Free 30-point inspection for Proton owners this Raya

proton-free-30-point-inspection-raya

Proton will be offering owners a complimentary 30-point inspection at all authorised service outlets nationwide as part of its Hari Raya campaign. Part of an initiative to help raise awareness on the importance of proper car maintenance, the free inspections will cover checks on vital fluid levels, wiper blade conditions, suspension, steering linkage and ball joint system along with cooling, fuel and brake systems.

“As a car maker we have a social responsibility to educate and promote safety awareness to users, especially in supporting the government’s call to reduce road accidents during festive seasons and school holidays,” commented Proton CEO, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah.

Additionally, customers who bring in their vehicles for said inspection will receive discounts on parts and free consultation on the various aspects of car maintenance including how to differentiate original parts from imitation units.

Proton will also be conducting the free 30-point checks at selected Petronas stations to cater to those who fail to bring in their cars to the service centres. The participating outlets include the Damansara Petronas station on KM 15.3 on the NKVE from July 9 to 11.

From July 13 to 15, four Petronas stations will play host to the campaign – Petronas Juru, Penang, Petronas Tok Giring, Terengganu, Petronas R&R East Coast Highway, Gambang, Pahang and Petronas Station Seremban, Negeri Sembilan. Owners who bring in their cars will bring home a goodie bag, as well.

Proton is also extending its Even More Value campaign with promotions as low as 1.99% interest per annum on Saga and Iriz models. Other goodies include 100% financing schemes for government staff, deals for fresh graduates as well as discounts of up to 26% on service packages for selected models.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• 30 points? that’s a lot. But for car with low sales volume like Proton should be ok la.
    Checking only, not fixing. Because most of the time, part takde.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • The Truth About Proton on Jun 30, 2015 at 1:23 pm

I think better Proton start to contribute.

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about low quality Suzuki when 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. You still happy with Suzuki? This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • Beng P1boy on Jun 30, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Eat this all P2 supporters !!!

We always care for Rakyat and what others do???? Nothing and just watch and wait attitude… Hope all other car brand can wake up after this !!!

Lousy P2 and the supporters!

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 30, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Bravo, I have to give a thumb up to Proton for this!

But with Proton “awesome” quality, this free inspection should available EVERYDAY EVERYWHERE. You can not “care” about your customer ONLY during Raya. They still drive after Raya.

A Proton on or off Raya, is still a Proton!

• Low Budget on Jun 30, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Proton means a couple of years down the road, the user will hear crack,crack,crack sound from the loosen parts like badly installed car seats, safety belts, glove box and dash board.

• balltant80 on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:48 pm

what proton promote safety awareness to public? all this while i thought the public endlessly promote the importance of building safe and reliable cars. now proton suddenly become clever want to teach ‘their prey’ the importance of having a safe running car

• Samad Jain on Jun 30, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Check or no check…
    Free or not free…

It is meaningless.

Proton cars are full of problem. Even new cars…

Proton, please don’t pretend like you care.
    You didnt even care about your own car after 30+ years….

Now you cared about others?? hahahah

• nosushi on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:49 am

How about recalls safety parts after sues and court cases. Is that caring? LOL