New Mitsubishi Pajero Sport revealed via patent filing

Pajero Sport Patent Filing-01

The new Mitsubishi Triton has just been launched in Malaysia, a couple of months after it made its world debut in Thailand. Just like before, there will be a Pajero Sport based on the pick-up truck, and here’s a good early preview of the seven-seat SUV that will challenge the Toyota Fortuner, Ford Everest and Isuzu MU-X.

Unearthed by Gizmag, these patent filing images, which match earlier seen spyshots, tell us one important thing about the upcoming Pajero Sport – unlike before, it will come with a unique front end design not lifted from the Triton.

There’s a big lower intake framed by a border that also links the headlamps to the fog lamps. This is MMC’s new signature look as seen on the latest 2016 Outlander and also concept cars like the XR-PHEV. The elements inside the grille are horizontal, as opposed to the Triton’s vertical chrome teeth, and eat into the headlamp clusters. The face is quite striking, and somewhat reminds me of the latest Toyota Harrier’s.

Pajero Sport Patent Filing-05

No big surprise on the side profile, which has an upswept lower line of the greenhouse. The SUV’s rear contains wraparound tail lamp clusters with a “tail” that goes right down to the bottom edge of the tailgate, like a giant version of what Daihatsu did for the new Copen. A pretty good attempt at a bolder design to avoid the SUV from being tagged as a Triton with a canopy.

Our latest Mitsubishi Triton VGT is powered by a 2.5 litre variable geometry turbo engine with 178 PS and 400 Nm at 2,000 rpm, an improved version of the current 178 PS/350 Nm DI-D motor. The new 182 PS/430 Nm 2.4 litre engine that was launched with the Triton late last year in Thailand wasn’t brought it due to our lower quality diesel.

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport spyshots

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Aaron on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:14 am

Front: wow hmmmmm
    Back: wait wtf

• Mitsubishi Pls Close Shop on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:47 am

Malaysia nobody talks about Mitubishi anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • Mitsubishi is older than your mother on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Kid, you’re a joke

• Sad Inspira Owner on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:59 pm

This is another sad Inspira owner with lots of problems with his so called Mitsubishi car

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Yet they’re still profitable for some reason. So I guess Malaysians are still talking about them behind your back, eh?

• vee-oh on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:10 pm

more like “Proton please close shop”

• This johan guy…what an idiot and still living in 90s i guess

• Really on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:51 pm

I think the new Pajero Sport looks much better than the Isuzu MU-X, which really looks like a canopied D-Max. But i still think the new Ford Everest is the best looking of the ladder-framed SUVs bunch.

• DPCraft on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:31 am

Back tail lights like a upside down Honda Jazz’s taillights

• jemah on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:34 am

Honda jazz wannabe…

• Johan on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:35 am

Mitsubishi is dead in Malaysia. This is karma. For 30 years selling old outdated engines to Proton and cheating Malaysians, now, karma bites back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Mitsubishi is older than your mother on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Interesting..I thought MIVEC is new, no?

• Johan on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:43 am

Pls lah Mitsubishi, pls close down. even your Attrage is a failure despite being so fuel efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Mitsubishi is older than your mother on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Why not shout that to Proton FIRST, then Mitsu?

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Close down while Triton and ASX sales are making them profitable? What you smoking?

• Bryan on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:44 am

This just in: STILL NO VSC. HAHAHA

• Main selling point on Jun 04, 2015 at 11:22 am

Hope one of the key selling point is an Anti-MyVi feature. Sure laku one if got that.

• Does anyone also thinks that the Pajero body design is quite odd. The overall body is quite “tall” looking where the base of the body is quite narrow. This design is not so safe, and could increase the chance of body roll.

Look at other pick up trucks and SUVs, they have a much stable design (wide base and not tall body). For instance, Hilux, Triton, ASX, Q5, Ford Kuga, etc. What do you think?

• Laser eyes? on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:42 pm

You’re speaking of current Pajero or this new one?

But anyhow, I think stability based on design is highly subjective. So many factors must be taken into consideration; track width, tires, suspension setup, etc etc.

Unless, of course, you had your maths to prove it is truly not stable. Then again, I think the designers and engineers had that covered, no?

• abdul soprano on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:57 pm

ever heard of static stability factor (SSF)?
        SSF = t/2h
        where t= track width
        h= height of CoG.
        there’s the maths u asked for.

go to youtube, search SUV hidden secrets or go to this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3_2_ghFx6w.

in the end, decision whether the cars are safe for sale or not is made by the company executives, not engineers or designers. over the years SUVs hv taken advantage of the advent on auto industry by incorporating VSC/ESC etc but the simple physics is unchanged, higher CoG = higher rollover propensity = less safe.

• Laser eyes? on Jun 04, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Interesting..so what’s the SSF for Pajero? Is it safe?

• shawal on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:46 pm

It looks good
    Years ahead of its utilitarian predecessor….

Of course, we saw a black one flung n flipped on duke killing all of its occupants, the roof collapse, hence the b pillar holding the driver’s seatbelt was bent

Hopefully this new one is alot safer to own, its quite tall, and any racing myvi cn flip it if it hits d tyres…

My dad once pulled out a driver out of a burning L200 flipped on its roof…
    Driver claimed it flipped due to crosswinds…

Mitsubishi needs to spec dis car well and price it wisely,

The looks part id say it is spot on and exciting enough…

400nm of twist is surefire will excite many, im sure MMC will bring those rally drivers to flung it about in a demo during launch