Ford Everest now in Malaysia: 2.2 RM199k, 3.2 RM259k

Ford-Everest-Malaysia-Price

We knew everything about the new Ford Everest in Malaysia, except for SUV’s local price. Until now, because Ford Malaysia has revealed that the Thai-made seven-seater is now available in Malaysia, starting from RM198,888 for the 2.2L Trend 2WD. The 3.2L Titanium AWD with all the bells and whistles is yours for RM258,888. Prices are on-the-road excluding insurance.

Previewed at the Ford Go Further roadshow in 1 Utama late last month, the Australian-developed/designed SUV related to the Ford Ranger T6 facelift will have the same engines as the pick-up truck, namely the Puma ZSD-422 2.2 litre four-cylinder Duratorq TDCi engine in the Trend and the P5AT 3.2 litre five-pot Duratorq in the Titanium. The 2.2L does 160 PS and 385 Nm from 1,600 to 2,500 rpm, while the 3.2L makes 200 PS and 470 Nm from 1,750 to 2,500 rpm.

As for transmission, only a single choice on call, as is the case with all ASEAN-region Everest variants (Australia gets a MT82 six-speed manual option), and this is a six-speed SelectShift automatic – the 6R80, which is also seen on the Ranger, has been recalibrated for use in the SUV for improved refinement.

From L-R: Everest 3.2L Titanium AWD, Everest 2.2L Trend 2WD

In terms of equipment, quite a bit of difference between the two variants. Common equipment includes dual-zone air conditioning, cruise control, front and rear fog lamps, painted roof rails, two-way manual adjustment front passenger seats and removable plastic running boards.

The Trend however doesn’t get Ford’s Terrain Management System (TMS) – which has four different modes (Road, Sand, Snow and Rock), all selectable via a dial next to the gear lever – and locking rear differential found on the Titanium. The Everest has 225 mm of ground clearance and class-leading 800 mm water wading capability.

Moving further along, the Titanium features 20-inch wheels (and 265/50 tyres), whereas the Trend runs with 18-inch units and 265/60 rubbers. The front lighting elements are also different on both – the Titanium gets xenon projector headlamps with auto-levelling and LED DRLs, while the Trend is equipped with halogen projector units. Elsewhere, the Titanium is fitted with auto-sensing wipers as well as chromed side mirror covers, the latter painted for the Trend.

Everest 2.2L Trend 2WD

Inside, quite a bit of variance as well. The Trend’s seats are finished in fabric, while leather wraps those found in the Titanium. On the 3.2L, passengers seated in the second row will have access to rear air-con controls and a 230 V three-pin inverter power socket.

The Trend is equipped with a 4.2-inch coloured display and a SYNC 1.1 system with eight speakers in tow, manual adjustment driver’s seat (four-way) and manual-folding third-row 50:50 split-folding seats.

The Titanium adds on ambient lighting, an electrochromic rearview mirror, leather steering wheel and gear knob, a 10-speaker SYNC 2 infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen display, powered driver seat (eight-way adjustable) and one-touch power-folding third-row 50:50 split folding seats. The variant’s door panel trim is also finished in leather.

Everest 3.2L Titanium AWD

Safety-wise, the five-star ASEAN NCAP-rated Titanium gets seven airbags (driver, front passenger, side, curtain, knee), while the Trend omits the side and curtain airbags to make the airbag count three. Otherwise, there’s ESC, ABS, seatbelt reminder and Isofix anchor points (second-row, across all three seats) on both variants, though the Titanium adds front parking sensors, a reverse camera and Ford’s MyKey. The latter allows the programming of various features, such as setting maximum speed, seatbelt reminders and maximum audio volume.

Four exterior colours are listed, two being common to both variants (Aluminium Metallic and Black Mica metallic), with a dedicated colour for each – on the Trend, this is Cool White, while Sunset Metallic is unique to the Titanium. Check out our review of the new Ford Everest, driven in Thailand.

Expensive for a truck-based SUV? That’s the ballpark these days. The new Toyota Fortuner was launched in Malaysia last week with a price range from RM187k to RM200k. The starting price for the Hilux-based SUV is lower, but so is the equipment list for the 2.4 VRZ. The range-topping Fortuner is significantly cheaper than the Everest Titanium, but it has a 2.7 litre petrol engine instead of a burly diesel motor best-suited for these big machines.

The Mitsubishi Pajero Sport will be next, and we’ll see how that one is positioned.

GALLERY: Ford Everest 3.2L Titanium AWD

GALLERY: Ford Everest 2.2L Trend 2WD

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 12:49 pm

OMG what kind of prices are these? Fuyooh. Gila hebat high. But Ford Sime Darby don’t care. They can price it at RM500k also, still got unlimited orders from Government departments and JPJ, Kastam, Immigresen and many many more ministries.

You know who is paying this super high price? You and me. Money that can be used to build more hospitals and schools will be deprived and will go for exorbitant high purchases like this.

Syukurlah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 13
    • johan on May 09, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Toyota Fortuner better laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 35
      • 2 airbags is what you call “better”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
        • UMW TOYOTA on May 09, 2016 at 6:36 pm

2airbag 2kill…6airbag 6kill..

• Sammy Loo on May 09, 2016 at 8:34 pm

2 airbags? You are not paying attention to Paultan news.

• UMW TOYOTA on May 10, 2016 at 12:27 pm

i mean govt rules at least 2airbags..so im promoting vios..2airbag 2kills..honda city more kills..VSC same the car ..airbag kill the passenger..hahahaha

• Better because of 2 airbags?

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 5:29 pm

The people at Sime Darby Motors don’t know how to build a brand. Every Ford they launched has become a big failure (except for Ranger and Fiesta). Sime Darby Motors also behind Hyundai. See Hyundai in Malaysia and see hyundai in US and Australia?

In Australia Hyundai is No 1 overtaking Toyotaik. But in Malaysia, because it is owned by crony lazy GLC Sime Darby, the brand also kaput.

Same with Alfa Romeo etc. Brand kaput. BMW don’t compare. Cause Asians think BMW is status symbol. Even if BMW Malaysia give crap service also, BMW will still do well cause Malaysians want status symbol no matter what.

• applegreen on May 09, 2016 at 3:19 pm

sime darby think this is everest so they can put price at skyhigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Anti-Profiteering Act on May 10, 2016 at 7:06 am

Gila punya harga!

Can it climb over mount Everest kah??!!

• Industry-insider on May 10, 2016 at 7:47 am

who is this idiot muni pariahsamy? everyday see you repeating the same comments very boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • wow. harga syiok sendiri. semua harga model Ford lately gila2 punya markup. Inilah padahnya GLC yang tak tahu apa2 nak buat bisnes kereta juga. stupid pricing. sayang kereta bagus harga talak bagus-syiok sendiri.

• spongewai on May 09, 2016 at 12:50 pm

wow, mahalnya daripada 2nd gen Toyota Fortuner

nobody gonna buy this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on May 09, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Where are these:
      1. Hill descent control
      2. Sunroof
      3. Electrical tailgate.
      4. did I miss the push-start button?

Today Riggit now is 5.88. That’s why.

Some gomen servants will become rich.

• UMW TOYOTA on May 10, 2016 at 12:28 pm

what for 2nd hand..bcoz no RV..100k sapsap water for a 3yrs everest

• seancorr (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Mad pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Bernard on May 09, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Ridiculous pricing!

It should be sold below 100k….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
  • Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 12:52 pm

MBPJ sure to order this car lambak lambak. No problem, just sign cheque. G to G. One crony, Sime Darby, helping another crony MBPJ.

Any public waiting to buy, just wait 3 years, like the previous Everest and Escape, this car from RM259k will drop to RM60k.

A very good buy indeed it will be in 3 years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • Uhhhh. U do realise that MBPJ is belong to Azmin right? U know, the MB in Selangor? From ur gud pal PKR? Same team, u know?
      Skali friendly fire dah cukup lah. U pegi buat kali 2 apasal? U tak mau gaji bulan ini juga kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 5:33 pm

PKR MB is PKR MB but people under him are the same lazy people like you. Malas, tidur dan relax and always wanting tongkat.

MB maybe PKR but the Government Servants under him are still the lazy BN fools. Go to Shah Alam MB office and see for yourself, you will understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Ugh. From the downvotes (if its genuine), seems like PKR & DAP cybertroopers r slinging mud against each other. Forsee that both r heading to a messy divorce soon. Oh well.

• insider on May 09, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Very good car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? This car nearly same price as a 4 year old Cayenne. Now can buy 2011 Cayenne for RM280k.

OMG….owning a Ford now is like owning a Porsche!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
  • Crazy Ford Msia Pricing! 200K 2.2 model is a big joke! No wonder ppl still buy recond!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • 290k for a body on frame SUV? Thanks SDAC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • 2.2 2WD @ RM 199K???? WTH????

• The Fortuner will f’g ‘destroy’ this thing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • 250k for a Ford? hahahaha.

Dead on Arrival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Sammy Loo on May 09, 2016 at 8:36 pm

they have experienced it with the Mondeo, tried and tested dead on arrival models.

• and you thought the Fortuner was expensive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • waters on May 09, 2016 at 1:37 pm

200 – 250K for a Ford?? These guys are crazy la. Wake up Ford, your cars are not Mercs or BMWs…you’re a FORD!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on May 09, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Maybe their sales target for this model is very low. Like one a month. LOL.

• contender on May 09, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Congratulations Ford Malaysia on thie wonderful pricing, this gonna be a limited edition series where it is gonna be so exclusive like the Ford Mondeo, Ford S-Max ….. even the Ferrari, Bentley and Porshe is considered common. WELL DONE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Wildtrak on May 09, 2016 at 1:47 pm

3.2 titanium can buy 2x 3.2 Wildtrak right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Nenek Kau on May 09, 2016 at 1:48 pm

2WD??? 2.2L??? at 199k??? who gonna buy this SUV with 2WD? the next 3.2L road tax will kill you also…goshh…no brainer planning

• Another DOA by Ford on May 09, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Another Dead On Arrival product, just like the Mondeo, such a great car but priced so wrongly, have only seen 1 on the road so far… same fate will go to this pick-up truck based SUV.

• Loo Soo Yong on May 09, 2016 at 2:20 pm

…and I thought that the Fortuner is overpriced. Yes I know it is a Thai CBU but does it has to be that expensive?

• heybadigol (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 2:27 pm

I like the Everest. Its a very handsome car. But that’s just crazy pricing. A BMW X1 costs RM279k. And an X3 petrol goes for RM297k. These are luxury cars, so they are priced accordingly. The Everest is not a luxury SUV. Looks like Lexus Malaysia isn’t the only one selling over-priced cars.

• Joe jambol on May 09, 2016 at 2:31 pm

200k for fabric seats & 2+1 airbag…bodoh siot. Tot fortuner expensive..ni lagi not worth the money, at least fortuner got better second hand value than this Ford.

• Gotta Be Kidding on May 09, 2016 at 2:32 pm

I had to re-read the title of this article 3 TIMES. I thought I was mistaken. 199K and 259K for a pickup truck based SUV. From Ford no less. What in the world…

• nabill (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 2:39 pm

u deserve a cookie SDAC !

but to be honest , the Everest is a step above the Fortuner ,Pajero sports, atleast in terms of pricing , In Australia it actually competes with the Prado and the Landrover Discovery …no im not defending SDAC…shoot me if i do!
    bt there is some logic behind the mad pricing…

• Ben Yap on May 09, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Fortuner and Everest, which is a better buy?

• Lazada on May 09, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Both not worth and Over price….. fortuner under power with old 2.7L petrol????? 2.4L Diesel for such large car????…..

• Hop you can sell more, if not, after few year can Da Pao.

• Phantom on May 09, 2016 at 3:56 pm

U wan to buy for tuner or everest pls b patience later hari raya promotion Chinese new year promotion mid year promotion year end promotion so dnt buy when launch time

• also after 3-4 years. surely the price will drop to below RM50K. Same with Mondeo. Just search at mudah.my

• Azt Fiq on May 09, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Considering the hatred for the Fortuner pricing, this actually turns out as a big surprise.

Kit wise major improvements has been made, not surprised if Malaysians are actually willing to pay for more specs/value

• RosJib on May 09, 2016 at 4:30 pm

I have a question.

Why do some cars (eg:pickup, some suv)use big capacity engine like 3.2 litres? Why not usedownsized turbo engine? The power output of Turbo2.0 litre = NA 3.2 litre also rite?

• Sammy Loo on May 09, 2016 at 8:37 pm

didnt you know these are turbodiesel engine? NA diesel engines were gone long ago.

• Sgt Scoop on May 10, 2016 at 1:30 am

They use turbo diesel engines because of the torque. Heavy vehicles like these require a lot of torque to get off the line. I believe the 3.2 has 475nm torque. My 2.2 Ranger has 375nm.

• Shawal-ing on May 09, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Looks good… Emm.. Going to test drive Everest and Fortuner before putting down my money

• Thaiboy on May 09, 2016 at 4:46 pm

This or the mercedes c class, price the same. For me Ford Everest please

• Abuyon on May 09, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Even bmw 2 series grand tourer almost same price with everest…7 seater, more luxury, roadtax friendly, comfort super max….ford fail very very fail indeed

• Mudah.co on May 09, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Ford salesmen will be like… there goes my target sales…. hahaha ridiculous price.

• contender on May 09, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Sales commission is 30k for the 2.0 litre and 50k for the 3.2 litre Ford Everest ..sell 1 per month will be enough …. LOL

• UMW TOYOTA on May 09, 2016 at 6:37 pm

fortuner 2.4 new engine rm187k..dont buy ford

• Henry on May 09, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Double the price of the truck it is based on. This proves how perverted is our automobile tax structure.

• Kickdefella on May 09, 2016 at 9:15 pm

one year waiting and pop up with crazy price.. luckily i cant wait and bought other SUV.

Oh because you are cheaper i give you SYNC 1.1 instead of latest SYNC 2.0. Bye BYE FORD.

• sick&tired on May 09, 2016 at 10:37 pm

almost RM200k and they still cannot wrap the steering with leather!!?? thanks, but no thanks!

• Sgt Scoop on May 10, 2016 at 1:35 am

The new Pajero Sport will clean up if they don’t screw the price up. Ford have lost their minds. RM260K, I’ll be surprised if they sell 1.

• The RM is becoming like baht or rupiah, thank you najib/bn

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 10, 2016 at 8:35 am

Msia’s currency currently has the same value of a Banana Republic’s currency. 250k for and Everest. I don’t want to imagine what the pricing would be like for future Everest models!!! (Maybe the next generation would be priced close to a BMW M5). Seriously!!!! Something is so wrong!!!

• Still overpriced car.
    Dunno la what’s wrong with current punya government..everything must be very ridiculously expensive. Its difficult for Malaysian to have experiences driving vehicle from other manufacture if this trend continues. For the lower income people especially if they have Myvi that should be grateful enough…kasi tukar inikalilah!!!

• Still overpriced car.Haiyaa Malaysian government, why everything should be ridiculously expensive..

• This car exist for 1 purpose only.. to make Toyota Fortunar look like a bargain.

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 10, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Mark my words, at the rate the country’s currency is heading and the state of the economy, the price of a Myvi will cost close to a Honda City price in no time. We are getting poorer by the day no thanks to ……

• The Everest does not have all the feature of the Thai model. No collision mitigation, no adaptive cruise control, no HUD etc…. A real let down

• safiq_firdaus on Apr 22, 2018 at 3:26 pm

mahai nyaaaa……..