As talks over DASH stalls, Selangor is set to step in

dash

More on the Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Expressway (DASH) project – the unresolved realignment plans have prompted the Selangor state government to step in to open a discussion with stakeholders by next month to resolve the long-standing issue, The Sun reports.

The state feels it is necessary to come in and facilitate talks between the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM), Projek Lintasan Kota Holdings (Prolintas) and residents, as nothing has come out of it thus far, Bukit Lanjan assemblyman Elizabeth Wong told reporters.

“(We will have the sit down) some time in March with all the parties that we already named. We already said since April last year that this matter has to be resolved,” she said, adding that she will continue engaging both residents and LLM to see if a new alignment could be worked out.

The state government has come under pressure by affected residents over its handling of the project, with Say No To Dash (SNTD) condemning the lack of action to tackle issues raised, the report adds. The current alignment has been claimed by Damansara Perdana residents to be too close to their homes, with certain points of the highway being a mere 11 metres away from housing areas.

DASH-01

Back in November, it was reported that highway concessionaire Prolintas was set to submit design plans for a new alignment for the expressway after residents in Damansara Perdana complained. Selangor chief minister Mohamed Azmin Ali said that Prolintas was submitting a new alignment for the highway’s last phase, in order to gather feedback from residents and stakeholders.

Previously removed from the PJ Local Plan 2 due to its realignment proposal, DASH was reported to have gained approval in October last year, when it was mentioned that the Works Ministry said the Selangor state government had given the green light for the construction of the highway.

Later, it turned out that this was not the case, the state government saying that the project had not quite received full approval and that not all the alignments for the project had been green-lighted.

The three-lane, dual carriageway project is slated to run a 20.1 km-long route from the Puncak Perdana U10 Shah Alam intersection to the Penchala interchange at Mutiara Damansara.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Punj 3Speed on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:37 am

Prolintas project so alignment mesti favour PNB companies lah. Itu bottomline.

• 10 reasons why more highways will not help malaysia
      1. You pay more tolls ( concessionaire agreements are not transparent )

2. You pay more for fuel ( oil prices will not say at USD10 per barrel for ever)

3. You pay more for car mantainance

4. You contribute to pollution

5. You will cut down trees along the way

6. More congestions

7. Higher likelihood of more road rage and also accidents

8. More highways give an excuse to poor urban town planning

9. An excuse to not have public transports

10. Poor living conditions

• Open Letter to Selangor Gomen on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:50 am

Of course nothing will come out of it cause LLM and Prolintas are the two most corrupted organisations. They are big time crony and waiting to sapu big time money and contract.

Go and see who runs LLM and Prolintas, all big time UMNO cronies, waiting for their retirement fund.

Syabas also the same. Federal Gomen try to come in because want to protect their big crony Rozali who makes millions per month in salary. That is why Fed Gomen come and kacau.

Prolintas need to come clean cause they are so dirty. Go and dig deeper, you will see, Prolintas has taken car many people in Ministry, JKR and LLM.

• Ini mesti berkait dengan LGE…

• kaya kronies club on Feb 22, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Can I be the contractor??? Please, please,….

• Say YES to ALL New Highways in Selangor on Feb 22, 2016 at 12:25 pm

First KIDEX cancelled, nw DASH still unresolved….i tink many voters must start to regret voting Pakatan…they didnt vote Pakatan to listen to minorities and be controlled by them..how to progress if cannot build more highway, only maybe few hundred residents affected but everyday ten of thousands of motorist suffer in the Nkve LDP…their main argument is to improve public transport but even bus no use if stuk for hours on the road..simply selfish anti highway groups pls tink of the future generation

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 12
    • Jangan persoal Party Hard & the zombies who vote them here, otherwise u will be harangued as BN lapdog or paid trooper.

In other words, jangan persoal

• Wecanonlyhope on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:58 pm

Oh yes the people voted for a caring government and that’s what we hope we have in Pakatan Harapan, not another government that only line the pockets of their cronies and all the yes men and give donations to UMNO in return for favours. To be considered a caring government the small guys (minorities) must be protected and their concerns not be swept aside like flies. After all if it were your home and investment wouldn’t you hope for consideration, fairness and good town planning and not who has more money and brute strength.
      Anyway proponents of DASH are dreaming if they think DASH is the solution to their traffic nightmare! It’s only just beginning!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • It is very easy to support a highway when you are not impacted directly. If you care to understand SNTDs argument is that they are not totally against the highway. They are asking for a joint discussion to find a way that the highway does not have to be built in between 2 condos in DP. They are also asking for better public transportation which is a fair ask considering the lack of it in KL. Please look at the issue in an intellectual critical matter rather than lambasting based on emotions

• Hasrul Aizan on Feb 22, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Not when they do not make proper plan, or build hiways too close to your home or dont consider the safety of the people. Further brings more traffic jams to the surrounding neighborhood.

• anak ampang on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:50 pm

Barua punya pakatan

• 10 reasons why more highways will not help malaysia
      1. You pay more tolls ( concessionaire agreements are not transparent )

2. You pay more for fuel ( oil prices will not say at USD10 per barrel for ever)

3. You pay more for car mantainance

4. You contribute to pollution

5. You will cut down trees along the way

6. More congestions

7. Higher likelihood of more road rage and also accidents

8. More highways give an excuse to poor urban town planning

9. An excuse to not have public transports

10. Poor living conditions

• Emran on Feb 24, 2016 at 9:59 am

Please give your name & housing area to state government & Prolintas. Next time it will be easy for them to build a new highway since I’m sure you will be happy to surrender your land to them.

• bye2 pakatoons..

• gonggok on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:58 pm

NIMBYism at work. This is the new culture. Have to make everyone happy. The noisiest wins no matter how few they are. Nothing will get done.

• This is Party Hard style. Even if u 1 person, if u shout loud enuff, some will get brainwash

• MEX highway is not being used by all… u must understand there will be higher cost of living and non transparency of concessionaires with highways

• azhar on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:03 pm

hypocrite DP residents!…yet they used MEX h’way that is mere 5 metres away from houses in Sri Petaling

• MEX highway is not being used by all… u must understand there will be higher cost of living and non transparency of concessionaires with highways

• anak ampang on Feb 22, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Kita minta YB Azmin Ali turun dari kerusi sebagai MB.
    Dua sudah banyak menyusahkan kami.Dah nak ambil rumah kami.Janji tak ada Tol.Sekarang memutarbelitkan fakta dan kata ini dari BN.
    Barua BN seperti ini patut turun.Kami tak langsung untung dari projek ini.Tambahan kesusahan kepada kami dan keluarga jami.Undur Azmin

• Hasrul Aizan on Feb 22, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Why is it the actual plan not made accessible to public? Why is the secrecy surrounding this project.