Ten major roads in KL city to be closed for Thaipusam

kl-city-jam

Ten major roads in Kuala Lumpur city will be closed in stages from 10pm this Friday to make way for the Thaipusam procession from the city to Batu Caves.

According to KL traffic police investigation and traffic law officer Deputy Supt S. Markandan, roads that will be closed include Jalan Sultan, Jalan Pudu, Jalan Tun Perak, Jalan Lebuh Ampang, Jalan Ampang, Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Jalan Dang Wangi, Sogo, Jalan Raja Laut and Jalan Sri Amar.

He explained that the Friday procession will start from the Sri Maha Mariamman temple on Jalan Tun H.S. Lee and will pass the roads listed above, before heading to Jalan Tun Razak (U-turn in front of the fire station), Jalan Ipoh (Jalan Salleh), Jalan Kovil Hilir, Lorong Kovil Hulu, Jalan Perhentian, Jalan Ipoh, Jalan Ipoh Batu 5 dan Batu Caves.

The procession’s return leg will start from 4pm Monday and is expected to end the following morning. The procession will start from the Sri Subramaniar temple in Batu Caves and will pass Jalan Ipoh, Batu 5, Jalan Perhentian, Lorong Kovil Hulu, Jalan Kovil Hilir, Jalan Tun Razak and Jalan Ipoh.

Affected roads include Jalan Raja Laut, Jalan Dang Wangi, Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Jalan Ampang, Jalan Lebuh Ampang, Jalan Tun Perak, Jalan Sultan, Jalan Hang Kasturi, Jalan Hang Lekir and Jalan Tun H.S Lee.

According to Markandan, the timing of the road closures will depend on the progress of the procession, and roads will be reopened to motorists after the procession passes through. He urged those who are heading downtown to use public transport and warned motorists not to add to the traffic situation.

“If possible, use public transportation to get to your destination. I understand that there will be transportation provided for the celebrations. Don’t park your vehicles on the designated routes. By obstructing traffic, you risk getting summoned or having your vehicles towed away. No exceptions will be made during the celebrations. Traffic offenders will be dealt with. We mean business,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:08 am

Good timing to repair your Proton. Have you found your best buddy in the garage? Don’t play play with Proton quality.

• For ur sons saga, I recommend Segambut Service Center. Its convenient off Jalan Segambut, many bays with 1 express service slot, big screen TV with astro, newspapers & magazines, friendly front service, their technicians are knowledgeable when I asked them anything or complains, if anything needs replacing they will tell otherwise they will say can still use, they will oso help to test ur car before handling over, one time I was treated to simple chap fan nearby. Oh theres oso a carwash beside it. Try it.