Prices of tyres, petroleum products must drop – PKP

Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car 23

Despite the sharp decline in commodity prices since last year, prices of tyres and petroleum-related products have failed to come down, and the Kuala Lumpur Consumers Safety Association (PKP) is taking issue with it, according to the News Straits Times.

PKP president Samsudin Mohamad Fauzi said that industry players have been cheating consumers by hiking up prices of their products when petroleum became more expensive, but refusing to drop prices when production costs have reduced.

“The price of petroleum has dropped drastically from US$150 (RM652) per barrel previously to US$42 (RM183) per barrel currently. That is a very significant drop, but yet we see tyre prices and petroleum related products failing to drop in prices. There is no excuse and I hope those in the industry do not use the drop in value of the ringgit to justify their prices because it is not valid either,” said Samsudin.

He added that prices of components used in making tyres, such as rubber, steel, synthetic rubber and petroleum have all been reduced in the past 12 months, and that industry players cannot justify maintaining the prices of their products.

tyre wm

Additionally, Samsudin said that while the manufacturers have pledged to support the government’s review prices to go with the reduction of commodity prices, the cost of tyres and other products hasn’t followed a similar drop in fuel prices.

“They have only raised the prices when the cost was high. But when the cost has gone down, their prices are not brought down. This is why I reiterate that they are cheating the consumers,” he said.

Samsuddin said that the PKP will be pursuing the matter – this includes preparing a memorandum that will be sent to the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism, as well as the related associations of manufacturers and importers. “This is because we believe and have done studies that show, if we want to reduce the cost of living and burden on the people, this is part of what needs to be done. The cost of transportation needs to be reduced first.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Gomen, please take note!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • PM’s department has more pressing matters at hand…..like saving you know who’s backside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Unethical Malaysia on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:23 pm

We are already heading towards Junk status according to Moody

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Nowadays voicing out unfairness will leave you in a concrete-filled drum.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • Wak Doger on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:15 am

Good. At least this is something more worthy of pursuing for the public compared to those Petaling St. demand made by Jamal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • I couldn agree any more, we need more people like this to protect consumer right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • What is KPDNKK do? Work on Festival season only?

• ranger on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Their department name only been heard once a month where we wish to know the fuel price they set is going up or down, after that they will hibernate for 29 days.. hehee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • QChan on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:35 am

This is precisely what I’ve been complaining to my Workshop foreman ! Each time, he says the petroleum products Suppliers are not lowering their prices – nothing much he can do………

This is gross profiteering by his Suppliers. On top of that, GST on the over-priced portion, too!!!

Sharp drops in World oil prices are “OPEN” trade secrets ! PKP has raised a perfectly legitimate grouse, and hope more consumers NGOs start barreling down on these truly unscrupulous Suppliers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • What is KPDNKK do? Work during festival season only?

• Finally someone has come to their senses. Give this guy some cookies already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Kancil Hybrid on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:49 am

Price will not come down in Malaysia. Tell whatever you want, but will the RM2.6b man listen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • brianxyz on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:00 am

First of all, have we established the current price for all the tyre makes and sizes? If not, reduce what price? Please don’t depend on the price printed on the tyre label because the price can differ a lot if you ask the tyre dealer verbally. The Tyre retail network in Malaysia is ‘shady’ and ‘secretive’. You will not know the actual price unless you ask them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • bodo, open market la bongok, your job is to ensure competitiveness, buyer will then decide by themselves which is more value for money. in no way you can force businesses to sell lower or higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • George Abdul on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:57 am

Should you tell this to Cronies and AP owners ??? With the dumno ministers too !!!

• santri on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:38 pm

If you are so smart why you dun be minister?
        Using office hours in PT is not a smart move you know
        You both are not good workers, won’t hire you in any circumstances.

• Fz5791 on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:35 am

It think the statement might be a bit exaggerate. As far as i’m concern oil price is coming down from 100 $ bbl from last year to 50 $ bbl this year. Unless if we comparing to the 2008 oil price where it was close to 148 $ bbl that year which made the comparison even more unrelevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:41 am

This shows government and business should split.
    The protectionism, preferism, regulations are distorting the market.
    And don’t get me started on the law enforcement part

• Ollie on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:47 am

All car parts in Malaysia are shady and secretive (as said by a commenter above). I only buy 2nd-hand cars, and do my maintenance myself, so I have first-hand knowledge of this. I buy parts directly from distributor for my Forte; most parts are cheaper than Myvi parts! BUt all mechanics will tell me, ah yoo… Kia ah.. mahal loo.. parts susah cari wooo.. nonsense. Brake pads RM55. Sparks full set, RM48. Mechanic charge 200-300% higher. Naza charges a whopping 400% higher. Problem is, Malaysian car buyers mostly (>70%) are new car buyers who will only rely on service centre for service. That’s why they have no idea on the actual prices and is why aftermarket service is the real money-maker for distributors; and also why long warranty is offered just so people go back to the dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • FireAce on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Agreed on what you say however rhere are a few problems. Most of us do not how to repair our own car. Honest workshop is non existance unless that person is your best friend/brother/etc (that also cannot guarantee sometimes). “Genuine” part is not easy to identify unless you buy from the distributor, which only exist in big cities, if they are willing to deal with individual customers. The only choice we have is go back to the service centre, which of course cost us an arm and a leg.

• regretbuyingaford on Sep 27, 2015 at 7:06 am

wahh..

i too buy my parts from stockist, go to a foreman and get charged labour only. maybe ur distributor is super kow cheap, and i am paying the first level of marked up prices at the stockist, but seriously, what brake pads are u using that its RM55? made from sandpaper ah?

• Pacific romp on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Some people will say ringgit dropped so cost of importing has increased, along with other perfectly valid reasons.

• Josh Ling on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:46 pm

they should have voiced out their concern and/or complains way earlier. now with RM value so low, wanna reduce price also cannot already, because everything has just become so expensive.

• When is petrol going to drop?

• Tayarman say if they drop prices, means they support Gov. So to help PR, Bersih, etc they will keep the prices up or increase so that they can blame Gov for the high prices and the rakyat will rage against Gov.
    Win-win for all, except Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Wayang2 on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Wayang2 aje la.. Even shit in Malaysia got a price.. Put wayang2 news and decrease 1 cents. Juz get lost!

• PoorChap on Sep 25, 2015 at 6:42 pm

I thought the Tyres price hiked in recent months. Claimed by the traders due to exchange rate. Bloody hell, these unethical bunch of Malaysia businessmen need to be teached a lesson. Why gomen never do something to protect consumer like price of goods. But got time to create street demo. Hai… barang naik tak habis habis.