2016 Honda Civic – 10th gen seen roaming in Thailand

Honda Civic tenth gen spied Thailand 1

The 2016 Honda Civic has been spotted making its rounds in Thailand again. This time, we’re treated to an up close view of the C-segment sedan thanks to the Honda Civic X Thailand Facebook group. As you can see, there are a lot of “X” decals all over the tenth-gen model, which is pretty apt, don’t you think?

Previous sightings of the Civic in January 2016 and November 2015 reveal a silver-coloured Civic donning light camo. That appears to be remain unchanged here as well, with the car’s badging, tail- and headlights, taped off. The side profile view does appear to confirm that five-spoke alloys and a rear spoiler will be part of the Civic’s kit list for the Thailand market.

According to the source, the car seen here sports LED headlights, side mirror indicators and more importantly, is powered by Honda’s new 1.5 litre turbo engine, with a CVT partnered to it. On the US-spec Civic, the mill generates 174 hp at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm.

Honda Civic tenth gen spied Thailand 2

Additionally, a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC four-cylinder engine (158 hp at 6,500 rpm and 187 Nm at 4,200 rpm) will be available there as well. However, there’s no certainty that the Civics destined for the South East Asian markets will all benefit from the new turbocharged engines, as Honda’s R&D chief Keiji Ohtsu said recently.

We’ll have to wait for more details to come from Thailand once the tenth-gen Honda Civic is launched there, before we can validate Ohtsu-san’s claims. Nonetheless, “The Best Ever” Civic has been thoroughly worked on by Honda to excel in many aspects, even so far as to benchmark it against the BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Audi A4.

Of course, the Civic also has to contend with more traditional rivals like the Toyota Corolla, Mazda 3, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Cerato, Ford Focus and Volkswagen Jetta. We’ve already had a deep dive into the new Civic, which you can check out here. What features would you want most in the all-new Honda Civic once it makes its launch debut in Malaysia?

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic US-spec

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Henry on Feb 15, 2016 at 2:56 pm

This car will sell when it arrives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • pokmang on Feb 15, 2016 at 3:00 pm

impressive!

• OMG…superb design…Will sell very well here… Kiss goodbye to Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Zoom Zoom on Feb 15, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Open for booking now. Expected to launch in May16 according to SA. Definitely will best selling in its class if price correctly. Please come with std 6 airbags/VSC etc. Toyota salesman trying hard to clear Altis now before new civic out. haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Sogetsu on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:18 pm

I have check with Honda outlet this morning. No news on the new Civic. How do you guys book???

• Newbie on Feb 15, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Sam Loo will soon be known as Honla Loo

• Not a fan of CVT…sluggish / misfiring gear changes when work hard and hardly ideal for manual paddle steering shifters. The new Honda odyssey is proof of that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • salgoodguy on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Agreed…comparing my current ride (1.8 sohc+honda version cvt) with my previous (1.8 dohc + 7 speed virtual ratio nissin version) the previous one far better

• Mawing on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:23 pm

This cvt is smooth, at least to several U.S car reviewers

• Mohd Faiz on Feb 15, 2016 at 4:39 pm

dislike the way the butt trying to look like volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • OMG…Volvo? R u kidding man. This new civic look more stylish. HONDA, DARE to be different. Good job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • DPCraft on Feb 15, 2016 at 4:56 pm

It looks way better with this rear wings.

• komarad on Feb 15, 2016 at 4:59 pm

i like this civic new looks

• t2357s on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:16 pm

No more lower airbag count for lower spec versions please!! Take cue from Mazda! Standard 6 airbags across the board!!

• Syukur lah.

• Manual pls. Low spec with manual pls pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • thats right.. bring back the manual – The Art Of Driving !

Auto/CVT kills that old school driving pleasure ..

• old horse on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:50 pm

In Bolehland..
    City over Vios
    Civic over Corolla
    Accord over Camry
    CRV over Rav4 (oops..)
    HRV over Rush (this is a joke)

Innova, Avanza those budget SEA model will be all Taxi used next..

Pity UMW..

• No oops, Rav4 is selling for over 200k here.
      CRV- Space & Confort
      CX-5- Driving Dynamics and performance
      X-Trail- Some where between both
      Rav4 is no needed(it will come without VSC anyways & 2 airbags)

• Find the difference on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Did i see the Thai Civic missing the C-pillar glass/window? Not good for reversing. Can be fixed by reverse cam though

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:59 am

not missing, but cover by camouflage oled.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:50 am

If this is spyshot is almost close to production, i think asian market sharing a same design profile with US, wonder why this time 10th gen civic almost 99% exterior look as US version, usually different facelift. From the spyshot, we can spot a matrix high spec LED headlight as US version too, Honda Malaysia, if you brought in here with 1.5l Turbo engine, i think price tag is most challenge part. i guess around RM125k

• Jefferson on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:15 pm

RM125k?
      NOT POSSIBLE if you compare technical specs & price in US.
      Based Malaysia Honda Accord 2.4 priced at RM178,000 which is comparable with US based Honda Accord with 90% similar specification will be USD28,000.

Based on this ratio, for Honda Civic 1.5 l turbo without Honda Sensing Suite(as usual),moonroof and heated seats, the nearest US model will cost USD22,000 which translates into Malaysia pricing of RM139,000 onwards.

• Levin on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:29 pm

I believe the 1.5 Turbo will be sold here as full spec just like how its currently being sold in the US. So the 1.5T full spec will be sold for around 135-140k with all the fancy stuff such as LED headlamps, turbo engine, twin muffler..etc
      Meanwhile, the 2.0L will be sold as basic and mid spec between 118-130k. Honda Malaysia could say goodbye to the good old 1.8L engine on the new 2016 Civic. Let’s see how HM will sell this new Civic.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:53 am

CVT gearbox match with Turbo engine, sound pretty smart,but just like problem meet trouble. Just like Miley cyrus vs Lady gaga, both are fashion leader,but there are attitude problem.

• Modesto hann on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:20 am

1.5 turbo will be a multi billion product I. It is available in Malaysia.

• R35 wannabe Honda Civic…. it does look different and nice but the fact is they coppied r35.

• Avrajit Das on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:39 pm

I think the Civic in Thailand is missing the sunroof/moonroof which is very disappointing…please provide that too…