Additional bicycle lanes along MRT tracks – DBKL

Kuala Lumpur Bicycle Path

The Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) is currently mulling over the idea of building additional bicycle lanes along the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) tracks in order to encourage more individuals to pick up cycling as an alternative mode of getting from A to B. The first dedicated cycling path was opened in April 2015 and stretches for 5.5 km from Mid Valley to Dataran Merdeka.

“Under the elevated MRT lane, there are spaces that could be used as bicycle lanes. However, we have to discuss it with MRT Corporation Sdn Bhd, Prasarana Malaysia Berhad and Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD),” commented Kuala Lumpur mayor, Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal Talib.

140919_KLCTRMAP_S25

Kuala Lumpur bicycle map by Cycling Kuala Lumpur. Click to enlarge.

Additionally, under the ‘River for Life’ project initiated by DBKL, plans for more dedicated cycling paths along Sungai Bunus have been proposed. “Another track will be made possible along Sungai Bunus. The distance is yet unknown as the Urban Transportation Department is identifying possible spaces to build the lane. Safety and security should be considered,” said Talib.

The plan aims to turn Kuala Lumpur into a cyclist-friendly city while helping to cut ever-worsening traffic congestion. Earlier, DBKL initiated its ‘Kuala Lumpur Car-free Morning’ campaign whereby several stretches of roads will be opened to cyclists on the first and third Sunday of every month, from 7.30 to 9.30 am. More recently, the Sepang International Circuit has also opened its doors to cyclists.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Phesal the Crook on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:15 am

Hello DBKL, MRT causing all the jams, floods and soil erosion lah. Sort that first. Then do all this.

Why? You Phesal want to give his relative to do this contract ah? Make pavement RM100k but charge the Government RM1 mil per MRT station pavement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • blahblah on Jun 03, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Well, At least it’s still cheaper than painting the bike lane in Penang!!!!

• zuchie on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:15 am

…I hope there will be no DUMD motorcycle will use on bicycle tracks… coz this is Malaysian…

• DBKL So SO Corrupted on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:18 am

DBKL, your officers are so corrupted. All asking for money. Everyday they usik all the gerai owners for payment.

Please see to this first. More important. Why disturb poor people even when some got licence?

All your departments are so corrupted. Clean up your departments. Everyday, your officers go from house to house asking money for “illegal renovation” done. This is a big problem/

Clean up your DBKL first. It is causing the rakyat more problems than make this pavement for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Mary Minah on Jun 03, 2015 at 12:38 pm

In the first place, why you did illegal renovation. Suits yourself.

• prabowi on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:23 am

Unsurprisingly, since the mayor is a cycling fan this kind of project is being endorsed. Once a new mayor comes, the project will be a white elephant. How often do we see that happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Not exactly useful on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:32 am

While I do support such initiatives to make bicycles as the preferred mode of transport, I don’t think building a bicycle lane on the same route as the MRT is the best way to go about it. You already have the MRT going the same way, why cycle?

The focus now should be the last-mile connection. Cyclist should be able to stow bikes IN the carriage. Add in community-sharing bikes at MRT stops as well. Then get proper bicycle lanes to major points of interest around the MRT station. If you have budget left afterwards, then build bicycle lanes alongside the MRT tracks. It’s nice, but not essential.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Passerby on Jun 03, 2015 at 12:12 pm

all also copy from penang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10