With fare hike, KTM services must improve, say users

Tiga SCS

KTM Komuter fares will go up from December 2 with a new fare structure in place. It will affect both Tanjung Malim-Sungai Gadut and Batu Caves-Port Klang lines. The first fare revision since February 2003 will see an increase of four sen per km (from 11 sen per km to 15 sen), but students now receive a 50% discount off ticket prices.

National news agency Bernama surveyed KTM Komuter users and they say that the service should commensurate with the fare hike. The rail operator has been urged to increase the frequency of trips, especially during peak hours, and improve facilities such as toilets.

Izyan Hanim Ibrahim, 20, who commutes back and forth from Gombak to Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), said the fare increase does not commensurate with the services provided. Private sector employee Mohamad Ridwan Ahmad, 32, said the price increase did not affect him much because it was still low compared to other modes of public transport.

“However, I agree with other users that KTM should ensure that the services provided are on a par with public transport provided by other companies like RapidKL. KTM should provide basic facilities such as upgrading of public toilets, prayer rooms, adding lanes for cashless ticket payment (Touch n Go) and having auxiliary police service at every stop,” he said.

Nurul Ain Yaakop commutes from Rawang to Shah Alam daily, and the 26-year old says that the timing of the increase seemed inappropriate with the increase of cost of living currently faced by the public. “The increase should commensurate with the enhancement of services, it should not remain stagnant. Ensure that users are happy when using the service,” she said.

ktm-komuter (2)

The associations are singing the same tune. Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations (FOMCA) president Datuk N Marimuthu told Bernama that KTM should have enhanced their services before implementing the fare increase. He said the new fare imposed was not on par with the quality of service provided by KTM especially in terms of safety and comfort.

Muslim Consumers Association of Malaysia’s chief activist Datuk Nadzim Johan said that KTM should instead reduce their operating costs, as it was not meant to be a for-profit company. “In fact, we want KTM to give discount to users who truly need the service,” he added.

It’s only fair to hear the other side of the story, KTM’s side. “The new fare structure will cover operating and maintenance costs that have been on the rise every year. The purchase of spare parts has become increasingly expensive with the drop of the ringgit, not to mention KTM had also been subject to commercial rates of the electricity tariff over the years,” said KTM Bhd (KTMB) president, Lt Col (Rtd) Sarbini Tijan.

In an earlier report, KTMB chairman Datuk Nawawi Ahmad said that the fare increase was required to prevent further losses, which stand at around RM100 million per year. “Our cost per km is at 20 sen but our ticket price per passenger only covers 11 sen per km. Right now, our operating revenue cannot cover our operating cost,” he stressed, adding that the company no longer wants to rely on the government for subsidies in covering operating costs.

As an occasional user of the KTM Komuter from Rawang to KL, this writer agrees that services, which have improved compared to a few years ago, can be further enhanced. Trains must come on time, as scheduled, and Komuter trains must be given priority on the tracks and not be left to wait (often in the middle of nowhere) for other trains to pass before resuming.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Even if service not improved, still have to pay …

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 03, 2015 at 1:41 pm

KTM no need to raise prices if there ws no songlapping in Malaysia. All prices go up because to many people are songlapping.

Big can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions. All the songlapping can go to KTM to improve their crriages.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor. Even given Tunship. RM80 billion can build state of the art transport system even better than London Underground Tube System for Malaysia.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why tools, LRT, KTM all going higher and higher. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and better transportation that are also reasonably priced.

Problem is, Government own all the Public Transportation companies in Malaysia. It is up to Government to reduce transport charges. Even toll concessionaires also, all ultimately Government owned via Khazanah, EPF, PNB, Tabung Haji and various GLCs.

Nak ketuk rakyat Malaysia lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Albert on Nov 03, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Songlap, u r right.
        KTM is to make cronies rich .The double tracking already songlap rm14 Billion,your hard earned tax dollar.
        No need make profit.Not enough,u know where to get money…grants,special allocations etc…can be arranged.
        Just improve the bladdy service.
        We dont expect KTM ,Proton,MAS to make profits,,,,,they are SONGLAP SPECIALISTS.
        You see the effects of everlasting perlindungan.SHAMBOLIC.

• then how are we UMNO cronies going to make money Albert? We need our LV handbag, our PAtek Phillipe watches and Ferraris

• Albert on Nov 03, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Crony John,Thats why no one expects these ‘white elephants’ to make any decent profits.
            They specialist in asking for grants,handouts,bailouts…cos cronies having rendered services expect instant payment.
            The deeper they sink into the red,the better…cos handouts/bailouts are on the way.
            You should be celebrating in 7 star hotels now,shouldn’t you ?
            Even if KTMB is insolvent,the gomen will step in and repackage it and continue its services…just like MAS.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 03, 2015 at 6:40 pm

It is all about money! Who care about service?

Similar to Proton, they only care about sales target, who give a damn on quality?

• Users say: Service must improve.
    KTM reply: We admit there are a lot of room for improvement.

End of story. Everything is forgotten and tomorrow is a new day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • marxedes on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:54 am

I’m not familiar as I’m not local, what’s the frequency of the KTM Komuter train?

• ben yap on Nov 03, 2015 at 12:16 pm

every 30 mins – 45 mins a train.

• MitchelJohn on Nov 03, 2015 at 12:23 pm

It depends, not really consistent all the time

There were times that the frequency rate was high like 1 train per 10-15mins, then there’s 30min, 45min and even 1 hour in some cases.

• t2357s on Nov 03, 2015 at 12:30 pm

It depends… If all the stars align, weather permitting, God willing, then it will be 15 minutes late. Otherwise, only God knows.

• Actually, I side with KTM on this matter on need to increase prices to cover their costs, but I agree they must improve their services. Paying for 3rd world services is an understatement when it comes to KTM.

As for rising costs, hello every year living costs increase, but so does your salary. Your employer has to cover the costs somehow without resorting to letting you go..

• They need to add more earlier train scedule, such as 1 train to go to rawang arrive around 6 :05 am at kajang station, current train which arrive at 6:20 am is late enough already such as some of us need to get to work early and it’s always packed when the train arrive

• sewell on Nov 03, 2015 at 12:12 pm

use to be KTM traveller everyday before change my job. if you Q u to buy ticket for your journey sure you will miss the train coz their working efficiency ( you know i know). if you use tounchngo you have to make sure you tag the right pane ( masuk and keluar is different) if you happen to touch the wrong panel all you balance become RM0 ( this happen to me). so i keep the touchngo card below RM20.
    Frequency used to be peak 15min and offpeak 30min. now even greater peak is 20min and offpeak 40min. thats why we always says Malaysia Boleh.

try to take their Batu Caves route and you passed by sentul station you will see their depot. lots of train breakdown and unused ( i think because of no parts. where is all the parts? you know i know)

so how do you think of their service? Malaysia Boleh, Najib Boleh.

• What you expected guys? on Nov 03, 2015 at 12:38 pm

KTMB bought a total of 62 trainset between 1994 to 1997, now only left 18 of this trainset in service. Funny that in Singapore their 1985 MRT still running strong.

Now they have an additional 43 trainset bought since 2010.

How the hell they can improve the frequent?

• all because they want cheap trainset (you now from where) but and up no sparepart or too costly to repair.
      just follow indonesia, buy the refurbished trainset from Japan..

• marxedes on Nov 03, 2015 at 2:12 pm

That first gen 1980s SMRT Kawasaki train will run for much longer since SMRT will be replacing the traction for those trains. Meanwhile, around 90 new trains will join the fleet for the red and green lines.

• marxedes on Nov 03, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Hope your future MRT will be well maintained. It’s nice to have fancy systems but wait till they start throwing tantrums. At the end of the day they’re still machines.

• and just look at their online ticket reservation website for intercity…
    rural school project better than that…

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 03, 2015 at 2:54 pm

You guys do know that with all the recent hikes on public transportation, the price per dollar when compared to our neighbours like Singapore makes our fare fee very expensive? One can take a train from Changi airport right up to Newton which is one station away from Orchard for just SSGD1.86 with the SMRT. Try going the same distance with our KTM/MRT/LRT and see how much it costs you.

• Just because of the cronies involvement for teksi, bus, toll, KTM…etc. All the poor rakyat need to pay for high public transportation cost.

For those who has been using the public transport. The cost is extremely high as compared to Singapore. Just imagine a family of 4 using the KTM for a short distance from Bangi to Tasik selatan which cost 2.90 x 4 = 11.60 x 2 = RM 23.20 (2 ways)

If you want to go KLCC from Bangi, A family will cost RM 50.00. Can the poor afford this transport.

This fuc….king G is sucking the poor rakyat blood to feed his cronies.

I wonder why the majority still vote for BN? haha

• All is Wrong in Malaysia on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Kalau tak mau bayar tambang komuter, lu boleh naik basikal.

• Ek eleh on Nov 03, 2015 at 11:34 pm

Ek eleh.. This is bolehland.. Only prices will be hike.. Services alwiz like shit!