Perodua Bezza security patrol car displayed at launch

Bezza_Security-3

The covers have just been pulled off the new Perodua Bezza sedan, but the national carmaker also had a bit of a surprise in store – the company displayed a security patrol version of the car at the launch here at the One World Hotel in Bandar Utama. The car was primarily used to showcase the Bezza’s versatility, in an effort to entice potential fleet buyers such as the police and private security firms.

As such, this Premium X model is fitted with a number of additional equipment, such as a light bar and several LED strobe lights that dot the exterior of the car, along with a special reflective security livery. Inside, this Bezza’s changes are limited to a CB radio and a control panel for the light bar.

These additions go on top of the standard specification of the Premium X, which includes 14-inch alloy wheels, fog lights, keyless entry, push-button start, Bluetooth and USB connectivity, a smartphone slot with a USB charging port, dual airbags and ABS with EBD.

Of course, these utilitarian-minded customers are probably less enamoured by the kit on board, and are more interested in the fact that the Premium X model features the larger 1NR-VE 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine, producing 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Power is sent through the front wheels through a four-speed automatic transmission on this car.

So, what do you think of the security-spec Perodua Bezza? Could it be making the rounds in your neighbourhood soon? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Subliminal msg to pdrm to switch to p2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:55 am

I agree. All PDRM cars should be Perodua. Proton is way too expensive.

Like the old Perdana, just to service the car for 2 years alone is RM100k. And that is despite the car still being under warranty and all warranty parts are FREE. Hmmmm, I wonder who has the contract to service the whole fleet of Government Perdanas.

Yes, I repeat again, each Government Perdana cost RM100k to service for 2 years. Cost to service each Perdana is MORE than the price of the car!

Time to switch to Bezza. Let all PDRM and all Government servants use Bezza as their official car. No hard if the Minister also is driven in a Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
      • Boring Copy Paste Kunta on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:13 am

Copy paste, thumb up own, thumb people down, getting very bored to see the same bored comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
        • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:35 am

I know you are upset FBI coming after your boss, but please don’t attack me simply bro. After FBI also tangkap you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Perodua Bezza sales will easily overtake Saga, Vios n City sales. Lolz.

• DPCraft on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:21 am

Does it have enough power to chase the culprit ??

• Painter on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Ford Interceptor please…

• maXref (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:12 pm

P2’s hint to entice PDRM to invest in their cars instead of P1

• Nissan on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Police already ordered by gov to buy only from proton la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Caring on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:30 pm

It is a big let-down in the interior design of Bezza especially the air-con dials and surrounding switches. Looks inferior compared to Myvi and Axia. How come the deterioration? Each new model should look better and not the reverse. The passenger side console looks like a direct copy from Preve piano finished design!
    The G and X model comes without the ESC. What a let-down. Perodua should have followed Proton Iriz lead by having ESC across all the models, because it is proven beyond doubt that ESC save lives. Where is Perodua social responsibility?
    The Bezza is not cheap. At about 40K, Proton Iriz already have ESC, but only above 50K Bezza offer ESC.
    And look at the Bezza back seat, it is so thin. Long distance will be very uncomfortable.
    Judging from the response from many readers here, it looks like majority are praising sky high for Perodua.
    For those who wants to book Bezza, I advise you to think twice and do your homework first. Don’t just jump into it. Money is hard to come by nowadays.
    Perhaps wait until Iriz Sedan and the new Proton Saga is launched. Then do a comparison and test drive all the models. At least by then you will be able to make a better and informed decision. Buy now, you may regret later.
    That’s my 2 cents.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 18
    • Hayenadeblue on Jul 22, 2016 at 7:27 am

You are so damn right! For me, both cars are unique, design-wise, of course. As an owner of an Iriz Premium CVT, I am gladly to say that mine does not rattle or give any problem but i still dont like the cvt much. For Bezza, i believe the quality has been improved from Axia regarding the rattling issues and I do envy the 4 speed AT. However, when come to safety, i still prefer Iriz. Also, RM50k for 1.3???? Wth?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • William on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:24 am

Regarding the rattling issues of the Axia. I believe it is due to components of the door windows/power windows, the door trim or wiring components/connectors inside the doors. It is very2 annoying. Didn’t expect it from a perodua. As bezza is based on the Axia, do expect the same problems too.

• 110k perdana no vsc

• bummer on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:45 am

If got VSC still cannot afford pun.
        This one is mass car, why put VSC only in 1.3l Adv?

• Consumer rights on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:31 pm

As a consumer, we should boycott any new launched car without ESC. Knowing that ESC save lives yet out of profit driven, they let go their inner conscious.
    It is like saying, those who cannot afford to buy above 50K, their lives are not worth protecting.
    When the buying stops, the killing will stop!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 9
    • wayang on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:11 pm

How much rights you have as a consumer is gauge by how deep your pocket is
      Perodua is still a business entity not a charity organisation
      You want free safety, free food, free education go ask/beg from charity organisation not from a business entity

Its like complaining to Mcdonalds how come their food are only provided to people who can afford to pay because food is a necessity and it should be free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
      • yindey on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:34 am

Irriz got VDC in all variants why not bezza?

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:16 am

Bill Gates is one of the wealthiest person on earth, why are you not on the list?

The last I check Proton is bleeding money daily and they needed donation to stay afloat
          That shows their business model is not viable
          So Perodua should follow Proton and bleed money daily?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • LittleMIn on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:24 am

Proton bleeding is cz their business is not good, not bcoz of offering safety features.

So if you are car maker you won’t offer safety package just bcz u scare of rugi? Woah luckily u r just a stupid keyboard warrior talk cock king here.

Or mayb u can join UMW. They nid talent like you.

• loler on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:46 am

So no testing coz Perodua no money? LOL

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:41 pm

The last I check Proton is selling cars and you agree their business is not good which means their car is not selling well

Their cars are fitted with VSC across the model as claim by yindey
            So why a car fitted with safety equipment not selling well then?

So youre saying a car maker should offer safety package even though they are making a loss by providing it?

I think you should really join Proton they need talent like you
            Selling cars at a loss and then ask for more donation to stay afloat

I hope you open a Mcdonalds franchise
            So I can come to your shop and say youre not feeding the poor and hungry just because you sked rugi?

Im not saying safety is not important, Im saying if you want safety, pay for it

Safety is also like food, it is a necessity in life, however as the saying goes theres no free lunch in this world

Dont be a cheap skate

• BiasaLah on Jul 23, 2016 at 12:25 am

Biasalah bang, UiTM/Mara teach them that way. Their brain is like that. That’s why the country is bleeding like Proton

• Proton can offer VDC in all variants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • See through on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Yawn…..

• Betol Tak?? on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Very good for police reduce cost of petrol and maintainance. And most importantly its reliable quality kurang rosak. Nanti senang kejar penyamun tak perlu risau kereta tiba2 rosak atau tidak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • policeman on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:41 am

Penyamun pakai BMW/VW

Just home they will breakdown somewhere and the Bezza can slowly catch up. Too bad the penyamun would have abandoned their cars by then.

• Lambolembu on Jul 22, 2016 at 6:01 am

With 1.3l engine, they will lose. Heard of lambo police car?

• U see! U see! Even security has confidence in our untested Bisa. Thats why I say, buy from P2! Pipu have confidence in us becoz we have so much confidence in this car that we dun need to test on the road b4 we sell. Our P2 even better than Mesidis, BMW, Hyundai, Honda, and some say Rolls Royce too, cuz all of them no confidence in their new car thats why need to camo test kau kau. We have so much confidence in our jepunis overlords, thats why dun need to test kau like them.

U see us so confident, straight from prototype to showroom. Kalahkan even our big brother toyota. Right now my bos got applications by toyota salesmen Albert and Sammy. U see how confident toyota salesman on our untested car.

So I say again, have confidence. Buy Bisa from me and I will intro u my fren from Nirvana. We r confident we will gip u best package. In fact we r so confident, we can sell confidence to u minus the car! Thats how confident we r in P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • You are right. Any untested p2 car is better than european tested proton.

• Yes! Yes! U see! So get one from me ya! Early afterlife adopters gets early bird package, special only from me yo!

• Zomgman on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:09 pm

I doubt many security firms bar the biggest ones would be willing to splash that much of money to patrol a property or a gated neighborhood that is usually no larger than a dozen football fields. Even if they do have a patrol car, they would opt for an Axia.

• Kelvin Kong on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:16 am

Habis la proton, akan tak laku punya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Habis la p2, overprice siot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • 94 hp patrol car? Who can you catch with that? Criminals in Kancil & Viva?

• RM50K for 1.3L car?! better stretch a bit, get almera, city and lower interest, end up u r paying the same amount. my nephews myvi SE already got rattling sound while my cheapo almera dont, despite mileage over 100K km. Please la, quality of P1 and P2 can never catchup with import car.

• If they use it “now” I believe the whole neighbourhood will go to the patrol cars and say “bang, boleh tengok Ni kereta tak?” And in reply, “boleh ba”.

• Susukotak on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:21 am

lebih baik utk sekolah memandu. ada cabara nsikit kepada pelajar sbb kereta lebih panjang. cuba promo tepek L kat situ. mesti tak menarikkan?

• azrai on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:53 am

Where’s the Ah Beng’s Edition pics?

• It is an open secret that the police force is facing shortage of vehicles.

Imagine how unfair when every I/O (Pegawai Penyiasat) is provided a Proton Preve each, while other cops can using their own motorbikes to control traffic and patrol. Therefore, using a Bezza should provide savings in terms of price, maintenance and fuel consumption that can be channeled to provide better equipment to our guys in blue.

• Das Auto on Jul 25, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Seen the Bezza. Berbeza betul. Even the oval tin of Sardin Cap Ayam are more sturdy than this car’s skin. The door makes cheapo sound and not commensurate with the high price. Better stick with Saga or wait for new Persona.