Honda, Toyota, Mitsu price hikes as the ringgit drops?

Driven_Web_Series_2014_Honda_City_vs_Toyota_Vios_vs_Nissan_Almera_005

A bleak report by weekly publication The Edge suggests that three more carmakers – namely Honda, Toyota and Mitsubishi – are expected to raise their prices in light of the falling ringgit. This follows Hyundai’s move to hike prices of its Elantra, Veloster and Santa Fe models earlier this month.

The ringgit breached the 4.40 mark against the US dollar recently, the lowest it has been since 1998. Making things worse, the ringgit isn’t faring any better against the euro either, falling about 15% since the start of the year, to 4.88 at the moment.

The report claims that the price increase will come any time now, with some apparently looking to do so as early as October 1. If true – and we don’t know if it is just yet, or to what extent it will be – this will surely have a negative effect on car sales, which is already in a slump as it is.

Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) president Datuk Aishah Ahmad told the weekly, “increasing prices is not going to help boost sales. On the contrary, it will worsen the situation as consumers are already tightening their belts due to inflationary pressures.

“However, there is a limit as to how much of the costs car companies can afford to absorb due to forex losses. It (increasing prices) is not an easy decision to make, and each company will have to evaluate its own situation,” she added.

What do you think of this, folks? Do bear in mind that it’s just a report for now, not a sure thing. We at paultan.org will keep you updated in due course.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:14 am

wahai Orang Orang Kampung dan Orang Pakai Red Shirt, kerajaan anda kata ringgit jatuh banyak bagus. Tapi sekarang, tengok, apple ipad pun sudah jadi RM400 lebih.

Sekarang kereta pun akan naik harga. Dah lah mahal sangat, lagi dia nak naik lagi.

Tetapi Menteri masih kata ringgit jatuh banyak bagus.

Sedarlah orang orang kampung. Anda dikelentong dan diperdaya selalu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 315 Thumb down 10
    • Where is Najib's Promise??? on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:35 am

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM17,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM17k per month by 2020?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 8
      • Crony Crony Malaysia on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:45 am

If the Government really cares, they won’t raise prices. ALL car companies in Malaysia are fully owned by various Government GLC, EPF, Khazanah, PNB etc.

Honda is owned by DRB which is fully Government GLC crony.

Toyota is owned by UMW. Fully Government crony and GLC

Mitsubishi also another gomen crony GLC

Hyundai, Ford and BMW also owned by Gomen (Sime Darby) GLC.

Government forget when ringgit was strong they never reduced car prices. But ringgit weak they increase the car prices pulak????

How come???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 6
        • Directors Pls Take Pay Cut on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:04 am

UMW BOD past 20 years used to get RM Millions in Bonusses. This was going on past 20 years. Same with DRB.

Its time the BOD of UMW and DRB hicom return some of the bonus they got

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
          • kington on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:31 pm

sAdly, these GLC linked fellas don’t care for us at all. High prices with MINIMAL safety features.

Time to boycott Toyota and Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • antiP1 on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:08 am

u r wrong…onli proton fully owned by GLC..others like perodua, toyota, honda, MBM are not fully owned…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
          • Sedar lah Abang! on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:18 am

check the percentage of owners for each company. At the end of the day, it totals complete control of each car company.

See EPF, Khazanah, PNB and various GLC. They each own a percentage. In total, they have complete control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
          • facto on Sep 29, 2015 at 4:47 pm

PNB only has 10% in UWM, where got fully owned?

Get your fact right.

• Directors Pls Take Pay Cut on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:01 am

Situation is very sad because Government is prosecuting their very own people and bangsa.
        Past 20 years, UMW directors untung gila gila. Bonus also like 12 to 15 months.

Now, just one year ringgit jatuh, instead of directors and UMW getting lesser pay, they hantam Malaysians.

thank you kerajaan Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • nameless on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:06 am

too late to remove the tumor, left to die..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:38 am

Tak kesah, they can p pr pr p pro tek, to protek u know, want pu pu pro tek, camana nak cakap? We wan pro tek.

• seng sa ra on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Now is the time to stop buying new car. Just maintain your current car, or buy 2nd hand or carpool. Even the fare for public transport also increase.

Ringgit is not only weaken to USD and SGD, but also weaken to Won, Yuan, Taka (bangladesh), baht (Thai), Peso (Philiphine), Dong (Vietnam), Riyal (Saudi) & etc. So sad..

I don’t know how to live in Malaysia.. The cost of living always increase. Don’t know where to cut (expenses). I am not super rich like those G minister and balachibai..

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:15 am

They will have to increase it once their exclisting stock is finished and for sure it will impact the market with salesreps fighting to make a living. As a consumer I’d wait until the MYR is back on track and the prices are revised again before I make any purchase for a vehicle as these price increases are artificial to me. All the best to those in the automotive industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:16 am

*existing stock

• kington on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:00 am

Agreed. But given the nature of the country’s automotive business, price drops are rare, at least for CKD models.

• Bruce on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:32 pm

MYR back on track? Looking at the condition now, it will take ages before it will be back on track. It is more likely to worsen with this economic condition. Don’t think the price of cars will go down and it will just continue to increase with the MYR value going down the drain.

• Ko-tek……Not back On-Track….
      Ko-Tek !! hahaha….
      (laugh, while still can…)

• takjadi on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:16 am

rm can only naik..najibai downfall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • anonymous on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:49 am

When you have the racist Deputy PM Zahid, don’t expect any good recovery for the nation. The best thing to happen is new government replaces the existing one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Najib said Malaysia will be high income country by 2020 (5 years from now), so starting from end of this year gomen servants will get fat bonus and high salary increment every year until 2020, so Malaysians should still be afford to pay for higher price cars,

• Rob the poor skinny hardworking ants to feed those fat ugly bully racist grasshoppers….?

• camtakpro on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:08 am

Corrections! Najib said Malaysia will be high income tax country by 2020.

• xxXxx on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:19 am

All cars import from Thailand la, why still build here what’s the point.

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:25 pm

even if it is CKD assembled like vios,

there are many and many parts sourced locally.

example vios :-
      battery and wire harness
      airbag, seatbelt (autoliv) and seat (umw bushoku)
      tyres (goodyear, dunlop), wheels (JRD etc)
      windscreen (MSG, MCIS)
      absorbers (KYB)
      umw also has a factory producing body panels in shah alam.

while many others could be sourced from asean like steering rack (philiphine), headlamp/tail lights (thailand) and perhaps engine (thailand)

it wont be long before toyota can source the transmission from perodua plant in negri sembilan.

so it is hard to understand how come UMW is affected by our poor performing currency.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:19 am

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor. Even given Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?
    It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

Problem is, Government own all the car companies in Malaysia. It is up to Government to reduce the car prices. We are already paying 3x the global price of cars.

Nak ketuk rakyat Malaysia lagi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 3
  • tkhengong on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:23 am

We are facing the inevitable here in Malaysia. No thanks to an incompetent ruling government headed by a PM that faces trust issue, not only in the country, but the outside world too. Nonetheless, I am wondering
    if the distributors can afford to give discounts and accessories to boost sales, as in the widespread promotions by the car distributors we read daily, I opined they must have enjoyed an exceptionally high margin for the vehicles and thus should be able to absorb the increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • BananARpk on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Let them increase, I can see more people taking public transport which improve traffic situation in dowmtown KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Same L0rrr on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:25 am

This can make Toyota and all japanese cars have good RV in the future..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
    • camtakpro on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:08 pm

I’m gonna say that, but I guessed you will be the first. And then followed by a dumb minister that says “this will improve our current 2nd-hand cars market”.

And then followed by another bangsat minister “This is to prevent our currency outflow.”

• CY Lok on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:28 am

I still recall Najib Promises about cheaper vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Areyousure on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:28 am

Ringgit hits 4.475/USD or 5.000/EUR today. It has lost more than 40% in 2 years. As long as the ‘bangsat’ still out there.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
  • Our Govt always say no problem when currency drops. The poor will suffer more now… See if Proton and Perodua can maintain their price…

More to come… Not only Car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:31 pm

No much longer, car sales will slump soon enough.
      Next month very sure US1=RM4.5 or more, if the US Feds adjust their interest rate, RM will be Fxcked big time.

• BeNd and Najis to quit on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:31 am

Ringgit will only appreciate if Najis resigns and scandal of IMDB settled, better still if the present corrupted government changes to Pakatan Harapan…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • najisneedtobeflushed on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:15 am

resign is to formal, should be ‘flushed’ down the shithole..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • FireAce on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:30 am

Resigned only is not enough. We want to see Jibby jailed if found guilty for 1MDB scandal. Also properties confiscated (Including Rosmah’s diamonds, bags, watches. His offsprings propeties, cars. Everything and anything to recover RM2.6 Billion).

Khir Toyo get 1 year jail for few millions RM of corruption. If my math is correct, Jibby will probably get 800++ years for RM2.6 billion. This can go into Malaysia Book of Records.

• What’s the big deal? They make tons of profit per car as it is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • welcome to bolehland where economics fundamental does not exist.

and for those who think they will only increase price for new stock….think again :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Hasminah on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:36 am

Even if ringgit falls to 7 to 1 to a dollar car prices are still overly expensive compared to other countries.

Car prices should be further reduced as promised by the government not increase!

The rakyats are already suffering due to inflation and stagnant wages.

All thanks to Dr M and his Proton! We Malaysians are forced to buy expensive cars cause of the protectionism of this national proton junk company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • kereta_lembu on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:38 am

While it is expected at some point that car prices will be affected among other things, we can at least comfort ourselves because a certain minister is adamant that the weaker Ringgit is good for us. It will also boost our tourism industry. Soon, we’ll have a new proverb. Instead of Durian Runtuh, we can now be proud to say Ringgit Runtuh and it means the exact opposite!

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:38 am

Yes! The price will go up. I am so very happy. Syukur..

Punish those stoopeed BN supporters/voters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • sohhai on Sep 29, 2015 at 3:00 pm

What la. Most of the BN supporters only buy kapcai, Proton and Perodua. Unless the prices of these 3 increase, then it looks like the non-BN supporters are being punished instead.

• All this started by 1 person in 1 company with Mega Debt Berhad said he had taken so called ‘DONATION’ from pak Arab with consequences & chain reaction. ..endless fiasco with endless suffering of rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • sales down but increase price?
    don’t seem like a good plan for sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • spongewai on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:20 am

resign pls, Mr PM

you are totally destroy our peaceful country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Dont worry, 11 year loans on the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • sohhai on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:32 am

In mandarin, ‘Na’ means ‘Take’. In hokkien, ‘Jib’ means ‘To go in’ or ‘Go into’. Hence, ‘Najib’ means ‘To take into’. More specifically, ‘To take into his pocket’. Cheers.

• Rusmah on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:36 am

Curi curi….msia..
    Dapat jinjin saya
    Bangsatkan semua orang msia
    Untung lagi saya.

• stevie on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:51 am

syukur, our RV of jap car will also increase. thank you.

• medic on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:00 pm

PM says we are going to be high income nation by 2020.Wait till 2020 lar…can afford then right?Syukur lar negara masih aman…

• Horizon Sailor on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Not only Ringgit vs USD… Ringgit also cannot compete with other ASEAN currency etc: THB, PHP, VND, SGD, BND. Later myanmar kyat will ahead of us too.

And yet our MOF and Central Bank still goyang kaki besarkan telor…

• Vampire on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Well, the whole nation will sink together with the current gov. It’s the Titanic story, only a few lucky one survive. So take the first step my fellow Malaysian before it’s too late.

Leave behind those fool and blind fighters of the red army behind to swin along with the vampires..

• nomercy on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Haha. The more currency you drop, the more car price government increase, the most religions of Malaysian will suffer only. You are suffering them instead of protecting them.

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:39 pm

As Malaysia faces into its first recession since 1997, car sales are falling and they want to increase their prices. It’s a bad time to be a sushi salesman.

• camtakpro on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:07 am

VW increases few time also when ringgit not falling. I’m waiting VW to increase again for ringgit falling.

VW salesman, you can try part time selling unsold Savvy RM1 air filter from Proton Carnival.

• cckkpr on Sep 29, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Its time to fasten our belt tighter. We have to downgrade our mode of transport. From motor car to motor cycle and bicycle.

We also have to plan to make fewer trips.

• applegreen on Sep 29, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Pahlawan Bugis jalan kaki, mana ada naik kereta jadi pahlawan peduli apa kalau harga kereta naik!

• in the mean time, the Government continues to lie and mislead the public.

• Ollie on Sep 29, 2015 at 3:27 pm

lots of najib-bashing going on. But doesn’t anyone see the connection with protectionist policy for Proton? How many commenters above are the same ones who keep supporting the nightmare called Proton?

• janji harga kereta akan turun 30% within 5 years mehhh… sendiri buat utk kalah…

• many many many bn supporters now do not support najib.. how?

• Proton boliaw on Sep 29, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Malaysian already kena screwed by the Govt….
    Now the car companies are screwing Malaysian again…

Not a single moment Malaysian aren’t getting screwed.

Thanks a lot, BN govt!

• pokmang on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:45 pm

ringgit jatuh, kos kereta naik, turunkan je la cukai kereta baru la harga keta tak perlu naik…sigh

• bala dugaan on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Tak cukup satu, datand lagi satu bala (dugaan)… apa dah jadi dgn penduduk di Malaysia.
    Brapa % yg buat pekak, buta, tak kesah dgn keadaan sekarg.
    Most of them, yg tinggal di ceruk kampung dan dlm kawasan Felda, Felcra, Risda dsb.

Malaysia sedang menuju kehancuran agaknye..

• Naik harga lagi lagi…
    Baguslah tu…
    2nd-Hand cars pun automatically ikut naik…
    Rakyat jelata yg sengsara…
    Me continue using my old faithful…..
    Park anywhere No Worry kena dent or scratches….
    Bottle-neck traffic jams, others tried to be bully & i don’t give way, me No Worry kena dent or scratches….
    No pay No more car-installments bcoz dah full-settlement ages ago, No Worry about car-Reprocessors…

But of course, 1 day when car prices starts to back-slide down, maybe will consider to buy again…
    Just my 2.5sen thought of opinion (to myself..) hehe

• kapchai on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:24 am

Bukan saja kereta naik harga. Washing machine, peti sejuk, makanan etc etc semua pun naik harga

• Ollie on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:52 am

complain complain about car prices. But when ask about Proton.. ohh need to support Proton.. our baby…