Police issue stern warning to remove strobe lights

car strobe light

The police have warned motorists that the use of any unauthorised strobe lights is illegal, and they should remove these fittings immediately. Failure to do so may see vehicles fitted with such devices being impounded, The Star reports.

Bukit Aman Traffic Enforcement and Investigation Department chief Senior Asst Comm Datuk Mahamad Akhir Darus said that the use of such lights was an offence. He said that his personnel had seen many motorists using strobe lights in an attempt to make their way through traffic jams in faster fashion.

He added that this Hari Raya, police are expecting heavy traffic, and motorists using strobe lights will only worsen the situation.

According to Asst Comm Roslan Khalid, offenders will be issued a summons and the illegal lights will have to be removed on the spot. “If they cannot take off the strobe lights immediately, we may be forced to impound their vehicle,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 10:24 am

Polis talk rubbish. every night I drive I see strobe lights. Also, PDRM don’t do anything about those super bright white headlights that blind people.

Cakap besar only but don’t do anything

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 11
    • SkullJuJu on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:10 am

Bro, strobe and HID is different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
      • cikgu english pencen on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:48 pm

bro juju.. that’s why he said “and PDRM… dont do anytime about those.. headlights”

i.e. he already differentiate them as separate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • bidin on Jul 01, 2016 at 10:30 am

style koya org pasang lampu ni..jenis bajet2

• Keyword here is “unauthorised”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • swoosh3553 on Jul 01, 2016 at 10:45 am

Would like to know about those government cars (black perdana/black SUV) that uses these strobe lights through traffic, are they also viable to be summon and lights removed? So common seeing these “unmarked” cars using the Sg Besi highway, using these strobes and flashing cars on the right lane to give way to them. WTF!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • Susukotak on Jul 01, 2016 at 10:48 am

Bagus… periksa skali kedai yg jual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • MichaelCheong on Jul 01, 2016 at 10:50 am

Finally. Were you sleeping all this while?, while this items usage were seemingly increasing by the day! BUT I wouldn’t entirely blame you, the main blame should go to the relevent agencies/ministry that control products being let into our market whether locally produced or from foreign countries! They are the culprits who let this desease spread like wildfire – and I don’t mean only strobe lights! In terms of illegal vehicle adornments – just go to Pasar Road Kuala Lumpur – the relevent agencies/ministry can easily clamp down on ALL the shops/stalls there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 01, 2016 at 4:49 pm

While it is illegal to use them on the road, it is not illegal to sell them for “off road use”.

Obviously people abuse this and use them on the road.

Same stern warning was also issued to cars with modified HIDs. Yet, after some time, NFA.

The problem is not the law. The problem is enforcing it…or in this case, the lack of it. Why give warning again? Tangkap aje lah…

• Ben Yap on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:03 am

i never give way to private cars using strobe lights. i got pay road tax too and i don’t have to move a side for them.

i’ll show them my middle finger if they dare to flash me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • drMpower on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:27 am

U publish all the vehicles that permitted to have strobe lights. The rest of that, find then and impound straight away. There are many sections or acts to be referred to for legal matters

Like this also i need to tell. Buses and lorries overspeeding on highway also i need to report. Emergency lane abuser also i need to take pictures and report

What these cunts are doing?

• Kontang Konteng on Jul 01, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Even kereta pak jaga use this strobe light.