Graphene-based nanolubricants a performance leap from current motor oils, Malaysian research team finds

motor oil

Recent research has shown that adding nanoparticles to automotive lubricants significantly enhances some of these fluids’ properties. These tests have revealed that the inclusion of such nanofluids – synthesised using carbon nanotubes and various metallic, oxide and ceramic nanoparticles – enhances a lubricant’s ability to conduct heat, lubricate and protect components from wear-and-tear.

Thus far, nanofluids employing carbon nanotubes have shown the best results, but a team of Malaysian scientists say a superior option may be on the cards. Researchers from the University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus and Taylor’s University are examining the effects of adding graphene nanoflakes to various commercially available lubricants.

Graphene is an incredibly strong one-atom-thick layer of carbon with excellent thermal and electrical conductivity properties. The team found that adding just 0.01% graphene nanoflakes to the total mass of a lubricant improved its thermal conductivity by 17%, with almost no changes in viscosity.

service car

The enhancement of the lubricant’s thermal properties generally varied according to the size, concentration and heating rates of the graphene nanoflakes used, they report. The researchers believe that the enhanced thermal properties are due to graphene’s large surface area and even distribution, among other things. Improved thermal conduction means a lubricant is better able to carry heat away from an engine.

Abdul Khaliq Rasheed of the University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus is optimistic that graphene-based nanolubricants could last around 20% longer than the currently available 5,000 and 10,000 km motor oils. Aside from helping protect engines better, such lubricants may even cost less, because adding nanoparticles could reduce the amounts of other additives currently required, he explained.

The main challenge for researchers now is to develop a complete nanoparticle-based formula that measures up to industry standards. The researchers are also planning to investigate graphene’s impact on automotive coolants and electronic cooling.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• suhaimee on May 23, 2016 at 11:47 am

Good job guys !!
    Just make sure you copyright your patent and make your big bucks !!
    Good luck !!

• An UNMCian on May 23, 2016 at 2:25 pm

I am proud to be student of The University of Nottingham. The engineering courses to be honest, are interesting. But total tuition fee can cash buy a Merc A class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Same L00 on May 23, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Bravo, finally it is something scientific, not from Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok BS but make us proud!

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 23, 2016 at 1:21 pm

You can be assured that the current tests on the Accordana are 100% scientific. Test ketuk dashboard are by qualified engineers, test cuci using Kangen alkaline water and test selfie and spyshot via Paul Tan website.

• Internet Guru Besau on May 23, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Currently making graphene is not cheap so the lubricant cost advantage won’t be seen anytime soon, Anyway graphene as a material has such tremendous potential that being a mere lubricant additive is equivalent to Playboy putting out a centerfold of only Amanda Cerny’s pinky toenail.

Good basestock makes good engine oil. Much better way than putting the best additives in lesser base stock. At the moment for best temperature stability, Polyol Ester is still hard to beat compared to hydrocarbon synthetics. If you have a turbo engine, Red Line engine oil is hard to beat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 23, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Not cheap not easy to sell. Nanographene listed in London is on the brink of bankruptcy.

• Dr. Abdul Khaliq Rasheed on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:37 am

Graphene is no longer an expensive material. Large scale production is already happening worldwide including in Malaysia. The graphene as an additive offers several advantages to any kind of lubricant. You may expect this product by 2018 in Malaysia (God Willing).

For consultation on graphene nanolubricant you may contact me at [email protected]

• leonardo on May 23, 2016 at 12:19 pm

If and when it is made commercially available, will it be affordable as the current top end mineral oils? Or will the price be closer to the semi synthetic or fully synthetic oils?

• Dr. Abdul Khaliq Rasheed on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:39 am

Graphene is no longer an expensive material. So the cost of most engine oils should remain same unless the lubricant manufacturer sells it at higher price. You may expect this product by 2018 in Malaysia (God Willing).

For consultation on graphene nanolubricant you may contact me at [email protected]

• No one knows what graphene does to the environment in the long run, thus the big oil companies arent jumping into the bandwagon yet. They have to take in consideration of disposing the used oil, who knows what will graphene do if it is not properly handled

and besides, good oil these days are guaranteed to last for 15k miles (miles, which puts it at 24k km, for more info: https://mobiloil.com/en/article/warranties/limited-warranty/mobil-1-ep-oil-warranty) so no real incentive there making a 10k km oil last 20% longer

• But Volkwagen engine oil can already last up to 16,666Km (That’s 66% more) so you guy may as well check what is in its ingredients since their engine perform well just not the Diesel and Gearbox.

• David on May 23, 2016 at 2:35 pm

i think you should try on X1R Product is more advance than any other product on the market

• No Coke only Pepsi on May 23, 2016 at 2:52 pm

So advanced that Proton named X1R as one of the causes of oil coking in the CFE oil cooler hose recall saga.

• nabill (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 2:46 pm

there is nothing wrong with a good quality oil in our cars…nobody was complaining , i dont see this as a ground breaking thing , perhaps bcos it has been ‘invented locally’ bt i can see this thing going under the carpet in no time…

• Well, nobody did appreciate the humble solid state transistor until much later. So…

• Kelvin on May 24, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Try XADO Atomic Oil nanotechnology and revitalizant

• Applied Nano Technology joint stock company (ANTECH.,Jsc) focuses on research, development, and large scale production of nanomaterials, ultimate goal is to bring to real-life applications. We have an advanced nano material research center (ANLab) with a team of highly trained staff and well-educated experts in the field of nano technology.

Now we have Graphene production line in Vietnam.

Anyone need graphene, please contact us via http://en.vngraphene.com/