2015 Subaru Outback 2.5i-S launched in Msia: RM225k

subaru-outback-2015-malaysia-launch 1346

Motor Image has officially launched the 2015 Subaru Outback in Malaysia. An outdoorsy estate derivative of the 2015 Legacy, the Outback sports the sedan’s hawk-eye headlamps and trapezoidal grille, while adding black body mouldings and roof rails with integrated retractable crossbars.

Only one variant is available for now – the 2.5i-S. Under the bonnet lurks a 2.5 litre ‘Boxer’ flat-four that develops 175 PS at 5,800 rpm and 235 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The engine is connected to a Lineartronic CVT with six virtual ratios.

Of course, there’s Subaru’s Symmetrical AWD, and it’s enhanced with X-Mode for all-terrain performance (activates hill descent control), as well as Active Torque Vectoring for sharper cornering. There’s also SI-Drive, which offers Intelligent, Sport and Sport Sharp modes to choose from.

subaru-outback-2015-malaysia-launch 1349

On the outside, you’ll see self-levelling LED headlamps, 18-inch alloys wrapped in 225/60 rubber and a sunroof. There’s also an Active Grille Shutter in the lower intake, which automatically opens or closes to aid cooling or improve aerodynamics and thus, fuel economy.

Interior equipment includes auto headlamps and wipers, keyless entry and start, auto dual-zone air-con (with rear vents), cruise control, voice recognition, shift paddles, eight-way power-adjustable front leather seats (with lumbar for driver) and an electronic parking brake.

The seven-inch touch-screen incorporates Bluetooth, a reverse camera and Harman Kardon Green Edge sound through 12 speakers. AUX and USB are available, too. Open the power tailgate and you’ll find a 1,801 litre cargo area, as well as 60:40-split folding and reclining back seats.

Measuring 4,815 mm long, 1,840 mm wide and 1,675 mm tall, the Subaru Outback sits on a 2,745 mm wheelbase. The suspension is a front-MacPherson strut, rear-double wishbone with stabiliser bar affair, and there are ventilated disc brakes all round.

The safety arsenal consists of ABS, EBD, front, side, curtain and driver’s knee airbags, VDC stability control, Isofix and hill start assist.

Fully-imported (CBU) from Japan, the Subaru Outback 2.5i-S is priced at RM224,846, OTR with insurance and GST. Crystal White Pearl, Ice Silver Metallic, Dark Grey Metallic, Crystal Black Silica, Platinum Grey Metallic, Lapis Blue Pearl and Tungsten Metallic body colours are available. A five-year/100,000 km factory warranty is included.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:56 pm

It’s length and wheel base are quite long, is it come with third row seat ?

• Areyousure on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:12 pm

It looks more interesting than the Camry hybrid. Unless your budget is concerns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Value for money CBU, one of the ‘best buy’.
      7 airbags + ESP, terrain-moderate-offroad, sunroof, size etc etc.

We are not going racing right?

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:21 pm

As i always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi car. However, if this Outback is too expensive for you. You can consider our Innova for RM110k only.

Get a sushi car, avoid sour face during trade in negotiation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:33 pm

As you guys already know, although I am pro sushi, I have to admit one thing, Japanese cars, especially Toyota got very bad RV nowdays. And in most cases, even worse RV than Kimchi

But I will still be pro sushi and I will still kutuk kimchi. I hate kimchi because it has taken away a lot of my Toyota sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • me too is pro sushi, not sure whether that fishy smell has any relation to my pro sushi ness, love the outback but its kinda expensive. i would probably go for the forester xt..sushi for live

• Santa FE with third row seats and powerful turbo engine is better

• the side view looks like the new x-trail

• hmm if using 2.0 turbo engine is better..but 2.5 and no turbo..

maybe the turbo forester is better buy

• Rm 225k not worthy at all.looks also like uncle car specially rear .worth to buy if Rm 100k max which understood never would b in this part of world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • kevinwtj on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Alamak…non-turbocharged ah…if it was even if it was a 2.0 turbo…then I’ll be first in line to book at $225k. Not the steal I was hoping for :-)…

• Vinnie on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Damn it… should have waited before I pulled the trigger on my Lexus NX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Ron Nard on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:18 pm

is the interior so ugly that its embarrassing to upload here? hahaha Subaru’s interior designs are always dated the moment they launch the cars..

• comparing Outback, Santa Fe & Odyssey

• sepul on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:50 pm

This is no STI or Spec B Legacy guys. No need turbo. Bullet proof reliability is the goal.

• jim labu on Apr 29, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Sadly, not equipped with Eye-Sight tech…kalau ada mesti harga sampai RM Tiga Ratus Tujuh Puluh Tujuh Ribu Ratus Juta…gila babun betul harga kereta kat M’sia ni…

• edwinyiow on Apr 29, 2015 at 6:16 pm

is that yong wan jun?

• rm225k? mid sized suv/wagon. wouldn’t the Santa Fe or bmw2 be a better alternative

• Sante fe handling is like a floating csr.. outback handling is superb.

Both also for uncle anyway..

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:59 pm

It may not be the most exciting thing to look at, but its what’s underneath that matters. The only carmaker (along with Lotus) who design cars for function over form. No turbo means its slow too. But thats not what Outback buyers look for. There is still the Forester XT if anybody wants an affordable fast SUV.

Noticed something strange in the pictures, as the dashboard seems different & narrower to the US Outback. Is there in fact a difference between our Outback and those for America?

• Jason Tham on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:20 pm

I like the Subaru Outback. It’s a very functional drive anywhere car. You either like it or you don’t. Difficult to like it unless you have test driven the car. The drive is very much european than japanese. However, Subaru pricing is always at a high premium. If this new Outback is priced at about RM200k, slightly below the Forester, i’m sure it will sell very well. At RM225k, it’s surely on the high side….

• Sorchai Albert on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:45 am

Stupid subaru following camry arrogant pricing. gud luck with sales

• Like I said before, choose and buy car within your set budget. Rich people wouldn’t mind spend their money on high end SUV (RR, X5, Touareg, Cayeene or Grand Cherokee). For average income earner the like of Santa Fe, Sorento, Fortuner or Pajero Sport will be more affordable choice. I guess Outback will not be the mainstream choice then.

• Johnny on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:32 am

RM225K for a 4pot that churns out 175HP with no turbo? For such a big car? And I thought most cars above RM200K would at least have Turbo or at least more power. Not sure if this car can even go uphill.. X-Mode and Symetrical AWD goes to waste..

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Which is why it is odd that MI decided to bring in the Outback instead of the Levorg wagon which looks way better AND comes with a 2.0 turbo engine (same engine as the WRX & Forester XT) AND has excellent handling. Missed opportunity there MI.

• Bs lee on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:50 pm

The price is on the high side, guess won’t sell a lot till end of 2015, can get year end discount 50k..by then…