2016 BMW 7 Series G11/G12 – first details released

P90179308-highRes

The new G11/G12 BMW 7 Series is not too far away now. It will likely make its world debut sometime in Q3 this year, but before that BMW has revealed bits of information on the new 7er at a technology and innovation workshop in Miramas, France.

BMW was unfortunate enough to have images of the entire 7 Series exterior and interior leaked a few months ago, but as it turns out there’s a whole lot more to the G11/G12 story to tell than a few photos are able to.

Let’s have a look at what’s been revealed so far.

Chassis with integrated CFRP

P90179331-highRes

The new 7er promises to be up to 130 kg lighter, which will help with its dynamics as well as eco credentials. Its new platform makes use of carbon fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP) in the actual structure of the passenger cell instead of just visible material on the outer skin, which is said to be a world first.

For example, CFRP is used together with ultra high-strength steels in the B pillars, which increases both the overall strength as well as torsional and bending stiffness of the passenger cell. BMW calls this the Carbon Core body structure.

Standard air suspension on both axles

P90179307-highRes

While the previous few generations of the 7 Series featured air suspension only on the rear axle for self-levelling purposes, the new 7 Series now features air suspension on both the front and rear axles. Dynamic damper control is also standard.

One of the benefits of air suspension on both axles is of course variable ride height. This can be set manually as well – at the touch of a button, the 7 Series can increase its ride height by 20 mm for better clearance on uneven surfaces or in multi-story car parks with sharply-angled ramps. In Sport mode, the body is lowered by 10 mm.

New Driving Experience Control mode – Adaptive

This particular feature previously contained Comfort+, Comfort, Sport, Sport+ and Eco Pro modes. There’s now a new setting – Adaptive, which adjusts itself based on the driver’s behaviour as well as GPS navigation data.

The way this button is implemented has also been revised – it was previously a rocker switch, but now there are individual buttons for Adaptive, Comfort, Sport and Eco Pro. The Comfort+ setting is accessed by pressing the Comfort button twice.

Eco Pro mode is now customisable in terms of steering response and damper control, so you can have an eco throttle response with a heavy steering and hard suspension if, for whatever reason, you desire it.

New iDrive system with touch and gesture control

The iDrive system features an all-new interface, now featuring a horizontal list in the main menu. The inside screens look more familiar, but the system now has the additional feature of accepting touch and gesture input as well as being controlled from the rotary knob.

The benefits of touch are very obvious in certain applications – keying in numbers for example. You just touch a virtual numerical keypad that appears on the screen instead of spinning the rotary knob around.

The gesture control feature that was previously showcased as a technology preview makes its production debut here. Gestures can be used for commands like adjusting the volume, or accepting as well as rejecting phone calls. Gestures are also programmable.

Remote control parking feature

This is perhaps the feature that will produce the most wow factor – no longer do you have to worry about getting out of your car when you park in a tight spot, because you can simply get out of your car first and get it to park itself.

To activate the remote control parking function, the car has to be positioned at a maximum angle of 10° to the selected parking space. The maximum distance that can be covered by the car during driverless manoeuvres in and out of parking spaces is 1.5 times the length of the car.

New climate control panel, integrated perfume dispenser

P90179279-highRes

From the image above we can see that there’s a new climate control panel design that appears to be a little screen controlled via touch input.

We also noticed a new button in the middle that looks like a perfume bottle – this very likely means the new 7 Series will come with an integrated perfume dispenser.

New digital instrument panel design with virtual analog clock

P90179283-highRes

BMW’s digital instrument panel has been further improved with the new 7 Series. As before, there are three different looks – a standard multi-functional one that supports information display such as navigation instructions in place of the rev counter, an amber sports version and a blue version that activates when you’re on Eco Pro mode.

There’s also a new virtual analog clock – in lieu of an actual physical analog clock on the dashboard? We’re not quite sure that has the same effect as an actual clock, but we’ll see.

BMW also released plenty of videos of the new 7 Series, though you won’t be able to see much of the exterior as it’s all covered up with camo. Enjoy the videos and the big gallery below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow, incredible. We are further behind “them”, 20 years I would say.

Wawasan 2020? Really?

• policeman on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Now Audi and Mercedes can start to make copy from this cutting edge machine.

• The Truth About 7 Series. on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:51 pm

7 Series here is a big failure. Nobody buys it. The ones you see on the road are mainly Sime Darby director cars. The remaining are cars that BMW Malaysia have to sponsor free of charge to stay in business.

You see, BMW Malaysia every now and then are told by the Government to supply 7 series for this delegation la, that delegation la, Sukom la, Lima la, G15 la…you name it, BMW always supply and sponsor free cars.

They got no choice. Government just tells them to do so. Once, the even is over in 2 weeks, these cars are usually sold for 1/2 price to mainly cronies of GLC

In actual fact, all Datuks, Tan Sris, Royalty all buy S class. Nobody even looks at 7 series. Poor 7 series. All the 7 series you see on the road are all ex event cars.

I pity the 7 series. You can get a good 2007 E66 (735Li) now for RM40k. Such a beautiful limo for one twentieth its original price of RM800k when brand new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:22 pm

BMW Malaysia bosses in Malaysia have no balls. All scared to say NO. All go and kipas kerajaan.

Better to just sack all the BMW Malaysia bosses.

• Protonist on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Why burn money while you can get Proton with same quality? You no brain??

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:30 pm

BMW got terrible RV. 7 year old car can be sold for RM40k.

Last time BMW 745li sold for RM1 million. Now, can get a good car done only 50k KM for RM35k.

• If you watch “Mega Factories – Porsche 991 (current 911)”, you will know who copy who… Porsche even said they bring current superbike/motogp technology to current 911…

• Enuff said on Apr 21, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Proton’s HPF steel is best in the world. BMW tak boleh lawan Proton punya.

• Of course. Last time like BMW, now better than BMW and as good as Volvo.

• Proton = BMW or Volvo (sama quality) on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Our Ministers say Proton is as good as Volvo and BMW.

Our Ministers say our Universities are on par with University of Oxford.

• Datuk K on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:20 pm

For jaguh kampung, BMW mmg tak boleh lawan Proton

• wong dog dog on Apr 21, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Proton bila baru boleh tech mcm ni? 3030? 4040? 5050?

• john doe on Apr 21, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Wow

I wonder when our Proton and Perodua can be on par with BMW. Well at least develop their own technology

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 21, 2015 at 2:39 pm

7-series is the worst RV from BMW. Buy to please Ahmad only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • blaster88 on Apr 21, 2015 at 2:59 pm

wait for it…wait for it…Samlorrr would make some stupid comments that truly reflects his SEVERE lack of intellectual capabilities.

If I can afford a 7series, would RV be my first worry??? He just don’t get it…

• Superman on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:44 pm

when I read this article I think how the hell Proton and MITI had the audacity to compare themselves with likes of BMW?? they are not even close and to be honest far by millions of km. getting ANCAP is no big deal. nowadays almost all car makers need to go for it. think before speak. it is like that classic car maker bufori they think they are same as RR and Bentley. who can team these people to be humble and stop thinking like a clown!!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu! on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:07 pm

somehow in Malaysia, there some MINISTER comment that our Proton are same quality level with BMW, i think the above demonstration is all develop by Proton, Not BMW, am i right? Sir

• kenot on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:41 pm

BMW is not for ordinary people. yes..you can buy second-hand bmw, but be prepare the money to maintain the car. If I’m not mistaken, bmw malaysia only offer 3 years/60k km mileage warranty.

For the rich, they can replace the new bmw after warranty expired.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Fascinating tech indeed but I believe I’ve seen some on the new S-Class already so BMW is playing catch up in certain areas.

Here’s hoping some of these tech will trickle down to the next gen 3 & 5 Series….and pls BMW Malaysia, spec up your models and increase the warranty period!

• Jimmy on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Safety: seems impressive.
    What about silence?

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 22, 2015 at 2:50 am

What was wrong with having buttons for the climate control? If there are buttons, you don’t have to look…