2016 a year of transition, transformation for VW – CEO

e-Golf_20

The Volkswagen Group is systematically pressing ahead with its realignment and will take important steps this year to ensure a successful future, the company said in a release.

“2016 will be a year of transition for Volkswagen. Yet it will also be the year in which we accelerate the transformation and lay the foundations for a new, better Volkswagen,” said Matthias Müller, chairman of the VW board of management yesterday at the presentation of the company’s 2015 annual financial statements.

According to Müller, who is also CEO, the automotive industry is on the cusp of the next big innovative leap and a radical transformation. “We are in a good starting position for this epochal transformation. And we have many strengths to throw into the mix,” he stressed, mentioning among other things the group’s 12 strong brands, technological expertise, global presence, strong focus on quality, committed workforce and sound finances. “We aim to play a key role in designing the mobility world of tomorrow,” he said.

volkswagen-e-golf-with-e-up

However, there’s room for improvement. “Our goal is to make the Volkswagen Group more efficient and faster, more entrepreneurial and courageous, more sustainable and technologically more progressive. That is without question an enormous task, but we are making good progress,” the ex-Porsche head said.

Looking forward, the group is currently working on the further development of its strategy, to be presented mid-year. This will focus on the major fields of future importance in the industry – such as digitalisation, networking, e-mobility and new mobility services.

Müller reaffirmed the goal of playing a key role in e-mobility, with the group planning to launch over 20 additional models by 2020. The VW brand is currently developing its own architecture called Modular Electrification Toolkit, or MEB. The first vehicles produced on the MEB are slated to hit the streets at the end of the decade. “We plan to make electric cars one of Volkswagen’s new hallmarks,” Müller declared.

e-golf_touch_5813

Aside from building and expanding its own resources, VW plans to open itself up more to new partnerships and strategic investments. “The era in which our sector kept itself apart from everything is now over, once and for all. Reservations, solo efforts, or even the illusion of knowing and doing everything better will not help us reach our goals,” said Müller.

The VW boss provided two examples: digitalisation and the field of mobility services. “This is a field with high earnings potential for our industry in the coming years. We want to participate in this as much as we can. We are working hard on very promising ideas in the field of new mobility services. The discussions on this are already at an advanced stage.

“In addition, we will soon form a legally independent, group-wide company to promote business in the mobility services of the future with the necessary speed, entrepreneurial focus and the required agility,” he announced.

VW jetta TDI US-spec

No dodging from the elephant in the room – the software manipulation of diesel engines, where rules were broken and ethical boundaries overstepped. Working through “Dieselgate” will dominate activities at VW this year. Müller said that the most important task in this context is still providing compelling solutions for the customers affected.

“This will remain our most important task until the very last vehicle has been put in order. We sincerely regret this. Also because we know that we have disappointed many people – people who have placed their trust in Volkswagen. We stand by our responsibility. And we are doing everything in our power to regain trust,” he stressed.

The emissions scandal has turned out to be not quite the fatal blow to VW’s growth as some have predicted. The German giant ended the first quarter of 2016 as the world’s top-selling carmaker ahead of Toyota (which was struck with domestic production issues) and has confirmed that a new budget brand for China – which will be its 13th – is on track for a 2018 launch.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BUT NO MENTION ABOUT HONESTY

“Our goal is to make the Volkswagen Group more efficient and faster, more entrepreneurial and courageous, more sustainable and technologically more progressive. That is without question an enormous task, but we are making good progress”

• Same L00 on May 01, 2016 at 1:55 am

Never knew German also learn Proton style “Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok”. Fix your DSG first lar, talk!

• Ex VGM staff on Apr 29, 2016 at 4:39 pm

New partnerships and strategic investment?? Come here please.. Work with proton.

• If they wan to transform, might as well make Michael Bay their CEO. Sure transform kau-kau

• Really on Apr 30, 2016 at 2:38 am

That is not a good idea, man, because Michael Bay is known for one thing. Explosion. LOTS and LOTS of explosions.

• VGM Pls also Transform on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Transform maybe good maybe but in Malaysia, DSG is still a big problem as DSG cannot be used in hot countries.

Unfortunately, to comfort owners whose cars breakdown every other month, VGM gives free car wash to free sweets at traffic lights to now free petrol

Malaysian VW owners don’t want all this nonsense. VW owners want 3 things

1) 10 year Warranty on DSG
    2) Fixed Resale Value after 7 year Loan finished
    3) Free Courtesy Car and Tow Truck 8x a year.

VW owners are still facing problems with their DSG in Malaysia despite using mineral oil. Cars are juddering and breaking down. People buy RM200k car but have to stand in the hot sun waiting for the tow truck to come every other month.

How is VGM going to compensate the 21 anual leave that VW customers completely use to repair and fix problems?

In would be good if VGM also give a fixed trade in value after 7 years cause now, even used car salesman don’t want to touch our cars. Our 2nd hand value has become a joke. Passat 2014 used car dealers are offering RM70k or below. Some are even taking Rm60k.

In the US, each customer might get USD$5000 compensation for their VW junk. I hope VGM compensate the DSG owners in Malaysia too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Kipas angin on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Asyik2 komen benda sama. Org lain dah international, multinational.. Kita tanam ubi lg.. Boring…

• Aku pon heran. Betol ke dsg gearbox problem. Asal keluar cerita vw, asyik2 komplen dsg. Aku tengok sekarang makin berlambak vw atas jalan malaysia ni

• Ribut on May 01, 2016 at 6:25 am

Apa u tau..u tau kipas angin shj..lain tak tau..apa kaitan dgn mnc , intl jika kreta bermasalah…pegi kipas angin lagi…katak di bawah tempurung!!!

• Gua Cina Malaysia on Apr 29, 2016 at 9:31 pm

I’ve been driving a Golf TSI 1.4 since 2011 without any issues, nor had I ever faced any Mechatronics issues and the mileage now is 110,000km. The cluth which was replaced at 90,000km is ok with me since it is a wear n tear item. Heck, my Navara dual clutch worn off at only 20,000km mileage.

• Really on Apr 30, 2016 at 2:34 am

The Navara comes with a dual clutch transmission? You meant the clutch plate for the manual transmission, right? BTW, 20k kms is awfully early for clutch plate replacement. It is either the way you drive or there is an inherent problem with the transmission.

• Samtow on Apr 30, 2016 at 5:50 am

Changing clutch is also an issue!

• automatic on Apr 30, 2016 at 6:04 am

I own a Passat. Very nice car until “loss of while driving”. Scary moment.

http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-12/volkswagen-confirms-australian-car-recall/4747694

• The link that you provided is dated 2013 and refers to cars of 2011 to 2013.

Do you have any update on this ? please dont circulate old news !

• lol i though the title was – 2016, a year of transmission transformation.

Fix your bloody DSG tranny’s you lazy oafs.