Mercedes-Benz CLA250 Sport 4Matic in M’sia, RM269k

Mercedes-Benz CLA250 Sport 4Matic Malaysia  001

At long last, we now have the Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Sport 4Matic in Malaysia, priced at RM268,888 (on-the-road without insurance). It slots in above the non-AMG Line-kitted CLA 200, which goes for RM233,888. So what does the even RM35k premium get you?

The biggest change, of course, is under the bonnet. Out goes the CLA 200’s 156 hp/250 Nm 1.6 litre turbo engine, replaced by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo mill with 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque – the same motor found in the A 250 Sport. Drive goes to all four wheels (hence the 4Matic in the name, unlike the front-wheel drive CLA 200/A 250) via a 7G-DCT dual-clutch transmission.

All that added power and traction means that the CLA 250 Sport 4Matic is considerably quicker than the base model. Zero to 100 km/h is done in just 6.6 seconds, and it goes all the way to 250 km/h. The CLA 200 needs 8.5 seconds to reach 100 km/h, and it tops out at 210 km/h.

As is obvious from the photos, the full AMG Line package comes standard on the CLA 250 Sport. This includes an all-around bodykit (with red Sport highlights), front grille with chrome pins, 18-inch five-spoke AMG wheels (same as on the A 250 Sport) and perforated front disc brakes with red calipers.

Compared to the CLA 200, this one gets a dash of chrome around the windows, as the Night Package is not specified here. As an extension, the side mirrors are finished in body colour instead of black on the lower model. Look closely at the bi-xenon headlamps, and you’ll see that it also gets the Intelligent Lighting System (auto high beam control).

Inside, the CLA 250 Sport offers plenty of red highlights – on the circular air con vents, seat/steering wheel stitching and seat belts – to match the A 250 Sport. Dinamica microfiber/leather combination seats are also on offer as part of the AMG Line/Sport package, as is a flat-bottomed sports steering wheel and alloy pedals.

Click to enlarge spec sheet.

Everything else stays the same as per the CLA 200. Audio 20 with an eight-inch screen is standard, along with Bluetooth, manual air conditioning and auto start/stop. Automatic headlamps and wipers, powered front seats with memory function and auto park assist are also included. As before, keyless entry is still missing.

You can compare the CLA models in detail on CarBase.my. So, do you think this Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Sport 4Matic is worth the price premium?

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz CLA 200

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:04 pm

That’s a lot of kit for 35k, kudos to MBM for that. The engine and 4 wheel drive alone is considered a big upgrade and everyone knows the ECU can be tuned for higher output and yes keyless entry and reverse camera should be standard in any vehicle costing above 200k….take note MBM, BMW and Audi Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • DeadUgly on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Turtle shell on wheels

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • digidigi on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:57 pm

keyless entry is now standard from 320i onwards. the big let down for this 230k car is manual aircon

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 30, 2016 at 8:54 am

Even cars like Hyundai Elanta at RM80k also got keyless entry

• Wiwiwiwiw on Mar 30, 2016 at 12:10 am

Ya, but the aircond control is still the manual rotary twist control you find in their old 70s W123. Even the Mitsubishi Mirage has an automatic climate control. Shame on you MB Malaysia!

• mamad on Mar 30, 2016 at 7:53 am

i dont really bother about the auto air-cond as even with 4-zone a/c, i still override the auto settings… higher/ lower fan speed, lower temp, etc. depending on situation.
        the keyless entry is a must lah!
        Great value at RM35k more… 2.0 engine with 4Matic… bravo!

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:07 am

again, Malaysians are cheated. Sell so expensive but give manual controls. Is this CKD? CKD also can price at Rm270k?

• Same L0rr on Mar 30, 2016 at 7:53 am

Buy Lexus better.. Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Goodman on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:06 pm

my Audi A3 Quattro is clearly better inside out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
  • still manual airconds are you fking kidding me on a 270k car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • still feels this car looks weird esp from the from quarter view…rear quarter is ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • P Selvi on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Manual aircond heheh

• shawal ali on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:48 pm

when a honda city has a nicer aircond switches than merc….

• shawal ali on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Just go for d full phat c300 xperience

• DCT (Dual Clutch Transmission) any pros & con advise??

• pros
      – fast shifting
      -better than 8 speed

cons
      -maybe if broken cost alot

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:09 am

Like VW DSG, if it is dry, then sure it will breakdown

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 29, 2016 at 11:12 pm

DCT….are you sure the regular auto drivers know how to drive a Manual?

• Sammy Loo on Mar 30, 2016 at 12:18 am

Even the Honda City has got automatic aircond, a 10 year old 1.6E Altis also has it, what happen Mercedes? This is call luxury?

• looks very uncle-ish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Josh Ling on Mar 30, 2016 at 3:12 am

will choose a c-class over this anytime. c-class may not be as handsome, but the cabin is wwwwaaaayyyyy classier and wwwaaaaayyyyy more spacious than cla-class, not forgetting it has a proper keyless entry system.

and it’s still a good-looking merc. so i know which one i want more, way more.

• applegreen on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:00 am

CLA250 vs C200 which one better buy?

• Balakong on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:50 am

with 250K..Rakyat rather buy Camry Hybrid + Vios. high Quality, RV guaranteed

• Gracke on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:38 am

Of course is C200(C-Class)! Not better…is not so bad!

• if you ask me, c200 will be me choice because:
      – larger room space inside, especially the backseat space
      – bigger car, more comfortable for the driver and the passengers for long drive
      – rear wheel drive handling car

• Josh Ling on Mar 30, 2016 at 4:44 pm

definitely C200 anytime. sorry, you just need to see the cars and sit in the cars (both cars) for yourself, and i think you will know why people are recommending c-class instead of cla-class.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:53 am

Don’t buy this!
    Facelift CLA is coming .

• Deadpool on Mar 30, 2016 at 9:57 am

seriously? no keyless? manual air-cond? for a 270k cars? two wheels ride also going keyless now, at least my bicycle keyless and auto-air cond LOL

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:05 am

I’d rather take the C200 avantgarde model which is RM20k cheaper and is a rung higher in the Mercedes food chain. The C Class is bigger and has a proper smooth and luxurious gearbox. It’s slower to 100 km/h (by around 1 second – if that is important) and has lower top speed, but at least it’s a proper RWD Mercedes. The CLA has AWD, but most of the time it’s FWD. Power only gets routed to the rears when there is slip detected. Correct me if I’m wrong, but its not a permanent AWD like Quattro in the A4 models and above.

• anonymous on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:07 am

Finally they launched it here. However, there’s a facelifted has been debuted in the globe. It’s better to wait for the facelifted ones because there are changes in suspension tuning and transmission update that gives more comfy and responsive drive.

Btw, I heard the MB salesperson said this vehicle needs RON 97 minimum to run, is it real?

• Bring back Bangle on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:44 am

The CLA250 is going head on against the BMW 2 series coupe here, how about a comparison road test although the beemer is 2 door. BMW should bring in the 4 door 2 series Gran Coupe which somehow looks better than its 2 door sibling.

• I don’t know why would anyone even consider this car.. ride is lumpen..gearbox doesn’t know what the hell it’s doing most of the time…the quality in the cabin is lower compared to A class and GLA.. the soundproofing for the engine for some reason is less than the other 2 as well…It feels really rushed and as if Merc just wanted a model in that segment..Feels underdeveloped

it’s one of the worst products Merc is selling now..avoid at all costs…it’s not even worth it even if it’s rarer….

• Agreed. MB is selling for the exterior or styling. The cabin is noisy. Steering is numb. And the dual clutch is lagging. Sit in a c class and you will definitely feel it.

• the design really suitable for uncle

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Mar 30, 2016 at 4:31 pm

IMHO the design is nice but not fit this body width. looks awful in real. body too narrow.

• Merah on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:42 pm

I’ve no idea y people wud ever compare between cla and c class ? Eventhough the price range are almost the same, somehow different segment and different target. Cla is for the younger people ard 20-30 yrs old ++and c class are more towards to the 30++ years old and above. This is a coupe somehow to make it more daily usage, they add on 4 doors on it. C class is a sedan, of course the inner space are mich larger compare to a coupe.