Govt to clear RM494 million AES summons backlog before starting second phase end-2015

camera-trap-speed

The government is set to start the second phase of Automated Enforcement System (AES) traffic monitoring, but before that can happen, it will resolve the small matter of 1.65 million pending court cases involving RM494 million in unpaid traffic summonses from the pilot stage, The Sun reports.

Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi said his ministry and the Attorney-General’s Chambers (AGC) are formulating the best mechanism to resolve the outstanding cases, which were temporarily suspended on Dec 18, 2012 at the direction of the AGC for “technical” reasons.

“In view of the concerns made by certain quarters on the law and other technicalities, the AGC has decided to look into this matter and directed that all proceedings are to be withheld until the concerns have been addressed. A decision will be made within the next few days on the above-mentioned issues,” the AGC said then, adding however that AES summonses were still valid.

The ambiguity meant that although the 14 AES cameras continued to capture red light running and speeding offences, it was dismissed by many as a “toothless tiger” due to the above-mentioned AGC freeze. Of the 1.91 million AES summonses issued from September 2012 to April 30 this year, only 264,750 compounds amounting to RM76,647,750 have been paid.

PJ Traffic Jam

“The AGC is analysing all the clauses to fine tune and solve this outstanding matter before the government implements the second phase. The AGC wants to ensure that all legal matters are in place,” Aziz added.

In the meantime, the rollout of the second phase of AES is on track, with locations proposed for the 350 cameras being finalised. The emphasis will be on capturing traffic light violations.

Based on 2013 stats, there were 205 accidents at traffic light intersections and pedestrian crossings which resulted in 76 deaths and 129 injuries. Based on the latest Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) studies, AES cameras at traffic light junctions have reduced the light jumping rate by at four locations in KL and Perak. Full story here.

“Now that the AES operation is fully under a government-linked company and no longer operated by the private firms, we want to beef up the enforcement because (the number of) road crashes and fatalities continue to rise. Red light running and speeding had contributed to 30% of fatal accidents in the past. The government wants to reduce the number of fatalities and deter the people from going against the rules,” the minister explained.

“We have to take control. We want to make the roads safer for all road users. Effective enforcement is one way to reduce lost of lives on the road and the authorities are serious about reducing fatalities in line with the government’s Road Safety Plan towards 2020,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bomoh on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:18 am

Pay or not pay…?

• Car got Saman But Motor No Saman on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:04 am

Everyday hundreds of motorbike beat the red traffic light. The polis officer manning the light just smile at the motorbikes beating the lights.

But these motorbikes never get saman. Even AES also never give them saman. Is this fair?

They beat the lights, they cause risk of major accidents too but the polis and the AES and AGC all got no telur (balls) to saman these motorbikes.

If you saman cars, you must be fair and saman the motorbikes. After all, if they beat the light, a major accident involving many cars can happen.

I hope the AG, AGC and PDRM Trafik all can grow some telur and be brave to saman the motorbikes. Don’t have double standards lah PDRM.

Oh by the way PDRM, today 9.45 Federal Highway got massive jam. But got PDRM outrider to give personal escort to FAM bus to passthrough.

Come on PDRM, Escort is for Agong and Ambulances la. Buat apa FAM footballer bus can have special escort going through the traffic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Country Bankrupt la! on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:13 am

1MDB got no money. May collapse Malaysia and make Malaysia into another Greece. This is just another way to make money like the 10 sen increae in petrol prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Corrupted Government on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:24 am

Government must inform the public 2 things, firstly, how come each of the 2 crony companies doing the AES were given RM500 million compensation each?

Who really owns these 2 companies?

Secondly, these 2 companies were charging RM1 million per camera installed initially. then when people complained, the matter was covered up.

So, did the Government really pay RM1 million per AES camera installed? An advanced DSLR camera with much superior optics only cost RM2500. How can each camera cost RM1 million.

Also, the projected income for each company was over RM10 billion (not million) if all fines were paid and their percentage commission were taken into account.

Is this fair? Is it fair for a Sdn Bhd to earn over RM10 billion clean profit per annum when actual huge Bursa listed companies are not even making there absurd profits?

Who really owns these 2 companies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • Bomoh on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:25 am

“We have to take control. We want to make the roads safer for all road users. Effective enforcement is one way to reduce lost of lives on the road and the authorities are serious about reducing fatalities in line with the government’s Road Safety Plan towards 2020,”

Sounds good, I think such “AES” should also exist to monitor and avoid misspent Rakyat’s money. This is more more danger and will impact to all nations…

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:43 am

AGAIN.(‘@’) tutup 1MDB loses again. Suck all ppl money and save 1MDB mistake again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Rakyat Bodoh on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:50 am

Ko buat salah ko bayarla bangang! Jgn nak bising konon kerajaan suck duit ko sedang ko bangang nak mampos tak reti nak bawak kereta ikut undang-undang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
      • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Kau Tulis Engligh lah, sini guna English,Bukan Budak Kampung buat Bodoh suka suka, Tahu! English pun tak mahir nak comment orang, Pui, Balik Kampung lah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
        • andas on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:08 pm

to begin with, u started comment using MengLish (Malaysia + English).. no point cursing here la dey!

• Tomboy Alice on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:51 am

Our Govt just keep finding different ways to get money from the people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:20 am

When crash here n there blame no enforcement..when do enforcement came this comment above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • andas on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:04 pm

u hit the redlight, then pay the summon la.. u feel our gov. not competent, then vote the other party in next GE.. what so difficult???

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:13 am

1) Please saman very slow car driving on the right lane
    2) Saman the VVVIP with their escorts who belah lampu merah and ask people to give way even when the traffic is stuck
    3) Why the compensation is too high, and who will benefit from this?
    4) Why don’t install AES at hotspot traffic lights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • STOP COMPLAINING...WILL YOU on Jun 03, 2015 at 12:06 pm

When get saman, complain why that person no saman. Why motorbike no saman, why, why, why?? Then blame government to suck people $$%, to cover 1MDB, corrupted government, not fair,AES waste people $$$, blah blah blah….

The first place is THAT YOU ACTUALLY WANT TO GIVE THE $$$ TO THE SO CALLED CORRUPTED GOVERNMENT. YOU KNOW THE GOVERNMENT IS “CORRUPTED”, YOU KNOW THE POLICE IS “CORRUPTED”, BUT STILL YOU WANT TO GIVE THEM MONEY [SAMAN].

YOU CAN REFRAIN FROM THE GOVERNMENT TO COLLECT YOUR PRECIOUS $$$ BY FOLLOWING THE TRAFFIC LAW. FULL STOP.

STOP COMPLAINING. START FOLLOWING THE TRAFFIC RULES. PLEASE BE PART OF THE GROUP TO MAKE MALAYSIA’S ROAD SAFER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Holofanboi on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:25 pm

What the? Are this two posters bots? Their comments dont make any sense!

• rosdi on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:44 pm

RM76 million worth of compounds has been paid? That is no small amount. Unless…

• BigBalls on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:58 pm

500 million and still not sufficient to pay the INTERESTS owed by 1MDB monthly

Make sure your pocket shut tight tight as government will find more ways to screw the rakyat

The libido of men and women in Malaysia will skyrocket for the next few months as gov is fcking us left right and centre

-BigBalls-

• Kim A.I on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:05 pm

My dear fellow righteous Malaysians, this is your glorious dear leader speaking.

I thank you for your resistance to pay your hard earned money to the corrupted, evil, inhumane Gov, and I implore you to continue your stubborn donkey-like resistance to pay your fines. As you know, those who uphold the laws are the cronies and evil Gov agents.

It is our right, as tax-paying rakyats, to adhere to only laws that we deemed right in our opinion and, as tax-paying rakyats, we should be the king on the road, not the police. They should be the one to bow down to us, as our taxes are paying their salaries. The corrupted BN Gov have unilaterally decided that speeding pass cameras and not following the traffic lights are a crime. I say we must rise up and do as we please. After all, we are paying the taxes.

To hell with the road laws, even if we are in the wrong. It is passed by the evil, inhumane BN Gov. We must continue to speed, breakthrough red lights, kill pajeros, kill pedestrians! What are the few hundred un-replaceable lives lost due to road accidents, as compared to the billions songlap by Gov! Resist your human instincts & logic to follow the laws! Kita Lawan!

Once we have toppled the Gov, rest assured, we will magically turn these evil, inhumane, cruel road regulations that the rest of the world follows into humane and kind laws that will bring the full wrath of the New Gov on the offenders if you continue to resist paying fines and continue to break the laws. Then, it would be an act of despicable crime against our law-abiding, kind, humane, understanding New Gov.

So I ask you, fellow righteous Malaysians, to continue to break the traffic laws until we take over, or over-take, whichever we dun care, as long as we in Putrajaya.

As your glorious leader, I thank you for your 53% support and will continue to fight to the end for me and my family, my partners and cronies well-being. All in the name of the greater good for your future. Be at ease for I am the sheep-herder and you are my sheep. I knows best.

Kita Lawan.
    Kita Lawan!
    KITA LAWAN!

• ChongZebnd on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Neighborhood occupations: One means to make money between classes would be to do odd jobs for your neighbors and about the neighborhood. You can make a pretty decent amount in the event that you do this in your free time for a few days out of the week. Selling things that are old online: This is another great way to make money.

• ChongZebnd on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Working a customer service job at home will pay similar to what you’d make working in a call center or office. Beyond customer service for a large business, you may also locate a number of “virtual assistant” jobs online.

• karipap panas on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Sounds like…. 1Screw-up Malaysia in the making….

• ChongZebnd on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:03 pm

You’ve got to cover supplies, gear, books, room and board in addition to tuition.

• ChongZebnd on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Make a budget and stick to it. Avoid purchasing things that you do not actually want. Many businesses and online stores are offering textbook rentals, therefore it is worth shopping around.

• ChongZebnd on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:42 am

Although there are not any which makes it impossible to get any government funds. Yet I’m still considered an international student who must pay triple the fees of an EU or Dwelling student, which I find illogical.anyways, Thanks for your time, and I appreciate any guidance or advice at this point.

• ChongZebnd on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:30 am

There are many things worth doing online instead of your regular chat on facebook, there is more into net than you’d have ever thought, it’s time to nail down this bitch called ‘INTERNET’ and get the most out of it by simply investing your chatting time or the time which you spend daydreaming.

• Painter on Jun 07, 2015 at 9:10 pm

The plate number need to be streamlined and upgraded. Can’t use the plastic type anymore. Use the metal type. Get prison inmates to be involved as part of their income.

All the royalty and datukship emblems need to be done away with.

All the different colored plates belonging to royalties are to be used only during official duties, and with police escorts. Otherwise, they should be subjected to similar traffic law.

Then only think about other part of enforcement.

• Paul…Yesterday travel from Penang to KL via PLUS highway take 9 hours. But no accidents along the way. I conclude that many irresponsible driver that use the emergency lane which at some point they have merge back to actual road lane which make other traffic have to brake and give way. And with too many cars on the road that effect all user. That is the cause of people cannot drive smoothly. Only 2 spots that I saw police take action. I hope more highway police patrol around.