Honda NSX configurator goes live – productivity falls

Honda NSX configurator 1

Happy Friday! With the weekend almost upon us, we’ve discovered how you can spend your remaining minutes in the office productively – by playing with the newly-introduced Honda NSX configurator of course! Just make sure the boss isn’t around when you do so.

Interested? Then head on over to this link and start clicking away. The configurator allows you modify various aspects of the car. While most of the options here are purely visual, there are some that is focused on enhancing the car’s performance.

In the US, where the Honda NSX is referred to as the Acura NSX, the hybrid sports car’s price starts at the USD$156,000 (RM657,672) mark. However, toy around within the configurator, and you’ll soon find out that the price tag can escalate quite rapidly. If you’re more interested in how the car drives, our resident sports car maestro is on hand to give you the lowdown on Honda’s latest and greatest.

For instance, if Curva Red isn’t the shade of red that entices you, how about Valencia Red Pearl? Yours, for an additional USD$6,000 (RM25,295). Need new wheels to replace the “boring” Y-spoke ones? There are three options available, each priced at USD$1,500 (RM6,323).

Other add-ons for the exterior include an exterior sport package (front bumper lip, side skirt lips and rear diffuser), a decklid and engine cover, all made of carbon-fibre. If you want all three options, that’ll be an additional USD$15,600 (RM65,767).

But wait, there’s more! Once you’re done making your dream NSX look good on the outside, it’s time to customise the car’s interior. Options include semi-Aniline leather seats instead of the standard Milano leather/Alcantara combo, Alcantara headliner and more carbon-fibre.

Even so, the customisation stops short of the car’s hybrid powertrain, which consists of a mid-mounted 3.5 litre DOHC twin-turbo V6 driving the rear wheels, assisted by a rear Direct Drive Motor. Combined, the system offers 573 hp and 645 Nm.

There is just too many options to list out here. Therefore, we decided to tick every available option, including all the accessories, which include USD$1,200 (RM5,059) floor and trunk mats, to see how high the number will go. We got up to USD$220,489 (RM929,548)! That’s still cheaper compared to NSX #001 that was auctioned off for US$1.2 million (RM5 million). Have a go at the configurator, and let us know how expensive your dream NSX will be.

GALLERY: Acura NSX

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 26, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Hmm this baby is going to cost more than the AMG GTS when it arrives here in Bolehland but it’s a legend by all means….its the NSX we’re talking about!

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:15 am

Only a man who has stolen RM2.6 billion will spend that kind of money on a car with such an expensive price tag and options.

• Or a man who stole 3 billion from 1 state alone…

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 28, 2016 at 2:19 am

Really? And macc, pdrm, bnm et al dunno anything about the money laundering actions of the opposition? Thats the height of ineptitude! So proud these bn troopers spread rubbish without realizing they’re spitting on their own faces lol

• Topkek Party Hard supporter wan pipu to forget the real purpose of Kajang Move. Hey, if its state sponsored and the state happens to be ruled by Party Hard, how does pdrm, macc, bnm, icac, fbi gonna charge them? Thats same reason why its not illegal to get 2.6 billion from arabs.

Oh btw, interesting that u took a Kunta Kinte persona, cuz it was proven to be a hoax, including the backstory too. So does it mean u and what ur saying is a hoax too?

• Really an unobtrusively beautiful exterior packaged with high levels of power and tech with Honda’s look readily evident. Nice… congrats H!