2016 Honda Accord facelift rendered – close enough?

TC-HONDA-ACCORD-FACELIFT-0002

Hot on the heels of the recently spotted 2016 Honda Accord Coupe facelift (or is it the other way round?), one might have noticed spyshots of its sedan counterpart circling cyberspace. As those shots were an exclusive feature, Theophilus Chin has once again provided us with a masterclass in automotive renders as the images you see here are based on said spyshots.

Up front, the 2016 Honda Accord facelift adopts a very Acura-esque front fascia, replete with full LED headlamps. A solid chrome bar spans the length between said headlights, which housing the ‘H’ badge while below the upper assembly, a more aggressive air intake designed is slated to feature.

Moving on to the rear, things appear more familiar with a redesigned taillamp design coupled to additional chrome accents and twin exhaust outlets – which could hint at what lurks under the bonnet. Which brings us to potential engine options for the refreshed Accord – a 3.5 litre V6 from the 2016 Honda Pilot is expected to feature. Aside from that, the 2.4 litre Earth Dreams four-banger is expected to soldier on.

TC-HONDA-ACCORD-FACELIFT-0001

Of more interest is the possibility of Honda slotting in its new 1.5 litre turbocharged VTEC four-cylinder engine into the Accord – said mill will debut in the US on the tenth-generation Civic. Should the aforementioned engines make it onto the Accord, transmission options will likely include a nine-speed automatic gearbox for the V6, a CVT for the four-cylinder and a six-speed manual for the new 1.5 litre mill.

In the US, expect the Accord facelift to go on sale in a myriad of trims including a Sport and Touring variant. In addition, the public can look forward to additional updates on the Accord Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid, due to be announced not long after the Accord’s reported debut date at the end of the third quarter of 2015.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Accord Coupe spyshots

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• McLarenHonda on May 08, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Clap clap clap. This is how you do a proper facelift. Can’t wait to see what interior changes there will be and also if Honda Malaysia will bring the 1.5L turbo engine for the Malaysian Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on May 08, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Camry hybrid booking 167. I will buy another Lexus this month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
      • lolzer on May 10, 2015 at 12:41 pm

I thought you’re fired? Still trying hard to advertise eh? Good luck.

• mercbetter on May 08, 2015 at 11:07 pm

I’m not fan of Honda design, not worth to buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • clinton on May 09, 2015 at 2:00 am

No matter how you rendered, come to malaysia still 4 airbags for base model and yet you paid $150k for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Hai, air-bags are not so important 4 units is quite sufficient. To me 2 is suffice. Altitude,skill and concentration of Driving are of utmost important in Safety. Prevention is better than accident. Airbag also can chock u to death during accident.

• airbagsareimportant on May 12, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Sometimes you being careful isn’t enough. What if the others drive recklessly and cause accident? 150k for 4 airbags, it’s all about CP value

• I doubt that headlight design is happening though.

• jemah on May 08, 2015 at 5:29 pm

ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
  • AVH (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 5:57 pm

In most case, the Accord facelift was cought completely naked up in Car And Driver’s webpage. but thanks Theophiilus for rendering a better view of it.

http://www.caranddriver.com/news/exclusive-2016-honda-accord-sedan-spy-photos-news

Anyhow, I’am not supporting Honda to go wiith this ‘Jewel’ LED design, its gnawing to look at for people like me who has Trypophobia. I can see Honda trying to emphasis more Executive feel for the Accord, moving it furthur from its sporty heritage. Also, regarding the possibility of a 1.5l Turbo in the Accord, I dont think it’ll replace the 2.4l stateside as that Direct-injection K24W2/3 first debuted in the current generation USDM Accord and I doon’t think Honda would retire it after half a generation of duty. I could however be very wrong as this is only a hunch.

The Accord has alot to live to, the new Sonata, Optima and even the new Camry facelift already upped the game significantly since its 2013 MY introduction. I’am only curious on what the facelift would bring to Malaysia…The Camry Hybrid, as much I dont want to say it, is a very good proposition to anyone buying a high-spec D-segment sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Spirior on May 08, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Why try so hard to render it? Just Google Honda Spirior, it looks like that.

• same lorrrhhakkktuaaiiihhhh on May 11, 2015 at 5:06 am

Spirior only for China and US market. I don’t think this spirior will come to Malaysia. The most closely accord that available for ASEAN market is from India. You can googling for it.

• Oh no… Accord is getting closer to Ah Beng City face, ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Albert on May 08, 2015 at 8:30 pm

HONDA in Bolehland have overtaken Toyota in sales Jan-march 2015 by 20-30 percent.
    I reckon,they are coming out with facelifts cos their new model is not ready.They are aware the new Camry is very enticing to car buyers who have the budget.Anyway,Honda has done extremely well in malaysia,short of 1000 units behind Protong,in March 2015…in number 3 position.
    Same Lorr,a little disappointed cos Honda malaysia have overtaken UMW now.But,worldwide..Toyota is still the undisputed number ONE leader with a gargantuan profit of US 18 Billion Dollars.(IMDB’s debt is US 11.35 Billion Dollars)….you see the scale of TOYOTA PROFITS versus our debt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • same lorrrhhakkktuaaiiihhhh on May 11, 2015 at 5:10 am

don’t bring politics inside here lah A-hole !

• Accord owner on May 08, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Today is actually my Accord 1 year old on the road day and I find this post annoying. Anyway, nice car to drive with ok cornering.

• sohhai on May 08, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Toyota has already upped the ante with a new DI engine for their 2.0E and 2.0G so expect Honda to bring in either a new Earth Dreams 2.0 engine or at least a new transmission for the existing 2.0 engine. Honda cannot afford to remain with the current 2.0 + 5 speeder anymore. It would be fantastic if they do bring in the 1.5 turbo VTEC mated to the 8 speed dual clutch that is in the Acura. That will literally kill the rest of the competition

• why render now?? in dubai the facelift already done D:

• in dubai the facelift already done…..why render now? :/

• DPCraft on May 09, 2015 at 12:36 am

This looks better, hope the grill looks like this: http://motorheads.me/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/15YM-Accord-4D_Press-Kit-Pic.jpg

• Honda accord..

The old owner will be so proud.. thier car is nicer..more gentle to the eye..

All the new honda design like from alien..

Wierd jazz styled like cockcroach..
    And this accord.. omg.

The honda city and civic big and plain rough chrome grille.. wow… most ugly front i have witnessed..

And new accord gonna have similar grill.. good luck honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 09, 2015 at 9:24 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Honda still using 5 speeder….even the pickups have 6 speeds. Sleeping or what!
    Bring in the Hybrids, that will sell like hot cakes and ditch the Stream (done) Freed pls.
    Need to change your marketing people.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 10, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Kimchis can offer 8 speeder but it will breakdown after 24 months.

That’s why they will never have RV

• Maybe its just me, i think 7th Generation is the best looking Accord so far. I am driving the 8th Gen btw.

• bigboy on May 10, 2015 at 1:18 pm

this rendering looks more like an Acura…

• This looks pretty much spot-on with the Car and Driver spy-shots. In fact, I didn’t like the update much after just seeing the C&D photos but you’ve given me hope because I like your rendered image quite a bit!

• eagletalon on May 11, 2015 at 1:17 am

at least better than myvi. myvi only does facelifts in these many years, no new design at all. even the engine has been used for countless years..

• suresh kumar on May 12, 2015 at 9:25 am

Somehow these pictures dont look as good as the Spiroir which have a more sporty and meaner asthetics. If Spirior model comes to Malaysia i may consider buying one – this one im not so sure…

• Yamn…..

• krishna on May 13, 2015 at 1:10 pm

My only issue with Accord is that they update too frequently. You buy today, next year they issue a facelift or new gen.

• Sprouted on May 28, 2015 at 12:18 am

Any idea when the 2016 release will be in the US? I want to get an accord now but I want to wait..

• My local dealer says Honda is upping the incentives to clear the lots of 15s over the next 90 days. Looks like the ’16 Accord will be here in September.