Volkswagen Polo GT sedan unveiled for Russia

Volkswagen Polo GT-13

Over in Russia, a special Volkswagen Polo Sedan has been introduced. Called the Polo GT, the car gets a different engine and some visual items to make it look sportier, according to Cars.ru.

The Polo GT comes equipped with a turbocharged 1.4 litre TSI engine that generates 125 hp. The engine is paired to a six-speed manual transmission as standard, while a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG automatic gearbox can also be had.

On the outside, the GT model comes with a plastic honeycomb front grille and vents, along with a gloss black roof and side mirror encasings. Round the back, the GT comes attached with a subtle boot lid spoiler, dual chrome exhaust pipes and a set of 16-inch wheels.

Inside, the car gets a pair of side sills with a GT logo, a leather-wrapped flat-bottom sports steering wheel, as well as chequered seat upholstery and aluminium pedals. Other creature comforts such as climate control, power windows for all doors and heated front seats are standard too.

Furthermore, the portal stated that the first 300 customers who opt for white or silver units will be given the black and red stripes on the hood and boot lid as a free gift. So guys, what do you think of this faster Polo Sedan/Vento with racing stripes? Share your comments below.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Battu on May 30, 2016 at 12:41 pm

A polo gti engine with problem free 6 speed manual
    damn, bring this one here quickly

• 1.4? not 1.2? wow…that is fast…propably an 8 sec car.

• Iklan Coklat Apollo Crew on May 30, 2016 at 7:33 pm

that means the 125hp satria neo cps are more fast right? and also the 138hp preve cfe right? this stupid 124hp coklat apollo sure kena tapau..and, better buy proton, no dsg no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • But the punch cvt is much worse

• Satria Neo CPS dun use CVT lah. Balik skolah belajar history dulu sblm dtg bash buta buta

• Clearly you dun drive it

• Salam sejahtera on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:24 pm

atleast proton punch cvt doesn’t make a stupid problem like volkswagen dsg gearbox yg membuatkan owner volkswagen hari2 menziarah workshop :) proton, such more high quality car than volkswagen, why? unlike volkswagen , proton jarang masuk workshop :D

• Salam sejahtera on Jun 06, 2016 at 12:29 pm

atleast proton punch cvt doesn’t make a stupid problem like volkswagen do..time hari raya, proton owner will happily balik kampung :) volkswagen owner? ziarah workshop and standby a million ringgit to repair god sharp german engineering dsg gearbox

• Heaven on May 30, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Never was a fan of the Polo Sedan / Vento, but this GT seems decent though. Just lose the chequered seats as they are so hillbilly.

• applegreen on May 30, 2016 at 2:35 pm

i saw vento this morning and it looks way better than in photos

• Albert Peria on May 30, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Now Russians have to do like Malaysians. Take out your handphone. Press No 1 long time, and you can see “Tow Truck Hong calling….”

yes, Russians now have to put their tow truck on speed dial also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • DonkeyKong on May 30, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Have you been to Russia? They have Volkswagen Jettas there that have been running with our Polo’s 1.6MPI engine and 6-speed Aisin gearbox for years.. no tow truck problems for them..

• Have you been to Europe?the DSG gearbox problems only occur in 4 seasons country….i think you really lack a lot of general knowledge if you think VW problems are the same as other countries…MALAYSIA doesnt represent the world

• Europe has extended warranty for dsg gearbox up to 7 – 9 years, so no one will complain as it is free to claim a new mechatronics for free, as Malaysia after 5 years u bear your own cost, and u can see 3/4 VW owner sold their car when it has less than a year of warranty left as they hope to get rid car after no more warranty can claim.

• DSG7 auto…. headache.. sure headache..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Nice little car, fast and practical, especially with a stick-shift. As for the 7 speed Dry clutch DSG gearbox, To alleviate problems plaguing the gearbox, especially hot tropical climate, VW Malaysia should do the following : to install a glycol-based cooling medium heat exchanger, to flow cooled glycol around the clutch pack, for cooling of clutches, and improving transmission reliability..but will the boffins at VW AG agree to this suggestion?

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2016 at 5:20 pm

why is this 1.4 TSI lesser hp than jetta? it should be capable to develop 160hp.