Tesla Model X to help attract more female customers?

Tesla_Model_X_SUV

The Tesla Model X will have to shoulder plenty of responsibilities once it goes on sale next year, it would seem. Not only will it be the marque’s first crossover, it will also play an important role in helping to attract the attention of more female customers to the brand, according to Tesla Australia’s marketing and communications manager, Heath Walker.

While sales of the Tesla Model S have been positive so far, Walker admits that a majority of said sales have been attributed to a male-dominated customer base. “We’ve been heavily skewed towards the male demographic and I think that’s mainly due to probably [the media] more than anything,” he says.

“The people that read your press in terms of motoring and tech tend to be more male-skewed and they tend to be usually the ones who are on the cusp of new auto and tech news,” comments Walker. “But we’re starting to see a slight tip of the scales. It’s probably not the best indicator but I tend to use our Facebook audience as a measure for that and also our purchase data, and it’s starting to tip,” he adds.

Not to say that women were turned off from the idea of a Tesla in the very first place. The marque prides itself on offering a unique experience for potential customers, no matter their gender. “I think, generally speaking, purchasing a car previously has been a scary experience for some people, and we’re trying to remove that from the process,” Walker claims.

Tesla_Model_X_02

“We’re just like a store, like any retail store. You can come in, you can look at the vehicles, we do the education element, we hold special events and test drive events … we do retail displays. We’ve got a permanent one in Chadstone where the female market is, but also the male market, where they can casually be introduced to the vehicle,” he adds.

As for the car itself, the Tesla Model X is expected to be the fastest SUV in the world when it debuts next year with a total of three motor configurations on offer – a 60 kWh, 85 kWh and 85 kWh Performance option has been listed out. In case you’re wondering, yes – the Model X will arrive with the Model S’ “Ludicrous Mode” which promises a century sprint time of around 3.3 seconds.

Further evidence of Tesla’s confidence in the Model X is the fact that said crossover is already open for bookings in Australia. Prospective clients are required to put down a deposit of AU$6,000 (RM16,688) – keep in mind that Tesla has yet to reveal the production model along with its final specifications and prices. The latter is expected to mirror the Model S’ Australian starting price of AU$113,152 (RM314,714).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• hondaman on Jul 27, 2015 at 7:29 pm

die laa park this car at the hypermarket parking area… not practical for small parking space…need to crawl down if the gull wing door can’t fully open.

• Gullwings on Jul 27, 2015 at 10:43 pm

It’s not your problem . It’s never gonna be a problem as it’s not coming to Malaysia. So gull wing door or not it’s American’s problem. Stupid concept thou. Overall design is good but spoiled by the gull wing doors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 28, 2015 at 1:47 pm

The Australian can get world fastest SUV while Malaysian can get world fastest mini car – Iriz.

Witness the power of Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

• BOYRACER on Jul 28, 2015 at 7:02 pm

You sounds exactly like one.

• Hor Shen Hau on Jul 28, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Wow!Same LOrrr,I though the fastest car in Malaysia is only the Myvi and Vios “GT”? Especially Vios,many ricer.And since when are we talking about Iriz?I though we are talking about Tesla Model X?Tak reti baca ke?Pity you.Go back to kindergarten please!

• joejambol on Jul 27, 2015 at 7:31 pm

this is one ugly suv

• The Model X itself looks far from attractive

• that rear picture reminds me of ford fiesta sedan/old mazda 2 out of proportion sedan look ^^

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 27, 2015 at 9:51 pm

I like the sound of owning the quickest SUV in the world and boy those boys Down Under sure are lucky!

• DPCraft on Jul 27, 2015 at 10:39 pm

I think our parkings lots haven’t adapt for the doors that open this way.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 27, 2015 at 11:00 pm

With all the tech,why does it have to be so bland looking…?

• scary.
    SUV with 3.3seconds century sprint??

is it stable, enough?

• Just need a scoop of Kodo (mazda design) to its design

• I am a female on Jul 28, 2015 at 8:28 am

I am a female and I already attracted by the Model S…not need this ugly Model X please…

• BOYRACER on Jul 28, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Female,male,pondan or tomboy..Who cares.As long people like you car then it is good enough.