2015 Toyota Avanza facelift leaked: face look familiar?

toyota-avanza-facelift-2015-leaked-2

Some photos of what is allegedly the 2015 Toyota Avanza facelift have surfaced on Indonesian motoring portal AutonetMagz.com, and… does that face bring to mind any other vehicle, by any chance? If you need a hint, see amazing from every angle.

Elements such as the slim headlamps connected by a big chrome bar that’s forked at both ends, trapezoidal grille below it and the side-lipped front bumper assure us that we’re not imagining the resemblance. But unlike that vehicle, this one wears its number plate below the grille.

toyota-avanza-facelift-2015-leaked-5

Round the back, you’ll see another chrome bar that bridges what you’d think are L-shaped tail lamps, but in fact, the bits that eat into the tailgate are ornamental and don’t light up. Also, the white indicator/reverse lamp cluster has been moved up above the rear lamps.

According to AutonetMagz.com, the 2015 Toyota Avanza facelift is set to go official in a few weeks’ time. Stay tuned for the lowdown, then!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• This Toyota really thinks this design is so good. From Innova to Lexus prado and now avanza.

Do they offer this to other countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota Moving Coffin (Keranda Bergerak) on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:01 pm

They only sell this to Malaysia and Indonesia where people are too scared to complain and file legal action.

This car is nothing but a death trap. So unstable, it looks and feels like the Perodua Kembara which is Malaysia’s No 1 car to terbalik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • Keranda King on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:17 pm

In UK, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features.

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 6
        • Toyota Avanza Owner on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Please look at your car registration card.
          My Avanza RM77k, pay to Goverment around 40k. Toyota only get 37k.
          So it’s Goverment earn a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
          • Gargantia on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Malaysia Government protecting the AP system owners. Based on the current Malaysia taxes policy Rakyat need to feed the AP owners that had no benefits at all to current market and helping Rakyat.

UMW will gets new ideas to rip existing customers and potential customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Idiots always come here whine about US price lar, UK price lar, Australia price lar…

Tell you what, Toyota is cheapest in Japan. So?

In Malaysia, not only Toyota is expensive, Honda/Hyundai/Ford/Kia/Mazda/Mitsubishi etc are expensive also, and WHY they so expensive?

Blame your beloved government, cronies and their toy Proton!!!

Without ridiculous tax, you think I won’t want to sell you 86 at RM75k? I also buy car and drive!!!

Because of these stupid tax, I can only get a Lexus LS, else I can get a LFA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 38
      • No choice la. Proton is definitely is out of picture. Have to settle with Toyota & Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • Areyousure on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:16 pm

I thought that was a Honda City !!!??

• p1best on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Haiya!!!!!
          Ayoyoyo.amma!!!
          Ek eleh!!!!
          So uglyyyyyyyyy

And the rest I dun need to sum it up. You can read it yourself. Dah la buruk SA ada hati lak nak compare dgn p1 that is more safe. Kakakaakakaka

• Keranda King on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:12 pm

when reach Malaysia, UMW will this time take out the safety belts to reap even more profits.

After all, when they take out VSC and airbags, people still buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Khairuddin Azlan on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Nvm… Sam Lorrr says he still can sell this crap 50 units a month

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Of course I can, I bundle free bra and panties. For ex customers of mine, I throw in Triumph camisole free also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Nathan Ferdinand on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Instead of Indon & MY, Avanza also offered in Africa and other Asian countries, includng Middle East market.

• lemonguy on Jun 04, 2015 at 11:57 pm

‘Be end’ ruined the country…..so sad…

• uglyt on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Ugly has new name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota Moving Coffin (Keranda Bergerak) on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:03 pm

In Europe and US, they cannot sell this junk. So, dump it to third world country like Malaysia.

Thank you UMW. Give us an unsafe car, somemore take out VSC and airbags to make it even more unsafe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Ray (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:46 pm

The shape of the grille, headlamps and damn, even the chrome bar on top of the grille. Behold the ‘Solid Wing Face’ from Toyota…

Poor HR-V.

• Toyota Moving Coffin (Keranda Bergerak) on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:49 pm

If Camry top of the range car also got no VSC, do you think this Avanza will have VSC??

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Honda Shitty?

• Toyota Moving Coffin (Keranda Bergerak) on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Already the Avanza is so tall and unstable. Imagine it without VSC? No wonder why so many Avanza tumble in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Wow … stupidity overload. Car height vs VSC?

• avanzaugly on Jun 05, 2015 at 8:01 am

Kalau dah ugly tu ugly jugak
        Haha!

• I can imagine in the briefing. The supervisor goes …. “masa troll kat paultan tu nanti… tulis je apa-apa pasal VSC …tak tau VSC takpe … janji tulis je VSC tu.”

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Toyota Shitty?

• civicEK on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:02 pm

omg its hideous!

• Walaoa on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Front – HR-V
    Rear – Avanza + BMW rear light design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Cancel my hrv booking and go for avanza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
  • dr.terror on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:07 pm

hahaha as usual no vsc, dual airbags, rear drum break…etc, poorly design, whats wrong with toyota designer nowadays…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • olio benzina on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Did they facelift the live axle and leaf springs too?
    Unlikely to have improved its passenger car safety ratings but
    probably got 5 star LANCAP (light goods vehicle ANCAP).

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Avanza score 5 star, not in LANCAP but LANCAU. New rating body for Toyota cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • olio benzina on Jun 04, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Don’t know about the safety test you mentioned.
        The LANCAP test is widely available in Thailand where the Avanza is manufactured. This procedure is conducted in place of full on banging (crash test).
        It ends happily for both tester and testee when the vehicle explodes.

• dafuq did I just see??

• UGLY IS INCLUDED AT NO EXTRA COST………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:23 pm

I will throw in 2 sets of bra and panties matching set if you place order with me now.

• roxas on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:22 pm

front copy honda jazz???

• tokmoh. on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:26 pm

hahahahahhaha

can’t sell as good as Honda, facelift to look like Honda, win liao lor

• Goodness on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Look damn ugly! Toyota designer is really out of juice….

• ionlaw on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Honda City…

• Sack the designer on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Avanza has been 1 of the ugliest car ever built in the face of the earth and looks like its continuing its legacy of ugly……..
    Even 60 years old auntie wouldn’t want to drive it….
    Seriously,sack the designer plsssssssss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • guest on Jun 04, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Avanza has been 1 of the ugliest car ever built on the face of the earth and looks like it’s legacy of ugliness going to continue……..
    Even 60 years old auntie cannot accept the look…..
    Seriously,pls sack the designer……..

• front looks like 2015 myvi standard, probably come out from same designer~ seems like UMW is trying hard to fight back Honda Malaysia. kesiannya toyota

• Is quite easy to become a TOYOTA designer.

• I am Lee Chong Wei on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:01 pm

My Dream Car. By Dato Lee Chong Wee

• Nathan Ferdinand on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:18 pm

I doubt this Avanza was designed by Indians. That front bumper is very similar to Toyota Etios which designed by Indians. Very much like Honda City on steriods, oh man, that grille is very much like Honda…

• The next generation people mover for PPS (Penang Personal Stormtroopers)

• Toyol-a on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Front looks like hrv. Back is as though the designers stuck the back of myvi first gen on top of latest honda city trunk….job well done. Moving ugly.

• omg yucks, nut it will sell like goreng pisang

• sibehholiao on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:13 pm

avanza , ugly has a new name

• wahdafah on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:14 pm

reminds me of new myvi 1.3 :D:D:D

• giovannie on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:35 pm

the front is looking much better though.

the rear looks ugly here..
    but i thnk once it launched, it will looking acceptable like what they did to the innova rear.

• noreasonwhy on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Stop frying cold rice

• kipas angin on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:46 pm

apa punya design daaa.
    Borinnnggggg!!!

• Jason Lim on Jun 04, 2015 at 6:13 pm

city front light n wing + mazda’s grill

• Kopipes on Jun 04, 2015 at 6:23 pm

If Camry top of the range car also got no VSC, do you think this Avanza will have VSC??

• DPCraft on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Rear tailights looks like old Nissan Serena plus a extra piece of light, Avanza never look good. Inova = yes, looked better

• 2005 Avanza Owner on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:13 pm

No problem after driving this “ugly” mpv for more than 200,000 km for the past 10 years and still fetching a good resale value. Still a practical people mover and good spare vehicle to have. Not complaining….A value for money vehicle.

• cronos on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:15 pm

I trade in my 7 year old avanza in 2013 for RM 30k with Livina + gift + goodies. Don’t have problem driving this vehicle at national speed limit.A very spartan vehicle.

• dugongx on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Behold! 2015 Toyota Shitface!

• ale uto on Jun 05, 2015 at 12:33 am

the rear looks haram jadah..

• nabill (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 12:41 am

i will be off this week , as i will go to a major corrective eye surgery duo to looking at new level of ugliness…

• sudah la toyolta..u think with ur name u can be everyone..everything..
    > ssangyong stavic 2013 (original) and very almost same front&end
    > Livina 2014 (facelifted)

naah now who copied who..?

• Manusia on Jun 05, 2015 at 6:11 am

looks like crying Ultraman

• Same Lorr on Jun 05, 2015 at 7:48 am

This new Avanza comes with sunroof

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 05, 2015 at 9:02 am

I was in 1 Utama everyday. And I can how how pity the Toyota roadshow is….I see no other ppl beside their own sales persons…kesian….

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 9:21 am

HRV is a SUV….Avanza is a mini van. Ppl who do small business will still buy the avanza. I know many ladies use this van to ferry children to/from school. They are not bothered with vsc as the lesser electronics, the better because of cheaper maintenance. Ppl who drive avanza are also not interested in driving above 100kmh. Honda is more advance but maintenance cost just makes it beyond most ppl who are used to abundance & cheap Toyota parts.

• tcsaitang on Jun 05, 2015 at 12:09 pm

can challenge honda freed and juara for ugliness ………………

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 07, 2015 at 12:56 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, start writing a will

• chaoz on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:58 am

what??? Ford Ecosport???? so ugly!!!

• turca cars on Aug 29, 2015 at 3:39 pm

i love toyota cars and i lovenew designs and interior of this car