Police warn bikers to use motorcycle lane on highway

FW302026_SG14_301013_JELAJAH

A stern warning has been issued by the police that all motorcyclists, regardless of the size of the bike they are riding, must use the dedicated motorcycle lane along the Federal highway. This was said by Bukit Aman Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department director SAC Maha­mad Akhir Darus, who added that motorcyclists who flouted the law by riding on the highway proper faced an RM300 fine.

As reported by The Star, SAC Mahamad Akhir said “traffic on the Federal highway is heavy during peak hours while vehicles tend to speed during off-peak hours. By using the dedicated lanes instead of the main carriageway, accidents involving motorcycles can be prevented.” He said that with heavy traffic conditions, motorcyclists weaving in and out of traffic made things worse.

Emphasising that no exemption was given to riders of larger capacity motorcycles from using the motorcycle lanes, SAC Mahamad Akhir said, “That is a lame, unacceptable excuse. There is no discrimination when it comes to safety. No motorcyclist has an exclusive right over others. The engineers have done their research and designed the lanes to accommodate all types of motorcycles.”

Motorcycles

According to SAC Mahamad Akhir, the issue was not with the width of the lanes being unable to accommodate bigger bikes, but because bikers could not speed in the lanes. He also said that while patrols were conducted daily on the Federal Highway, it was not possible to have constant enforcement, However, mobile cameras would be used to nab offenders.

This is despite bikers claiming that the motorcycle lanes along the Federal Highway were unsafe to use, with many riders saying the lanes, specifically the tunnels, were unlit, and prone to flooding. Others have said the width of the lane is insufficient to allow for safe passing, and the entry and exits of the lane is unsafe, with many collisions occurring.

johor causeway jam bernama pix

It has been reported that maintenance of the motorcycles lanes is poor, with the road surface badly-tarred and pot-holed, causing riders to fall, especially at night. In addition to this, the design of the lane is said to be dangerous to negotiate, especially with many blind bends and sharp corners leading to accidents.

What do you think? Have you ridden the motorcycle lane on the Federal Highway? Is it more dangerous to use the lane or the highway itself? Leave us a comment with your thoughts and opinions.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• FIST (Member) on Jun 20, 2016 at 9:47 am

no use warnings, enforce it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 19
    • rakyat on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:37 am

since mr police want to enforce, better mr police and friends use the said motorcycle lane for one month. if mr police got no complain after one month, then only can apply to rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 4
      • Black Dog on Jun 20, 2016 at 12:04 pm

All police, DBKL, MPPJ, talk but in actual fact never do their part.

Ask motorcyclist keep to motorcycle lane but never maintain properly for them to ride safely.

Ask people not to throw rubbish everywhere but don’t have proper place provided to throw bulk waste.

Ask people don’t double-park or cut queue but never enforce to go and saman them.

Blah…blah…blah…cakap tin kosong saja!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
      • Mdanny on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:15 am

Ya man.very sad ah. Rakyat pay taxes have to endure traffic Jam. Ministers and vip will have their escorts to clear the road for them.. Mebbe police bikes can use mcycle Lane for one month trial period. If no complaints than we agree all must use mcycle Lane

• Many sections of the motorcycle lanes on the federal are closed because of construction from nearby buildings. How do you want to enforce bikers to ride straight into a wall of mud and cement?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
    • Can also enforce rules on illegal biliion-ringgit money transfers, nabbing people responsible for PKFZ (4.8B++), putting cows in condo’s, giving out ICs for votes first? Do the big things first, then do the lesser small things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • thepolygonal on Jun 20, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Warning all you want, they still doing it. You can see majority is using the motorcycle lane but there will always be those that could not be bothered. They will only use motorcycle lane if the car lane got massive jam and they can’t squeeze through.

• Jonathan on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:03 am

Try riding on it first before asking for enforcement my friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Shawn on Jun 20, 2016 at 9:48 am

Mr Police, please check with relevant authorities on the road condition of the so called dedicated motor lanes and ensure these are safe for the motorists to ride on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 24
  • wilson on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:01 am

I can’t comment on other road, a full car user and last month, i have for the first time use my scooter from Kota Kemuning to Bandar Botanic and also first time I use the motorbike lane. It was quite nervous, the road are narrow, dangerous for other bike to over take, and overhang tree branches is a nightmare, one hv to dodge and sametime to ensure no motorbike overtake you. when comes to tunnel(flyover), it becomes more narrower. would think bikes like goldwing will find it hard to go thru. Than, no sign of surprise speed bump, real serious speed bump. if not aware, after the bump, your bike will not keep straight and if there are other bikes overtaking, there is bound to be accident. lastly, this motorbike lane gave me a feeling of comfort from cars, lorry knocking on you but much improvement can be made on motorbike lane.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 21
  • Yes, at certain area very bad condition cause by nearest development & big tree root come up to motor lane surface. This need more attention from authorities. Only superbike never use motor lane, did know why?

So long never rode at Federal Highway & a couple a weeks ago had a chance due to work at Bukit Jelutong.. some area had improve quite okay but certain area even worst than before.. If authorities can make the lane wider by 2/3 feet, should be good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 21
  • khairil on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:17 am

really dangerous & narrow lane. definitely a death trap. with the neverending constructions lead to diversion and flooding problems, i, as a motorcyclist myself will find every chances to elude from using certain part of the federal highway motorcycle lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 22
  • Sembang lebih dan menafikan hakikat sebenar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Wiwiwiwiw on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:23 am

Don’t hide and put a clear proper JPJ ukuran number plates. Also stop behaving like thugs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • MARKY on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:24 am

they just want to show-off, even on the NSE they speed like no ones on the road !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
  • RiderKSR on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:29 am

Not a good experience riding motorcycle lane,
    1.)Rainy day , fully flooded .
    2.)Night time , tunnel have no ligting & People got rob sometime , Ride in & Walk out.
    3.) Bad conditon of the road.(Branches,pot hole,narrow lane , Shape turn,).

Overall the Idea is great , but the development is poor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
  • IPayTollAlso on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:32 am

Please also enforce toll collection for bikes. We see everywhere in Malaysia, motorbike don’t pay toll but enjoy the tolled-road facility. Even worse, when they are on convoy and expect cars to give-away to their rides. With bikes getting cheaper & more models coming in, we can see the mushrooming of all bikers, group from rempit to upgraded rempit. Try drive to PD on weekend- plenty of groups try to look cool riding in groups :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 78
    • Tollfreeforall on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:34 am

You should ask for toll free for all, not bikes need to pay too. Be smart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
    • Tax everywhere on Jun 20, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Motorbike pay higher road tax..eventhough not using one full lane..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Fooqaw on Jun 20, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Comments with no brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • yaright on Jun 20, 2016 at 6:34 pm

pls check the motorcycle roadtax before you talk.
      superbike roadtax are rm350, simply expensive than majority of cars on the road, so if they not allowed to use highway, dont charge them first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • sayyousayme on Jun 21, 2016 at 7:43 am

if bikers need to pay toll, there is couple of things will happen :

1) When paying toll, there will be jam in motor lane, because motorist need to take out wallet and all. It will be worse if its raining.
      2) Motorist will start to use car as advantage to use motor is become less relevant, causing more cars on the road, hence causing more jam.

Dont try to differenciate between “them”, the motorists, and “you”, the car driver. I’m using both car and motor, I dont like both motorists and car driver attitude sometimes. some of the big bike owner may pay insurance+roadtax more than a car.

• HuDee on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:33 am

Anyone who has used the bike lanes on the Federal Highway will understand the problem bikers face on a daily basis. I would like to suggest that the Police with their big outrider sized bikes make regular patrols on these lanes if they feel it is so safe. Perhaps they will then have a better understanding of the problems the bikers face everyday. In dismissing the problem so easily,it suggests that the honorable SAC has never taken a large capacity bike on these lanes. Engineers too are human beings and make mistakes. I have used it, I would like to suggest to him that the design of the Federal Highway bike lane is highly flawed (from the width, to the quality of lighting at night and in the tunnels, to the way the junctions were developed) for the volume and types of motorcycles presently using it. When compounded by its poor maintenance it is at best most unsafe. There needs to be a lot more effort put into its improvement to make it safer for motorcyclists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • ae101 on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:38 am

Been using federal highway to commute for the past few year. Have seen more and more big bikers or kapchai using the highway. Some riders were hogging in between fast and middle lane with slow speed. Really malaysia culture. If i drive big truck or lorry sure horn them kaw kaw with air horn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • pika1988 on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:37 am

Yea… Not only motorbikes, car and lorry drivers are HOGGING the roads with low speed… supposingly they shud ride at left land… IKUT KIRI KALAU TIDAK MEMOTONG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Dominic on Jun 20, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Some morron who drive beyond speed limit must know this. We slow movers are overtaking within speed limit. But you morron keep flashing lights to die faster

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:38 am

lot of excuses, all the motorcycles are menace who only use the main road so they can go at crazy breakneck speeds and expect other motorists to lookout for them, so many accidents due to these rempit recklessness…and big bikes are no better, they are just richer rempits…if ur claim is that the motorbike lanes are unsafe, then at least attempt to keep yourself safe in the main roads…oh yea…another thing…don be irresponsible and block the federal highway when rain pours by hiding under the overhead bridges and blocking two lanes of the road….sincerely…every road user in malaysia who pays road tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 51
    • im punch man on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:50 am

Dear My EX-Menteri Kerjaraya, since you had been Minister of kirjaraya, what benefit that you had done for us as a road user? giving us more pothole?, Manhole cover as higher as KLCC?, ‘Beautifooly’ road paving? , ‘awesome’ dedicated bike lane maintenance (federal highway)? Proper raining shelter for bikers?

Talking too much laa you Dato Semi-Value.. such a waste for PRU voting…lol

• soleluna on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:48 am

you guys wanna know why there are bikes on the federal highway, make it a point to try & have a look see on the so called “bike lanes”. very poor maintenance, flooding during heavy rains & not to mention the hidden dangers of the highwaymen (robbers & crooks) on secluded stretches. i am both a driver & a rider, i can see & understand the problems faced by these riders. they are also trying to eke out a living, so please understand our plight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 15
  • Hafez on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:48 am

At certain area very bad condition cause by nearest development & big tree root come up to motor lane surface. At some area in the tunnel is slippery due to some water leakage from nowhere even on hot sunny days. The road not smooth and can cause back pain for daily user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • donno on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:48 am

Dear Mr police. Check the condition of dedicated motorcycle lanes. Go to putrajaya and see how terrible they are. Dirty, unmaintained, bumpy caused by roots of trees poking the asphalt. As for the federal highway, it is narrow, with dangerous sharp rear side of armco steel beams poking at you, if you ride a motorcycle with panniers/side boxes it is almost impossible to pass slowly ridden small motorcycles. Not to mention some motorcycle lane (especially Guthrie and Kesas) are used by bicyclists as their exercise routes. Personally I will try and avoid roads with motorcycle lanes as it is really dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Japeni on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:51 am

This is immature. I used the Motorcycle lane at Federal before.. from 100cc, 500cc and 1000cc bikes. The road was so bad…big holes., poor signage where to exit. Before you enforce, please be smart and study/research the current situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Easwaran on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:54 am

I have been using the motorcylcle lanes for more than 20 years now and am very lucky to be intact and alive. To the police and all the smart top ranking officials who make fantastic claims using their access to the media…please shut your mouth…your life and safety is not at stake…you do not use these facilities daily. The lanes are ntt maintained properly…potholes…flooding…etc..etc..etc.etc.etc…..and some of the designs are actually dangerously stupid. MIROS…..all you experts what is your contribution?….Lots of talk and mkney spent going to the wrong places…and can be giving indecent reports….yea…you got the powerto discriminate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • amfin on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:56 am

I’m a commuter of both car (when with my family) and superbike (when riding solo to work or meeting) from Klang upto MidValley area and yes no doubt it’s much safer for any biker to use the motorbike lane away from both personal and commecial vehicles be it of any size but oh my God how horrible it is on some stretches. Some are narrow and scary for bigger bike even a lower speed. Some tunnels are so badly lit that we don’t know whats next after the bend INSIDE the tunnel. With current many construction more so with the MRT Project at Subang area, The beautification of the Kota Darul Ehsan Arch and many more spots , rider end up back on the main Federal Highway that makes it ridiculous. My sincere suggestion let MIROS, PDRM & LLM go do a full study of the whole stretch and come out with full report before slamming on bikers solely at the Media.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Prodigy on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:05 am

While i emphatize with bikers having to use badly maintained bike lanes, at the same time some bikers do not practice safe biking when they use the main road over the bike lanes. Firstly, if you want to take the risk when using the main road, make sure you do not weave in and out of the traffic or ride at insane speed. I’ve lost count the number of times i’ve to be on the lookout for bikers who’re riding at break neck speed and in between lanes. At that kinda speed, you risk smashing yourself onto a car that’s changing lanes.

I feel if the bikers want to use the main roads(although not legal), at least have the decency to stay at the slower lanes and not weave in between lanes.

• Sharul on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:21 am

I am both a Biker n Driver

Bike lane? – Walk the talk please….and do it properly…meaning before telling bikers to use bike lane, pls ensure the infra is top notch…ensure lane is safe for all bikers…ensure no flooding, adequate lighting (even car drivers ask for this on highways with 2 headlights)..ensure road condition is top notch and not like now which is uneven, potholes that take ages to repair, unclear speed bumps, sandy, tunnel of mystery, not wide enough, no safe runoff areas…most highways do not have bike lane….all this and you say bike lane for safety? Yes, I agree..from incompetent drivers….even when cars involve in accident, they sometimes go into bike lane….ssheeshh talk about safety…

Toll for bikes? – Big Bikes pay a hefty amount of Roadtax and Insurance. A 1200CC big bike need to pay RM350 for road tax…..I suppose Car Drivers do not know this….

Anyway, besides talking about bikers and their bikes, pls think about your driving/riding habits and skill, improve them so everybody will benefit and be safe from it. I can safely say, 95% of both bikers and drivers are incompetent……think about it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • make the lanes better and safer, than shall you enforce the usage.

• probiker on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:39 am

i have been living in KL almost 20 years… from begining when I come KL till now few months ago, I see the condition of bike lane at federal highway is horrible… it is never become better… it is getting worst, tunnel is dark, wet, and even flooded, the road surface is not smooth, uneven, and many pot holes…many times, because of the construction at certain sections, it force me get out from the bike lane and go to main road (so what is the purpose asking us to use bike lane but cannot pass by one)… when enforce a new rule, please get ready all the conditions… do not keep saman and saman just because no money… education people is more important…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Paul Si on Jun 20, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Yes, the bike lanes are bad. But having a lorry roll over your head is a lot worse. It’s your life, your choice. Personally, I’d be a lot more concerned about close proximity with the heavy vehicles than the RM300 fine.

• Have you try ride a bike through bike lane at federal highway? Be my guest to try. Not because these riders do not want to use bike lane, it is because it is a lot safer if riding along with the trafic on the highway if you ride properly. That the choice these biker take.

• Vespa Rider on Jun 20, 2016 at 1:20 pm

As a motorcyclist myself, riding Vespa 150cc (scooter)
    Travel from Klang to PJ daily for work.
    Uses motorcycle lane in Federal / Kesas for close to a year.

I would said motorcycle lane in Federal Highway is narrower as compare to Kesas one. Tunnel is without lighting at night!

As for motorcycle lane in Kesas, it’s wider, however, some of the tar road surface is ‘uneven’. It causes me almost fell down for the first 2 months of riding (very dangerous for new rider). Some tunnel is without lighting at night also. Further, there is some construction going on the motorcycle lane for close to 1 year already (near HICOM), we have no choice buy to cut out to main car lane & ride for appx 3km in order to cut into the next motorcycle lane.

Overall, I have no complain in using motorcycle lane. Provided law enforcement making sure all the necessary safety is in place, before asking (or force) someone to use the dedicated motorcycle lane.

p/s: I do feel ‘threaten’/scare sometimes when bigger cc bike (600cc and above) pass by me (small cc engine) in the motorcycle lane, due to the speed.

• mr1031 on Jun 20, 2016 at 1:54 pm

our motorcycle lane just cukup syarat aje buat..shame on you jkr & whoever the designer and caretaker of the roads are

• Bayar Roadtax Rm2.Itupun some motor xmau bayar.Highway tol pun bayaran xdikenakan.Apalagi motor mau?

Mana ada fund banyak banyak kasi motorbike lane beautification?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Satish on Jun 20, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Road tax RM2? My roadtax is RM350 la. Talk with some bloody sense

• yaright on Jun 20, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Mine motorcycle roadtax is rm350 too.
        So you think our roadtax is cheaper than cars?

• ByeCurse on Jun 20, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Bikers in KL are like taxi service in the city. Only handful are good & obedient riders. Majority are nuisance and selfish. Big bikers, just becos they pay 350 roadtax, they think the road are theirs. How many of us have to avoid bikers weaving in the middle of the lane during jam or side mirror got knocked down by bikers.

• So just because you drive a car, does not mean the road is yours also. It is their right to request a better bike lane. Just because some of them paid only rm2, that mean they have no right to request for a better lane? I for sure 100% agree if one day gov make a compulsary requirement for any car driving lisence course do include also bike test. So at least it can teach some of the driver how to respect motorcycles because they will surely experiance some of the hardship that riders face when ride along in MY road and vise versa.

• Jorek on Jun 21, 2016 at 9:00 pm

Bayar roadtax RM20 lagi mau sembang kencang la axia owner ni puiiii

• RicoT on Jun 20, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Bikers of all classes should stay in motorcycle lane and for who claimed they paid the roadtax, please use the normal roads instead of highway if they are dissatisfied with the motorcycle lane conditions. Bikers can only complain when they start paying for tolls to maintain their motorcycle lane. Else, shut up and obediently ride on your motorcycle lane, or get a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • So you as a car driver also stop complaining if any free no toll road are bad and not well maintain. Because it free.

• The motorcycle lane after angkasapuri near kg kerinchi is closed to accomodate work by the developer of the apartment near by. and the motorcycle lane after plaza pantai heading towards plus & the old metramac highways also closed because to accomodate work for ecocity developer. Thats why these 2 areas has a high volumes of motorcycle using the car lane. Its the authorities that keep giving face to developer and not managing traffic divertion properly. And that doesnt include the conditions of the motorcycle lane, lets see how the traffic cops GTR1400 & VFR800 using motorcycle? Another reason I think motorcycles dont like to use motorcyclane is because police like to do road block or cari makan. So for those without license or roadtax, confirm they use car lane to avoid these roadblocks so stop doing roadblocks at motorcyclane, do it elsewhere. To all car driver, please take an oppurtunity to try the motorcycle lane from angkasapuri to batu 3, as a rider or pillion before making an opinion.

• Zulkarnaen Mokhtar on Jun 20, 2016 at 5:04 pm

I just used the federal highway motobike lane this afternoon after not using it for more than 10 years. The first time after riding my big bike also. I think the road surface is very poor especially at the tunnel. The entry and exit also quite unsafe.

• mhspeng on Jun 20, 2016 at 5:06 pm

I’m glad that finally the authorities have voiced out. I’m on Federal Highway daily, and it is really irritating when I have checked properly that there’s no car behind and had put on my signal lights to change lanes, and at many times , you’ll suddenly have motorcycles speeding from far honking you. They were speeding so fast till I don’t see them initially.

• Ootai on Jun 20, 2016 at 6:22 pm

On guthrie hiway, big and small bikes are blatandly not using the bikers lane. At the toll booth, they simply ride beside the cars and cause sirens “penceroboh”. Who cares??

• Ravi Krishna Iyer on Jun 20, 2016 at 8:28 pm

The bike lanes at Federal Highway are dangerous to bikers even at daytime what more at night, due to unsafe conditions and poor maintenance. The bike lanes at Kesas Highway are also dangerous to use at night due to sharp bends and also frequent robberies at secluded stretches. Generally roads and facilities in Malaysia are not biker friendly even though increase in bikes will reduce the number or cars. I have for one changed from driving to riding to work due to the traffic congestion.

• ivan mansur on Jun 20, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Both are just as dangerous. There is not much room on the motorcycle lanes when it is rush hour and a simple error can be catastrophic especially with the pillar holding up the guard rail is what the bikers will hit, definitely enough to slice a person in 2. I would like to see the person who wrote that it is safe riding in the lanes for a whole month during peak traffic, rain and night and then come back and write again.

Although I tend to be on the bike lane (I ride 1000cc above bikes), there are many times I wished the engineers had a bit more ‘sense’.

Remember, bikers have no bumpers or casing around them to protect them from mishaps and also renember that if all bikes were cars, you will have terrible congestion and no parking in KL.

It’s time to thank the bikers for reducing single occupant vehicles and those with pillions, are doing a great service to the selfish car users by and large.. giving them more space on the road… but are they appreciative? No, even the emergency lanes are being used..

Get real guys!

• squall_shinoda on Jun 20, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Improve design of motorcycle lanes to save lives

RECENTLY, Bukit Aman Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department director SAC Mahamad Akhir Darus warned motorcyclists to use the dedicated motorcycle lanes along the Federal Highway FT2 or face a RM300 fine.

As a blogger on highway issues, I would like to urge him to rectify some safety-related aspects of the motorcycle lanes before telling motorcyclists to use them.

Three key issues that deter Klang Valley motorcyclists from using the segregated motorcycle lanes are design, maintenance and crime. Of these, design is the main issue of concern.

SAC Mahamad Akhir said recently that superbikes, cruisers and scramblers are not exempted from using the motorcycle lanes, claiming that “the engineers have done their research and designed the lanes to accommodate all types of motorcycles”. I am very disappointed because this statement is disrespectful of the lives of motorcyclists because there are obvious engineering flaws in the current motorcycle lane design.

According to G. Ramasamy, one of the engineers responsible for the construction of the Federal Highway FT2, the present-day motorcycle lanes were originally intended for bicycles and were not designed for motorcycle traffic.

The segregated bicycle lanes were later converted into motorcycle lanes without taking into account the design-related issues.

This substandard design was also incorporated in the Arahan Teknik (Jalan) 10/86: A Guide to the Design of Cycle Track, with the speed of as low as 60kph. This speed is too low and is only suitable for bicycles, as the reported 85th percentile operating speeds of motorcyclists along the motorcycle lanes of the Federal Highway FT2 during peak hours and non-peak hours are 72kph and 80kph respectively.

Because motorcyclists tend to match with the operating speed of cars (80kph), T. H. Law, et al. (2005) recommend the minimum width of the motorcycle lanes to be increased to at least 3.81m.

However, no such improvement of the lane width has been implemented, and the average remains at only 2m. With such a narrow motorcycle lane, how can SAC Mahamad Akhir claim that the width is sufficient enough for bigger motorcycles?

I would like to ask him if a traffic officer can balance a police Honda ST1300 Pan European along the motorcycle lane at the Federal Highway FT2 at a constant speed of 80kph without slowing down and without falling.

Another clear proof of the fatal design flaws of the motorcycle lane is the sharp corners when approaching a highway interchange.

The corners are too sharp and very dangerous for manoeuvring at speeds of more than 35kph.

Without proper signage, adequate lighting and speed-breakers such as rumble strips, even a kapchai can lose control due to the sudden change of speed at the corners. If riders of the small kapchai can lose control and crash there, how can the police claim that the corners are safe enough for riders of bigger bikes?

SAC Mahamad Akhir, I urge you to do a proper study on the engineering design of the motorcycle lanes before forcing motorcyclists to use them. This is a serious matter because you are putting the lives of the motorists on the line.

Please understand that I am not against the motorcycle lane usage rule. I only want to ensure that all motorcycle lanes are safe enough to be used by motorcyclists.

SQUALL_SHINODA

Batu Caves

• Mamundo on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:09 am

Teruk betul jalan motor federal highway. Jalan tak rata, selalu tutup utk upgrade tapi still tak elok. X de pagar tepi membolehkan motor masuk suka hati. Saya baru accident disebabkan sebuah motosikal tetiba masuk ke laluan motor dari main highway dari celah-celah pokok. Jalan moto juga amat bahaya bila hujan lebat kerana kerap banjir. Tidak ada tempat berhenti utk hujan atau kecemasan menyebabkan motor berhenti di tepi laluan menyebabkan jalan menjadi sempit dan bahaya.

• Kapchai on Jun 21, 2016 at 7:00 am

Motorcycle lane at fed hyway is soo unsafe….tunnel prone flooding & mud. The lane are quite narrow…riding there is like going thru a mine field. Scared riding my kapchai there during uni’s days

• angeleyes on Jun 21, 2016 at 9:18 am

I suggest paultan.org write a comprehensive article on the motorcycle lane in Malaysia, esp. on the one infamous Federal Hiway. Since authorities are now ‘too busy’, maybe this will help them to improve on the lane condition. They should first take a look on what is the cause of the issue before masking any decision. Now, where has the slogan gone : “rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan”?

• Sulaiman on Jun 24, 2016 at 1:19 pm

This debate about the motorcycle lane has been going on for donkeys years eapecially the federal highway lane.

Could I suggest that one of you tech savvy biker take a video on the ride through the lanes and upload it on Paultan…that will put all complaints on the lane to rest and increase awareness and pressure on the relevant authorities should the lanes be upgraded.