to honour his promise.

But all the chicken CEOs of car companies are too scared to ask Najib or MITI why he has not honoured his promise.

Come on Aminar, don’t be a chicken. Go ask MITI and your boss Najib why he has not honoured his promise to the rakyat.

At least then, the discount would be more worthwhile for your people and the rakyat. Aminar, orang orang kampung yang susah banyak you know with high car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Wan Kamal Wan Ismail on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Perodua dealers, when untung, untung millions. When lose a bit, ask Gomen to subsidise. Malas betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Smart buyer on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Perodua no need go to Bangladesh and still sell 200k cars hragtaghat if they’re allowed to sell sedan car? For sure the other global car is forced to find other 3rd world markets, maybe Zambia or Togo in order to survive but proclaim it as export opportunity regardless the big loss they gonna incur.

That’s why Perodua is play safe, giving what rakyat wants (fuel economy and less headache cars) to stay successful no.1 position, no gimmick, no need nonsense ambition ASEAN car or pretend to teach others how to make cars unnecessarily.

Now with tightening GST era kicks in Perodua will enjoy more sales as rakyat will only buy best value for money car. Smart move for tough times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • Wan Kamal Wan Ismail on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Perodua dealers are like PDAM. When untung, untung millions for years. When lose one time, ask Government to subsidise using our LHDN money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • You think like proton? When untung, so arrogant. When rugi, still so arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
        • kakakakka on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:28 am

Arrogant what? Got discount unlike p2 when GST began baru nak kecoh pasal stock tak laku tak dapat claim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Value what on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Added value? I hope he didn’t mean changing projector headlamps to the cheaper reflector headlamps and Optitron instrument panel to backlit panel on the facelift Myvi. So far, all these value added bullshits mentioned by P2 only added value to the shareholders’ dividend, not to the buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • hmmm i thought spare parts suppose to drop price too? GST replace sales tax ma…rite…

• If both P1 and P2 are national cars and both are taxed the same, then why P2 cant give the same up to 3.25% lower price as P1?
    Maybe that’s becoz P2 all this time was a car assembler, not manufacturer. All things are CKDed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Finally a response from daihatsu

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Aminar can go fark himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • GS Tea on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Looks like Proton is more prepared this time and is among the first car makers to announce price reduction post GST. Perodua is caught with their pants down and only make vague announcement of the price reduction depending on models.

• Ahbeng on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:13 am

Sst 10% mau claim balik… Gst 6% so customer suppose to get 4%… Sighh.. Maybe somebody can explain me…

• oh no on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:54 am

0.1%? What is this? Discount for ants?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:40 am

What p2 saying indirectly is they belanja u makan kentucky fried chicken if u buy p2 car

• NEGLIGIBLE REDUCTION on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:08 am

Too negligible reduction. Still cant cope w sales.

• UMW Mampus on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:58 am

Same like UMW, their DNA is the same. Make as much money as possible and treating their customers’ lives cheaply.

P2 base model range no ABS, Toyota base model range no ESP. Brothers for life!