Ford opens up access of its EV patents to competitors

ford focus electric

Ford has announced that it is offering competitors access to its electric vehicle technology patents in a move it says is aimed at accelerating development of electrified vehicles. The automaker believes sharing its patented technologies will promote faster development of future inventions.

“Innovation is our goal. The way to provide the best technology is through constant development and progress. By sharing our research with other companies, we will accelerate the growth of electrified vehicle technology. As an industry, we need to collaborate while we continue to challenge each other,” Ford Electrification Programs director Kevin Layden said in a statement.

Ford has more than 650 patents and around 1,000 pending patent applications on EV and hybrid technologies – last year, it filed for 400-plus electrified vehicle patents, which was more than 20% of the total patents the company applied for in 2014.

ford c-max hybrid

Among the plethora of patents are those covering passive cell balancing (to extend battery run time and overall life) and temperature dependent regenerative braking, and there’s also a driving behaviour feedback interface in the huge mix.

The move by Ford mirrors that taken by Tesla Motors last June, when it opened up its electric vehicle patents to be used by anyone, including other car manufacturers. Unlike Tesla, which is offering access to its patents for free, Ford’s patents will be available for a fee.

Ford currently has six hybrid or fully electric vehicles in its model line-up – the Focus Electric, Fusion Hybrid, Fusion Energi plug-in hybrid, C-MAX Hybrid, C-MAX Energi plug-in hybrid and Lincoln MKZ Hybrid.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Fiesta on May 28, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Give free patent to Proton pun tak tahu guna lah

• CyberPatrol on May 29, 2015 at 1:00 am

This open source initiative will bring the EV technology to greater heights and growth to EV industry. Good for environment less carbon emission but must find way to dispose and recycle batteries.

Next, I think this give way to new companies an opportunity to make EV cars without using 4/3 piston engine block. It will puts EV cars into automation level next level with artificial intelligence (AI) software.

• Albert on May 29, 2015 at 6:25 am

In Bolehland,the issue concerning Ford cars are “AVAILABILITY OF SPARE PARTS”.Nobody here cares a damn on their patents.
    I think I have read (in this car forum) more complaints on FORD SPARE PARTS than poor Protong.
    Protong’s main problem is inflated costing like MAS,in other words mismanagement.No amount of patents will save this poor car manufacturer.
    Coming back to Sime Darby Auto Koneksion,it is not surprising their sales took a beating (also due to GST-customer pulling back from big item purchase),inspite of hefty discounts in the region of rm8-10 k per car.
    What is the point of getting 10K discount when your car is in their workshop for 2 months? SHambolic SDAC.

• Freyja on May 29, 2015 at 11:06 am

I hear you, buddy. I drive a Fiesta myself. I didn’t have to leave the car for two months at the SC but the parts shortage always baffles me. They have a nasty habit of calling you in but the parts are not even at the SC yet (this was when I scheduled my car for a clutch replacement).

• Albert on May 29, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Freyja,even though you do not have to leave the car at their workshop,don’t you feel frustrated at their poor response?
    Naza ,is another culprit.I sold my Citra after 5 years.The first month,the windscreen leak, and then the air con control panel konked out.2 months driving without air con,waiting for their spare pART.Another shambolic crony who died in the helicopter crash,his sons absolutely taking us for a ride.

• Kugan Ausuvalingam on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:41 am

Greetings fellow people , we are in the midst of developing some Malaysian made vehicle(commercial/passenger).Hope to see in the streets by 2017. Wish us luck :)

And the spare part,maintenance part….taken care of ;)