Proton after-sales promo – free checks, 20% discount

Proton CNY Promo

Proton is introducing an after-sales campaign in conjunction with the upcoming Chinese New Year festive period. The campaign is from now till March 31 at all Proton service centres nationwide.

The national car company is offering free 30-point inspection, which includes checks on the brakes, timing belt, wipers, clutch, shock absorbers and battery. Customers can enjoy discounts of up to 20% on selected parts. Special packages for parts and services will be offered to out-of-warranty cars.

For more details, check out Proton Edar’s website or call Proton’s customer care line at 1800 888 398.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bunny on Jan 08, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Only 20%? Considering the amount of defective parts in the car.. shud be at least 50%. My aunt’s wira (which she has sold last year) was sooo problematic (changed her water pump, condenser, cv joints, front arm, etc) and it was freaking expensive to repair. The water pump failed multiple times. Cant be the exorbitant prices they charge on that item… better to get aftermarket parts which have more quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 40
    • pak atan on Jan 09, 2016 at 6:27 am

Such a basher. Nothing less than that. Wira was the best Cost of ownership. And still is. Except for after market part which asal boleh since not produce base on orignal drawings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Dr Mamak on Jan 10, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Power window parts how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Junk Malaysian Car RM120k vs RM20k on Jan 10, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Ask any old Aunty in KL or PJ. Those about 70 years of age and own a 20 year old Wira. They will tell you, in the 20 years, they have spent over RM100k just to repair their car and all servicing About 3x the original price of their car.
          My mother Proton Wira, 20 years old, we check all the servicing and repairs, came to about RM120k

My Honda City, about 18 years old, I have spent in total, for all the service done, and all repairs maybe about RM20k.

That is how stupid Malaysians are. they think they are saving money and being patrotic by buying Malaysian brand but you spend so much in repairs.

You think…..RM20k VS RM100k?? Which is bigger?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
          • Minnie on Jan 11, 2016 at 11:40 am

sure o not Proton Wira service cost thhis much? dosent make sense,. our family 14 yrs old wira ok oni,.. even if service also can just send to any shop,…not exorbitant costs.
            i used to own a city. mind you, the service is not any cheaper

• Low RV vs NO RV on Jan 10, 2016 at 6:06 pm

pak atan the idiot. I have a Waja and the car is 2004 car. Yearly I spend about RM20k just to replace faulty parts.

10 years x 20k is RM200k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • waja2001 on Jan 11, 2016 at 8:49 am

I have waja 2001. Reg WJRXXXX. no major problem and I do not need to spend that much of money for my waja. In more than 14 years of ownership, excluding the normal minor and major servicing parts, I only changed steering rack once, h1 bulb, steering button, absorber, engine mounting. Thats all. The 4g18p engine serves me more than enough, never breakdown although super heavy usage during school holiday (kuantan-kuala krai-teluk intan-rantau NS-kuantan). I am still keeping my waja although I have new CX7, and Starex.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 10, 2016 at 10:17 pm

Is there a day Proton not in promotion?

• Proton is for poor people. It is for low class people who got no aim in life. They are poor because they are lazy and don’t want to work hard. Good ther eis this free checks for these low class people.

I always believe, we should help the poor and low class people no matter if they are lazy or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
        • Garfield on Jan 11, 2016 at 12:02 pm

actually, ppl like you who call ppl low class,. etc etc (name calling) are a reflection of your language. you are what you call others

if you are a person of substance, you will not talk this way.ask ANY successful person.

how do you define ppl like Warren Buffet who has been staying in the same old house for ages and is still saying there? you dare call him low class?. wealth is not defined by material. having good friends is wealth. good health is wealth. good education is wealth.

ppl keep cars like Wira(old cars) because it is fully paid- and is practical for use.or sentimental value.and i can guarantee you la, ppl who still keep their wira have other accompanying luxury cars.or some old cars la

• goback on Jan 09, 2016 at 7:08 am

OMG that’s wira is how many years old? Even the parts were changed when it was new the newer p1 quality is different from old ones.

• Expect some clown telling you that his wira that he owned for 11 years…. so far ok. Only minor problems. He is very happy with his wira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • movingcoffin on Jan 09, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Sure bcoz those died in moving coffin p2 tpyolta cannot tell anything ady.

• Dead pipu tells no regrets for buying moving coffins

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 10, 2016 at 3:37 pm

When the Proton fan boys can’t afford Toyota with better safety features, they PRETEND these models don’t exist. Let me ask you does the best selling Proton model (Saga) has vac? 6 airbags? Traction control? Hill assist? Crash absorption zone? NONE! This is the typical moving coffin not only for your life but also your bank account. That’s why Proton junk can’t even export to our neighbor Singapore, Thailand. People don’t import JUNK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Sammy Taik Loo on Jan 10, 2016 at 9:17 pm

If someone mention before that Proton produce cheap car, then run three miles and then break down, then ToYoTaiK one is:

ToYoTaiK produce cheap car at very expensive selling price (only applicable for UMW Toyo Taik kucing junks), then run three miles and then skid off and crash (because nearly all models no VSC)

• old dog on Jan 09, 2016 at 10:36 am

my Waja door handler, power windows all changed several times..

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 08, 2016 at 6:16 pm

As I say many times Proton for Rakyat, P2 and Toyota and others go shit themselves…. BN always the choose of Rakyat !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Inb4 other brands do promo is halal but P1 do promo mesti kena hentam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Albert on Jan 08, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Proton can come out with 100 point free inspection,UNLIMITED lifetime warranty…..No Difference.
    Sales have been dropping to slightly above 100,000 units in 2015.
    2016….75,000 units
    2017….50,000 units
    2018….Under receivership,Bankers initiating legal action/auction of Shah Alam/Tanjung Malim plants.
    Nissan was in very bad shape until Carlos Ghosn appeared as white knight.
    Proton…waiting for the generous Middle East Santa?
    By 2016 April,Proton could have lost more than RM 2 Billion for the last 3 years in a row.
    Wake up Proton,banks are waiting for the greenlight to attach your offices if the debt remains unpaid.
    2016 is the year where used car dealers can enjoy more sales cos new car price increases have shot thro the roof!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • old dog on Jan 09, 2016 at 10:37 am

the cronies suppliers got their money regardless protong making money or not, THAT is the problem.

• Minister 3.85 on Jan 08, 2016 at 9:11 pm

sales promo konon….(actually, it is poor sales of proton)

• halfprice on Jan 09, 2016 at 7:11 am

You can say the same to other automakers, go ahead.

• Janganlah jadi macam Puaka, tembak mulut sendri. Baca semua dulu, its after-sales lah. Meaning servicing and replacement parts

• waklu on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Aku tk prnh pkai kereta proton. So tkde la rasa nk bash proton. Geng2 yg menyumpah ni mesti dh banyak masalah pkai proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • p2macai on Jan 09, 2016 at 7:14 am

Aku pernah pakai proton, ok je. Geng2 yang menyumpah ni mesti jelly dah banyak masalah pakai Japs.

Aku pakai conti, daripada Japs lebih baik pakai proton.

• Sammy Taik Loo on Jan 10, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Aku pernah pakai perodua, proton, honda, even baru punya mercedes pun bawak adakalanya, ok je. Geng2 yang menyumpah ni kebanyakannya penjual kereta toyotaik (takut sales tak jalan).

• lalala~myvi owner dun envy me.

• pak atan on Jan 09, 2016 at 6:34 am

I was a myvi SE owner . It was not as you proud of. Not even finished my 2 years of ownership, i sold it out. Because of;
      1. Break noise
      2. Steering vibrate during breaking
      3. Felt floating at speed above 110km/h
      4. Nearly killed me and my family due to outof control while cornering at Grik.
      5. Etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • bunny on Jan 09, 2016 at 9:14 pm

I used to own a 2005 myvi ezi (ozzy orange) before upgrading myself to asx. It was quite reliable actually. Not that fuel saving than what its hyped up to be (rm60 shell vpower can travel 250km). The only problem i ever had was the aircond compressor failed (2x.. both changed to new denso unit). Then the power window switch (behind driver side) wasnt working. But it got me from point A to point B safely. Its a haven when it comes to parking in tight spaces (u know la.. lack of parking in kk).
        But i cant really call it reliable can i? Considering after 9 years of usage it only accumulated 61593 km. So i havent really brought it to travel away from kk. Just routine office-home (only 5km) n home-grocery store/pasar/mall (max 10km per trip). But yeah it was a nice car. But ever since i upgraded to my current ride, i never recalled even a single day where i miss the car. I Wonder why..

• myvifan on Jan 09, 2016 at 7:16 am

Myvi the best car ever, even better than felali

• old dog on Jan 09, 2016 at 10:35 am

2016 protong can tabau already…

60K sales max i think..

• Rodadua on Jan 09, 2016 at 11:45 am

Tested drive the Iriz Premium a few time. Finally bought a unit with ++++ as promised by the salesman. Have not gone for the first servicing yet, so no comment. I love the specs and the drive despite and despite… I believe Proton can produce good cars if they want. But my immediate concern is the promised of Smart tag unit, YES Wifi 1 year free subscription, a correct length top roof black side belt (this shorter belt should have been captured before delivery!). Please please please buck up your service and promises!!!! I should be chasing for it. I don’t experienced such with Toyota, Honda, Perodua, even Hyundai……

• Shut up and take all their monies.

• Mc Kangkung on Jan 09, 2016 at 9:48 pm

once you drive proton, it will haunt you forever….