VIDEO: Nissan Kicks – HR-V alternative seen in motion

The Nissan Kicks has just been given a new video. The clip, called “Ride to Intensity,” shows the global crossover in motion. The B-segment SUV will be sold in over 80 countries, starting with Brazil.

If you’re still wondering why the video is Brazil-centric, well, that’s because the Kicks is set to become the official car of the 2016 Rio Olympic Games and Paralympic Games. In addition to that, the Kicks will also be produced in Nissan’s facility in Resende, Rio de Janeiro, later in the year.

As seen before in its official pictures, the Kicks sports distinctive visual elements including a V-motion grille, boomerang headlamps and tailamps and a floating roof. “The dynamic flow and voluminous body shape contrast strongly with sharp edges and details it also. We call this emotional geometry,” Mamoru Aoki, Nissan executive design director, said previously.

Towards the interior, it features Nissan’s latest Gliding Wing dashboard design and a brown interior. Among the other features inside include a flat-bottomed steering wheel and a seven-inch full colour infotainment system. Despite the coupe-like roofline, Nissan claims that the Kicks “promises best in-class passenger space in the rear” and “one of the largest load areas in its class.”

Safety tech for the Kicks, includes an around-view monitor and moving object detection. Elsewhere, the SUV is said to be powered by a 110 hp 1.6 litre four-cylinder petrol unit paired with a five-speed manual of a CVT gearbox. That said, Nissan stated that official details will be released closer to the official launch of the Kicks.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• hailthepurist on May 09, 2016 at 3:38 pm

stop dreaming ETCM, just bring the 5speed manuals..

• Project C-HR can be scrapped soon

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 5:41 pm

ETCM wants to bring but MITI don’t allow. Everything is controlled by MITI. MITI knows bring this, HRV sales would be affected. Honda means DRB. DRB mean Gomen.

They will never let their crony suffer to make ETCM happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Nissan CEO on May 09, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Still hideous

• Jeffrey Chew on May 09, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Looks like the current design trend for all the SUVs are masking the C-Pillar to join with rear windscreen.

• ganni on May 09, 2016 at 9:26 pm

yeah..and u could find this in other nissan car such as murano, maxima etc…maybe their new sort of design language then…

• Sigh TC again on May 09, 2016 at 4:10 pm

If this come here you can bet the stupid ETCM will remove all good thing about this car and replaced with ultra low grade local replacement.

• Lazada on May 09, 2016 at 4:13 pm

The looks Not attractive at all….

• thepolygonal on May 09, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Sadly I have to agree with this. Somehow this look just doesn’t cut it for me. I mean you had it good with the XTrail… what happened?

• Underpowered. HR-V is a whole 30 HP faster.

• I would rather go for cx3

• ganni on May 09, 2016 at 9:29 pm

im on the cx3 as well…but when consider the price though and the size compared to other competitor in its class..that makes me kinda mix feeling..in term of design, no one can challenge cx3 in its class…but at least this nissan better looking than the HRV