Gov’t says no decision made yet on PLUS toll hike

NKVE_KM15

There’s still no word on whether there will be an increase in toll rates for the PLUS highways, as The Sun reports. Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said the government hasn’t made a decision on the matter.

“According to my earlier statement, there are eight highways entitled for increment this year, but nothing yet – if anything, we’ll issue a statement,” he told reporters yesterday.

It had been reported in March that a decision regarding the increase of toll rates for the PLUS highways would only be made in June. Last December, the ministry had stated that no discussion or decisions had been made on the matter at the ministerial level and that there were no plans to hike the toll rates on eight highways, but added that if an increase was not agreed to, the government would have to fork out as much as RM593 million in compensation.

toll booth

Under a revised concession agreement (CA), PLUS Malaysia is allowed to increase toll rates by five percent every three years starting from 2016. The increase will continue until the concession period expires in December 2038.

PLUS has a total of eight concessions – North-South Expressway (NSE), the New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE), Federal Highway Route 2 (FHR2), Seremban Port-Dickson Highway, North-South Expressway Central Link (NSECL), Malaysia-Singapore Second Link (MSSL), Butterworth-Kulim Expressway (BKE), and the Penang Bridge.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Applegreen on May 20, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Pilihanraya kan dah dekat, takkanlah kerajaan nak sebut tol naik kan? Kerajaan ingat rakyat bodoh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • JB_KIA on May 21, 2016 at 11:08 am

jd akhir bln ni xder minyak naik jgk lah…

• Definitely naik… I think 20 cents

• Gargantia on May 21, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Everything BNAIK and ministry keep laughing look at their bank account… Supporters keep paying taxes !

• Muzamir cheebailu on May 22, 2016 at 10:48 am

Cannot afford better dont buy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • Same L00 on May 23, 2016 at 12:08 pm

No decision on when to hike only. Don’t be fooled. You think is it so easy to promise tons of things in Sarawak? All need MONEY!

• Philips Muthu on May 22, 2016 at 9:25 am

In Malaysia, in the first place, we don’t need tolls. Malaysia is a very rich country. Infact, we are super rich in resources. We got oil, timber, tin, rubber, palm oil, gold, kuprum, iron….you name it, we got it. Infact, we are 100x richer than Singapore actually.

But the problem is, few people are stealing. And these people stealing are stealing in the billions each. No more in the millions.

So, for these few people to get richer in the billions, 30 million people have to suffer with high cost of living, paying super high tolls etc.

We the 30 million people are subsidizing these few corrupted people. To be honest, just 1 corrupted individual itself can build a huge highway and that also, without tolls.

So, can you guess who these corrupted individuals are?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
      • Boring Samy on May 21, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Everyhing gone up, how to survive. Why the bored samy not here to complaints.

• Philips Muthu on May 22, 2016 at 9:56 am

Why don’t you also complain about high cost of living instead of asking to complain for you?

Or are you a crony living ahppily with your millions and buying 23 million pound apartments in London?

• Belajar English Dulu on May 23, 2016 at 9:23 am

wow, what kind of English is this? Mana belajar bang?

• Applegreen on May 22, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Jadilah rakyat malaysia yang matang fikiran.

Harga minyak naik turun, apabila hal politik ikut serta maka x mungkin harga minyak naik mendadak dalam 1 bulan. Lain halnya dengan tol apabila adanya pelarasan nanti kadar baru naik mendadak. Sebelum ini kita lihat banyak lebuhraya naikan harga lebih 50%

• OMG…possible toll hike again? thank you so much Mr.najis.

• Zamim on May 20, 2016 at 9:32 pm

Wait till after 2 by-elections

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Dun care, bash first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Philips Muthu on May 22, 2016 at 9:54 am

Malaysia is the only country in the world where 1KM of highway can cost over RM100 million. That also, we use super cheap bangladeshi labour to make the highway.

In Europe, which is so expensive labour, 1 KM of highway cost no less than few hundred thousand ringgit.

Our crony concessionaires cry to the Government that making highway cost over RM100 million ringgit, so, our beloved Government pays these concessionaires and also give them 50 year contract besides paying them fully.

We all know who these concessionaires…..all cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Copy and paste on May 22, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Copy and paste comment. Car blog also bring politic in. Kasihan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Where is the data on May 23, 2016 at 10:29 am

Where do you get the data Philips? Mind to share?

• TiputipuMalaysia on May 20, 2016 at 11:04 pm

the govt can’t be trusted….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • You and me knows the toll will be hiked up. It’s only a matter of time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Susukotak on May 22, 2016 at 10:07 am

every 3 year for plus. if no discussion.. means it will up 5%. If discussion took place .. then no rise.

• naik turun on May 21, 2016 at 2:25 am

Jangan risau my fren. Semua naik punya. Tol naik, naik harga, jadi semua org naik angin, naik geram, naik lemak, naik menyampah, naik darah, naik meluat, last2 semua naik bas, naik motor, naik lrt, naik basikal, naik sampan. Yang turun satu jer , $$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Malu2 pulak. Naikkan lah. Tak payah fikir pasal rakyat. Nnti bila nk pilihanraya buat2 lah muka sedih. Mesti diaorg undi jugak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Mr 10% on May 21, 2016 at 11:21 am

Of course they’re going to raise it, otherwise why bring it up? Most likely right after elections. How much money do they have to collect until it’s enough?

• Henry on May 21, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Want to increase just increase. There is no need to put on a show. After all when you increase highway users pay. When you don’t increase everybody pay through Gomen compensation to the concessionaires.

• Henry on May 21, 2016 at 12:09 pm

One way or another the people will have to pay. Where else can they get the money if not from the people?

• Lulla on May 21, 2016 at 2:29 pm

No hike in toll,then rumors come out that after Raya toll naik then terus govt official said no such thing then terus after raya toll naik
    Pls recall bak dpm case lasts year
    This govt think that they r genius actually they r v v cheap.pure cronies making billions by slaughtering our necks day n nite.they create scenario whereby every1 Kenna

• sick&tired on May 21, 2016 at 2:45 pm

just increase la! malaysians are very rich and understanding! when first increase they will make noise, but election time they will vote for BN!

• We will change you if you don’t change

• NaikTakTurun on May 21, 2016 at 11:38 pm

Just raise the toll. Malaysia’s toll rate is still one of the lowest in the world.

We still can bersyukur, yes, Mr Minister??

• i_the_kiasu_people on May 22, 2016 at 11:03 am

Lower the cars price la then…

• Chingu on May 22, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Naik kan saja, lambat laun naik juga. Rakyat dah boring dengan teka teki naik harga. Kalau rkyat tak ada duit, tak pakai dah highway, meka akan lingkup juga suatu hari nanti..

• No point dealing with these people, just remove the govt first, like Mahathir said. Anything is better than this cesspool.