Monthly pass to help Malaysians with S’pore VEP?

singapore-coe

To help middle-income Malaysians working in Singapore, the MCA Public Services and Complaints Bureau has suggested a monthly pass be made available for this select group of people. The Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP), which is set to commence in August, will see Singaporean cars entering Malaysia via Johor (Causeway and Second Link Expressway) charged a RM20 entry fee.

But, Malaysians working in Singapore would also be subjected to the RM20 VEP if they are driving Singapore-registered vehicles. The bureau’s chairman, Jason Teoh told The Star that with the VEP, they would have to pay up to five different charges travelling to and from the republic. This includes tolls in both countries.

Teoh said that based on numerous complaints received, the total costs could amount to up to S$500 (RM1,405) per month. He added that this would eat up a significant chunk of their salaries, leaving Malaysians with very little left to save after other expenses have been accounted for.

Specifically for Malaysians with Singapore-registered vehicles, Teoh suggests that these monthly passes could be purchased at a discounted rate. What do you think of this idea?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• MeToo on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:56 pm

How dare they choose to buy SG registered vehicle… hence depriving our AP kings of their income. Hence we must not be lenient, make them pay every single cent!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • cendol (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 3:52 pm

In case you do not know, Singapore has a law that requires PR holder (Malaysians) to ONLY drive Singapore-registered cars.
      PR holders cannot drive Malaysian-registered cars hence those Malaysian working in Singapore have to buy Singapore registered cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • MeToo on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:51 am

Hmm… the sarcasm went well over your head…

Its a not brainer, ofcourse SIngapore will force ppl to buy their car instead. Otherwise their street will be flooded with Malaysian cars. Why do you think they have a COE process? To regulate the amount of cars on their roads.

• JB_KIA on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Only idiots will buy SG car if they can drive MY car in SG legally.

• ben yap on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:58 pm

should charge those malaysians who work in singapore. they are the cause of malaysian brain-drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Who bloody care, why waste time on this rich Singapore PR. Ya, I guess the kids of Teoh who suggest this also working in Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Stupid idea, PR salary already very high why do you care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • PR can’t drive Malaysia vehicle in Singapore.. This is only apply for Non PR Malaysian who work in Singapore.

• Bad idea. They should contribute more to malaysia instead of singapore but they didnt. Paying full VEP is the least they should do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Why the need to have the monthly pass? They should just set a monthly amount with unlimited in and out and settled.

• bagus on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Rakyat Didahulukan!

• Bosan on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Why should they receive special treatment from us again? Maybe their employers can help to subsidize if they want cheap Malaysian labour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Kat97 on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:48 pm

If you can afford a Singapore registered car, you cannot afford to pay VEP? Otherwise, seek alternative transportation. Regardless of VEP, tolls still have to pay. What is the relevance of that to VEP. Just don’t get what MCA is trying to champion here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • medic on Jul 09, 2015 at 6:21 pm

I disagree with VEP discount. Those working in singapore are not contributing much tax wise to Malaysia. Atleast by using VEP, we r getting something back. Ya ya, you guys spend on Malaysia. So what, those singaporeans also spend their money in Malaysia. Do you rather spend in singapore for sundries? No choice, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • KatakBawahTempurung on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:30 pm

I think u dont know anything abt what malaysian contributing to our own country… Katak bawah tempurung betol u ni.. Aiks!

• Teksi Drebar on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:06 pm

That rule has one main flaw:- The majority of Malaysian working in Malaysia with the newly introduced GST and highly depreciated Ringgit need much more help than the minority Malaysians who work in Singapore and earn Sing Dollar in which 35 cent is equivalent to RM 1. They just need to earn S$350 to equal our RM 1000. If they can afford a Singapore car, their salary should be more than S$3500 which equals to more than RM 10K. So who suffer more especially with this country getting notorious and scandalous unwanted highlight from the world media? Instead of helping Malaysians, we are slapped with higher cost of living. Luckily we can still survive on cheap Kangkung. But this thought on Malaysian working abroad is what the government need not focus on. The Rakyat who are trying to earn a living in Malaysia are the one who suffer most led by this disastrous government. We need to work hard just to feed our family with basic food and necessity. Otherwise we’ll die!

• spock1976 (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:12 pm

This looks like a temporary measure. I dont support. What we should focus on is to develop JB and NJ to create more job opportunities with commendable pay for Johoreans.

• azrai on Jul 10, 2015 at 7:57 am

No need la. RM20 equal to only SGD7.09 at current rate SGD1=RM2.82. So for a month minus Saturday & Sunday for 23 days only SGD163.12. Ultra Kiasu laa…Only SGD163.12, don’t even make a dent to any of their pocket. Sigh..