Taxis will go extinct if apps are not banned – cabbies

Malaysia-Taxi-02

Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association deputy chairman Kamarudin Mohd Hussain warned that taxis will go extinct if the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) does not resolve ride-sharing apps soon, The Sun Daily reports.

He warned that an increasing number of taxi driver are leaving the industry as their incomes are diminishing. “I have been told in closed door meetings with taxi companies that they now have several unused cars as their drivers have left. If this goes on any longer, cabs will start dying off shortly,” Kamarudin said.

With that, the deputy chairman called on a full ban of ride-sharing apps because of this. He also noted that it is unfair that taxi drivers could see their licenses suspended if they violated the Road Transport Act, while Uber or GrabCar drivers could get away without any penalties.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

Kamarudin also lamented about the stoppage of new taxi licences to prevent over-saturation as stated by SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar back in 2013. “If you give Uber and GrabCar licenses, what do you think will happen?” Kamarudin questioned.

Meanwhile, president of Persatuan Pengguna Islam Malaysia (PPIM), Datuk Nadzim Johan stated that SPAD’s indecisiveness had brought unease among taxi drivers. “This Uber and GrabCar issue has been going on for more than a year, and we have received many complaints from taxi drivers who have had their incomes reduced,” he said.

On that note, he emphasised that while the NGO is on the fence regarding the matter, the president urged for SPAD to take immediate action like introducing comprehensive regulations. He also brought up the fact that both Uber and GrabCar need not go through stringent qualification and licensing processes to provide their services, adding that this is extremely unfair to taxi drivers.

KL06_181115_PEMANDU_TEKSI

“Do drivers from Uber or GrabCar have licenses? Are they fit to drive? Do they have criminal records? We don’t know that because these are not requirements,” he said. He claimed that these are dangerous risks for consumers if they are involved in accidents as the driver’s burden of responsibility is not as great as a taxi driver’s.

The president acknowledged however, that while consumers will always seek out low prices, taxi drivers have valid grouses too. He suggested that Uber and GrabCar drivers form a company where they all have equal shares to operate legally.

The president also said that this is but just the tip of the iceberg of what’s to come once the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA) comes into full-force as major companies seek to eliminate local competition. So guys, what do you think of all this? Share with us your opinion in the comments section below.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• The Tremoloes on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:06 pm

And thats bad because…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 1
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Malaysian teksi drivers will go extinct because of 4 things.

1) constantly digging their nose. Whether got gold or no gold, they are perpetually digging their noses. they continue to do so even when passengers are sitting in the car. Then even when passengers are looking, they paste the gold on the dash board.

2) While driving with passengers at the back, the driver can use 2 twenty cents coins as tweezers. He will be plucking his chin hair or facial hair whilst riving the car. This is the epitome of multitasking

3) If there is a lady in the back wearing skirt, the teksi driver will talk filthy things or sexual connotations. Half the time, he will turn behind to talk to the lady put try to peep into her skirt. If he does not do that, he is looking at the back mirror to try again to peep into the lady’s skirt.

4) All teksi drivers in Malaysia work as part time pimp helpers. Any male passenger go into any teksi, they always ask, “mahu perempuan?” It seems this is the No 1 way teksi drivers in Malaysia earn a living. They get commission from brothels and pimps if they bring clients.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:17 pm

In a modern business world, bad service of course close shop. What so surprise? We don’t reckless taxi drivers on the road. Don’t over estimate yourself!

• Uber and Grab are haram, PERS1M is halal. Let’s support our taxi drivers like how we support Proton

• Thai teksi drivers also do that what. Why not support our local pimp industry?

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Going extinct !!! That’s a good thing, right!! Bad condition car, no absorber, overcharging……the list goes on-nd on.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Dinosaurs are gone and we are OK because they left oil and gas. Taxis gone for sure we are OK, more disposable income, more iswara wira waja scrap metal to recycle, more thugs off the road, no more taxi queue jamming up the city and more room for other auto news report for Paultan..Alhamdulillah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
    • hahaha on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:51 pm

bring on the apps and the champagne….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • donno on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:10 pm

I don’t hear abang becha fret about taxis taking over their lifehood 50 years ago. Evolve with times or you will be extinct

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 1
    • d33y4 on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:11 pm

It is basic human nature to go for the absolute best value for your money. These taxi drivers are REALLY pretending hard to not understand this. They put in NGV tanks for the convenience of fuel savings, while burdening their customers with similar/higher fare rates and less capacity. The people have chosen an alternative that conveniences them. Go ahead with the pretense, and disappear.

• Gargantia on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:12 pm

“Are they fit to drive? Do they have criminal records?” said Nadzim… Ask yourself back regard the taxi driver recent act on Bukit Bintang… Gangsters taxi and Gangster boss !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Datuk gargantia,u r right,3000 percent.
      1.Sack the botak
      2.Get all existing taxi,grabcar,uber drivers..resit all relevant tests,send car for inspections,properly insured etc.
      3.when all properly vetted,then u know how many tokok gangsters remain(small number left)
      4.All these can be done in 1 month.But now,it has dragged more than 1 year.
      5.Apa mau lagi,botak? Insaf lah,undur diri like our Tun.

• Gargantia on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Buddy Albert, Rakyat really need to stand up against the Gangsterism taxi drivers and the people’s that protect them. Why Rakyat / customers can’t choose for more affordable ride???

• mr taxi on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:15 pm

If Mr Nadzim dont say that he will be attack by these Mr. Taxi thugs…so no choice have to say something to help lar.
      If Mr Nadzim as a normal person go take teksi sure he will know what most common malaysia local suffered.

• xxxxxxxx on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:13 pm

GOOD !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Good riddance. The people have voted with their wallet, taxi samseng gi mampos!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • hahaha on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:52 pm

then again… they might retire as taxi drivers and rempit instead. not sure which is worse… hmmm… food for thought

• Ex Pengguna Teksi on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:13 pm

And me, as a driver of Uber Malaysia, declares that the extinction of taxis will be the best thing ever happen of my life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
  • If you can’t provide good service, who cares you go extinct

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
  • 4G63T DSM on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Another day….another grouse from Taxi drivers.

Yet I see no action from them to tackle the issue why customers don’t like to take Taxis.

Dengki much? perhaps you might want to improve yourselves before blaming other people.

The public is not sympathetic to your cause.

And no, taxis wont disappear, you will.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • sohhai on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Best piece of news I’ve heard for a while….taxis will go extinct. Amen to that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • “Taxis will go extinct if apps are not banned – cabbies”

Is that a problem? Don’t you think it is a good thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • dodgeviper88 on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:22 pm

‘With that, the deputy chairman called on a full ban of ride-sharing apps because of this. He also noted that it is unfair that taxi drivers could see their licenses suspended if they violated the Road Transport Act, while Uber or GrabCar drivers could get away without any penalties.’ HAHAHA joke of the century. Taxi drivers are like little napoleans. While Uber & GrabCar drivers are regulated by passengers, which is much stricter as passengers can pretty much rate you off the system by not liking your face

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • And that’s our problem because………….????

• malaysian view on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Extinct lolz?

actually if the malaysia taxi using meter and keep their car clean always, i am sure UBER or GRABCAR cant take over the taxi business at all.

I think if those taxi register to the apps, GRAB (previously known as MyTaxi) their business will still can go on. mayb better.

the hooligan way will just keep the customer to avoid taxi. the worse is there are still lots of taxi driver who use meter but bad business due to those hooligan taxi driver attitude which drag down malaysia taxi name.

• camtakpro on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Unable to change or evolve to a better and more fitting state will subject to extinction.

• how soon can we celebrate?

• Say No to Taxi on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Taxi can go to hell, no one cares!

• They can go extinct, no one would give a batshit. Either they up their game, or they leave the game before being trampled by other competitors.

• guest on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:49 pm

I sincerely hope kl city will be rid of these thugs. Creating jam with their unnecessary demos and always taking customers for granted

But it’ll only be a dream because everyone knows at the end of the day they’ll still be protected because they got certain political figures backing their actions

• Albert on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Rakyat be careful,the next thing, they will ask gomen for GRANT,like ailing protong.
    This may be another 3 billion rm down the drain.

• shida wati on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:04 pm

cuba fikir…pernah ke proton protes bila kerajaan perkenalkan perodua? pernah ke mcd malaysia protes bila burger king dibuka? pernah ke ramly burger protes mcd sebab jual burger kpd rakyat malaysia? mereka di atas tak pernah protes sebab mereka cerdik dan profesional…prinsip yg dipegang adalah ‘customer akan datang kalau service bagus’…..hanya manusia yang bodoh dan sombong sahaja yg nak dominasi sesuatu market tanpa cermin diri sendiri…dan golongan yang bodoh sombong itu adalah pemandu teksi…percayalah kalau uber dan grabcar pupus skalipun, teksi tetap tak laku kalau servis masih ditakuk lama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Crasher7 on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:10 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! Suck it up, cabbie operators and drivers! Welcome to the real world, adapt/change or die!

• Lolol on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:12 pm

All this press release this and that all focuses on the wrong issues. Nothing has been said about improving service and banning errand taxi drivers from quoting high rates as opposed to using the meter.

And on the road, taxi drivers are terrible drivers. Never use meters and making illegal u turns and stop when and where they want to. And when u flash at them, they even give u shit finger gestures to say that they are right all the time. To these taxi drivers, serve them right for all those years of holding us commuters ransom.

• Chingu on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Extinct!? Well please do, with more buses and mrt, lrt komuter, we hardly need a taxi. If we need one, we call uber……

• azrai on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:16 pm

I suggest all Malaysian taxi drivers dump their taxis, return them back to the consortium (Naza, Sunlight,etc) and sign up to be an UBER driver. This is the way you should protest at the first place.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Govt already backing Uber n Grab..if taxi died no hal.

• Johairi on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:22 pm

If you cant compete then you might as well go extinct. Serve you ppl right for always trying to slaughter customers by not using meters. Just like Proton, if you cant compete then you deserve to close shop!

• asian view on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:23 pm

only gangster taxi driver will extinct. those using meter taxi will survive.

those taxi drive actually can opts to use GRAB (previously known as MyTeksi) apps to get customer.

• funny dislikes on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Look at all the dislikes by the taxi driver! haha pity you.

• Adrian on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Normal taxis are burdened by the SPAD, JPJ, operator licenses and other licenses that they have to pay BEFORE being eligible to draw lots for a license. They feel the heat because they have to conform to these licenses before actually earning anything.

Then UBER, GRABCAR and BLACKLANE comes in bypassing all these requirements, and giving the driver the opportunity to earn without licenses. Any earnings from the meter are divided among the driver and the SPAD/authority who will check the meter for discrepancies or cost variations. If I was a taxi driver, I’d make noise as well.

However, the reaction from the local taxi drivers have been almost negative. If I was a disgruntled driver, I’d join UBER and GRABCAR and try to find a workaround to bypass the meter. As it is, local taxis are not allowed to operate outside of their licensed area, and if they are caught, their license is revoked.

SPAD is getting heat, because they imposed all these rules to safeguard the drivers earnings, but with UBER and GRABCAR, all these restrictions are bypassed. Who wouldn’t be pissed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Carbonman on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Change is the only constant. If you don’t evolve and change with time, you’ll go extinct. Abacus goes extinct with invention of calculator. Even gigantic industry Nokia has to go extinct when it failed to change with time.

Grouse you may, but Change you must if you want to be relevant with time.

• Angry Bird on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Think they should drive wheelchair or tongkat, instead of cab.

• Fafau80 on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Like Cambodian tigers…extinct. The problem here we got lots of taxi permits given to secure political post of a person or political parties. It is now out of control to have better services and quality, thus UBER & Grabcar comes as an alternatives.
    To Malaysian taxi operators, go a learn from our neighbour, Singapore.

• Uber_Driver on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Actually, why don’t they all boycott taxi company instead because they have to pay so much on licensing and car daily rental.

And start converting themselves to become a UBER driver?

• anonymous on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Actually there are taxis that run with Grab, offered as MyTeksi the most affordable option.

Hence, instead of fighting for what’s irrelevant, the cabbies should work together with booking apps like Grab to ensure their equal opportunity in the commuting service industry.

Also, not forgetting, re-evaluating their fees, cabs, and etc to provide equal comfort and affordability with the other service providers.

• -BigBalls- on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:05 pm

And we Malaysians have been waiting for that day to happen.

Now moving on to other things which should have been extinct like Proton, BN, Racist Ministers etc……..

-BigBalls-

• circle of life on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:08 pm

The sooner the better.
    Parasites and viruses.
    Old cars, smelly, filthy and most are arrogant.

• Support Gov or support taximen? Hmmmm…..

• Deadpool on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:13 pm

another nonsense. threaten us by using the extinction of conventional taxi? go ahead and extinct. we are not seek for cheaper and easier access taxi, we are looking for safe and reliable with fair price taxi, cab. you this nvr self-improve bad attitude money sucker old smelly taxi driver please shut up. government side too, suck money from malaysians indirectly by letting cronies be the middle men for releasing taxi licences.

• roxas on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:33 pm

i dont mind as a driver. they drive like idiot., cause chaos, create bad image to the country, not even working hard to earn money, then blaming the competition. pls go extinct !!

• Wow… love this piece of news…
    gua sudah tension… i will use Uber more often!

• red cicak on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:43 pm

The current taxi drivers will not be extinct but the UMNO crony taxi companies will be extinct. Hopefully this happens quickly.

The drivers can continue as Uber or Grabcar drivers. If you can beat them might as well join them. Of course, now these drivers will be held to a much higher standard without any chance to cheat or behave badly.

• I remember 20yrs ago I wanna take a cab from Subang Parade back to Usj 6 the taxi driver charged me RM10. ASk him to use meter he drive off. To those are honest taxi driver please do yourself a favour, join UBER or GRABCAR.

• Jobless on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Watch Animal Planet or NatGeo Wild?? Its about survival of the fittest, losers go extinct

• Plainbullshit on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Good, this is what we called survival of the fittest

• Khairul on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Let them go extinct by them own ego and stupidity.

• mango on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:39 pm

if you cant win them, join them or just go extinct..
    those taxi drivers got a choice if they want to join uber or not.

• mr taxi on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Dear Mr. Taxi driver, you sucks that is the reason people choose other transport. Ask most malaysia local they will say you sucks.

I wonder why police dont send these Mr. Taxi thugs to lockup/fine since they obstructing roads and act like bully.

Hope you Mr.Taxi go extinct. Ask the people to vote they will rather you Mr.Taxi go extinct if you dont change your attitude.

• Nvm… uber grab car and others will rise.. I definitely won’t shed a tear

• As the taxi driver are all angel, never commit crime or what ever wrong doing. Why not this fella do some study why uber getting more customer and try to upgrade your taxi service like uber. Its normal la, customer will look for value for money service.

• Imagine on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Imagine no more taxi suddenly stop in a no stop zone

Imagine no more taxi cutting in your lane, since driver don’t care. Not his/her car

Imagine no one double park at bus stop and bus get to stop there

Imagine the no more smelly car

Imagine the picture on the license and the driver face look so different

Imagine your fear while riding in the taxi. Especially single female.

Imagine no more sticker on the back of the taxi saying “Catch a cheating spouse” !!!

• Thank god. They finally got the message

• IDHWater on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Extinct as in “Pupus”?

Go register themselves with WWF (World Wide Fund for Nature), maybe they can be saved and put into reservation center

• Saitam on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:21 pm

this people complain so much but they never once admit that the taxis are breaking the law everyday by not following meter and picky in customers.

Is the survival of the fittest, the law has never changed.
    If you can’t fulfill market needs at a competitive price, then you ‘pupus’ lah.
    Why should taxi industry be different?

• Even with such risks for uber and grabcar, customers still choose them over taxis. Does that not prove anything to spad and taxis drivers? Instead of banning the apps, why don’t they step up as well. Its 2016 and not everyone has the time to wait by the side of the road in getting a taxi. Instead of terminating the competition, improve themselves to offer more to the customers. The customers already made their choosing, why don’t they try to meet the customer’s demands instead of waiting the officials to ‘solve’ their problem.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:33 pm

issue taxi license to the drivers themselves.

the company are the root cause of issue, not 100 taxi drivers are bad..many pakcik are victims too.

check how much they pay for a proton saga rent and you know its worst than day light robbery

• Mr Fakta on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Taxi vs grab/uber is like Umno vs Pakatan harapan….go figure. Pas is like kereta lembu, mostly irrelevant.

• So what?
    Who cares?
    Bye bye lousy taxi.

• Bernard on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Let us help by making sure they go extinct ….. It will make Msia a better place for sure.

• shaan on Apr 08, 2016 at 4:04 am

I have a lot of terrible experiences with these gangster taxi / cab drivers. They are so furious to customer and don’t negotiate the fare more explicitly they don’t want to use the meter most of the time which make customer suffers from and most taxi / cab are out dated. The problem has been sort out since the ride sharing apps introduced and people stop or avoid using taxi. Although grabtaxi has option to choose taxi indeed. So what for are u guys fighting??? Better you guys go to workshop to dumb your car especially 20 years old car otherwise it will be difficult for survive in this competitive business world. Along side start using your meter which has been installed to use not for show piece. Moreover you should focus on your behaviour, how to show manner towards customers. At the end call for a consumers voting what service they prefer? You will get the answer.

• Feeling Unloved on Apr 08, 2016 at 7:38 am

Oh yeah, Extinction…..I support gomen to go for this to reduce thugs on the road……oh ya.
    If you can fight them you join them loh, wee you not taught by our gomen.

• grab grab on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:16 am

hmm… if they extinct, then let the taxi drivers become grab car or uber driver then!
    is that hard to shallow? with better governance on quality of services, it is a win win situation!
    or is there any other kind of agenda or interest to keep taxi on the road?

• ben yap on Apr 08, 2016 at 5:43 pm

i still see so many taxis on the road.

bila mau extinct?

• Mytwocents on Apr 08, 2016 at 6:39 pm

To be honest these cab drivers don’t know how to improvise. They have the balls to speed at 120kmph at a 500m stretch road (I am not joking here, you can ask sunway and monash students) but don’t have the balls to compete when there is competition. All they do is complain, strike and threaten their competitors. WTF! If only they knew that driving a uber or a grabcab can earn them approx rm400 a day and heck it’s better paying than most office jobs!

• i think there are still some empty cages in zoo negara

• ihatetaximalaysia on Apr 11, 2016 at 8:59 am

the Malaysian taxi drivers are the worst in the world other than some exception. the drivers do not maintain their car, they aren’t polite, and the cars sound as if they’re going to explode. the reason why ride share apps such as uber and grab succeed is because people like the better maintained cars from uber and grab. The reason taxi drivers want to continue is due to the scam of overpriced charging for a single ride. taking uber from cova to Giza for grab cost me RM12 and uber RM20. for taxi drivers they charged me once up to RM50 or else they would not go there at the end he still asked for a tip. Malaysian taxi drivers suck…

• Makaziwe on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:27 am

I don’t think they have license and i think they must have one cause they are carrying peoples lives

• The Templar on May 31, 2016 at 12:55 am

Extinct because they are unwanted. Wanted things will not go extinct!