Gov’t committed to improving public transport – Najib

najib sentral

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak has stated that the Government remains committed to improving public transport and connectivity for the public. According to the premier, this will not only alleviate traffic congestion woes, but also help with the growth of the country’s economy.

“A study by Bank Negara has shown that traffic congestion results in a loss of 2% of GDP,” he said in a report by The Sun Daily. Najib was also pleased that the LRT extension project was completed on schedule, and within the RM8 billion budget set for it.

He said the economic internal rate of return (EIRR) could reach 25% with the LRT extension project, citing government and transport experts, “provided that it pulls in the commuters especially from the housing population, industrial and commercial areas.”

“We want to optimise effectiveness of public transport. That’s why it is necessary for the rail lines to be constructed on high density population such as Kinrara, Puchong, USJ Subang, Subang Jaya and other high population areas,” said Najib.

What are your thoughts on the LRT extension project so far? How was your experience boarding a train from any of the new stations added to the Kelana Jaya and Ampang Line?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:30 am

If you are committed to Public Transport, your wife won’t rent a private plane for RM98 million when there are 5 private planes ready to take her for free.

When Big Boss says Government is committed to public transport, means Government will buy a brand new plane for Rm500 million, spend another Rm30 million to give me Alacantra Leather seats for Big Boss. Already got 5 planes in the hangar, all perfect working condition.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
    • Cukurlah ada Proton, rakyat tak payah pakai bas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
    • Yup. 1 for DYMM to use (1 extra backup), 1 for PM and waifu to use (1 extra backup) and 1 C-130 for Gov emergency use (like when evacuate students at Egypt). Exactly just like in land of freedom and democracy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 63
      • WT Fuchhh on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Whats the point of improving public transport if the road is overcrowded? Make more elevated highways and speed up outer ring road.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 03, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Maybe Rosy rented Emirates because Jibby’s Air Force One sui kwan?

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:33 am

The SS18 station is stupid cacat. On SS18 side, there’s no way to access station from within SS18, so have to go to main road side to gain.

Then, on the other side of station, facing SS14, there is ONLY STAIRS, no lift nor escalator. WTF how the hell they design the station to be OKU friendly? They expect OKU to get down on SS18 side, then cross main road to get to SS14?

Stupid as hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • spongewai on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:34 am

how to improve, Mr PM?!

You see the taxi cabs that still making violence. You all are just talking without taking action against the cab.

Resign!!?

• takNakP1 on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:39 am

cakap lah…
    i m not too old but i have been listening to this crap for decades… over and over again…

MESTI TAK PERCAYA LAH!!!

• Don’t just talk! Donate part of your 2.6billion to improve this, then u shall be remembered for at least one good thing u do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • focus on local ktm not komuter! worst ktm service ever!

• KTM komuter sucks on Jul 04, 2016 at 8:40 am

The KTM driver busy playing Clash of Clans when handling the train. Please knock the door and tell them to drive instead of playing Clash of Clan

– True Story

• KL Has Risen (2017) on Jul 01, 2016 at 12:08 pm

the experience so far very much awesome. modern station. clean. friendly staffs. good job PM Najib! Malaysia needs you! Hail Najib!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
  • Liao xun on Jul 01, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Najib terbaik untuk malaysian people’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
    • Xian Hu on Jul 01, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Yes i agree with you. Even agong is nothing compare to najib. Najib is pelita malaysia, najib is cahaya malaysia. Najib for better malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Leornado on Jul 01, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Terbaik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • orang biasa on Jul 01, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Sudah cakap more than 30 years!!! Every years cakap sama problem. Pi la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • ya.. penang also one of the most populated area.. where is the LRT or monorail?

• applegreen on Jul 01, 2016 at 2:59 pm

minister will answer to you; bukit bendera cable car is similar to LRT maa!

• Waiting for someone to gip undervalued apartment but this time with swimming pool. So u wait slowly lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Tun M for private cars or Najib for public transport.

Nak support mana?

• Bising je korang. I bet people in here doesnt even take the trains to go anywhere. Now that LRT and MRT are covering few areas also you guys still complain.

• Public transport only for Klang Valley people. The rest of Malaysia apparently doesn’t exist.

• typical malaysian, complain.. complain.. complain…

• Alex VN on Jul 02, 2016 at 10:39 am

My experience so far is good… well better late then never to get LRT connected to these high density areas…

Stick to the topic, political and politicians aside…

Of coz if they planned earlier, all issues wud hv been halved…

• Yokohama24 on Jul 04, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Good good at least got “initiative”

But isn’t it abit late and slow?

Brader, our neighbour merdeka later than us already got 6 MRT lines and 3 LRT lines.

We all 1 MRT pun belum ready.

How come ah?