Govt considering raising toll charges by 30% – report

toll booth

The government is mulling over the idea of raising toll charges by up to 30% following a Cabinet meeting, The Star understands. While exact details remain sketchy, the move is said to affect a total of 16 highways with the figure rising to 19 in the near future.

However, the brief report failed to state that whether or not the alleged hike would be implemented in stages or in one go. Should such a move come to fruition, motorists who ply the Damansara-Puchong Expressway will have to fork out RM2.10 instead of the current rate of RM1.60.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Syukur Lah! on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 3
    • Thank to the 47% supporters.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 0
      • Gargantia on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:55 pm

BN supporters please come-out and comments support Your beloved Govt and BN !!!

BN need all the blind support !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rrrr on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:25 pm

When Proton sales is too bad begging a lot of money, government need to find other way to dig money, e.g. toll hike.

As I said, one way or other, everyone is subsidizing Proton (and its cronies of course).

• BNaik on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 171
        • PuckingStupid on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Bolehland suggestion and consideration alwiz into implementation sooner or later…take johor singapore toll increase Shole!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • jeeva on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Just don’t be Fool. Has it ever any claims before has never happen??

• BNaik on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:06 am

Never mind the person who thumb down on BN are just PR troopers.

Rakyat won’t do that to Govt, PR go back to Penang. Uneducated troopers !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
          • Mari Bercukur on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:26 pm

BNaik is so stupid, he is one of those that say, kita mesti bercukur kepada kerajaan.

• London Owned by Malaysians on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Government got no money now. All sapu left right and center. Now on the verge of going bankrupt.

When I was buying a property in London recently, I had to go to the Land Registry to sort out some matter.

The guy at the counter told me, half of London is owned by Arabs and Hong Kong people (China included) and the other half is owned by Malaysians.

He was surprised and told me, it is mainly government servants from Malaysia who buy mult-imillion pound West End London properties. He said some don’t just buy one or 2 but a few each.

I asked him whether it could be EPF as EPF has invested in London, he said he knew about EPF investing in London but these were individuals buying into London West End property.

I wonder how a government servant in Malaysia can buy a 1.5 million pound apartment in London (average price). And that also, some buy a few!

I really want to join Government now. Leave my job as a Doctor and join Putrajaya. If Government servants like this, I really don’t know about politicians. Maybe castles and ranches!

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:15 pm

1MDB already stolen billions. PKFZ billions. Petronas billions. Proton, billions. Now still want to steal somemore BN?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Najib can buy new plane. The plane cost RM500 million. And yet he has 6 other planes in the hangar. To refurbish the plane, another RM28 million. Maybe put diamonds on the chairs.

Now we rakyat got to pay for the Birkin handbags. One Birkin handbag cost RM100,000 and above. Someone has about 30 Birkin handbags. We are all paying for this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 0
  • Tak pe. .. brim kan ada?
    Jalan kaki la… tak yah bayar toll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Already our cars are so expensive. It is like 3x global car prices. Already our petrol so expensive compared to all oil producing nations. Already GST hitting us like mad. Wanton Mee is now RM8 for a small plate.

Yet our beloved Government still raping us for more money to feed the cronies. Every single Toll Operator is an UMNO crony. They are making billions already, still want to make more money from the people.

Hello BN, the majority of the rakyat is your own people lah. Most work in KL but have to balik kampung to see parents weekly. So, they are the hardest hit.

Think about it. You are making your own people suffer the most.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 3
      • George Abdul on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Thanks for the comments, but seem the cronies BN ministers will hardly update on its blog…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Kasi BRIM RM800 tapi curi RM berbillions. UMNO, please la, stop stealing billions la. Taib alone has 20 billion USD. That is RM80 billion.

Just one person alone has RM80 billion. And yet UMNO reward him to be Governor of Sarawak upon retirement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • terunz on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:32 pm

malaysia…no hope

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:23 pm

We all already overpay for cars. Each person in his lifetime buy about 6 or 7 cars. If we are overpaying 3x per car, we can estimate that each person is overpaying the Government few millions in his entire lifetime (assuming he buys 6 cars in 40 yrs.

For example a Camry is US$22k. We pay RM180k for the same Camry. We are overpaying close to RM100k per car.

Calculate that with 5 people in a family. Each family alone is overpaying few million ringgit.

And yet. Gomen screw us even more for money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
  • jinggo on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Naik la naik.. bakal melingkop la bn jawabnye..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Incoming rage in 3…2…1…

• waterman on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:46 pm

What more do you want from us? we are already very poor due to you.
    this is ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • eagletalon on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Those who gave dislike means that they are willing to pay more? Wat a dump ass of the world.

• Albert on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:46 pm

First GST
    Then IMDB
    Now Toll Naik
    Next Jamban Awam Naik
    Later Income Tax Naik
    Later SEMUA BARANG NAIK
    JOBLESSNESS and BANKRUPTCY NAIK
    TAPI nilai Ringgit Jatuh Teruk
    Shambolic is the word.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
    • Gargantia on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:02 pm

You forget the “Once” drop fuel price but 10 times up fuel price.

Last time Govt blame on restaurant and mamak and hackers… wait till they will attack Rakyat next !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • kentg on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:57 pm

well done

• Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Wahai Orang Orang Kampung. Sedarlah. Musuh anda bukan kaum kaum lain tetapi kerajaan anda sendiri. Lagi nak perah rakyat.

LHDN sudah kutip 6 billion dalam 2 bulan. Sudah diagakkan akan kumpul Rm50 billion dari GST sahaja. Tetapi kerajaan greedy. Nak perah lagi kerana duit tidak cukupi untul Menteri Menteri yang kotor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 1
    • org kg dok bandar on Jun 13, 2015 at 3:08 pm

kebanyakn org kg hny naik motor. Kalau berkereta pun jarang lalu tol. Kt sabah sarawak xpasti ada tol ke tak. Sbb tu pru lalu bn mensng di kebyakan kawasan kg tp kalah di semua bandar2 utama

• Menteri Pasola on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Kite perlukan lebih banyak duit utk cover 1MDB dan increment gaji menteri,.. Naikkn duit tol la, syukur 1malaysia masih aman makmur rakyat majmuk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • citydriver on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Billions disappeared at 1MDB, bailout of MAS, Proton, 6% GST and now this?? What’s going on here.

The Govt is like a company and needs revenue, but what is it spending on? National airline, national carmaker, disappearing money… how about better education? Better school buses? Better road maintenance? Better hospitals? How about spending money on things that actually help a lot of people, everyday.

Kids Car Seat laws… take 4 years to implement? Seriously? How many more dead kids in the next 4 years.

Just look at Singapore, always spending on real improvements that normal people can see and feel. Malaysia developed country status by 2020? It’s got a long ways to go.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • most of the BN states barely have any highway.. so joke’s on you PR supporter lolololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 46
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:12 pm

I really hope this will materialize. Melayu can finally realise that real world survival and social justice are more important than “takut Cina DAP perintah Malaysia” in PRU14.

SNTB

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:59 pm

No matter it is a white cat or a black cat, as long as it is good at catching mouse, it is a good cat.

Lee Kuan Yew is a good example, I supposed all the Malays in Singapore were dead; to a lesser extent, Lim Guan Eng an his Pulau Pinang.

Good luck.

• rider on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:12 pm

No issue for me coz im riding motorbike forever!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Thank you Kak Ros and Bang Jib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • hadi75 on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Tol naik
    Minyak naik
    Gst
    Rm jatuh
    Siap je la pasnie….harga barangan akan naik lagi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Its not the BN but najib n his 1mdb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • ae101 on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Bagusss la. Thank you to those voted BN

• Brilliant article on friday evening.comment section will be a good weekend read.accompanied with another proton/lotus article.good job!

• nabill (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:37 pm

I wanna buy a tank… N bulldoze my way through every toll i go through… Touch n go becomes demolish n go….
    I honestly dont mind tolls, its a biz n they need to maintain.. Bt every report i come across, most highways have already been fully paid up years ago… N we r still paying MORE….
    It doesnt help when our G n all have such a wonderful reputation of good money management and honest ppl all around… Do we really need more proof of what to do next… THINK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • BengongNatang on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Yes, its a very right time BN! PR is on the brink of colapse, whats more with toothless Mat Sabu and gang, there’ll be no more road protest against BN and 1Msia beloved PM can sleep well on thicker money pillow after this.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Don’t want pay toll?
    Use alternative roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 39
  • Good Luck on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:46 pm

naik 30% mana cukup, naik 300% only can save 1mdb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Nancy on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:51 pm

If it is really true, it is indeed an irresponsible Gov. Malaysia is sinking each day… deeper & deeper.

• Samad Jain on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:06 pm

“Kalau you tak mau bayar toll, you boleh naik motosikal”

Sounds familiar?

• ben yap on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:09 pm

ini salah siapa?

salah those people that sold their souls to BN for a packet of rice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • rchoo on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Raise it to sky highlah. The higher the better. What 30% only? I will surely drive through the old roads and avoid toll.

• Now the opposition is weak BN is brave to implement whatever Barang Naik they want. For those who don’t support PR just bear in mind that a strong opposition makes your life easier.

• BuRaI on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Cold blooded murderers.

• Roclim on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:35 pm

My car is 6 years old and I am thinking of buying a new car for my family, but I don’t think I can tahan the GST and rising petrol and weak economy (my company is announcing significantly lower bonus n increment compared to last year) maybe I should part time Uber 2earn income.

TQ BN. And thank you 47% BN supporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Daniboy on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:36 pm

As a Dutch national, I really feel sorry for you guys. The Dutch government is taxing the hell out of its people and spend billions and billions of Euro’s to people not native to Holland and who rarely pay tax. I left my country 7 years and work as an expat in Thailand, very happy with my life and have great disposable income. Don’t accept your country screws you upside-down, find a better place, you only live once! (great opportunities for you guys in regard to ASEAN)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • sam's best friend on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:37 pm

WTF… watapak?

• eagletalon on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:50 pm

High car tax, high road tax, high auto insurance, now higher toll charge. are we heading to wawasan 2020 or remaining in 3rd world country?

• Normal Guy on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:07 pm

I don’t see the problem.. More expensive tolls, less cars on the road. Better for people like me.

You guys are too negative, don’t see the positive side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
    • berserker on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Are you retarded?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Normal Guy on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Is that your best argument? By calling someone a retard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • abnormal guy on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:00 am

normal guy, how will it result to less cars on the road? your logic of this only carries water when people of klang valley has efficient alternative mode of transports with wider coverage and connectivity but as of now, most of us do not. try asking the klang/setia alam/kepong/puchong folks who has to travel to other places to work by public transport

• Normal Guy on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Studies have shown Malaysians actually overestimate their ability to own a car by buying a class higher than what they can actually afford. Those who actually can only ride a motorbike will try to buy a kancil, viva or even an Iriz because they cannot estimate the cost of owning a car. And that is a whole lot different than the cost of buying a car. The result? Idiots who do not service their car in time have their cars breaking down in the middle of rush hour traffic. Or running out of petrol in the middle of a busy street. Worse are those wannabe racers who soup up their pitiful small cars and drive like (the real) retards everywhere causing accidents by tailgating people.

The day we have civilized people who are properly educated to own cars is the day we see better traffic conditions in Malaysia.

And don’t pretend you have never had such thoughts. Hypocrites all of you.

• NotSmart on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:54 am

Because you are.

• Rinnegan on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:01 pm

@Normal Guy,

I agree with you. Gentlemen, we do need to see the good that come up with this toll hike. For me, the higher, the better.
      Now, before you guys start screaming curses at me, just imagine for a while, if BN does raise the Toll, the next GE (general election) will be their last days as government. This is ultimately what I cannot wait!!! The best part, PR doesn’t even have to find nor create any issue, there will be plenty. Well now BN, bring it on!!!!

• Normal Guy on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:21 pm

I didn’t need to connect anything to politics in my thoughts. I have you zealots doing it for me.

Bravo. Get real… Not everything has to do with your pitiful vote in the GE.

• He is not retarded. He is being selfish. He can afford to pay that type of protection money for each pass.

• normal guy very selfish man on Jun 13, 2015 at 3:17 pm

‘Normal Guy’s thinking is like najib’ menteri thinking. They don’t even bother what the other people wuth lower income be. May be they even like if the poor people ‘dead’ or move to other country. msybe someday when the time come, it is not possible he become a poor guy. That time he will realize what is suffering

• KangkungGov on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:28 pm

We are heading to become another Iraq. Where we should invite US to colonized Malaysia for next 100 years. No eye see dy… good luck Malaysian.

• sammy on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Increase so many prices and collect so much taxes with no achievement to show??!!
    Our ringgit is like rupiah now!!
    Useless administration!!

• MrPoppyplants on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:03 am

Look at our currency fall as more and more shitty news like this come out week after week after week.

Keep it up government, if your goal is to obliterate your own currency and make our cost of living skyrocket to a point where even having a 5 figure salary will mean absolutely nothing.

You may have seats from East Malaysia and rural areas, but it is certain that all educated voters will NOT support BN anymore in the next GE. I am damn bloody sure of this.

• souyatempe on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:07 am

Najib – father of inflation. If it becomes like this now even kangkung price will go up by 40%.

• TakoYuki on Jun 14, 2015 at 11:15 am

haram jadah , kerajaan banyak hutang ka. everything must be money money money. what de benefit we get from it. lol