Jaguar XE set to be launched in Malaysia on January 28, here’s how you can get invited to the event

jaguar-xe-30-v6 1486

If you’ve been holding out for the arrival of the all-new Jaguar XE, good news! The compact executive sedan, whose rivals include the BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Audi A4 is set to make its launch debut here in Malaysia on January 28, 2016. This comes following the sedan’s launch in Thailand in early December, 2015.

In conjunction with the event, Jaguar Malaysia has set up a webpage, where members of public can sign up to be invited to view the XE first-hand on launch day, and familiarise themselves with the slew of technologies and features on the premium compact sedan.

The launch venue will take place at 7:00pm at the Bukit Kiara Equestrian & Country Resort Indoor Arena, which should be easy to find using any mapping service. Each invite admits just two persons, with the dress code listed as smart.

jaguar xe launch invite

As a short recap, the Jaguar XE rides on Jaguar Land Rover’s (JLR) modular iQ[Al] platform that features an extensive application of aluminium in its construction. The XE also gets JLR’s 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine range called Ingenium that is available in both petrol and diesel variants, although it is yet unknown what will be fitted to Malaysian-spec XEs.

Interior-wise, the XE comes with JLR’s new InControl infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen – the same setup will also make its way to the Land Rover Discovery Sport. The system offers iOS and Android functionality, WiFi, navigation and voice control.

We’ve already had a go in the Jaguar XE, and you can read all about it in our review here. So, if you want to be among the first Malaysians to get up close with the XE, head on over to the registration page and sign up. On a side note, what features will you be looking forward to most on the Malaysian-spec XE?

GALLERY: Jaguar XE official gallery

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ex-IS owner on Jan 12, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Anything but Lexus.

• Panther on Jan 12, 2016 at 2:51 pm

What is wrong with Lexus bro?

• Pariah Class for High Class car on Jan 12, 2016 at 4:44 pm

High class car with low class service. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.

This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2016 at 1:28 pm

No RV. Thats all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • omegle on Jan 12, 2016 at 1:30 pm

oh boy oh boy, hope our pricing is not as f-up as thailand.

• neutral on Jan 12, 2016 at 2:36 pm

heard it will be as f-up…slighty below 400k. if so, they can go fly kite. all competitors, even the insanely ridiculously priced lexus IS start below 300k.

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2016 at 1:33 pm

The best opportunity for Jaguar to grab buyers shopping for compact executive sedan. Like 3 series, Audi a4 or c class. Unfortunately, with only 1 service center in Malaysia… The prospects may as well go elsewhere.

The problem here is – does sisma auto really ready for this?

• Panther on Jan 12, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Sisma now JV with Sime Darby la … Sime Darby have almost unlimited funds and unlimited numbers of sub-par technical guys to service your car.

• Dr Mamak on Jan 12, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Rear seat too little leg room space, best wait for next gen.

• Panther on Jan 12, 2016 at 2:53 pm

You are right but the Jag styling is unique and the brand is still rare and exclusive in Malaysia. Unlike boring BMWs sold by incompetent BMW salesmorons.

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Jan 12, 2016 at 2:32 pm

No worries…this car share d same engine with Land Rover Evoque, Ford, Volvo,

• hdjsj on Jan 12, 2016 at 3:24 pm

1st step to be invited to the event : be rich

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 12, 2016 at 3:27 pm

It will be hilarious if it’s priced around the same as the Discovery Sport

• neutral on Jan 12, 2016 at 4:02 pm

JLR malaysia outdid themselves with their new pricing strategy. evoque for 430k, discovery sport 400k. ridiculous.

• Pre-owned on Jan 12, 2016 at 4:56 pm

1 unit Jaguar XE = 2 units BMW 316i @@

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 13, 2016 at 5:59 am

Don’t worry! At the rate of how JLR (M) is going, I’m gonna put my hopes on a 400k price tag.

2016 Evoque SE, with the significantly reduced spec from the 2015, now priced at 430k.

2015 Disco Sport, nearly 400k.

And honestly, I’ve seen the XE overseas and the interior looks nice on paper, but in terms of execution, it feels a bit subpar.

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 12, 2016 at 11:58 pm

I registered for the launch but i wouldn’t hold my breath. Last time I test drove their Land Rover cars to get the free tickets for james bond and they told me that tickets have been given out despite me pointing out to them about the big stack of invitation cards to the premier. In contrast to the Infiniti driving experience, once registered a confirmation e-mail has been sent out and within a day an actual person came to talk to me about my availability. I might not be able to afford a Jaguar/Land Rover right now but after this experience I sure as hell would not consider one when I can afford it and I make sure that other people know about my experience with Jaguar/Land Rover