DBKL to spend RM5 mil to expand cycling paths in KL

Kuala Lumpur Bicycle Path

The Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) bicycle project is expanding – following the introduction of Kuala Lumpur’s first dedicated cycling path in April, DBKL has stated that it has allocated RM5 million to expand the network of cycling paths in the capital.

Work on the next phase is expected to be completed by December, Bernama reports. The council’s deputy managing director Datuk Mohd Najib Mohd said the purpose of the project was to encourage citizens to use bicycles as a mean of transport either to work, or at least to the nearest LRT station.

Earlier, it was reported that two more bike paths were in the pipeline following the 5.5 km–long stretch from Mid Valley to Dataran Merdeka. These are a four-kilometre route from Wangsa Maju to Taman Melati and another two-kilometre stretch from Wangsa Maju to Taman Batu Muda. The estimated combined construction cost for both routes is RM2.3 million.

140919_KLCTRMAP_S25

The Kuala Lumpur bicycle map by Cycling Kuala Lumpur. Click to enlarge.

“For the project in Taman Melati, it has been completed and the public can cycle from their residence to the Taman Melati LRT station. At Taman Metropolitan in Batu Kepong, it is 90% complete,” he told reporters. He added that a masterplan was also in place to expand the network of cycling paths in Cheras and Wangsa Maju.

The project aims to provide an alternative way of travel within the capital, cutting congestion and reducing pollution. It is also intended to instil a cycling culture among Malaysians, particularly the 1.6 million inhabitants within the city.

Earlier in the year, DBKL initiated its ‘Kuala Lumpur Car-free Morning’ campaign, whereby several stretches of roads are opened to cyclists on the first and third Sunday of every month, from 7.30 to 9.30 am.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Captur on Aug 03, 2015 at 11:27 am

Appreciate the thought about expanding the cycling paths but did they do a survey as to how many cyclist will use the path?. Seriously 5 mill?. Another technique to put money into Ajib kor’s personal acc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • Ya ya. Gov should not waste any money to do anything becoz whenever they do anything, even to rakyat benefit, it always be songlap, kroni, 1mdb.

So be like selangor Gov. Sit on 3 billion and dun use a single sen to upgrade/maintain. Thats what the rakyat wants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Captur on Aug 03, 2015 at 3:46 pm

So tell my genius .. are you going to cycle to work?. It’s useless to expand the cycling path when no one even knows it even existed. How many of us drive to work?. Take a simple survey will show whether this project is practical or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on Aug 03, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Like usual Malaysian project, billions spent, nothing done, nothing is improved. It is all about cronies thinking how to pull money from government account into their private account.

Later you might see DBKL enhancing federal highway so that airplanes could take off or landing…

We Malaysia never short of project, but the result of the project. SMART is yet another classic example. With or without the tunnel, you still get flooded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • ultraiman on Aug 03, 2015 at 3:06 pm

so how much should DBKL spent? 10k?

• Dean Yau on Aug 03, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Boo to you. I ride a bike daily to the trail. Hit the KL Car Free Morning on a Sunday. Maybe you should too.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 03, 2015 at 11:42 am

Any mention from MBPJ OR MPSJ? Its a deadly cause to cycle in those locations at the moment

• I never heard about this Kuala Lumpur bicycle map.

It should be promoted more, as cycling is extremely popular among tourists from Europe.

There are many four-star hotels in Europe which rent bicycles to customers too.

• Black Dog on Aug 03, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Can a normal bicycle (fold-up bicycles i know can) be brought up the trains?
    Do they have more trees along the route to relieve us from the either sunny or rainy weather?
    Do they have proper toilet facilities for us to wash up all the sweat? (stinky toilets are a norm too)
    Do they maintain the track properly 1-2 years down the road? (Our council have a really really bad reputation of maintenance. Project done, money in the pocket, tidak apa lah

• Hey guys this is seriously a good effort. DBKL is not perfect but i think they are doing better. Rather than condemning on this i think we should encourage them to do more expansion such as this. Imagine this is a win win situation where you can keep fit as well as safe time in traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • azrai on Aug 03, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Wastage. Better use the money to cover potholes, lori siput concrete waste, pedesterian walkways, malfunction traffic lights + ITIS system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 03, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Which automatically we assume the real cost is… Rm2million only….

• normal_user on Aug 03, 2015 at 1:32 pm

I assume the rm5 million include:
    1. Bicycle park facilities @ LRT/bus stations
    2. Covered bike trails on certain sunny stretches
    3. Washroom & safekeeping facilities
    4. Ramp for crossing busy road
    5. CCTV cameras

If not, i dont think people would want their body sweating to go to work.

• kemosabe on Aug 03, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Just replying to one of the comments here is the maintenance should be a shared responsibility of DBKL and path users. Not zeroing on cyclists but all users of this path. Keep it clean, keep it safe.

This is a good thing, please do your bit in keeping it preserved.

• abg gagah on Aug 03, 2015 at 2:51 pm

this is actually a good thing. Now citizen have an option to go from point a to b.

• blablabla on Aug 03, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Better this RM5M spent by DBKL than RM30M spent for Penang Bike Lane..

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2014/10/31/rm30-million-spent-on-12km-bicycle-route-in-penang/