Bicycles soon to be allowed on the LRT, off-peak hours

LRT Kelana Jaya Line

In a bid to encourage more to cycle, commuters will soon be allowed to take folding bicycles aboard the Light Rail Transit (LRT). Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) planning executive director Datuk Mohd Najib Mohd said storage areas will be available at every station for other types of bicycles too.

Speaking to Bernama, he said the plan allows bicycles to be taken aboard the LRT only during off-peak hours. The facilities will be provided in cooperation with Prasarana. “At the masterplan development stage, the main focus is the first mile connection, namely, to encourage the public to use bicycles to the LRT stations close to their housing areas,” he said.

Mohd Najib added that with such facilities, he hopes city dwellers will give their support by using bicycles and public facilities to move about. In the pipeline are stop-overs for cyclists to change clothes and bicycle routes complete with safety features.

140919_KLCTRMAP_S25

Click to enlarge map

Among the bicycle routes that will be implemented are from Dataran Merdeka to Mid Valley (5.5 km), Wangsa Maju to Taman Melati (4 km) and from Wangsa Maju to Taman Batu Muda (2 km). As reported last month, DBKL has allocated RM5 million to expand the network of cycling paths in the capital. Bicycle lanes along MRT tracks are also being considered.

KL’s first dedicated bicycle path is the stretch from Mid Valley to Dataran Merdeka. Opened in April, the route – which passes through the Klang River, Brickfields, the Kompleks Dayabumi compound and Lebuh Pasar Besar – was planned using information gathered by the Cycling Kuala Lumpur independent initiative.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Kenn90 on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:33 am

I really hope they’ll invest in Bicycle friendly coaches and not limit to only foldable bikes. foldable bikes are damn expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…good direction…pls make it as soon as possible. Good for environment too.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:41 am

Economy turns bad, people rather buy bicycle rather than the unreliable + fuel hunger campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • UMW Mampus on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:25 pm

UMW Toyota sales bad, everything has to hentam competitors to con people buying your products.

Always hentam kimchi and Proton. At least both of them have much better safety specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Economy turns bad, people rather buy value for money Protons rather than overpriced, underspec Toyotas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • viralo on Sep 08, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Failed comparison, if you “can” ride bicycle to everywhere why you bother about car?

• jesusVan on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:03 pm

off peak not good enough. can we have special cart designated for bikers during peak hours? electric folding bike should be prohibited to avoid battery explosion killing everyone on board.

• OMG.During peak hour, ppl already jam packed, u wanna allow bicycle go in…jialat…

• SureRock on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:27 pm

A secured bicycle park where we can lock our non foldable bike will be good as well….the one in Ampang LRT station is too few. I have too secure mine further away from the station which is always worrying tho’ never gotten my bike nick before…

• Dr Ray on Sep 08, 2015 at 3:28 pm

…Finally they have started to use their brains….
    Trains in Europe allow bicycles long time ago… people dont have to walk or drive… they can cycle… All trains must have fully standing, wheel chair friendly and bicycle friendly coach… Make it either the 1st or the last coach….
    Its time for improvement….

• gene harn on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Just to clarify. There is nothing to hoohaa about because prasarana has allowed Foldie to be taken up during off peak and weekends since ages ago and its in their website. So can this editor please help to clarify what is this article about?

• Chan Jer Ping on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Why is DBKL officer speaking on behalf of Prasarana and rapidkl? Didn’t he know that folding bicycles are currently allowed on the LRT during off peak hours and on weekends?

• GENE HARN on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Hi all, sorry as a cyclist who has been bringing foldable bike on LRT every morning for past one year, can i ask for clarification if you mean foldable bike or bike to be allowed to bring on LRT? Because Prasarana has allowed foldies to be brought on LRT since years ago during non peak hours..

• i thk i saw ppl carry folding bike in lrt before

• ikan goreng on Sep 11, 2015 at 5:05 pm

to cyclist.. please bagged your folding bike before entering the LRT.. this way will help LRT users and cyclists understanding each other when commuting on public transport