GALLERY: Lexus GS 200t Luxury facelift in showroom

Lexus GS 200t 1

Announced earlier today, the facelifted Lexus GS is now in showrooms, so we popped by the Mutiara Damansara showroom to take a closer look at the updated executive sedan – now with a new turbocharged four-cylinder engine.

The unit shown here is the GS 200t Luxury, the middle child of the turbocharged GS range, priced at RM484,100 on-the-road without insurance. Also available is the base RM439,200 GS 200t Premium, as well as the RM496,100 GS 200t F Sport; all are powered by a 2.0 litre turbo four-pot delivering 241 hp and 350 Nm, sent to the rear wheels via an eight-speed automatic transmission.

Looking for a V6-powered model? You’ll have to pay RM543,400 for the naturally-aspirated GS 350 Luxury or RM562,510 for the GS 350 F Sport. Those looking for a hybrid model can also opt for the GS 300h, priced at a whopping RM631,700.

Revisions include new headlights, a reprofiled spindle grille, revised tail lights graphics and a new diffuser insert in the rear valence, complete with integrated dual exhaust outlets. Externally, the Luxury variants are distinguished by the Triple-L-Shape LED headlights and 18-inch multi-spoke alloy wheels, as opposed to regular automatic self-levelling bi-LED headlights and 17-inch alloys on the GS 200t Premium.

Lexus GS 200t 2

Inside, there’s a new multifunction three-spoke steering wheel, as well as a revised Remote Touch Interface that is more user friendly, with a revamped interface and added shortcut buttons.

Standard kit includes auto wipers, keyless entry, push-button start, cruise control, paddle shifters, a power-adjustable steering column and 10-way power-adjustable front seats with lumbar support, heating and ventilation, as well as a memory function on the driver’s side. Also included is dual-zone automatic climate control, an eight-inch centre display and a 12-speaker Lexus Premium sound system.

The Luxury models tack on a smart card key system for the keyless entry, uprated Luxury trim for the interior, a wood-trimmed steering wheel, triple-zone climate control with Nanoe ioniser, a larger 12.3-inch display (now with a new full-width map view for the navigation system), a 17-speaker Mark Levinson sound system and 18-way adjustment for the front seats, both with the memory function and four-way lumbar support.

Lexus GS 200t 19

Curiously, there’s no seat heating on the Luxury variants, which, as mentioned, are standard on the Premium model – you only get ventilation on the more expensive models. Also missing is a powered bootlid, a strange omission on a near-RM500k machine.

Safety kit across the range consists of ten airbags, a rear-view camera, and the full suite of Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management systems, incorporating VSC stability control, ABS, Brake Assist and traction control. The GS 200t Luxury and F Sport add on a Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert. There’s still no autonomous emergency braking nor adaptive cruise control on any model, however.

So, there you have it – the facelifted Lexus GS 200t Luxury. What do you think of the revamped Japanese sedan, and does it have what it takes to tackle the competitive executive market? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• vomit on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Hideous black fish with big fins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Ganesh on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Japanese car for RM$631k?

BMW 730li is RM$599k. Merc S400h is RM$630k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Wow this car alone is so damn beautiful compared to all merzs combined…esp those ugly headlights of all merzs…one design fits all…kudos lexus u”ve made it…make asia proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
  • BeemerFreak on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:13 pm

No thanks. For 600k it can only be the W222 S400h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Want heating seat for what lleehhh???? Still feel our Malaysia is not HOT enough & wanna “charcoal” our ass!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Alamak on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:37 pm

This is for the times I am making out with my gf in the car on a rainy night on a cold night in Genting Highlands. Can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Madness, 484k for a sedan that feels less spacious in terms of headroom compared to the E class and 5er, next please.

Once again, UMW moving backwards. Whatever they are having I think I need some too to digest that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • alien on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:28 pm

To be fair, the GS is CBU compared to the CKD E-Class and 5 series. So of course it gets taxed much higher, hence the higher price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • dugongx on Mar 01, 2016 at 9:31 pm

BUllshit la Lexus!! The all new BMW 730Li is only 598k and is CBU as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • sudonano (Member) on Mar 02, 2016 at 5:59 am

The CBU argument gets invalidated by the A6 which comes in as fully built as well (from Germany), as well as the new 7 series, which is a larger car, with more tech, and is also from Germany as well.

• Why lexus bothers? Nobody gonna buy one anyway

• kingsley on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Can’t believe the ugly rear air con vent is exist on this >RM400K car.

• Crazy pricing. Who would choose a Gs350h over the latest 730Li for similar price?

• Jimmy on Mar 02, 2016 at 12:05 am

Those who chosed Yamaha GP.

People laugh at you, of course not in front of your face.

• 1Kangkung Malaysia on Mar 01, 2016 at 9:48 pm

why the front bumper sides kemek ah???

• omegle on Mar 01, 2016 at 9:49 pm

I’m a bit confused. Don’t they have ES? Which is also a e-class competitor but with C-class price. Now they have this GS which is also e-class competitor…

• Sammy Loo on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:07 pm

ES is FWD and is a comfort bias family mid-size sedan which has got no competitor from Mercedes and BMW at the moment.

GS is the competitor for the 5 series and the E class, with the comfort of an E class and the driving dynamic like the 5 series plus the reliability of Japanese. This is the Japanese answer to the German for the mid-size luxury sports sedan.

• dugongx on Mar 02, 2016 at 2:26 am

For the price of a Lexus GS300h at 631k I can buy both the E200 and 520i. And both can easily smoke this slowpoke lexus. UMW must be high n drugs !

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:49 am

lexus is here just for the presence only. its biggest market is USA. it doesnt bother at all about what you say.

towards end of 2015 lexus sold 247,000. BMW sold 249,956 for the first nine months of the year, while the Mercedes-Benz brand was right there with 249,890 units.

malaysia nothing.

• transformer on Mar 01, 2016 at 10:03 pm

front looks like Predator(movie)
    interior looks very high quality BUT old fashion and dull
    rear overly done

GS target customer will chose E instead

• markgoh on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:37 pm

if come with 3.5L/3.0L + twin turbo….
    and price below 500K…

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 02, 2016 at 12:25 am

Looks good but it’ll be rare on the road….very rare. For the kind of price they are asking, only loyalists will go for it. For the rest of us there’s the CKD S400h and the CBU 730Li – both which are a segment above this GS. UMW must still be high on drugs.

• May I know why, Lexus malaysia, the rational behind these massive price hike? Who are you to charge price above RM400K for a base model? Even Teutonic doesnt have the balls to do it. Do u think your face-lifted version cost these much? 1st was IS now GS. No wonder your sales is so low. I, anytime, will go for Germans.

• The biggest highlight is actually the engine. The older 2.5 V6 was very fuel inefficient and underpower.
    Other then that, there is not enough to segregate this from the prefacelift.
    And the price… nvm…

• Wood trim steering wheel? This car is so ah pek

• stasta on Mar 02, 2016 at 3:00 pm

is this a drivers car or a car to be chaffuered in ? why are there no controls for the rear air con ? a peugeot 508 which is one-third the price also has 4 zone climate control.

• This car is to drive.
    to be driven you are better to look at the ES.

• not sure on Jan 25, 2017 at 7:22 pm

i like this car…really nice n for sure its rare…but the price was high for that such 2.0cc car…they are getting crazy now…haiyaa