Ops Selamat 9/2016 – 6,312 road accidents recorded in first four days; Selangor has most number of cases

Crash accident collision

In the first four days of Ops Selamat 9/2016, a total of 6,312 road accidents have been recorded nationwide, with Selangor recording the highest number of cases at 2,051. The traffic safety operation carried out by the Royal Malaysian Police began on June 29.

According to Bukit Aman Traffic Enforcement Investigation Department director Datuk Mahamad Khir Darus, the figure represents an increase of 10.7% or 610 cases compared to the same period last year, which saw 5,702 cases.

“Also in the four days, 64 fatal accidents were recorded with 73 deaths compared to 89 fatal accidents and 102 deaths recorded during the same period last year. That is a decrease of 25 fatal accidents and a decrease of 28.4% or 29 deaths.

“In Selangor, 2,051 road accidents were recorded, 16 of which were fatal. Other states that recorded high accident rates are Kuala Lumpur with 895 cases, followed by Johor (859 cases), Penang (478 cases) and Perak (435 cases),” he said in a report by Bernama. The selfish attitude of motorists was named as the primary contributing factor to the accidents.

He added that a total of 70,775 summonses have been issued for various offences, an increase of more than 1,000 summonses during the same period last year. Around 8,500 traffic officers and personnel would be on duty throughout the 15 days of Ops Selamat.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Black Dog on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:47 am

Plenty of ARSEHOLE DRIVERS on the road.

the problem is the lack of enforcement to catch these ARSEHOLES!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Yaa…especially Vios n P2 driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Cheung on Jul 04, 2016 at 3:12 pm

I must say that Vios is a good car to drive
        Engine is responsive and has better acceleration
        Myvi also has a good accelration
        Vios is a certified god’s car !

I have driven Honda City, Proton Gen.2 , Proton Iriz, Proton eXORA BOLD, Nissan Almera , all these car cannot beats Vios acceleration .

U are saying Vios driver drives fast, actually is NOT is because even if u decelerate, the car will still move, do not have the pull engine symptom when u decelerate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Juz last month, a drives fast Vios accident in front of me, I hit the dropped bumper and that Vios already upside down at side of the road.

Vios juz able accelerate in straight line, not for corner road.

• Same L00 on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:52 pm

You witness a accident Vios last month. I witness Proton break down at roadside EVERYDAY!!!
            Don’t play play with Proton QC.

• I must say that Vios is a good car to drive
        Engine is responsive and has better acceleration
        Myvi also has a good accelration
        Vios is a certified god’s car !

I have driven Honda City, Proton Gen.2 , Proton Iriz, Proton eXORA BOLD, Nissan Almera , all these car cannot beats Vios acceleration .

U are saying Vios driver drives fast, actually is NOT is because even if u decelerate, the car will still move, do not have the pull engine symptom when u decelerate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • hailthepurist on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:21 pm

CVT gb is the cause..

• Self dicipline is the best enforcement. If MY drivers wanna be like syaitans, no amount of human enforcement is sufficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Black Dog on Jul 04, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Obviously you are still single and doesn’t know a thing about discipline. Next time if your kids skip school, doesn’t come home every night, etc then you leave it to them lah, right?

• R u trying to compare a kids faculty with an fully grown adult, or r u trying to say MY adult drivers have mentality like kids and need to have corporal punishment?

Which is it?

• huatcouncil on Jul 04, 2016 at 8:43 pm

You seem to have parenting challenges. Time to get some counselling & therapy.

• Bernard on Jul 04, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Only to be expected …………nothing new.

This will be the scenario every year.

No need to publicise. Just let it be.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Wonder what is the breakdown on Motorcyclist and Cars.

I think the results would be quite telling what sort of demographic is most affected.

• As long as there are people…. there would be selfish foolish ones too….. no amount of heart-rending tragedies is going to stop these maniacs killing either themselves or others. All we can do is continue to find ways to effectively educate our children and improve and enforce laws.

• Jobless on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Based on my years of experience otr, most of these idiotic drivers drove MyVi, Vios, all kinds of old Wira, Saga, Perdana, Hilux, most small vans, and those vely old Bmw (those losers cant affod real thing)

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 05, 2016 at 3:08 am

Good mixture of bad behavior on Malaysian roads (not just by fast drivers… slow drivers can be blamed too, by blocking lanes/driving on the wrong lane, driving too slow making others lose their temper and do stupid stuff, …) and believe in fate (no need to buy safe car/use seatbelt, if fate/God wants, I’ll die, if not, I won’t…).

As long as these things don’t change, and people buy a car without ESC and with only 2 airbags over one with 6 airbags and ESC, just because of the badge, or some bodykit, or whatever, … as long as they don’t change their attitude and pay more attention to others/consider how their behavior affects others, for so long will Malaysia suffer these tragic deaths.

The drivers education needs to change, but even if it does, and students start doing the right thing… as soon as they drive with the elderly they’ll get taught to do it all wrong. I drive on the left lane, and only changed lane to overtake, but I’ve been frequently told by older people to just stick to the center or right lane all the time. Best thing is drive very slow in the center lane, cause then lots of space to the left and right. True perhaps, but it causes accidents…

And please don’t tell me that as long as you drive slowly all will be fine. If that were the case, Germany would be empty by now. You can drive fast and safe. If I crash at 220, my fancy car won’t safe me. Thing is, I don’t crash at 220 because I pay attention to other drivers, and other drivers pay attention to their surrounding too, so they don’t do stupid things that cause accidents.