VIDEO: Honda BR-V for Thailand previewed in detail

As recently revealed at the 2015 Bangkok Motor Expo, here is another look at the new Honda BR-V for Thailand. Available as a five- or seven-seater there, the Active Sport Crossover is expected to go on sale in the Thai market early 2016. In the meantime, Honda Thailand has revealed a new video showcasing its BR-V in action.

Having shown you the exterior of the car on several occasions already, it is safe to say that not much has changed since we last saw the new Honda BR-V. The only difference between this and the model we snapped in Thailand is that this one doesn’t wear the brand’s sporty Modulo styling kit.

For power, the BR-V has only been known to feature the same 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine as seen on the Jazz and City. The four-pot puts out 117 hp at 6,000 rpm and 146 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm. Drive is sent to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT automatic transmission.

The interior design is also largely similar to what we’ve seen before. The BR-V adopts a similar cabin to the Honda Jazz and Honda City B-segmenters. The dashboard features a central touchscreen display, with climate controls and readouts positioned just beneath it.

The triple binnacle instruments are also familiar, along with a steering wheel we’ve seen on the previous-generation Jazz and City models too – unlike the Brio’s thicker three-spoke wheel we saw featured in Japan and Indonesia.

However, what this video best details is the BR-V’s seating and cargo functionality, both for five- and seven-seater variants. In the clip, it is obvious that the seven-seater’s rear-most bench is a 50:50 split-folding type, but do note that the third-row seat’s base across the bench is a single piece.

As previewed by the video, if you want the third-row seats to tumble forwards for more cargo space, you’ll have to sacrifice seating for both seats at the same time. The arrangement is a familiar one adopted by Honda, unlike Toyota’s arrangement for its new seven-seater Avanza MPV. There, the rear-most seats are separated from each other, making it possible to fold just one half of the third row – using one side for seating, the other for cargo storage.

On the five-seater, ample cargo room is available from the start. But, if you insist on having more space, the 60:40 split second-row seats can be folded away and tumbled very easily with a single pull of a lever. The middle-row seats are also a lot more flexible than Toyota’s 50:50 arrangement in its equivalent Rush or Avanza MPV. The BR-V’s 60:40 bench offers the ability to fold the shorter half of the bench for cargo use, whilst the longer half still offers seating for two.

The Honda BR-V will almost certainly debut in Malaysia some time next year. Question is, would you prefer it if Honda offered both five- and seven-seater options here like it does in Thailand? Or, would you prefer just one over the other? Which will it be? Tell us what you think in the comments below.

GALLERY: Honda BR-V with Modulo kit from Thailand Motor Expo

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Gargantia on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Please don’t be a next Avanza it will be a big dissapointment !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • avanzauser on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:45 pm

You know because you own one?

• Entering to cheap 7-seaters is just digging grave like Toyota did with their Avanza. Great profit for once, poor image for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:54 pm

You must be the poor kimchi driver who trade in your junk to me at 5k

• Kimchi would be much better than Avanza. Toyota’s potong-stem old-wives

• not really, this is where more people learnt about toyota durability and reliability.

At the same time boost Perodua image.
          since 2004 Avanza came from Perodua factory.

• Alan Tan on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:28 pm

I guess 5 seater will do.

• Steve Web on Dec 14, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Dear Honda Malaysia, don’t make the same mistake as Honda Freed. If HM advertise Honda Freed as a 5 seater, HM could have gain more share market and be more successful. Instead it was advertise as a luxury mini MPV.

1) Without the 3rd row seat, it’s easily 75kg lighter. Better pickup and fuel consumption as well as less engine strain. It’s a 1.5 NA and it makes a lot of difference. I am a Freed owner and I have remove the 3rd roll. And I can tell there are plenty of Freeds out there (low mileage 50,000km) and 1st owner are selling complaining of lack of power. Malaysian are power crazy, that’s for sure. Ask uncle Ajib.

2) 7 seater will only work in Indonesia but not in other part of Asia. Furthermore with 7 person there is no more room for luggage.

Sometimes paultan reader’s info are very accurate and I tell this info is dead accurate. HM should give me a complimentary free service for additional 5 year for this and add leather seat on my Freed :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • 5 seater for 1.5 engine + 7 seater with 1.8

• Really on Dec 14, 2015 at 8:54 pm

The BR-V is built on a monocoque platform instead of ladder frame used by the Avanza. So, ride comfort, handling and refinement should be inherently better than the Avanza. The only sticking point will be the price. As long as it’s not much more expensive than the Toyota, UMW can let the Avanza rest in peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Dec 15, 2015 at 3:46 am

agreed, ladder frame has very bad crash rating
      with this car – more power,less fc,practicality,safety, handling, interior(digital),
      gonna sell way better than Avanza,
      just like City beating Vios.
      Paultan, please do video comparison of BR-V,Avanza,Livina,Exora,Alza.

• Old steering honda, this should be update to better one like the one on civiz jazz or hrv

• Family of 6 on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:30 pm

7 seaters please. Might get this to fit my 4 little kiddos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Pureviewmae on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Seven plz,like Ultraman Seven

• david on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:11 pm

please come soon. i dont want to buy a toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Exterior looks nice. Not sold on it yet though- need to see it in metal and compare the stance and ride height compared to the likes of Avanza and Alza. Dashboard is run of the mill. Very flexible-usable interior. If priced right could be a success like HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Jackson on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:31 pm

7 seater please. Let 5 seater be the HR-V.

• ugliest design by Honda so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Jimmy on Dec 14, 2015 at 11:49 pm

7 seater please! Price for full specification below 90k will be sweet for everyone!

• R.Satthiya Seelan on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:01 am

I would like the 7-seater.

• R.Satthiya Seelan on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:03 am

I would like the 7-seater. It looks good.

• Bugslayer on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:25 am

Seen it at the Thai Motor Expo… My verdict is the Mobilion is a much better looking MPV…

The BR-V design is ungainly and looks weird, especially the side profile and rear end…

• I’m wondering how is the FC? As this is quite a small engine powering such a big car…

• winwin on Dec 15, 2015 at 1:49 am

Better dont bring this in at all. If bring in, how much you want to sell ? City already 80~90k range, HRV is at 100~110k range. Which price bracket to fit in ?
    What Honda Malaysia should do is bring in the Honda Jade to replace the aging Stream.

• please let the crossover come to our shore, if honda malaysia price it right, i’ll be one of their potential buyer, if the price are not relevant, up to people to wisely search and choose another brand

• seman on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:06 am

hurry up! don’t let innocent potential buyer being trapped in the old toyota rush maze

• 1.5 cvt for this 7 seaters suv?!!it should be underpowered even it mini-suv. If honda make it 1.8 same as hr-v sure be hot sells n im goin to buy it.

• transformer on Dec 15, 2015 at 11:56 am

All 1M consumer prefer 7 seater with one touch retractable 2nd & 3rd row seat!

Listen, Listen, Listen Honda. I would like to add-on, since new Civic will be coming in 2016, why not Honda brave enough to give BR-V same 1.5L turbocharged engine same as Civic. I don’t mind CVT, as long as it’s turbocharged consumer don’t mind CVT! Don’t forget Disc Brake all round, ISOFIX & ESC in all variant.

• 5+2 seaters is my choice
    But without 6+ airbags then balik tidur
    I need the car with the safety equipped

• Eugene liew on Dec 15, 2015 at 2:20 pm

I sure will prefer the 7 seater version. The 3rd row seating base can follow new Avanza which can fold 50:50 separately. If price between 70k to 90k would be great…

• LuvHonda on Dec 15, 2015 at 2:58 pm

If BR-V going to be fitted 1.8 engine like HRV, 6 airbags safety features and all round disc brakes. I tell ya the price will be way up to 100k mark. As usual HM will break down into few grades type to choose like they did for City and Jazz. Please HM to consider this options.

• calvin lee on Jan 31, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Prefer 7-seater as very limited choice in Malaysia market particularly for ranged RM100K.