Ford Kuga 1.5L EcoBoost now in Malaysia – RM165k

ford kuga 2015 MY

Sime Darby Auto ConneXion has begun selling the 2015 Ford Kuga, which now comes equipped with the new 1.5 litre EcoBoost mill – the variant takes over from the 1.6 litre EcoBoost that was on the Valencia-assembled C520 when it made its debut here in June 2013.

Despite the slightly smaller displacement, the 1.5 litre engine – which is assembled in Romania – offers the same level of output and performance as the 1.6, with listed numbers being 180 PS at 5,700 rpm and 240 Nm at 2,500 rpm, identical to the latter. Likewise the performance, with the 200 km/h top speed being retained. No change either to the SelectShift 6F35 six-speed automatic transmission.

The downsized 1.5 litre, which debuted in the Chinese-market Ford Mondeo in 2013, is aimed at providing the automaker with the necessary entry point for markets like China, which offer specific tax relief for vehicles with engines of 1.5 litre capacity or less.

kuga ecoboost

There are some improvements and revisions from the 1.6 litre (which is built at Ford’s Bridgend plant in Wales), and these include a new integrated exhaust manifold and the inclusion of a water-cooled charge air cooler, which offers a more efficient feed of air into the unit. The 1.5L EcoBoost engine is also the first Ford engine to incorporate a computer-controlled clutch on the belt-drive water pump, which helps reduce engine warm-up time.

Other than the new mill, there’s very little change elsewhere from the Titanium-level specification seen on the Malaysian unit (which differs somewhat from Titanium spec elsewhere, notably Australia – the actual full Titanium-spec was seen on the limited-run Titanium+ sold here, complete with leather seats and 19-inch alloys).

The 1.5L EcoBoost has virtually the same kit and trim as found before, save that auto start/stop has now been included in the mix and the driver’s seat is now a 10-way power adjustable design (previously, six-way manual, except in the Titanium+). The front passenger seat also gets improved adjustability as a result of the revised driver seat going on, and is now a six-way manual (previously four-way). The semi-leather finish remains as before.

Click to enlarge the price list images.

Equipment includes keyless entry with push-start ignition, automatic climate control, a nine-speaker Sony CD/MP3 audio system and a 4.2-inch TFT liquid crystal display. Safety kit includes seven airbags (front, front thorax/pelvis, side curtain, driver knee) as well as Electronic Stability Control (ESP) with ABS and electronic brake assist.

Also retained are the 17-inch nine double-spoke alloys and 235/55 tyre configuration, as is the pricing – the Kuga 1.5L EcoBoost goes for RM164,888 (on-the-road, without insurance), identical to the 1.6L variant.

The only other change is that the SUV is now available in only a single colour, and that’s Frozen White (prior to this, four colours; Ginger Ale, Panther Black, Moondust Silver and the aforementioned white), but the good news is that the SUV now comes with a five-year warranty (three-year manufacturer, two-year third-party extended warranty) on top of the usual three-year/60,000 km free maintenance package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• meh. Given the tough competition of CX 5 and CRV, it will definitely not sell like hot cakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • CX5 is 126 OTR on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Why buy this problem car that depreciates like crazy. Everybody knows Ford RV is the worst in Malaysia. Within one year, this car will be RM85k. All fords jatuh so much. The Mazda not only cheaper< hold value. Two years later you can even sell it RM110k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • 3 Months Wait on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Never ever buy Ford la. They got the worst after sales service ever. Be warned.

Ford autoKONEKsion holds your car for 3 months just to replace a small part. My car, bumper kena bang, Ford AutoKONEKsion took 3 months to order the part. They held my car for 3 months. For 3 months I had to take bus everywhere. That is their policy, they must hold your car for however small the damage is.

I asked them where the part comes from, they said Singapore. What? Singapore? I thought 3 months, it was coming from EU or Africa. But instead, 3 months, it comes from Singapore! What a shocker!

Don’t know why the bodohs in Ford and Sime Motors cannot stock up parts in a warehouse beside the service centre (Ford PJ). So many empty warehouse there for rent and sale, can easily stock up parts there.

With this toilet jamban service, do you dare to buy a Ford car?

In contrast, my Honda Accord bumper got bang, Tenega Setia in Jalan 222, took 3 hours to replace the bumper, with the same paint colour. 3 hours VS 3 months.

Another main and big issue is their dual dry clutch, similar to VW DSG technology. Your Ford will be prone to juddering and continuous breakdowns. My car 2014 Ford Focus already broken down 3 times. Each time SC holds my car for 3 months. The whole of last year, with my bumper accident, I hardly saw my car as it was always in the SC.

Beware of ford’s infamous dual dry clutch but I think this Ranger may not be using dual clutch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
        • rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:48 pm

kete ni memang murah di Malaysia. Entah kenapa orang komplen harga kete mahal.

terima kasih BN tunai janji rendahkan hargs kete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
        • Always Think about RV on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Go and buy a 2012 Ford Escape for RM40k. Use the balance you save RM125k for petrol.

Much better SUV, big, real 4×4, spacious and you got depreciation covered. Use it few years, sell it for RM20k. You lose RM20k only.

Buy this car RM165k, 4 years down the road, it will be RM40k

• xFEowner on Jul 17, 2015 at 11:59 pm

I managed to sell my 2010 Escape for 59k last 3 months

• If haven’t bought & own the car already so kiasu then buy a brand new Proton Saga even better if so concern about RV coz if Saga after u drive for 5 to 7 years & sending for scrap, it’ll be only losing max ±RM40k !! I mean that’s a mentality problem/sick.

• hashim on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Pricing is important and looks like Ford will
    have a hard time competing with the
    market leaders – Honda / Mazda.

• sazali on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Mahalnya….lagi negara nak capai 2020..lagi merapu harga kenderaan

• Songlap Culture on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:37 pm

2020, Najib sudah gerenti semua orang akan dapat Rm15,000 satu bulan gaji. Orang Kampung semua percaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Ongtk on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:45 pm

But only in terms of pricing. After sales is badly managed by its dealers. I would rate it as very poor and not commensurate with the price you pay for the vehicle.

• Waters on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Wait…3+2 warranty? I thought Fords had a 5 year manufacturer warranty?

• lokcy on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:55 pm

This SUV size is smaller than CRV and CX5 but the price is higher than both. How to sell in Malaysia?

• Currently,I am owning a Ford Kuga. I had many Problems with this car.
    1) the tyre damage in few months. When I send to Ford. They said it is due to road condition. Not logic at all
    2) My Kuga have been towed twice due to temp high. The service centre took one week to repair. Wasted my time too.
    3) Aircond problem. It will suddenly become warm. I have to blindly press the aircond console. It will be ok than.
    4) Player also have problem.The songs does not continue if i use thumb drive. It will either goes back to track 1 or it will play the FM radio. Made complains during first service but no action.
    Many small issue but it ok with me. This will my first and last Ford Vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • King of RV Depreciation on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:53 pm

The gearbox always fail. Just like many other Fords. That is why Ford RV is the champion in Malaysia. Have you ever wondered why a 2013 ford Focus now sells for RM60k and brand new RM115k?

Even the 2012 Ford Escape, you can get for RM40k now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • do u drive it or bullshit because u not afford to buy it because concern of the RS. Buy Buaatan malaysia,even fail the replacement parts is very cheap

• Therealmaserati on Jul 16, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Duno why got dungus still buying Ford cars

One of the worst service centres in Malaysia. Slow and hopeless.

And their car reliability is on par with Alfa , Citroen, Peugeot. Horrible

Pls dont kena con with better specs and whatnot.

Stick with Japs and u will be safe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • well. no doubt the after service is poor, but the quality of car is better then Japs. When people buy the ford car, they think for the performance and quality.

While for the Japs , they think about the RV.

something like why rich people buy bmw but not thinking about the RV. That the different. So for thos who buy conti car, dun ask the RV. If want the best RV, got for buatan malaysia viva.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:29 pm

One colour only, really Ford, really?

It’s like they have lost interest in selling the car in the first place. Might as well don’t bother.

Besides the Mondeo and the Ranger, Ford’s lineup is getting pretty stuffed up. Fiesta is dated, Focus FL is MIA, and the Mustang, 400k eh hello Ford = BMW is it?

I can see the whole Ford Concessionaires drama all over again…

• like the car so much, but can’t accept rm165k without reverse camera, GPS, and only 4.2″ display…

• Last ford on Jul 17, 2015 at 12:32 am

Bad after sales service ever! First and last ford

• ecoboost mk2 on Jul 17, 2015 at 11:03 am

can’t wait for the new ecoboost mk2 twin scroll ford edge, hope it will come to malaysia

• Fixit on Jul 17, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Ford = fix or repair daily, no joke true story

• ford focus on Jul 21, 2015 at 8:49 pm

have been using focus since 2010, never given me any trouble but only routine maintenance….i always see negative comments on Ford, but i am really wonder whether these ppl use Ford before or not…

• johanian on Jul 19, 2015 at 12:44 am

Only one colour..
    Are u serious?
    I love white,but knowing every other car is the same colour turns me off.
    Sadly, true about poor aftersales though.
    I have been made to wait for two months and counting, just to repair a juddering gearbox in a Fiesta..
    And get this…despite complaining,I am told I have to bear with it till I get further news in August..maybe the part will come,maybe not.
    They cant even commit to settling problem.
    Their idea of aftersales…

• Nissan on Jul 20, 2015 at 6:59 am

Engine downsize but why the price remain the same?

• KK owner on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Dont ever buy ford, my ford kuga which I bought for my wife. Three times back to Kota Kinabalu service centre less than two years. Slow to diagnose, complaints to KL or KK had no answer. KL will shift blame to KK and KK will claim KL never assist. It overheats, its aircon go bonkers. The Malaysian Service is very bad and not ready to support Ford

• Currently owned a Kuga Special Edition 2014. High spec vehicle but reliability worst of the worst. Terrible fuel consumption 7.9km/litre, economy rating “anticipation” 5star, “speed” 5star. Full tank can only last for 370-380km.
    Sorry to say this will be my first and last ford vehicle.

• I got 2nd hand Ford Kuga model 2013 two months already. So far I have no complaint about the car. I like the car both design and engine performance. Interior is quite spacious and comfortable for a long drive. Consumption was good. Before this I used Merc E200 sport version for 6 years and sold and before I bought Ford Kuga. I have not tested the service centre yet.

• Mohd Izham on Jun 25, 2018 at 3:09 pm

about to buy kuga 2014/15, but after read all the comment here… feel frighten..